Saturday, February 23, 2013

War Witch (2013 Oscar Nominated African Movie)

By MsTilii
.
.
.
Have any of you watched this movie?. I never heard of it till now. It looks mighty interesting - obviously based on facts from Africa. The kind of international film festival worthy type movie i would like to watch. I wonder how i can get a hold of this to watch.?
.
Sypnosis
.
KOMONA , a 14 year old girl, tells her unborn child the story of how she became a rebel. It all began when she was 12; kidnapped by the rebel army, she was forced to carry a AK 47 and kill. Her only escape and friend is MAGICIAN, a 15 year old boy who wants to marry her. Despite the horrors and daily grind of war, Komona and Magician fall in love.They thought they had escaped the war, but fate decided otherwise. In order to survive, Komona will need to return to where she came from and make amends with her past. Around them, war rages on.... A tale set in Sub-Saharan Africa, KOMONA is a love story between two young souls caught in a violent world yet filled with beauty and magic.
.
Nominated for an Independent Spirit Award for Best Foreign Language Film in 2012 and is one of nine films to qualify for the shortlist for the next foreign-language film Oscar is the gripping and intensifying Canadian film, ‘War Witch,’ which was directed by French-Canadian filmmaker Kim Nguyen and starring Rachel Mwanza, Alain Bastien, Serge Kanyianda, Ralph Prosper, and Mizinga Mwinga.
.
Director Kim Nguyen and lead actress Rachel Mwanza
.
I wish the cast and crew the best of luck for tomorrow Oscars. I hope they win.
.
Hmm - i guess Foreigners are the only ones who are able to come on our continent and tell OUR story for the world to see and tell it well and win world accolades for it (eg King of Scotland, Blood Diamond, Hotel Rwanda etc), while majority of our very own our spending their time making movies with such titles and nonsensical scripts like "BlackBerry Babes, Tears for Breast Milk, Fazebook Babes and all the BULLSHIGGIDY. We have a long way to go i tell ya. 20 plus years since we begun and still "majority" aint doing ish but mediocre "quantity" nonsense.
.
Hm, Someday, Someday. We will get there. I have hope for the hopeless.
.
Watch and Learn People, wake the eff  up an improve on quality scripts (and not quantity) - we have a gajillion stories to tell the world way better than "runs/aristos" , marriage, campus movies, witchcraft, plagiarizing indian movies (cough cough - abdul mumuni) etc etc . 
.
Drops Mic (walk off and throws hands in the air) - going to search and find where i can find and watch this classic.
.
ps: Hm, and who said Africans Did not have "great Child Actors", we do have plenty but it takes a great director to bring the best out of the child. Read  This Past Article from 2011, that I Wrote on African Child Actors
.

source: http://www.blackfilm.com/read/2012/12/director-kim-nguyen-talks-war-witch

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

RIP Justis Esiri (Top Nollywood Veteran Actor)

.
I cant take this anymore. Yet again another Nollywood Legend is passed on - Actor Justus Esiri. I never even heard he was sick or anything so this all comes as a shock to me.  A true great method actor whom i loved to watch (yall know i love method actors). 
.
Justus was not just any great actor but a well travelled - well learned man who spoke several languages. I read his interview once and he is so smart than most even know. He was a very great actor, well spoken and funny. I am very disappointed he is gone, just deeply hurt right now. Enough already we dont want to hear any more death of our best veterans anymore. I hope this is the last death i hear of this year. Its just so much to take.
.
RIP Justus Esiri.
.

Friday, February 15, 2013

Letters To My Mother (Starring Adjettey Anang, John Dumelo and Co)

.
Venue: silverbird cinemas, accra mall 
Date: 6th march, 2013 
Showing Times: 6:30pm and 9:30pm
.
Sypnosis:
There are many things that must not be said ... others that cannot be left unsaid..... in between lies a story worth telling....When mike (John Dumelo) returns home after a sojourn overseas with Angie (kafui danku).. his wife to be and mother of his unborn child, he is greeted with such hatred in his mother's eyes that leaves him gaping and searching for the truth... a truth he cannot find without bloodshed....faces masked... secrets buried.. hearts broken .. Mike embarks on a journey to where it all began.....
.
Starring: 
John Dumelo, Adjetey Annan, Kafui Danku, Roselyn Ngissah, Paulina Oduro
.
Watch Trailer
.

.

Monday, February 11, 2013

"Confessions of a Marriage Counselor" (An Upcoming Tyler Perry Movie)

Promo Photo Coming Soon

Here is a sneak preview of Tyler Perry's movie "Confessions of a Marriage Counselor" starring  Journee Smollet - Bell  (one of my favorite black childhood stars who is all grown up and married now "Mrs Bell" - i have so much hope in her and Keke Palmers future in Hollywood). Allso stars Lance Gross, Brandy, Vanessa Williams, Kim Kardashian and Introducing Robbie Jones etc etc. This movie will be released in Spring 2013.
.


Friday, February 8, 2013

Finally A "Weekend Getaway"

.

.
Finallllyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy. Thank God.
.
Hia!, Yall know if you read this blog that i been waiting for this for a long time. Talk about star studded. I just cant wait to see this movie. 
.
The much anticipated movie from Royal Arts Academy, ‘WEEKEND GETAWAY’ is set for screening in nationwide on March 29th 2013. The movie which parades such talented, award winning actors as Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Ini Edo, Monalisa Chinda, as well as Uti Nwachukwu, Bryan Okwara, Alexx Ekubo, Beverly Naya, Uru Eke, Bobby Obodo, Ime 'Bishop'Umoh and Ini Ikpe is a glamorous, witty, suspense-filled drama about five couples with relationship issues who spend the weekend in the plush, exotic hotel. The film exposes the drama, dysfunction, intrigues, lies and ultimately love, that abounds in their lives. 
.
The movie was produced and executive produced by Emem Isong, Ini Edo & Monalisa Chinda. Directing was by Desmond Elliot. Screenplay was written by Kehinde Joseph, Uduak Oguamanam & Bola Aduwo. According to the producers, there will first of all be a private screening of the movie ‘Weekend Getaway’ on March 24th at yet-to-be announced location, but the movie will be screened nationwide in cinemas as from March 29th. On that day, several of the cast and crew will be on hand at SilverBird Galleria to ‘meet and greet’ the press, fans and members of the public.
.
I am very excited and look forward to Weekend Getaway. Too excited.
.
Other Photos from Weekend
.






.

Monday, February 4, 2013

Rita Dominic Wow Magazine Cover



.

Actress Rita Dominic looks like a Greek goddess on the cover of Wow Magazine. Very Nice Rita, I like it. You look so beautiful.  
.
This Valentine edition celebrates the spirit of comebacks. Fashion Editor, Adebayo Oke-Lawal, worked with Banke Meshida-Lawal and Ugo Igbokwe of Make-Me Beauty Place to bring out a more feminine side of the cover girl who reveals all there is to know about her in the magazine.
.
Petite Ladies We Rock. - You look fabulous Rita. I look forward to seeing you in more quality movies this new year (2013)
.
I guess i have seen it all with WOW, there is no body else i want to see again - the covered all the best of the best of actresses (even though z class actresses like Rukky Santa and co are wishing to be covered :) , Oh but wait a minute, did they do Genny already???, hmm, i dont remember. 
.
Ok Wow Magazine Now we wanna see the guys, and when i say the guys i mean the actors with 6 packs, not the ones with love handles and 2 litre coca bottle stomachs abeg. Who will be the first i wonder??? Hmmmmm. We dont have much do we ??? hahahahha
.
(ps: Wow i dont know if you only partial to nollywood actresses but maybe you should give my Ghanaian sisters a cover too (eg Yvonne Okoro, Martha Ankomah etc) - OR, we dont have citizenship so we dont count??? :lol)
.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...