Monday, July 30, 2012

MISS TILII 2012 MOVIE RATINGS


.
Todays Date: Jul 30 2012

-Dumebi- (Mercy Johnson, etc )
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 6/10

-Sasha- (Yvonne Okoro etc )
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 3/10

-Miss Queen- (tontoh Dikeh, Oge Okoye etc )
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 2/10
.
-Black Beauty/Divine Princess- (Muna Obiekwe, Patience Ozorkor, etc" )
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 2/10
.
-Royal Wedding / Make of a Queen- (Patience Ozokwor )
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 2/10

-Wanna Be- (Prince Osei etc )
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: -0000.10/10 (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)
.
-Hidden Fantasy- (Martha Ankomah etc)
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 1/10

-Unfaithful- (Yul Edochie etc)
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 3/10

-Blood and Chocolatel- (Yul Edochie etc)
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating:  -0000.10/10  (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)

-Profefssional Lady- (Tontoh Dikeh etc)
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating:  -0000.10/10 (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)
.
-Game Mistress- (Tontoh Dikeh etc)
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating:  -0000.10/10  (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)
.
-All My Tears / Honor my Tears- (John Dumelo, Martha Ankomah)
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating:  -0000.10/10  (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)
.
-The Engagement- (Martha Ankomah etc)
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating:  1/10 (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)
.
-Saving of Emotion / Soul Transfer- (Mercy Johnson, Chika Ike etc)
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating:  2/10 
.
-Hero in Me- (Mercy Johnson, Chika Ike etc)
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating:  2/10 
.
.
Todays Date: May 01 2012
.
-Osofoo Awaree - (AKAN/TWI MOVIE:-starring NanaAma McMbrown, Benedicta Gafah etc )
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 8/10


-Hwe Wa Warie Yie - (AKAN/TWI MOVIE: starring NanaAma Mcbrown, Emelia Brobbery etc )
-Producer/Director: Nana Ama Mcbrown
-Rating: 8/10

-Atta Saman - (AKAN/TWI MOVIE: : starring Bill Asamoah, starring Vivian J Lawrence etc )
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 9.5/10

-Somewhere In Africa- (Movie was "good" but not great-Majid performance was  "Great" )
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 7.5/10

-Goverment Babes- (starring Martha Ankomah)
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 0/10

-Bitter Emotions-
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 2/10

-Caught in the Web-
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 1/10


-Sweet Mistake/Corporate Games-starring Prince David Osei
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 1/10
.

-Twist and Turn-starring Prince David Osei
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 1/10


-Tatoo Girls-
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: -0.001/10 (excruciatingly horrible)


-Leave My Wife-Prince David Osei
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 1/10


-Desperate Heart-
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 3.5/10

-Please Marry Me-starring Yvonne Okoro and Prince David Osei
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 4/10

-Tempest Wind- starring Jackie Appiah
-Producer/Director: 
-Rating: 2/10

Todays Date: March 22 2012
.
I am simply going to keep adding to this same thread post, so everyone can keep track of all the ratings under one thread - These are movies not worth my time to review in depth so i am simply goiong to rate it and its your judgement call to go spend your hard earned money and flush down the toilet (opps i meant to say 'hard earned money and buy it" LOL). I watched it and I returned the movies back to my longterm and understanding dealer for credit for better yet to be released movies - i forgot to write the names of the producers but i will write down ones i remember and later come back to complete the rest. They need to be put on blast too - not just the actors or actresses.
.
-Losing You - (starring Yvonne Okoro, Yvonne Nelson and Adjetey Anang)
-Producer/Director: Venus Production
-Rating: 4/10
.
-Images of Men - (starring Van Vicker etc)
-Producer/Director:Venus Production/Abdul Mumuni (I mean what else is new with them - same ole ish)
-Rating: 2/10
.

-Sins of Mama G - (Patience Ozorkwor, ChaCha Eke, Uche Ogbodo)
-Producer/Director: 

-Rating: 4//10
.

-Agony of Birth - (starring Martha Ankomah, Rosselyn Ngissah and etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 3/10
.

-Haunted Shadows - (starring Van Vicker +Chika Ike= horrendous combination in a movie)
-Producer/Director: coming soon
-Rating: 1/10
.
-Hostage - (starring John Dumelo etc )
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 2/10
.

-Bitter Emotions 1-4 - (starring Martha Ankomah )
-Producer/Director: coming soon
-Rating: 1/10
.
-Complicated - (starring  Mike Ezerounye and Tonto Dikeh etc)
-Producer/Director: coming soon
-Rating: 3/10
.
-Private Husband - (starring  Oge Okoye, Uche Ogbodo etc)
-Producer/Director: 

-Rating: 2/10
.
-King Jomo - (starring  Juliet Ibrahim, Kofi Adjorlolo etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1/10

.
-Sons of Satan - (starring a bunch of ppl i dont care to know their names etc)
-Producer/Director: 

-Rating: -0.00001/10
.
-Before Catwalk- (starring Oge Okoye, Tontoh Dikeh, Chika Ike etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: -1/10

.
-No Apologies - (starring Yvonne Okoro, Prince David Osei, Kofi Adjololo etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 3/10

.
-Silent Writer- (starring John Dumelo etc)
-Producer/Director: 

-Rating: 2/10.
.
-Passion of Eve - (starring Martha Ankomah, Rosselyn Ngissah etc)
-Producer/Director:

-Rating: 1/10
.
-Behind da Walls - (starring Nadia Buari, Prince Osei David etc)
-Producer/Director: coming soon
-Rating: 2/10

.
-Behind da Heart - (starring Uche Elendu etc )
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 2/10

.
-Deception- (starring Martha Ankomah , Rosselyn Ngissah, Prince Osei etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1/10

.
-Game of Roses/(Sequel): Speechless-(starring Nadia B, Martha A , Kalsum Sinari, Artus etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 3/10

.
-The Portfolio - (starring Martha Ankomah & Prince David Osei)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1.5/10

.
(Martha Ankomah i see you are on the roll this year, "Kor su wai", continue to say yes to every crap movie and build up your resume/cv real good. Just continue. I guess like the rest of em - you gotta eat too, and thus accept any thing that comes your way and working with scripts/producers/directors who cannot make you realise your great potential ando for you to  shine and be known for the best work. Good luck - Two fingers and Deuces to you!)
.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
March 4th 2012
.
As it is well known on this blog, I DO NOT/WILL NOT review movies which i do not consider classics. I could review it like i use to back in the day, but in the past 3 yrs i have decided - I just dont have the time. Blogging is my unpaid hobby I do very late at night when everyone else is enjoying their beauty sleep -this is not my full time paid job.
.
A movie which is a classic to me is one with an
-Excellent Script
-Great Acting by all actors or actresses  - READ HERE FOR MY DEFINITION or HERE
-Great Production
-Great Direction
-Excellent Sound and Picture Quality
-etc etc etc
.
The movies listed below - i have watched in and my opinion  is no where near classic. Some are good, just ok, simply average or absolutely crap - you make your judgement call by the rating. After 4 yrs (2000-2004) piling up boxes and boxes of crap movies (and those were VHS which even took more space) - i decided no more wasting money, and this is why i created this blog to alert people.
.
These movies will not be sitting in my video library, I just return it to my long time dealer for credit for a future classic release. I know many dont have that previledge cos once you buy it and leave the african store where you buy its a done deal - you cannot return it for exchange or refund, but fortunately i have a long standing customer relationship with movie dealer whom i have spent money with over 8 years since 2004 and we have developed an understanding where he knows i dont like good, average, just ok and definately not crap movies. It has to be great for me to spend my money on it and Keep it. If after watching it - I dont consider it great, I give it right back. 
.
They are a lot of movies i bought many years ago and were so great I still watch them till this day (to name a few Keeping Faith, All My Life, Blood Sisters, Alice my first Lady etc and many more ) - I can go into my library take it out and watch it and enjoy it like the very first day i watched it many years ago.
.
If people want to continue to marinate and praise movies that are not good  or simply average - well thats your own. We are more than 20 yrs deep in the industry - the bafoonery and mediocre movies, bad acting, ridiculous titles,  movies split into many parts and/or different titles etc, movies that insult the audience intelligence. We laughed about it many atimes in the early years and said "oh thats ok - its african movie, we dont have to be perfect, its ok if script sucks, or if the background music drowns the actors delivery, its ok someone is shot with a gun but i dont see blood or i can hear live construction going on in the background of some one hammering etc. People are aiming high and making international film festivals others want the short cut to make a quick buck for now.
.
If you the audience continue to buy into it, and let your self be insulted with these back to back nonsense movies,  they will have the platform to continue to produce it, but I MsTilii choose will not entertain such - to each his own. The money you use to produce the movie is precious and important to you and you want to break even - well same here, my money is equally important to me and I like to spend it WISELY - If you do not give me my monies worth, am sorry i cant praise your work. To the audience, You may watch it and love it cos thats your taste - to each his own.
.
I wish i can sugarcoat stuff and act all fake ans say something is nice when i know I know for a fact its not and i will never watch the movie again, I just dont know how. I will continue to tell it like it is. I have done my part of warning you. DEUCES..
.
1st Quarter - .JAN / FEB / MAR 2012
  • LADY GAGA - 3.5 / 10
  • BITTER EMOTIONS - 4 / 10
  • MAMA & THE GIRLS/SWAGGER LADIES- 3/10
  • DECEPTION - 4 / 10
  • BRAVE MIND/HAND OF FATE - 5 / 10
  • VICTIMS (Part 1 - 4) - 4/ 10
*The script for "Victims" had so much potential and coulda been so much better but somwhere along the line - the writer/producer lost track and the movie was all over the place - no head no tail - long boring court room scenes etc etc. I hate movies that insult my intelligence - a gynaecolist who examines his patients with no nurse present and goes on to rape them? really? ok. Majid  and Mercy were good as usual, Paul Sambo acting was average - i expected more - this script was just not him, Paul needs a better script and a good director / producer who can challenge him to shine. He is a natural as he was in Ladies Men, and has great potential and he is very articulate and eloquent (something that MOST of the actors struggle with but he doesnt). I am still waiting for a classic from him. This just wasnt it. Too many loose holes.
  • FIREBRAND / SPELLBOUND- 5.5 / 10
* As much as i enjoy RAA movies this production collabo by Emem and Morris Sesay - just did not do it for me at all - I was quite disappointed. Newbie "Morris Sesay" please just cos you co-produce a movie doesnt mean you have to act in it if you are not ready for acting. Honestly I would say take some time off (just like Majid did in his day which paid off greatly) and register some acting classes with all the money you got and get some training and then maybe you grace our screens again. Until then please dont torture us like this again. Nse was good, Joe B - I expected more. Anybody else I did not notice - nothing exceptional from them as usual - always average. I will not say more - if you like go buy it and see for yourself and come here and review it.
  • coming soon- x/x
.
2nd Qtr - APRIL / MAY / JUNE 2012
.
.
3rd Quarter JUL / AUG / SEPT 2012
.
.
4th Quarter Oct/Nov/Dec 2012
.
.
.

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

New President of Ghana: John Mahama Dramani

Watch the video below to see proceedings of John Mahama Dramani being sworn in as the new president. Every thing done orderly and with process as it should. That horn blowing you hear in the beginning at 1:45 is our customary tune played for the mighty fallen and the dead. As time goes by I will post more footage and photos. And you best believe he (ex president and Late John Atta Mills) will be given a great state burial of which you will see more of our culture, our customs and orders of procedure. The fair lady speaking is the mother of my friend (Danielle) - her name is Joyce Adeline Bampoe-Addo - Mrs Addo is the 1st female Speaker of the House in the West African Region - this position she holds is the 3rd most important position of the land - She makes us women proud. RIP John Fiifi Atta Mills. Soft Spoken, Humble and Modest is what i will remember him of the most.
.
God Bless Our Homeland Ghana, and Make our Nation Great and Strong.
.
.
.
(Source: Ghana TV - Dated July 24 2012)

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

My Country Ghana Has Lost Our President - RIP John Atta Mills


My country Ghana President John Atta Mills died today on 24 July, 2012 at the 37 Military Hospital in Accra, three days after his 68th birthday. Though the cause of death was not immediately released, he had been suffering from throat cancer and had recently been to the U.S. for medical reasons
. 
His office announced the death with a statement that read: "It is with a heavy heart that we announce the sudden and untimely death of the president of the republic of Ghana." It also added that he died hours after being taken ill. A presidential aide said that he had complained of pains the day prior to his death. According to the BBC his voice had degenerated in the previous few months. 
.
Former minister Elizabeth Ohene said that as a result of previous false reports of his death, she had not believed initial claims of his actual death. "For the past three or four years there's been news he's been unwell and rumours of his death - twice - and he appeared with grim humour to say they were exaggerated, insisting he was well. 
His Vice President John Dramani Mahama in at about 6pm today. In accordance with the constitution Mahama's tenure will expire at the same time Mills' was due to end, by the end of the year just prior to an election which he was due to run (December 7th 2012).
.
To those foolish commenters on other Ghanaian blogs i read today, No matter what tribe or political party you belongs to, today is united Ghana and we are mourning a great loss. Ghana is a great nation known globally for our peacefulness, our  friendliness and our great humility. President John Atta Mills was a good humble man. He is now resting in the arms of God. I anticipate a great farewell by the whole country. Everybody needs to come together during these times. Naadu Mill "Sher din" (1st lady - be strong)
.
A mighty tree has fallen. In my language "Damirifa Due". Rest Well.
.
(all comments here will be reviewed as usual before post)

Saturday, July 21, 2012

RIP Kile Glover - May You Rest in Perfect Peace

.
Everyone who knows me know I love kids immensely and ever since July 4 weekend - (precisely Sunday July 8), here in Atlanta, where the news was told that Kile Glover (Son of Tameka Raymond and ex husband successful TV Exec Ryan Glover) had been involved in an accident at our Local Lake Lanier. I have been praying. (Tameka is also ex wife of Usher the singer.)
.
Kile Glover was reportedly declared brain dead after he was struck in the head by a jet ski while riding an inner tube on Lake Lanier, in Atlanta, GA. Kile he was riding  with an unidentified 15-year-old girl at the time of the accident. Doctors determined he would not recover from the injuries he suffered.
.
Just 2 weeks ago, It was a scorching hot Sunday July 8 afternoon and many people headed to Lake Lanier - as most people in metro Atlanta do on summer days like this. I was at a barbecue at a friends house 10 mins from Lake Lanier at Sugar Hill, and the TV was on mute as the subtitles were rolling, as the music was blasting. Around 7pm I read on the subtitles on CNN, the tragic news of 2 kids that had been hurt at Lake Lanier and were air lifted to our local Children's Hospital of Atlanta - Egleston (I actually work at CHOA/Finance). 
.
I didn't even know it was Tameka's son then, but  I had been praying for these kids to be healed. I later heard the older teenage girl was going to be ok, however the younger child happens to be Kile Glover - 11 yr old son of Tameka Raymond's - Kile was a handsome young boy, and I hear an intelligent and an honour roll student at school. My heart sunk when i heard the word "Life Support" cos i work at CHOA and I understand what that means - I had been praying ever since, for God please heal Kile and let him get ready and to get ready for school which opens for most kids here in GA in about 3 weeks time. 
.
Last week i heard although he was life support, he had responded to pain, which after asking gazillion questions to my doctor friends they all told me, was a good sign, and he had good chances to get better. So you can imagine to my shock when I woke up to a text from a friend today (Saturday morning -July 21) that the Life Support was taken off. He didn't make it. He died. I cried so much.
.
I am just utterly heart broken. I am not a mom yet , but i do not wish this on my worst enemy. I cannot even imagine what Tameka has gone through and is still going through through. I heard Tameka, struggled greatly with the decision to take her son off life support. Can you imagine as a mom having to make such a touch decision. I'd die.
.
I am sick of all these boat and jet ski accidents happening in Lake Lanier. I think they need to do something about it. Why would a child have to go and play in the lake (playing like most child should) and then have to end up in such a tragic state, because he has been hit by a jet ski
.
When you are sending condolence on any blog, radio stations or whatever please don't forget to mention Ryan Glover (Tameka 1st husband) and not just Tameka and Usher. We all know Usher is the famous chart topping former step dad to this child and he has lost too, but the real biological father hurting the most for loosing a son is Ryan (and Tameka). This is somewhat about Usher but not all about him, so please lets not forget that.
.
While the world has been tweeting words of encouragement to Tameka Raymond and her ex-husband, Usher, many have neglected to acknowledge the biological father of her ailing son. Before the stylist wed the popular R&B singer, she married Ryan Glover, a successful Atlanta-based TV executive. Glover is currently serving as the president of the new black digital network Bounce TV and before that served as an executive for Peachtree TV While at Peachtree, an independent Atlanta television station, Glover played a pivotal role in the creation of singer Monica’s reality show, “Monica: Still Standing.” Unlike his ex-wife, Glover does not have social network accounts where fans can reach out to him about his son directly. Below is a picture of Ryan and his kids.


.
(This is a Photo of TV Exec Ryan Glover and all his children, Kile is the one in navy blue.Very beautiful kids he has.)
.
I love this pic of Kile wearing all his honor roll awards from school
.
Ryan Glover and his son Kile (RIP Kile)
.
As a christian I know all kids go to heaven when they die so i have no doubt Kile is in a better place today. Rest in Peace Kile Glover. NO parent should have to bury their child.
.


Saturday, July 14, 2012

Actress Uru Eke's Interview with Rochelle Ferguson


.
Uru Eke Interview with Rochelle Ferguson (UK) show called Womens Corners. Yep that's my schnookooms right there, Uru baby!!!!! - one of the very few actresses in Nollywood i admired from day 1, from just watching her for 1st time. As an avid movie watcher, It doesnt take me long to determine you either got the on screen IT factor or you don't, and she surely brought it on screen that 1st time i saw her, and she still got it. Watch the interview with her below. 
.
.
ps: 
For those amateurs (and self proclaimed/so called professionals actors/tresses who aint!) watch this interview and learn something. I want you to listen specifically to when she was asked, "For someone starting out - what practical advice would you give them" (9.55).
.
-I Created a website
-I Created a show-reel
-I Networked at Premieres, and went well prepared with business cards  etc etc
.
Not - "Oh Mr producer, I want to be an actress" - Producer ask "Ok, what have you done", and you stand there like a %&#*, and because you are not prepared or dont hav anyhing to show, so you have no choice but to revert to quick way of "you know what" (lol, ). 
.
Am just saying to newbies (and even some old), please Invest in a polishing your skill like taking some acting courses, invest in a website, EPK/show reel, actors business cards - not just weaves, designers, cars, calendars, throwing parties, an audience overload of Photoshop photos. Prioritize boo boo. Dont loose focus. I rest my case.
.
Some are here to stay and for a very long time and grow in leaps and bounds - and Uru is undoubtedly one of em, just as i saw in her many years ago when i first saw her in  movie titled "Widows Men" starring opposite Jim Iyke - Its not too hard to tell the mediocres' from the professionals. As you can see from her interview she is definitely a professional. She could showboat and slang her way through her african movies, but she keeps it one hunned (100) - no fakeness, no force force RRRRR slangs. 
.
Very nice interview Uru. Well done. Remember what i told you girl - its quality - not quantity and thus far, and in the past year especially, I am very proud of your choice of scripts. You are filling your CV/Resume very well - making right choices. God bless you with more opportunities. Your future is definitely bright. Good Luck.
.
(observers are worried - LOL) 
.
(photosource:syncphotos)
.
"Weekend Getaway" Where art Thou. Am am tired oooh. Patience Patience. Hmmmm
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...