Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Why I Dont Respect "MOST" African Movie Awards


.
I wrote this post in November 26 2011, but lately i feel the the need to bump it up again -  TO ALL THE USELESS AFRICAN MOVIE AWARDS AND THE CREATORS BEHIND IT.
........................................................................................................

Many have asked me why i dont ever announce about the various african movie awards.  Well I will tell you today why.
.
I (Miss Tilii) dont care about "most" (not all) - african movie awards - whether held in africa, europe, america etc because i personally think most of these awards are just USELESS - ITS A BIG OLE SCAM and N.M.F - i dont factor it whatsoever.
.
With the type of mediocre movies and actors and actreseses they sometimes award - it tells me these shows are penned by a bunch of %$#$$ with money who simply go to china get some cheap plaques and decide to award movies (they themselves i guarantee you HAVE NEVER watched before) - A bunch of them get behind closed doors and just decide this or that person should be awarded (becuase you cannot convince me that the awards were by any popular votes) - I see this and am like "Are you kidding me - did you really truly watched this movie and observed this actors performance" - Who are the people selecting the nominees and then deciding this person or that person or this or that movie deserves winning.
.
I dont even know how they come to conclusion of who is winning and who is not winning - but a few years ago when i stumbled on some of these award events and saw the list of winners and the list of actors and especially actresses or movies that won (who sticks out in my mind the most is Juliet Ibrahim -the worst of them) - it tuned me the "f" off and i was like "hell naw" - i will not entertain such nonsense on my blog.
.
I dont know why many of us africans like to kiss so much ass to mediocrity (kissing ass on fb and twitter and the whole nine yards) - I have never and will never kiss ass to mediocre movie nor acting (somebody don told ya wrong boo) - i dont care how beautiful the actor or actress is - if your acting sucks i will tell it like it is - it sucks - get some more practice and dont waste our time - cos i damn sure will not be wasting my money buying your damn movie - a whole heap of weave, hazel contacts and some chinese pump shoes is still not going to cut it for me - this is one of the reasons traditional village theme movies remain my favourite - because its real . If a persons acting sucks and you are awarding them "The Best This- The Best That  - how in the hell  - is the person suppose to improve - if you are lying to them (how they are selected whether by fans or the organizers themselves i dont even know). Its just like someone's family lying to them the can sing and then they go audition for xfactor or american idol and Simon tells them like it is and the end up crying and distraught.
.
Another reason that i dont care for all these various awards (and now there are so many of them - one cannot even tell which is which) - but just as my assumption told me - i was right. Its a scam going on around the world (US, UK, Australia etc) - just google Frankie Nollywood and read of the recent scam uncovered in UK by one of the organizers for these so called awards shows. They use the awards to just get people to come into the country (you pay me a certain $$, i will add you to the list of recipients getting the awards and you can get visa using that) or as a way of getting people to buy the tickets as they associate these USELESS shows with the likes of their nations government  (just as frankie nollywood did associating himself credible using Nigerian Governments name). I sourced this before this revelation came out recently.
.
I dont even care about this part as much as i care about the type of people they award. Take the Ghana Movie Awards for instance which was just held in Ghana yesterday or the day before - If you look at the people or movies they awarded. Majid won -which is understandable cos Somewhere in Africa is an excellent movie - Majid is undeniably the greatest Ghana has - but if you look on the other movies and actors/tresses they awarded it leaves you scratching your head like "are you serious"? -
.
They included Leila Djansi movie that is yet to be released like 4 or 5 times. First of all, from the video footage i have posted  below, clearly it seems ghanaians frustruated this young film maker out of the country and she has vowed never to shoot a movie in her homeland again (africa has poor work ethic and the whole jealousy and backbiting - if you have lived abroad as long as Leila and all of us have too - you have to have tough skin to put up with a lot of bullshyt in any industry you work in - and also humility is extremely important in Ghana so if you think you have arrived because of your western exposure- i know for a fact that will surely not cut it (I dont know who is right or wrong in this Leila vs Ghana Movie Industry debate - and i wont take sides)- click here and listen to her video clip why she decided to leave Ghana ) - neighbors like Togo, Caribbean and elsewhere are welcoming her with open arms to shoot in their land (But seriously Leila - you too ugon let these coons run you out of your own country in shooting movies, like really?). So as i was saying how in the hell do you award a movie that has not even been widely released for everyone to watch yet.
.
Ties That Bind has not been widely released so i guess these "%$$$!@"  had all these many categories and were scrambling for something to fill the void - so they decided to put 'Ties That Bind (or maybe its their way of "BEGGING" Leila to return home to shoot again) as many times as possible - even if they themselves or the audience havent watched. They awarded Best Actress Nadia Buari for the movie "Who Owns The City" - am like "WHAT???- are u kidding me - that movie is like one of the worst movies in 2011 - the most nonsensical and most foolish movie i tortured my poor eyes to watch this year. The movie is crappest and Nadia is not a great actress in a any movie she is in. She is good - but definately not great to win no damn awards yet. Call a spade a spade. Abai!! ediyeben asem koraaa ni. Till date there is not a single movie Nadia has acted in that stick out in my mind that oh that was was unforgettable and greatest performance yet - None whatsoever - so please dont be emailing me about venus production nonsense superficial movie "beyonce" - lets not even go there. People always wonder why we make so much noise about Genevieve, go back to 10 yrs ago and watch all her old movies (if you like koraa watch it on mute) and you will notice why. Nadia and her GhanaBriMerican accents metamorphesis in her movies - very confusing. She has yet to pull me into her character  and make me believe what am watching.
.
Although 6 hrs to Christmas by Shirley Frimpong Manso was not my best out of Sparrow Production - nonetheless it was interesting enough and i think Chris Attoh and Damilola should have been commended and awarded - they both did an excellent job in their acting - even the girl who played Dami's roommate Mansa was very good (i'd like to see more of her). Chris and Dami - you know what? you dont even need this award - in my eyes you (just like Majid, Nana Kwame and Adjetey Anang) you are Ghana's best. Chris I respect you so much for how selective you are in your choice or work. You are a smart actor - continue to be selective. You are the kind who with time can easily transition to Hollywood because of your great choices.
.
Out of the many people who sat in the audience at the Ghana Movie Awards - ask by raise of hands who has yet watched the movie "Ties that Band" - i repeat this movie has not been widely released yet for most audience to see it for it to be included in the categories in 2011. I mean i can imagine the movie is great cos it does have a great casting, and Leila, just like Shirley Frimpong have raised the bar and notch and never disappoint us Ghanaians unlike the likes of mediocre movie makers like Socrates Safo, Abdul Mumuni, Venus and the rest of them movie industry clowns. They either awarding movies that are yet to have a wide release or they award movies that are 2 or 3 years old. How dumb and foolish is that.?
.
There were times many of these awards shows (ghana, nigeria, usa, uk etc) have awarded some actresses in my opinion are the worst actreses ever and if they are not necessary the worst - their performance in whichever movie they were in was not that great or a standing ovation type performance which one would say "whao this is such a wonderful and unforgetful  excellent performance" - as i would with say of Genevieve in "Blood Sisters, or Ini Edo with "Worlds Apart" or Mercy Johnson with "The Maid.
.
Hey I guess it is what it is. If Oscars can award someone like Halle Berry for effing on screen butt nakid and till this day excellent great actresses like Angela Bassett and Cicely Tyson have never won an award - it goes to show you that - its not all that meets the eye.
.
I have my own assumptions how some of these awards are being won - but thats just for me to know - You conclude your own assumptions. (As much a movie addict that i am and i watch a lot of movies - at least 100 movies per year - old and new, any country, anylanguage subtitled - i just live movies - if you ask me to tell you the story line for "Monsters Ball" - i swear i cant remember cos it was that useless - same with Venus Production Heart of Men - I dont remember the story line - because the sex scenes overshadowed that crap script). There was a beautiful love scene in the movie "Love & Basketball" starring Omar Epps and Sanaa Lathan and if you ask me the story line - i can tell you from beginning to end cos the love scene  did not overshadow the great script.
.
People ask me MsTilii why are you so hard on our actors - I am hard on them because you get your last love home. You are acting to compete with world best performers in Hollywood and you think i am going to be all giggly and smily and act fake and say you can act because you are handsome or pretty or what?. HELLLLLLLLLLLLLLL NAWWWWWWWWW. Not until you improve. Some of these "big headed" so called celebrities with attitudes sometimes i dont blame them for their bad attitudes - its the fans who kiss their ass - even though they may not be that great at acting.
.
And then many of them have the audacity to utter the words "hollywood" when you ask them where do they see themselves in future - "Oh Really, Hollywood huh?". C'mon now - sometimes you have to critique your self - you your self sit down and watch your own movie and tell me you dont have a headache.
.
I respect the likes of Majid who came in the industry same time as Van, acted a lil bit - his acting was not up to par, he noticed that and took criticism, took the money he had saved and took time off to take some theatre and acting classes to polish his acting and then came back in to the industry with a bang, and it all paid off.
.
I only respect those who respect the art of acting - not those who are in for just the fame or material things they can buy. I respect the one who chooses a good script, researches the role well and then give the audience the best performance. It shows in their acting.
.
My wish one day is to be on the Ghana Movie Board (to decide what movie is to be released and what is not)  - cos obviously if you have the likes of sick pervert Socrates Safo sitting on the board - we aint got far to go.
.
Yeah so in conclusion - i have said it - "MOST" of these award shows are useless and just a scam and for that - i dont respect it nor care for it. In any given year - if the great movie released is not that many and it means you have to postpone the show (as I have since 2008 for my own Miss Tilii Awards) then please do that - dont just force and do it and award future movies yet to be released or movies that are 2 yrs old. Its simply ridiculous.
.
Since 2008 i have said the movies coming out is not up to par, and for that reason i will not do awards again until at least  most of the movie released were of great quality (as was 2008). This is why i have postponed every year since 2008 - even my recognition awards may not be ish either and i am only doing it for fun  and neither am I giving anyone any statute plaques (even if its a cheap fake gold one made in china) - but at least i watched the movies and know what am talking about. I am simply a movie review blogger recognising ones good or bad efforts. Recognition by mention should be enough.
.
When they finally start awarding actors and actresses who are worth awarding or movies they have actually watched themselves and feel its worth awarding and the audience by votes actually select the nominees and winners - then i will respect it.
.
I dont respect it when future movies yet to be released are being awarded or movies that were released 2 or 3 yrs ago. I just tell it like it is. Their categories alone is annoying to say the least.
.
Whom i feel sorry for the most is "some" of these actors and actresses who are being lied to for being great actors or actresses and them all happy thinking "Oh yes i must be that great huh - i guess i did good in that movie?" - i will keep on keeping on. Mstchewwwww. Pooof - Byeeeeee! -. When someone is good, great or have potential i will say it as i have many atimes on this blog, but if you are not - what makes you think you should get special treatment cos your feelings are going to be hurt. Have you forgotten the industry you are in? If you cant take critique then get out and dont waste us the audiences' time.  GO HARD OR GO HOME!!!!!.
.
Any critique i make is nothing personal (i dont know you - you dont know me) - i just tell it like it is from one audience member point of view. To each his own. But obviously i can imagine this comment to rub some the wrong way, but hey - if the shoe fits wear it - if you deeply in your heart think "you are a great actress or actor - or your movie is that great, then Do you boo - and i will do what i do - telling it like it is. You gotta eat but please dont insult the art of acting by your choices.
.
Am just going to continue to tell it like it is - actors, actresses, movie makers, award organizers, etc - if i have to call you out - i will call you out - and thats all there is to it. No I am not taking food out ya mouth - you on the other hand with your acting or mediocre movie giving to us the audience, is taking food out the mouth of the clueless who goes to the african store and shells out $10-15 to buy a two or three part movie to come home only to realise its money down the drain. If the  many fans continue to kiss ass to mediocrity (blinded by all the weaves and makeups) - then african movie industry have a long way to go. Honestly - what exactly are you admiring, their looks or their acting.?
.
i will be the first to stomp hard and make noise and make the world know the great job you did and promo your movie very well cos i love it.
.
Kudos to the likes of Mammood Bolagun, Leila Djansi, Shirley Frimpong Manso, Kunle Afoloyan etc who are raising the bar - lets weed these mediocre ones out. You hearrrrdddddddd!! - I wish you luck. Get it together.
.
STOP PRAISING, AWARDING AND WORHIPPING MEDIOCRITY IN OUR AFRICAN MOVIE INDUSTRY (Scripts & Storylines, Movie Titles, Acting, Directing, Awards Shows etc etc). 2012 GET IT TOGETHER AND EMBRACE "QUALITY MOVIES" FOR OUR INDUSTRY - AFTER 20 PLUS YEARS, WE HAVE IMPROVED A WHOLE LOT WITH THE PICTURE AND SOUND QUALITY, NOW AS PART OF AN AUDIENCE LETS DO OUR PART AND SUPPORT NOTHING BUT QUALITY MOVIES, BOYOTT THE CRAP ONES (DO NOT BUY IT) JUST TO SEND A MESSAGE TO MEDIOCRE MOVIE ASSOCIATION. (Read here and here to be alert of storylines to stay away from - and look on the left hand side of this blog under my Drive By List to figure out - actors and actresses whose movie -unless they improve - to stay away from)
.
This is Miss Tilii's opinion, made on "Miss Tilii's" blog about how i feel about "most" african movie awards. Nobody has to agree with me - To each own. Everybody is entitled to their opinion.

Friday, December 20, 2013

Its Beyonce's World, and We Just Living In it (:lol)

Like CNN Anderson Cooper Said "It is Beyonce's World" and we Just living in it.



You cant help but love this hardworking beautiful talented girl. I will never able to phantom how she has a baby, goes on tour shortly after and globally at that, makes 15 songs and 17 videos (no promo, no marketing) all silently and in the middle of touring and sells a million records (itunes only) in 6 Days. I mean what kind of person is this lady, its unreal sometimes. How or How does she do it???? She is amazing beyond belief. And yes I am a stan 4 life. There is was and always will be just ONE MICHAEL JACKSON, ONE WHITNEY HOUSTON AND SURELY ONLY ONE BEYONCE, dont try and emulate her, or you will die tryin. 
.
Once you Go Beyonce You Never Go Back. 
.
Not often do we get her calibre of talent (beautiful + talented+ great singer+great dancer and more). The last best one the world had like her, left us (RIP MJ) so lets enjoy this one right here.
.
The haters are practically dieing right now, i mean, you should see the blogs, some our even suicidal at this point. The more you hate the more she is blessed. She just effed up the game with this unprecedented stunt she just pulled.
.
Watch these Funny Clips from 2 Gay Guys Reaction over Beyonce Surprise Unprecedented Release  (a lil over the top - but hey - it is what it is, you will never understand, - go on, roll your eyes - its okay :) we just having fun with it.

.

Click Link to Watch Video (check out her african dances)
.
copy and paste in your browser (beautiful video)

http://www.pepsi.com/en-us/d/content/15537110/Pepsi-Exclusive-Premiere:-Beyonc%C3%A9-Grown-Woman-Official-Music-Video
.
And my favourite gif of all - to all the haters
.

.
And on that note "Bow Down B.......".



.
Yes - oh so yall didnt know Miss Tilii was a stan, Oh yes baby, I am and i wear it proudly. :) 

Thursday, December 5, 2013

21 Gun Salute To The Greatest African Man That Ever Lived - RIP Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela

.
Rest In Perfect Peace - Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela
You will Never Be Forgotten
.

.
Nelson Mandela, who guided South Africa from the shackles of apartheid to multi-racial democracy and became an international icon of peace and reconciliation, died Thursday December 5th 2013 at age 95. 

 "Today he's gone home, and we've lost one of the most influential, courageous and profoundly good human beings that any of us will share time with on this earth," (Quote From President Obama).
.
.
It is still on my bucket list to go see Robben Island where He was imprisoned for almost 30 yrs. And now that he has left us i guess i will add seeing where he is laid to rest too. 
.

Monday, December 2, 2013

A Northern Affair (An Upcoming movie starring Jocelyn Dumas and John Dumelo) - Trailer

Coming Soon in 2014, is Leila Djansi (an acclaimed Ghanaian film maker) movie called A Northern Affair , about Esaba Jomo (Jocelyn Dumas), a nurse, teams up with Dr. Manuel Quagraine (J.D) in a small fishing village to provide healthcare. Sparks fly and the two begin to fall in love. But each one has a dark secret that will threaten whatever love they’ll share.
.

.
.
Coming Soon
.
.

Sunday, October 27, 2013

About Last Night Trailer (Kevin Hart & Regina Hall) - Feb 2014


.
HD Version

.
.
Screen Gems has debuted the first trailer for Steve Pink's reboot of the classic romantic comedy About Last Night, which will hit theaters next Valentine's day. Kevin Hart, Michael Ealy, Regina Hall, Joy Bryant, Christopher McDonald and Paula Patton star in this remake about two couples that start an affair despite being pressured not to by friends. 
.
Edward Zwick directed the original, which starred Rob Lowe, Demi Moore, James Belushi and Elizabeth Perkins back in 1986.About Last Night comes to theaters February 14th, 2014 and stars Kevin Hart, Michael Ealy, Regina King. The film is directed by Steve Pink.
.
Two of my favourite funniest comedians of all time Regina Hall and KevinHart, headline a romantic movie, Oh I cant wait, plust a naked but shot scene with Michael Ealy, now i definitely cant wait. Although there are a lot of similarities of this movie to others, i still want to see it cos of the comedy.

"Things Never Said" - Movie Trailer (Black Hollywood)


Trailer:
.

.
.

KALINDRA STEPNEY (Kal) is an aspiring poetess, but truthfully she’s an artist who’s lost. Haunted by dreams deferred and a dangerous marriage, this Los Angelean yearns of bringing her poetry to New York. Wounded by a miscarriage and saddled with RONNIE, an angry husband, Kal tries desperately to find an outlet for her struggling artistic voice. Adding to her distress is best friend and compatriot DAPHNE, also grappling with love issues. Daphne’s boyfriend STEVE is a lout who willfully and regularly takes advantage of Daphne and Kal doesn’t approve. 

This turmoil, coupled with the surprise and uncertainty of new love CURTIS JACKSON, hits Kal where she’s most vulnerable. Just as Kal helps Curtis with his unchallenged perceptions about his damaged past relationship and estranged young daughter, Curtis’ influence leads Kal to dig deeper, to find her voice, and ultimately, a sense of self worth.
.
Mehnnn Omari, you hard at work aint ya, but am proud of you though, at least you are working, but just make sure you dont get typecasted as a straight to DVD kinda guy. I am excited about watching this movie since I love Poetry (I have never been the same since our black hollywood romantic classic "Love Jones, starring Nia Long and Larenz Tate, and I wish they will remake it, but then again, like my friend will say, MsTilii, Classics do not need a remake - those kinda movies you leave alone and dont touch"
.
This movie stars Michael Beach who happens to be one of my ultimate favourite actors of all time, and i hate when i dont see him in movies as i have not in years, He should be on some primetime show or something. He is an EXCELLENT actor.  It also stars Tamala Jones whom i love dearly. I will definitely look out for this movie and you should too.
.
I never seen/heard this actress Shanola Hampton (Kalindra), in a movie before, but she seems good and I look forward to watching the whole movie. I will buy the dvd.

Last Letter (Omari Hardwick, Sharon Leal) - Black Hollywood



.
RLJ Entertainment/One Village Entertainment has released the first trailer for its upcoming psychological suspense thriller, Last Letter, which stars Omari Hardwick and Sharon Leal as a couple whose marriage is in turmoil due to a number of external and internal factors. 
.
The film's full synopsis reads
.
Sharon Leal and Omari Hardwick head an all-star cast in this twisted, psychological thriller as newlyweds Catherine and Michael. The couple’s marriage is threatened by Michael’s disapproving mother (Lynn Whitfield) and Catherine’s own terrifying secret: a crippling sleep disorder that blurs nightmare and reality. When a terrifying incident from her past returns to haunt her, she turns to her foster brother and closest confidant, George (Gary Dourdan), who vows they will stick together… no matter what! Directed by Paul D. Hannah, the film's all-star cast also includes Gary Dourdan, Rocsi Diaz, Tatyana Ali, Richard T. Jones, Bill T. Cobbs, Marc Singer and Lynn Whitfield
.
After its premiere at the UrbanWorld Film Festival last month, RLJ Entertainment/One Village Entertainment will release the film on December 17. "African American films have long been forced to live in a box and rarely allowed to tread in other genres such as psychological thrillers, horrors or suspense," says director Paul D. Hannah. 
.
Last Letter is produced by Overflow Entertainment and Vendetta Filmworks.
.
The movie comes out on DVD on December 17 2013.
.
Although Black Hollywood movies dont make it to Nationwide theatres in droves every month like the others, behind the scenes, very good indie films/movies such as Last Letter, with very good black actors are being released straight to dvd, or sometimes selected cinemas, but since there is not a big budget for promos and marketing, sometimes we dont hear about it. Well from now on i will be posting several trailers here of such movies and you can look for it and purchase it. If i get to watch it and its very good, I will review it too so you at least know before you purchase.
.
(Oh how i love seeing Blair Underwood on screen, mmmh and that Omari Hardwick and his fine self, he think just cos Michael Ealy cheated on me and went and got married and I fell out of love with him, that I am going to be crushing on him oh something, nah ahh, nope, he cute but i dont want my heart broken anymore, like green eye pretty ricky did to me.:)

How To Steal Two Million (A South African Movie)

.



.



Lately I have been watching a lot of Non Nollywood and Ghana movies, cos as you can imagine like many others been feeling, the mediocrity in script writing (always predictable) and worse of all actors is becoming so redundant. I need to stimulate my mind with better movies, so until Ghana and Naija up their game, with great releases (such as Lionsof76 - and Izu Ojukwu production which i am waiting for), I will be watching other movies from other African countries worth my time. The mediocrity and recycling B.S got to stop, and so far as you keep praising IT, watching it and buying it, It wont.!!!
.
In the tradition of the heist movie, How to Steal 2 Million has an intricate plot woven around the characters' attempts to formulate a plan, carry it out, and escape with the goods. 
.
The film tells the story of Jack (Menzi Ngubane), who has spent five long years in jail after being arrested for robbery. His partner in crime and best friend Twala (Rapulana Seiphemo) never got caught and Jack never talked. When he is released, Jack decides to go straight. 
.
He wants to start a construction business, but after being rejected for a loan he must find another way to get money. An opportunity presents itself when Twala suggests they rob a home where the take is worth R2 million. The film also stars Terry Pheto, Hlubi Mboya and John Kani. 
.
Watch out for this movie, The trailer looks super exciting and interesting, and it was also selected and screened at Fantastic Fest, the largest genre film festival in the US and it was also featured in the African Film Festival in New York. These are the kind of movies I support, ones that are deem worthy to make it to international film festival , and to give Africa some respect in a positive light (not runs, razz babes, or campus movies).
.
WINNER of 4 African Movie Academy Awards 

  • BEST PICTURE 
  • BEST DIRECTOR 
  • BEST SUPPORTING ACT 

 African Action Drama which received 11 nominations and won 4 awards at the African Movie Academy Awards in 2012, including the awards for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress in a Supporting Role and Best Achievement in Editing.
.
.



Sunday, October 13, 2013

I am In Love With a Church Girl (Trailer )


Sypnosis:
.
Cars. Good looks. Mansions. Money. Women. Miles Montego has it all. Including a past. He was king of the streets as a high-level drug trafficker, and although he has tried to move on, the DEA isn’t convinced. Miles is still rolling with his old friends and colleagues, and the feds are certain he has not fully retired from his criminal past. When Miles meets Vanessa Leon, a woman who is different than every other woman he’s met, he is drawn to her beauty and her faith. She is a “church girl” in every sense of the word. Increasingly, he is torn between a life that he knows and a love that he feels. As Vanessa experiences his lavish lifestyle, mobster-type friends, gun play, and encounters with past women, Vanessa must reconcile her faith in God and her growing love for Miles. Both are tested to their last ounce of faith and strength in God and each other. God continues to chip away at Miles through struggles from his past, having to live up to his reputation, feelings of unworthiness, the death of his mother, federal charges, his friends being indicted, the strain on his relationship with Vanessa, almost losing her in a near-fatal car accident, and finally the spiritual breakdown that brings him on his knees to face God one-on-one. 
.
 I’M IN LOVE WITH A CHURCH GIRL is a powerful, inspiring story of a love between a man and a woman, a gift of second chances, and a family at home and in church that never stops praying and believing.
.
This movie comes out on October 18 2013 starring hiphop rapper Jarule and Actress Adrienne Bailon. From the trailer it looks like a good movie and I look forward to watching it. Make sure you go see it (would be a nice ideal date movie too :) - Jarule is back yo!
.
Trailer:

.
MsTilii

Finding Mercy (Trailer) - A Denziot Production



See the trailer to upcoming movie called "Finding Mercy" .  Denziot Productions presents the highly, engaging movie ‘Finding Mercy’ which is set to premiere on the 14th of October in Calabar and on the 15th of October in Lagos. 
.
The movie is suspense filled drama about two friends, played by Blossom Chuks Chukwujekwu (Flower Girl) and Uti Nwachukwu, who find themselves in a complicated situation with a motherless baby. One decides to keep the baby only to discover truths he would rather not know. 
.
The movie also stars Rita Dominic, Desmond Elliott, Chioma Chukwuka- Akpotha, Biola Williams Tamara Eteimo and Dabota Lawson. The movie which has already been nominated multiple times at the upcoming GIAMA Awards taking place in Houston, Texas was produced and directed by Desmond Elliot. The movie will be premiered and screened nationwide in cinemas as from 15 October 2013 and powered by Proctor & Gamble. Don’t miss it!
.

.
Enjoy



Monday, September 30, 2013

Jim Iyke's Day In Church - Its a New Day for Him (The Full Video Version)

.
.

.Yes ohhhh, by now everybody has heard and everybody is talking. Yes our very own Nollywood Favourite Actor Jim Ikechukwu (aka Jim Iyke) got delivered at the Synogogue church of All Nations (TB Joshua Church) by one of church their Pastors Daniel. I think it was last Sunday or so, not sure.
.
.
I dont like the fact that many blogs and their readers are making fun of the situation. I mean i was shocked when I heard it because Jim is the last person that i will imagine to go get delivered in such an open forum and on national TV (do SCOAN ask permission when they do this???), but then again, I don't know the man personally, so who am I to assume what he can and cannot do.  I cannot go by what the media paints him to be. 
.
In my opinion if you do not believe in deliverance that is your own, but I do,  and so,  I am very proud of him for taking this bold step before the year ended. I heard Jim came to the church unannounced and was somewhere in the far back, trying to stay low key, but they got him :) - You cant hide bro :) - at the end he was hugging on to this lady, I think that must be one of his sisters or close friend (I dont know).
.
Apparently and from watching the video clip above, he was delivered from spirit of unmarried (and you thought this was a woman only thing, Jim proved you wrong), and this had contributed to the fact that he cannot stay in a relationship nor love someone long enough to take the next bold step of marriage and start a family. I don't know Jim but I don't know of him having a brother so I am sure as the only male in his family him starting a family may be very important to his mom and family, so this is a big deal. 
.
Like i said you can choose to believe in Deliverance or not, that's your own. I am just happy for this young man. I am sure he has broken many hearts and disappointed many ladies in the past, and many of these ladies may have rained all sorts of all curses on his head for one reason or the other, and so, hopefully none of those ladies holds it against him after they watch this video, and now they should understand that it wasn't his doing. No one is perfect. I hope he connects with all those past babes, apologise to whomever he believes in his heart he has hurt and move on.  Life must go on sha.
.
I pray Jim, that he starts 2014 fresh, and that he find someone he connect with and love her well (personally i like Stephnora over Nadia, Nadia na trophy type wife material) and finally you can also start a family of your own. 
.
No matter how rich you become or how famous you become, been through all the holes in every area code, after a while it becomes redundant, when you come to your big ole house fully furnished filled with designer shoes & clothes. That does not fulfill one -Family & kids do. If this is something you truly want, then May you be blessed with your own wife and kids in 2014 and when it happens, stay low key, just like veteran actor Saint Obi has done, after he too was also pressured for taking too long, but at Gods own time, he blessed him with a very gorgeous yet non famous low key wife and kid - though i miss seeing St Obi on screen i so respect his life now and where God has put him, I respect the low key lifestyle enjoying family life. Some people dont care to be married nor start a family, thats fine, to each his own. I think Jim does.
.
Jim I am proud of you. Dont be ashamed or embarassed no matter what people say - (you did great), cos you know all these stand up comedians may be even using it in their skit (I must admit, that part you said "Where is my shoes, immediately you gained consciousness was very funny, You must laugh at that your self, Who better to ask for their lost designer shoes after deliverance but our very own Jim Iyke). Its A New Day. Keep ya head up brother.
.
MsTiLii

Thursday, September 26, 2013

WE SALUTE YOU ABDUL HAJI - Kenyan Somali Moslem Man Who Saved Many in the Westgate Mall Attacks




Every now and then i like to post unrelated movie stories here - and I thought this story was so beautiful. 
.
Well as you all know the recent tragedy that befell our brothers and sisters in Kenya, as those coward squirrels called Al Shabbab Terrorist attacked their Westgate mall and killed innocent civilians and held many hostage for days. When the story broke, one particular image which i saw and that broke my heart because as you all know i love kids immensely. I love love love kids especially babies and toddlers and so you can imagine when i saw this image above, I just lost it. Thats a brave lil girl right there and ofcourse her Guardian Angel Abdul waiting to help save her from those monsters.
.
Former Defense Minister Yusuf Haji’s son Abdul Haji was photographed rescuing many victims of the Westgate attack. He told NTV‘s Mark Masai and Smriti Vidyarthi about how he got to the Mall and helped rescue many civilians.
.
Abdul Haji said in his interview:
.
“I am angry at what I saw, what those people did, and the claim that they did it in the name of Islam,” he said yesterday, insisting on being interviewed in a public place in what he said was a sign of defiance to terror. “I am a Kenyan-Somali and I am Muslim; Islam does not advocate violence. They are doing the opposite of what Islam teaches,” he said. He, however, is a reluctant hero. “I don’t feel like a hero at all. That girl who ran towards me is brave. That’s bravery. I don’t think I was that brave at her age but if I could save lives, I could do it again.”
.
Watch his interview below for details:
.

.
.
Abdul Haji, 38, (A Married Man and father of 4 daughters) was in a meeting at Yaya Centre when he received an SMS from his elder brother. “Stuck in Westgate. I think it’s a terrorist attack. Pray for me,” it read. It was a moment he had been dreading for two weeks after a local television station exposed his brother, an undercover counter-terrorism officer, in an investigative programme. Since then, the family of Senator Yusuf Haji has been receiving threats and warnings from people believed to represent the Somali-based Al-Shabaab Islamist group. 
.
Mr Haji quickly excused himself from the meeting and dashed to Westgate. It was almost 1pm on Saturday, September 21. A licensed gun holder and gun enthusiast, Mr Haji was introduced to guns by his father, the Garissa senator who is also a former defence minister and long-serving provincial administrator.
.
You can read More HERE
.
Other Images of Abdul The Hero
.

WE SALUTE YOU ABDUL HAJIB, WELL DONE.
.
Elliott Prior - Our Mini Hero who saved mom, sister and self.
.
Another story that also touched by heart is of this lil boy who told one of the terrorist man "You are very bad man" as that evil man was about to kill him and his mom and sister, Those words by the 4yr old boy stopped evil right in his tracks, he gave the lil boy chocolates and said to him " I am very sorry" yet went on his way to do what he came to do. I swear kids are Angels on this planet, see why i love em.?
.

.
A four-year-old British boy survived the bloody Kenyan shopping mall attack after standing up to a terrorist gunman and telling him: “You’re a very bad man.” Elliott Prior, from Windsor in southeast England, showed great courage when men with AK47s stormed the Westgate shopping mall in Nairobi on Saturday, the Sun reports. He was protecting his mother Amber, who had been shot in the leg. As a gunman approached him, his mother and his six-year-old sister Amelie, he shouted: “You’re a bad man, let us leave.” Surprisingly, the gunman appeared to take pity on the family. After going so far as to give Elliott and Amelie candy bars, he allowed them to escape with their mother, saying, according to the Sun: “Please forgive me, we are not monsters.” 
.
Read the Rest HERE.
.

Monday, September 16, 2013

African Actors/Actresses Learn to Be Humble and Not So Big Headed.

If you have been in the industry a short minute with a handful of movies and not a single breakthrough movie yet, abeg, calm the f*** down and dont blow your own damn horn on social media. It is extremely annoying and unattractive. With some of the attitudes showcased you would think some of these nollywood and ghana film actors and actresses are veteran oscar winners. Like seriously, I will call you out if this BS continues. 
.
You act these local movies that dont even make it to international level and you acting conceited and brand new. I dont blame you sha, I blame those kissing your ass on social media. And its always these mediocre ones who make noise. Mschwwwwwww
.
.

Sunday, August 11, 2013

Finding Mercy (Trailer of An Upcoming Denziot Production Movie)

An upcoming movie produced by Desmond Elliot starring Blossom Chukwujekwu, Tamara Etiemo, Chioma Chukwuka, Uti Nwachukwu, Rita Dominic, Desmond Elliott. 
.

.
Two friends find themselves in a complicated situation with a motherless baby. One decides to keep the baby only to discover truths he would rather not know.
.
I said before this Chuks (Blossom Chukwujekwu) guy we gotta keep an eye on, he is has good potential to be great with time and the Tamara Etiemo girl, very good (she so resembles Daniella Chioma Okeke, i hope the act as siblings in a future movie). 
.


Thursday, August 1, 2013

Long Walk To Freedom (Nelson Mandela Biographical Movie starring Idris Elba) - Trailer

Idris Elba - Promo Photos for Long Walk to Freedom
.

.
"Shall we begin?" Idris Elba as Nelson Mandela asks in the first trailer for "Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom." As it turns out, marketing for the Weinstein Company release already began last week, when an international teaser for the Oscar hopeful debuted online. 
.
A chronicle of Nelson Mandela's life journey from his childhood in a rural village through to his inauguration as the first democratically elected president of South Africa.
.
That clip showed precious little in the way of Elba, though it did feature his uncanny vocal impersonation of the South African leader; the "Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom" trailer that debuted on Thursday provides interested parties a whole lot more in the way of Elba and the film's story. 
.
Based on an original screenplay by William Nicholson and directed by Justin Chadwick, "Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom" focuses on Mandela's younger days. "Public Enemy No. 1," "Hunted By Police," "Feared By The Government" read title cards in the beginning of the clip, before words like "Liberator" and "Revolutionary" flash across the screen. ("The Social Network" trailer still has an influence on modern movie marketing, it seems.) 
.
For his part, Elba looks strong. He's been mentioned as a possible Best Actor contender, and this trailer does nothing to deter that excitement. Watch the first "Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom" trailer above. 
.
The film is out in USA on Nov. 29 2013.
.
I am so excited i got nothing to say. Cat catch my tongue :) - yall know we love us some Idris (yessirrrrr), and how better to honour a great man Mandela now when he is alive at 95 before God calls him home - Bring that Oscar to your homeland - London/Sierre Leone/Ghana, let us start priding ourselves now.  Win that Oscar for you, for us all but in honour of Mandela too.
.

Now whats next for our boo, Black Bond baby, 1st Black James Bond. We love you Idris.

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Half of the Yellow Sun (Watch "New" Exciting Trailer)

.
I talked about the upcoming movie "Half of The Yellow Sun" last year, well finally the trailer is finally here, check it out, below. I absolutely love the 1st trailer, Gosh i cant wait. There is nothing more exciting for me than waiting and anticipating on the release of a great movie.
.
.

.
The movie is an adaption of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie‘s best-selling novel. Chiwetel Ejiofor stars in the film alongside Thandie Newton, Genevieve Nnaji and Anika Noni Rose
.
A scene with Thandie Newton and Chiwetel Ejiofor
.
“Olanna (Newton) and Kainene (Rose) are glamorous twins from a wealthy Nigerian family. Returning to a privileged city life in newly independent 1960s Nigeria after their expensive English education, the two women make very different choices. Olanna shocks her family by going to live with her lover, the “revolutionary professor” Odenigbo (Ejiofor) and his devoted houseboy Ugwu (Boyega) in the dusty university town of Nsukka; Kainene turns out to be a fiercely successful businesswoman when she takes over the family interests, and surprises herself when she falls in love with Richard (Mawle) an English writer. Preoccupied by their romantic entanglements, and a betrayal between the sisters, the events of their life loom larger than politics.” 
.
The film will premiere in September at the Toronto Film Festival. Now these are the kind of movies we want to see come out of Africa, move great scripted films and story lines which are fit for international film festival to give us as Africans some diginity across the globe, AND NOT USELESS NONSENSICAL MEDIOCRE FOOLISH MOVIES LIKE YVONNE NELSONS / PASCAL AMANFO directed movie  "HOUSE OF GOLD". 
.
I am so excited to see this movie "Half of the Yellow Sun" with award winning actors (tresses) such as Thandie Newton, Anika Noni Rose, Genny and Chiwetal. Actors (tresses) you know you when you watch you wont get disappointed. 
.
I cant wait to watch it and review it. I have not reviewed  a movie in a long while, and my reason remains (and always will be) i refuse to waste my precious time to review nonsense movies that is not worth my time such as HOUSE OF GOLD (Yvonne Nelson just continue to stay pretty on red carpet but please save us all the headache of producing a movie or worse yet, acting in one, cos i will watch it on MUTE like i do Van Vicker :) - just to stare at the only thing worth staring - your pretty face :)  ). 
.

.
Thank You Chimamanda, We love the stories you tell and cant wait to support 100%. If you have never read any of ChiChi's books, ohhh you are so missing out. 



. She is one of the best african writers ever. And you should listen to her in an interview, so intelligent and bright woman. She is such an inspiration. 
.
Please support this movie when it comes out, and try to read the book too, i promise you will love it.
.
MsTilii

Sunday, July 28, 2013

Sweet Crude (Niger Delta Movie Trailer)

A very interesting documentary/movie worth the watch, about whats going on in the Niger Delta (Nigeria). I know am a couple of years late watching this, but i am currently looking for it to watch it. 
.

.

Monday, July 22, 2013

The King Has Been Born, All Hail the King!!!


.
21 gun salute, He's here ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh. Yes ohhhh, He's here. Oh am so happy, Kate has lit up this monarch, i swear. 8 lb 6 oz worth of joy. Oh am so happy for them. Congratulations William and Kate.  Next one will be a girl so her name can be Diana.
.


Actress Stella Damasus Speaks Up (#Child-Not Bride)


.
Stella I am lost for words, you said it all. Thank You. We salute you. I hope other celebs in Nollywood (or even Ghana) will lend their efforts - just speak up for 2 mins and encourage people to sign the petition, there are several petitions going around sign as many as you can, start off by signing this one . Speak up for all our Children. A child is a child, whatever religion or tribe they are from. So Please help out..
.
So called celebrities. Speak up.

Sunday, July 21, 2013

#Child-Not Bride Campaign + "DRY" (An Upcoming Stephanie Okereke Movie)

Northern Nigeria has one of the highest rates of child marriage in the world: nearly half of all girls here are married by the age of 15. The consequences have been devastating. Nigeria has the highest maternal mortality rate in Africa and one of the world’s highest rates of fistula, a condition that can occur when the pressure of childbirth tears a hole between the vagina and the bladder or rectum. Many women are left incontinent for life. Up to 800,000 women suffer from fistula in Nigeria. And as if that was not enough, you have all recently heard, that a bunch of SICK PEDOPHILES who happen to be senators in the Nigerian government have all signed for child marriage to be legal in Nigeria -
.
Basically what they did is approved language that would remove the protection for young women and girls from repeatedly being rape in the guise of early marriage, so in retrospect a 13 yr old can be married off. See below for the list of all the pedophiles who signed this. 
.
It just so happens that our beautiful gorgeous Actress Stephanie Okereke had already completed a movie titled "DRY" which covers this issue of Vesico Vaginal Fistula (V.V.F ), a cause the soft spoken actress is very passionate about. VVF is like female circumcision and you can read another thread i posted here last year - Grassroot movement to end female circumcision. There are so many youtube videos you can watch on this topic just to be aware of what is going thats hardly ever spoken of.
.
Our actress Stephanie says; “I have been to the North and to other parts of the country, and I have seen first-hand how this health issue defies normal living for girls and women of different ages. I have decided to share their stories through “DRY”. 
.
The movie “DRY” journeys into the heart-wrenching details of a culture not too many films dare to explore. The issue might seem controversial, but if it will set one girl free and open the minds of the people, and also instruct different bodies and individuals to take action, then the movie would have served its purpose. Vesico Vaginal Fistula (V.V.F ) causes leakage of urine and faeces through the vagina. Girls as young as 11-15 years suffer this ailment when they are forced into early marriages to older men, and due to their small pelvic sizes, unable to carry a baby full term, they experience obstructive labour which can lead to a tear in the wall that which connects the vagina to the rectum thus causing the victim to constantly leak urine and sometimes feaces.
.
Stephanie was not going to release this movie yet at all, but with the recent announcement from the senate, and this topic being so related, she felt compelled to release this movie sooner. These atrocities still happening in parts of Africa and are all interrelated . 
.
The release of this movie will help increase the awareness globally about Vesico Vaginal Fistula (V.V.F ) as well as about underage marriages in many parts of africa - We are killing our own kids. We as adults need to protect our kids any way we can. It doesnt matter what tribe, religion, nationality. I am extremely utterly passionate about kids and hearing such stories, causes me sleepless nights. 
.
And on the topic of child marriage law passed in nigeria senate, these mofos as leaders of the nation are suppose to protect our children, not to stick your shrivel up d1cks in these lil girls. A child is suppose to be a child, to play, to learn, to just enjoy life without any worries. We as adults should do the worrying for them. This is the sickest law i have ever heard in my whole entire life.
.
.
.
Thank You so much Stephanie for making a movie such as this. We need great classic tell all movies like this , to increase awareness around the globe, and i wish you major success with this movie. I hope it makes it to the international film festivals. We got your back and will do all we possibly can to help promo this movie for you. You are doing this for our kids, and we as women appreciate you immensely more than you know. You are loved.  I dont know where the premiere will be but oh how i wish i can attend in Nigeria, if i was back home in Ghana. I hope you promo and premiere it in UK and USA too. We will support you. Thank You Mrs Stephanie Linus Idahosa (nee Okereke) and to you and your husband Linus Idahosa.
.
Mrs Stephanie-Linus Idahosa (nee Okereke)
Nollywood Actress.
.
Here is the list of all the senators who signed the bill: FOR THE LOVE OF GOD LEAVE OUR YOUNG GIRLS AND CHILDRENS VAGINAS ALONE - No cutting, no Poking, None of that ish!!!, LEAVE IT ALONE, THEY ARE KIDS!!!!!!! LET CHILDREN BE CHILDREN, LET THEM ENJOY THEIR LIVES.
.
Support the #ChildNotBride movement. Below is the list of the Nigeria Senators who voted for underage marriage in Nigeria. 
1. Sen. Abdulmumin M. Hassan (Jigawa South West, PDP) 
2. Sen. Abdullahi Danladi (Jigawa North West, PDP) 
3. Sen. Adamu Abdullahi (Nasarawa West, PDP) 
4. Sen. Ahmed Barata (Adamawa South, PDP) 
5. Sen. Akinyelure Ayo (Ondo Central, Labour Party) 
6. Sen. Alkali Saidu A. (Gombe North, PDP) 
7. Sen. Bagudu Abubakar A. (Kebbi Central, PDP) 
8. Sen. Dahiru Umaru (Sokoto South, PDP) 
9. Sen. Galaudu Isa (Kebbi North, PDP) 
10. Sen. Garba Gamawa (Bauchi North, PDP) 
12. Sen. Gobir Ibrahim (Sokoto East, PDP) 
13. Sen. Gumba Adamu Ibrahim (Bauchi South, PDP) 
14. Sen. Hadi Sirika (Katsina North, CPC) 
15. Sen. Ibrahim Bukar Abba (Yobe East, ANPP) 
16. Sen. Jajere Alkali (Yobe South, ANPP) 
17. Sen. Jibrilla Mohammed (Adamawa North, PDP) 
18. Sen. Kabiru Gaya (Kano South, ANPP) 
19. Sen. Lafiagi Mohammed (Kwara North, PDP) 
20. Sen. Lawan Ahmad (Yobe North, ANPP) 
21. Sen. Maccido Mohammed (Sokoto North, PDP) 
22. Sen. Musa Ibrahim (Niger North, CPC) 
23. Sen. Ndume Mohammed Ali (Borno South, PDP) 
24. Sen. Sadiq A. Yaradua (Katsina Central, CPC) 
25. Sen. Saleh Mohammed (Kaduna Central, CPC) 
26. Sen. Tukur Bello (Adamawa Central, PDP) 
27. Sen. Ugbesia Odion (Edo Central, PDP) 
28. Sen. Umar Abubakar (Taraba Central, PDP) 
29. Sen. Usman Abdulaziz (Jigawa North East, PDP) 
30. Sen. Ya’au Sahabi (Zamfara North, PDP) 
31. Sen. Zannah Ahmed (Borno Central, PDP).... 
32. Sen. Ahmad Rufai Sani (Zamfara West, ANPP) 
33. Sen. Ahmad Abdul Ningi (Bauchi Central, PDP) 
34. Sen. Bello Hayatu Gwano (Kano North, PDP) 
35. Sen. Ibrahim Abu (Katsina South, CPC).. 

.
#CHILD - NOT BRIDE
#NO VVF
#HELP PROTECT ALL OUR KIDS
.
.
Please sign the petition here at change.org Child-Not-Bride and also sign here if you can (do one or the other or both, like i did) 
.
I am begging everyone to sign this bill, It shouldn't take us more than a week to reach a million plus votes on this one. Sign it and tell a friend and tell another friend. Imagine your own daughter, your niece, your God daughter etc. Dont take this as lenient at all, this is serious, and mofos want to make this legal and i pray all their dicks shrivel up and fall off the face of the earth. AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. I am deeply saddened by this. 
.
#ADULTS MEN, PLEASE LEAVE OUR CHILDRENS VAGINAS ALONE, AAAAAAAAAAAAARRRGHHHHHHHHHH LEAVE THEM ALONE, Ogini??? What is it????? Someday I hope there are more women in african politics than they are men, so we will enact laws to favour women and children. 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...