Monday, October 6, 2014

THE ART OF METHOD ACTING (Topic For Only Serious Minded Actors)

I was asked by a few people (via email) to bump up this 2011 Topic i posted on Method Acting - so here goes. 
.
By far This topic has the highest number of views on my blog since i posted it. 
.
I First Posted this June 14 2011 (more than 3 yrs ago) 
.
CLICK HERE FOR ORIGINAL POST:
(or copy and paste link in address bar or google search " METHOD ACTING MSTILII")  

http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.co.uk/2011/06/method-acting.html
.
Advice to Actors:
You cant rush through the Larry Moss video, you need to take time to listen.
.
Enjoy

Saturday, October 4, 2014

TILII TALENT: 2014 Nollywood New Rising Actors to Watch


.
First of i will like to apologise to all my readers for such a long hiatus in updating the website. There really is no excuse for my absence except I am  starting a new AFRICAN LIFESTYLE BLOG/WEBSITE (no entertainment related - more of home decor and home living lifestyle in new cosmo africa - my first love is home decor)  and i have been delving into new exciting business ventures . I will inform you all later once i launch the website.
.
And the only other reason for my not updating is truthfully as i have said many times on this blog - i decided 3 yrs ago, unless a movie is a pure classic (in my opinion) - i will not waste my time to review it at all - and Lawd knows even still in 2014,  90% of movies put out are pure junk, not worth a dime. Continuous bad scripts, bad actors and actresses, distributors still splitting the movies into many parts and given each part a different title and whatnot, i mean seriously aint no body got time for that.  I refuse to sugarcoat and praise mediocre nonsense continuously being put out in the market. We re 20 yrs deep in the industry and we the audience want nothing but the best, not half best, but true classics. A movie i can watch and confidently rate 8/10 or 4 stars and above. 
.
So in this piece i just want to highlight on actors (and actress) that i have taken a notice of lately, and I recommend you all pay very good attention to. You know i never lie. I am very picky whom i deem as a good actor and when i  say they are good, i promise you they are good or have the best potential to be great over time with great scripts and great direction. 
.
The first person i will like to shine a light is actor Blossom Chukwujekwu (i hope i spelt his name correctly). 
.
Blossom Chukwujekwu 
(with these lips i could just watch him on mute & smile)
.
Blossom Chukwujekwu in  a scene from "Finding Mercy"
.
Blossom Chukwujekwu
.
.
Blossom started gracing our screens less than 5 yrs ago (2009- his first debut was in the movie "Private Storm") and i must say thus far he is doing very well. He is hella cute definitely (look at em lips so cute lips) and very articulate (you know that is always a plus for Ms Tilii - no fake BriMerican phonet, just be your self and speak well so i understand you).
.
One thing i must say i must commend Blossom on is he is being highly selective with his roles and thus far almost all the movies he has been featured in have been quite good. He is building his CV (resume) quite well for someone who has only been in the industry for less than 5 yrs. 
.
I totally understand its really tough to say no to mediocre scripts when you have bills to pay and mouths to feed, and thus why many of our upcoming actors have explained to me, sometimes they have to say yes to anything that falls on their lap - but i promise yall - sacrificing and being selective with the scripts you say yes to, eventually pays off too. Build your CV well. 
.
The 2 good memorable movies Blossom has starred in, in the past year or two is "Finding Mercy" starring opposite Rita Dominic, and then there is "Knocking on Heavens Door" starring with Adesua Etomi and Majid Michel - he played an abusive husband and i must say he nailed that role well. These are two great classic movies you need to buy and add to your video library. He did great in both movies. (offtopic: I swear dude has got the cleanest neatest finger nails i have EVER seen - its so nice and shiny clean you would think he just walked out a nail salon - Like whao, are those your nails like for real? if i ever interviewed him that will be my first question. I am such a neat freak, call me weird but that is like one of the first things i look at on guys, tells me a lot - tells me hes neat too :) - look at it next time you watch him in a movie. MsTilii you are so weird - hahahahaaha - i know)
.
.
The next person i will mention is no stranger to our screens - it is our cute and talented actor Ken Erics. 
.
Ken Erics
(cute smile)
.
 Ken Erics
.
 Ken and his co - star ChaCha Eke (another good actress)
.
Ken Erics & actress Nazo Ekezie (i will talk about her later)
.
Ken is no newbie but he is doing so well i thought I'd bring him up again. He has earned his keep and been acting for a while and slowly climbed up to be one of the most sorted lately. Ken is very good and interprets his roles very well - and i have no doubt very soon he is going to climb higher (this is definitely his time to shine). If you ask me to mention on of his best movies was "THE ILLITERATE" which i nominated him for on my blog, at end of last year as one of the best acts. 
.
The next brother i want to shine a light on is none other but fast rising actor Frederick Leonard (i nicknamed him "Majestic" because i think he is the tallest nollywood actor we currently have now - and i love his majestic walk - but please Fred dont let them pidgeon hole you with royal movies) - i think he is the tallest actor - but tell me if i am wrong, is JD or Chidi Mokeme taller?). 
.
 Frederick Leonard
                                                      Frederick Leonard
.
I must've missed him, before cos although i have been told  he has been around for a few years , i only took notice of him in the movie "Family Man" starring with Mike Ezerounye, Oge Okoye and Uche Elendu. Once i noticed how the camera loves him on screen, and he interprets his roles well, i went back to watch several other movies he had been featured in, and i was quite impress. He is very confident on screen and he definitely acts well and speaks well. Fred is a good actor with great potential to be very great.
.
As i always say to all good actors with great potential - all he needs is one good script, and a good director to get the best out of him, and everyone will take notice. I am definitely going to look out for this gentleman and hope to see more of him on our screen. :) He is surely a plus for us lady movie watchers. Who can say no to such a tall glass of water on our screens. We need more of his kind in Nollywood. 
.
Fred, like I have said to all rising stars, in the past - i know a brotha gotta eat, but please, i beg you, please be very selective in your roles and i promise you the sky is the limit. I definitely got my eye on you and your acting journey. I hope the "good" producers and movie makers out there are paying attention to you. 
.
The next and final actress i will like to shine a light on is Nazo Ekezie
.
I have only noticed this actress in less than a month and in only 2 movies but i must say she is definitely a force to be reckoned with. Nazo is a newbie in the industry and I first took notice of her in the movie Love & Oil (starring with other good actress Nuella Njubigbo and Yul Edochie), and then recently i just watched her in the new movie "Blind Choir" and i thought she was very good. In 2014 she is about the ONLY "new"  actress, who has kept my attention as i watched her act. 
.
If you are a long time reader of my blog you will notice in the past, there have been several actors (and actresses) i only watched once (or twice) in a movie and predicted they are definitely a force to be reckoned with, and they are going to do well in future, and surely i was right. I said that about Mercy Johnson in her first movie "The Maid"; I said that about Majid Michel, I said that about Yvonne Okoro in "Beyonce" (even though i hated that movie and she had a small role), I said that about Chacha Eke, etc), and now I am saying the same thing about this new actress Nazo Ekezie, and i think movie makers should pay attention to her. 
.
She kinda reminds me of when Ini Edo started - you just knew - she is definitely here to stay. She is no mediocre like the majority bunch of time wasters gracing our screens. She keeps your attention. Watch out for her.
.




.
Nazo (like Fred) also has an excellent screen presence and the cameras surely love her. She is pretty, she speaks well, and thus far from the 2 movies i have watched of her - she definitely knows how to interpret her roles. I just hope some producer/director writes a good script with her in mind, to headline to make her shine, just like Ini Edo did with her old classic movie "World Apart" - which became Ini's breakthrough movie. which opened a lot of doors for her thereafter. Many may argue, that Ini Edo simply got that breakthrough because at that time that the movie World Apart was released, that was the era that our top notch Nollywood actors and actresses were on a 1 year ban from acting (A Foolish useless Ban i called it) - and that, there were no other proper actors to watch but Ini and a few others. But i disagree, I think that regardless, Ini Edo did a phenomenal job in the movie World Apart - she acted so well. That movie is old (2004), and i enjoyed is so much, till this day, i still watch it sometimes (and no its not because i want to watch Kenneth Okonkow's sexy bow leg walk as some of my friends have teased :) -and  all that myth about bow legs :)  ) 
.
So thats all folks, please check out these guys (and girl) in their movies and tell me what you think. Do you like their acting? Are there other new talents i must have missed. Tell me, and i will watch them and make my own judgement. You know i love seeking out for talent in our movies. I pay great attention to all of them and simply tell it like is (as my name suggest) if they got good potential. We need more new talents - great acts, coupled with great looks and great articulation of the English language without faking accents. Ghana and Nigeria is way too big not to have at least 10 new "Great" talents each year. One or Two every other year is just not good enough - it is too slow for my liking. We need more. Not More junk mediocre acts, but good actors and actresses with great potential .
.
.

Friday, April 25, 2014

What Does Hollywood Have in Store for Lupita?




.
Watch this video below which raises some very excellent points to make you think hmmm "Does a good point". 
.
I mean after the dust has now settled and Hollywood has gone crazy over our sexy chocolate talented african sister Lupita, now what? 
.
Is she going get great roles or do you think Hollywood would not know what to do with her as they discuss in the video?. Lets just be realistic. Have they ever known what to do, with any of our Excellent Great Black Actresses?. What do you think.? Lets discuss.
.
Dr. Boyce Watkins and Nomalanga Mhlauli-Moses talk about the warnings, by others, to Lupita Nyong'o to avoid Tyler Perry. Interesting discussion. They talk about Denzel and Halle's degrading Oscar-winning roles.
.
They suggest that Lupita, should not concentrate on Holywood but also to consider projects produced in African countries because Hollywood won't know what to do with her.
.
.
Do you agree with critics who say, she should never appear in a Tyler Perry movies. Personally, I think that is a big insult to Tyler Perry,because in my opinion, Tyler is not that bad and like I said before on this blog, for a man who seems to be the only black film maker doing films and employing black folks and still breaking box office numbers its about time black folks especially cut him some slack. If you are not doing anything to help the many black actors sitting on the side bench for years on end waiting for a job and Tyler is the only one doing something about it then please don't criticise the man., 
.
The question is, would you rather Hollywood pigeon hole Lupita and only cast her in movies where she plays a slave or a maid etc etc or (Being screwed butt naked by some man like Halle in Monsters Ball which earned her her oscar.)  . What would you wish to see Lupita in, in future. Give me an example of names of past movies where you would wish to see Lupita headline. Would you rather she stays and works on the continent of Africa ? 
.
I know she is new in the industry and in Hollywood, one has to earn her keep, but personally from here on, I wish to see Lupita headline in movies such as "Avatar", or a lead girl in a X-Men, Star Wars, A Bond Movie, or my dream would be to see her in a remake of the Michael Douglas & Kathleen Turner 1984 whimsical romantic old comedy movie Romancing The Stone/Jewel of The Nile -  (she is fun and goofy and a role of such will fit her perfectly and will definitely break box office numbers depending on which they pair her up with). I do not want her to be pigeon holed in any kind of role. She is so great and I have not doubt she is versatile and I want to see that Versatility on screen overtime. I love her so much I want all of her on Screen
.
Watch this other video too. 
.
.
.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

An African City (A New Ghanaian Web Series)


.
website - http://www.anafricancity.tv/
.
Below you'll find the first 7 episodes of a new web series we first alerted you to a year ago, titled An African City, written by Nicole Amarteifio, and starring Nana Mensah, MaameYaa Boafo, Esosa Edosomwan, Marie Humbert, and Maame Adjei. Described as a Sex And The City-style dramedy, the series follows the lives of... "Five beautiful, successful African females [who] return to their home continent and confide in one another about love and life in 'An African City'" Dickson Dzakpasu directs.
.
  • Created on January 1, 2013 
  • Release Date on March 2, 2014 
  • Season Season One Schedule New episode every Sunday! (March 2 - May 4, 2014) 
  • Starring Nana Mensah, Maame Yaa Boafo, Esosa E, Marie Humbert, Maame Adjei
  • Directed By Dickson Dzakpasu 
  • Written By Nicole Amarteifio
CONGRATULATIONS NICOLE, I AM SO PROUD OF YOU

Please Like the Facebook Page and subscribe to youtube for weekly updates;

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/anafricancity
Youtube:  https://www.youtube.com/user/AnAfricanCity 
.
Pilot Teaser:
.

.
.
EPISODE 1
.

.
.
EPISODE 2
.

.
EPISODE 3
.

.
.
EPISODE 4
.

.
.
EPISODE 5
.

.
.
EPISODE 6
.

.
.
EPISODE 7
.

.
To make sure you dont miss out subscribe to facebook page as well as their youtube page. 
.
Enjoy.

Love Or Something Like That (A Sparrow Production)


.
Well Its about time
.
I been waiting for my favourite Ghanaian movie maker to come out with a real movie since A Sting In A Tale.  I enjoyed the Adams Apple series but after a while I was like okay, I am tired I need a real movie Shirley, c'mon now, and so here it is. In the past 6 months there has been the release of other movie titles by Sparrow including "Devil In Detail" , "Potomanto" and Big FOr Nothing however i havent gotten hold of them here in the states to buy and watch. It has not been released here.
.
Sypnosis:
A young surgeon's chance meeting with her ex-boyfriend throws her world into absolute chaos when she makes a horrible discovery about her past and what could be the end of a great career, and beautiful marriage. A poignant story about moving on when there's no light at the end of the tunnel. Sparrow Productions presents, a Shirley Frimpong-Manso Film, Love or Something Like That. 
.
Starring Jocelyn Dumas, John Dumelo, Nana Mensah, OC Ukeje etc etc
.
Produced by Ken Attoh, Shirley Frimpong-Manso (My 2 Favourite Are Baaccck, "Ah ! Shirley eni Ken, wa ma girls Abr3 rough" :)  ) 
.
.
Trailer



.


I look forward to this. Trailer looks Good and This new Actress Nana Mensah, who also plays the character "Sade" in the new webseries created by my friend Nicole Armateifio called "AFRICAN CITY" (or should i call her character Samantha since they are emulating Sex in the City and like Samantha Sade is sex craved too). If you have not watched the series, its on youtube, catch on to it, we are on like episode 7 now.

In African City web series all the 5 actresses are great, but Nana Mensah stood out to me and i always thought ,hmmm , what if Shirley used her in one of her movies, so i guess i spoke too soon. She plays friend to Jocelyn's character in this movie.
.

Movie Premieres in Accra on April 17 2014.
.

Sunday, March 2, 2014

Yes! Yes! Yes! Lupita Won, She Won! She Won, Oh my Goodness





.
Thank You Jesus, Thank You Thank You Thank You,  Congratulations Lupita!!!!!!!!!!!!, 
.
You have made Kenya Proud and You have made all of us Africans Proud and given million lil girls in africa hope. You have given millions and millions and millions of kids all over the world from Africa, To Syria, to Ukraine, To Venezuela and all over the globe, you have given them HOPE, and that NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE FROM, like you quoted " YOUR DREAMS ARE ALWAYS VALID. 
.
Thank You. I love you soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Much.
THIS IS MY HAPPIEST DAY IN 2014. #LUPITAFEVER
.
GONE WITH THE WIND FABULOUS
.
GOSH AM SO HAPPY, LORD JESUS PLEASE LET THE NEXT WINNER BE MY LEONARDO DICAPRIO AND AM SO DONE FOR THE REST OF THE YEAR, I WILL DIE OF JOY IF LEO WINS. WAY OVER DUE. 
.

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Miss Tilii 2013 End of Year Movie Awards

.
So after much time dissecting and re-watching all the movies again to make sure my decisions were concrete and final, I now have the list for my 2013 End of Year Awards. I must say this is a much shorter list unlike 2008 Miss Tilii awards,  because personally I feel, there weren't many good movies, or should i say not many enough for me to put in the various categories as i did in 2008/9.

For these awards i penned together, I actually recognised movies i have actually sat and watched (sometimes twice to make sure i caught everything) .  I am only recognising movies which were released in 2013 that people watched. I am not silly enough to call names of movies yet to be released like some 419 Movie Awards shows do - example (Ghana Movie Awards did mentioning Northern Affair in their many categories when the movie is yet to be watched by the masses. The movie was premiered a week before the awards - so unless one attended the premiere, no one has seen it yet. #GoFigure) 
.
In 2013 I immersed myself in not just english movies but igbo movies as well. As you all well know my favourite movie themes in nollywood is the traditional village set movies (NOT the "Coming To America" Royal Hooplas - I HATE THOSE, I mean how many royal theme stories can you tell??? its boring!!!), because i feel they acting is more real and less pretense (no fake slangs and what not).
.
The list below is my own selection (as the title states "MsTilii's), you don't have to agree with me. We can agree to disagree. 
.
This Year my policy is absolute zero tolerance for mediocre movies. I know that has been my policy from the beginning but this year I am even more strict than before. Go hard or Go Home. If you are not giving me or the audience top notch perfection with top notch excellent script and acting all through and through, I am sorry to say, I will call you out. I am extremely sick and tired of all the mediocre movies and acting. I am so tired. 
.
Bear in Mind, that my ONLY favourite movies for 2013 were 4 movies, as I have listed below. I would not consider any other movie, my best. So my choice all year in 2013 were only 4 movies - Thats It. I didnt miss anything, I watched all the movies that came out (some overhyped before released), and I have nothing to say about it. #TheyWereNotGoodEnough!!!!!
.
.
Miss Tilii 2013 End of Year Recognitions (Awards)
.
.
BEST MOVIE 2013 
  • The Meeting (starring: RIta Dominic etc)
  • The Contract (starring: Yvonne Okoro etc)
  • Family War (starring: Bob Manuel Odukwu, Chioma Akpotha and & Ebere Okaro)
  • Family Man (starring: Mike Ezerounye, Uche Elendu, Oge Okoye etc)
.
WORST MOVIE 2013 
  • To many to list
.
BEST ACTRESS 2013 
  • Rita Dominic. (movie: THE MEETING)
.
BEST ACTOR 2013 
  • Uche Udoputa (movie: BROTHERS WAR )
.
BEST BREAKTHROUGH "NEW" ACTRESS 2013 
  • Tamara Etiemo. (movie: DESPERATE HOUSE-GIRLS)
.
BEST BREAKTHROUGH "NEW" ACTRESS 2013 (Igbo Movies)
  • Chizzy Alichi (movie: UDARAUGO/OBINWA )
(with great direction, she could shine in english movies too)
.
BEST BREAKTHROUGH "NEW" ACTOR 2013
  • None!!!
.
MOST IMPROVED ACTRESS IN 2013
  • ChaCha Eke (movie: TEARS OF MERCY; OR RESTFUL SOUL)
  • Eve Esin (movie: SAVE MY SOUL OR BEFORE THE KING/KINGS OFFER )
  • Eniola Badmus (movie: VOICE OF A MOTHER )
  • Nuella Njubigbo (movie: STUBBORN HE GOAT / MY UNCLES PICTURE )
  • Mary Remmy (movie: SCARLET WOMAN)
  • Rachael Okonkow (movie: UDARAUGO/OBINWA )
.
MOST IMPROVED ACTOR IN 2013
  • Ken Erics (movie: THE ILLITERATE)
.
BEST BREAKTHROUGH "YOUNG" ACTRESS OF 2013
  • Eki Okoro (movie: LIVING NIGHTMARE OR VOICE OF A MOTHER )
  • Chinenye Nnebe (movie: LIVING NIGHTMARE OR VOICE OF A MOTHER)
  • Echelon Mbadiwe (movie: LIVING NIGHTMARE OR VOICE OF A MOTHER )
.
UPCOMING ACTRESS WITH THE GREATEST POTENTIAL (2013)
  • Chizzy Alichi (movie: UDARAUGO/OBINWA )
  • Mary Lazarus (movie: DESPERATE HOUSE-GIRLS)
.
UPCOMING ACTOR WITH THE BEST POTENTIAL (2013)
  • Blossom Chukwujekwu (movie: FINDING MERCY)

.
The below category in 2009 i use to call it Worst Actor/Worst Actress, but I decided to change the title to tone it down a notch, constructively :) :LOL - basically if you look on my blog, on the left hand panel, on the list i called "DRIVE BY" - everyone on that list should all be on the below list, however the few names i have mentioned below are an emergency.
.
ACTRESS NEEDING AN EMERGENCY INTENSIVE ACTING COURSE
  • Chika Ike (movie: in EVERY damn movie)
  • Rukky Sanda (movie: in EVERY damn movie)
  • Monalisa Chinda (movie: Weekend Getaway)
.
ACTOR NEEDING AN EMERGENCY INTENSIVE ACTING COURSE
  • Morris Sesay 
(words cannot describe this gentleman's atrocious acting, most of the time, like Rukky Sanda, he chooses to star in movies he co finance/produce, and them starring in their own movie, Effs up the whole damn movie)
.

What I expect in 2014/2015

In 2014/2015 I expect better scripted movies than the previous years,  better directed movies, sensible titles and movies made in one part only not 4 parts. I expect a complete boycott of ALL mediocre movies.  I expect more of our african movies to be of such good substance and quality that it makes it to international film festivals not one or two movies but 10s and 20s. 
.
I expect the FFR  Babes (aka Fcuk For Roles Actresses aka mediocre actresses) to stay off our movie screens and away from every movie location and allow the real talent to audition. 20 inch weave, some hazel contacts and fake acquires accents is just not gonna cut it. Keep it moving. :) and stop wasting the audience's time.
.
I expect some veterans actors/actresses who have been in the game for at least 10yrs and still not giving us great performances to consider taking some time off, and investing in some acting school to polish their skills. Kenyan actress Lupita Nyong'o (Hollywood new IT girl) invested in Yale and see where she is now. Her money was not spent on cars, weaves, bags and red bottom shoes to pose on red carpet etc etc. She actually invested well into attending an acting school and it paid off. 
.
I expect to see more good traditional movies - english or non english and I expect improved subtitles.  I wanna go back to the good ole days eg Tchidi Chikere Blood Sisters, All my Life etc those type of scripts. 
.
I expect my two most anticipated movies Lions of 76 and Half of a Yellow Sun to be released so we can all watch it. 
.
I expect to see more new male actors in the scene, who have phenomenal acting skills or potential. Have the looks, the eloquence and great acting skills to match. 
.
I have hope in Artus Frank to improve on his delivery skills. To me he is not as bad an actor as Leila Djansi said - he has grown over time, but still not there yet. He is not my favourite but he knows how to pull you into his character and make it believable, excerpt sometimes its hard for me to understand when he speaks. His pronunciation of words seem a lil off sometimes. It simply has to do with accents and am sure he can work on it. He still hasnt  had one specific breakthrough memorable movie yet. However I saw him in a few village movies in 2013 and he did "good".
.
Finally I expect this new actress called Adunni Ade (up and coming) i just found on youtube to break out into the Nollywood scene. She has a lot of potential. She can act in yoruba as well as english movies . I hope Funke Akindele can cast her in her new Jenifa Series. I will write a piece on her later this month.   

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Gosh Oh How I Love me some Lupita Nyong'o - Congrats Lupita!

.
I mean i cant describe how beautiful i find her, I mean can she be anymore beautiful and she is talented, articulate, and so smart. I love her - this is my new babe actress from here on. Kenya must be very proud but the whole of Africa is very proud especially with her recent oscar nomination. Oh how i wish she wins.
.
SHE WINS CRITICS CHOICE AWARD FOR BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS 
(MORE AWARDS TO COME)
.
.
.

Lesson to all upcoming actors and actresses, spend less money on weaves and red bottom shoes and producing crap (cough cough yvonne nelson, rukky sanda etc etc etc) and invest in taking some courses in Yale or some good acting school. She invested in learning from a great ivy league and it paid off.  

ITS A HIGH TIME WE STOP PRAISING MEDIOCRITY (bad acting, bad producing, nonsensical scriptwriting, foolish titles, several parts etc) THAT HAS BOMBARDED IN AFRICAN MOVIES AND LETS PROOF TO THE WORLD AFRICA HAS WAY MORE GREAT TALENTS SUCH AS LUPITA. I HOPE SHE IS INSPIRING MANY.
.
I love Lupita, She is a Natural Beauty, No Weaves - no Fakes, just Natural Beauty coupled with talent. I mean am so tempted to even cut my perm short and go natural like hers. She is a role model for black beauty.  I mean watch her interviews, very well poised articulate, funny and everything. SHE IS A TRUE STAR. Hollywood cant get enough of her. 
.
She is making Kenya Proud and all of Africa very proud..
.
Thank You Lupita.
Short Bio 
.
Lupita Nyong’o was born in 1983 in Mexico but raised in Kenya. She has five siblings. Her father is Peter Anyang’ Nyong’o, a politician serving in the Kenyan Senate and her mother is Dorothy Nyong’o. Her cousin Isis was named one of Africa’s most powerful women in Forbes in 2012 for being the vice president and managing director of African operations of InMobi, the world’s largest independent mobile advertising network. Her other cousin Tavia Nyong’o is an associate professor at New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts. Nyong’o has worked on the production teams of critically acclaimed films including The Constant Gardener (2005) directed by Fernando Mereilles and The Namesake (2006) directed by Mira Nair. 
.
During her summer break from Hampshire College in Amherst, Massachusetts, she flown back to Nairobi to work as a production runner on the set of The Constant Gardener. “Ralph Fiennes was a pivotal influence on me,” she told the New York Post. “He asked me, ‘So what is it you want to do?’ I very shyly, timidly admitted that I wanted to be an actor. He sighed, and he said, ‘Lupita, only be an actor if you feel there is nothing else in the world you want to do – only do it if you feel you cannot live without acting.’ She took his advice and never looked back. 
.
Soon she enrolled at the prestigious Yale School of Drama to brush up on her acting. In May 2012 – three weeks before graduating from Yale – she landed her first film role as Patsey in “12 Years a Slave”. “Never in my wildest dreams did I believe that I’d be involved with a project of this magnitude right after graduating from drama school,” said Lupita. Lupita’s debut feature-length film was creating, producing, directing and editing “In My Genes” – her final thesis project at Hampshire college, where she graduated in 2007. 
.
In My Genes addresses the personal and societal challenges that people with albinism face as members of one of the most hyper-visible and misunderstood minority groups of Kenya’s predominantly black society through the experiences of eight individuals from different cultural and socio-economic backgrounds. 
.
Nyong’o starred in the 2008 short film “East River”, directed by Marc Grey and shot in Brooklyn, New York. She moved back to Nairobi in August 2008 and produced the award-winning MTV Music Video, Little Things We Do, song created and performed by celebrated Wahu and Bobby Wine. Apart from her passion for film and video, Lupita also has over ten years experience in stage acting. She enjoys and practices capoeira and attempts to play the harmonica. In November 2009 she starred in the Kenyan television miniseries “Shuga” as Ayira. 
.
She joined the Yale School of Drama in September 2009 for a Master of Fine Arts in Acting. At Yale she appeared in many stage productions, including Gertrude Stein’s Doctor Faustus Lights the Lights, Chekhov’s Uncle Vanya, and Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew and The Winter’s Tale. Lupita will next be featured in Liam Neeson’s upcoming film “Non-Stop”, set to be released on February 28, 2014.
.

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Happy Birthday To A Very Special Person - Omari Hardwick


.
An Actor, A Renowned Poet, A Producer and an a true ATLien  - Omari Hardwick. Wishing you a wonderful Birthday. This is your year brotha, more doors are going to open. Congratulations to the huge success of Being Mary Jan Premiere on BET on Jan 7th 2014 but most of all Happy Birthday.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...