Monday, April 30, 2012

Congratulations to Mr and Mrs Idahosa (Steph and Linus)



.
Had to bump this thread up from April 23rd since I just added the above video. Just breathtaking. I mean i got goose bumps just watching this video. Definitely a fairy tale wedding indeed - its classy, it is simple (unlike the many circus types we have seen) - it was just absolutely beautiful beyond words. I am so happy for Stephanie (More High Quality Pictures are coming soon - stay tuned)


April 23 2012
We here at African Movie Reviewer would like congratulate nollywood actress Stephanie Okereke on her nuptials to her boo (now husband) Nigerian Media Mogul Linus Idahosa..
.
The wedding took place in the city of Paris and I must say Stephanie raised the bar so high I cannot imagine any other Nollywood star topping this wedding and even if they do - it will be just a copy cat. Stephanie one of the very few i consider 'classy' and well respected actress - showcased her class to the up-most. They both looked so stunning in her gorgeous Ellie Saab gown and my favourite was her veil. Her bouquet was to die for and the whole ivory/white purple thing was just gorgeous and not too loud and overbearing.
.
The wedding was held in a gorgeous french chateau. It was just very simple yet highly classy  and far from the circus kind of wedding, and I am glad they did it Paris - The city of Love.
.
There are many photos circulating around but i will rather wait for the high quality photos to be released later this week and post it here. Just know she looked gorgeous.
.
The guest in attendance included Nollywood greats such as Genevieve Nnaji and legend Liz Benson and many others amongst the 400 guest that all flew to Paris to support Stephs special day.
.
Mr and Mrs Idahosa may God bless you in your marriage and may you grow old together and have gorgeous babies.
.

Ghana vs Nigeria Dance-off (Majid, Chris, Deb, Desmond, Eku etc)

Ewuradi Nyankopon! Majid and Chris - you will not kill me with laughter this monday morning ok. Gosh am in tears laughing. Majid, who jumps up high before dancing Azonto and Chris - i never seen a booty shake Azonto before. You guys are hilarious.
.

.
(source: Ameyaw Debrah)

Friday, April 27, 2012

Half of The Yellow Sun


.
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrgggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggghhhhhhh!!!!!!!!. 
.
Half of the Yellow Sun?? - you mean my favourite book of all time.? Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaattttttt?????? You gotta be kidding me. Stop  pulling my legs ooh. Ok Miss Tilii calm down.  Ok people am so excited i cant even type right now so bear with me I will be back. My goodness - happy and excited is just an understatement. Gen and Thandie in one movie is just so exciting to me - two dynamic actresses - who are both "method" actresses.
.
Ok so I'm back, I got the confirmation from Vanessa Amadi (Gen's Publicist) and the details are as follows;
.

LONDON, ENGLAND – Friday 27th April 2012 – Acclaimed actress Genevieve Nnaji MFR today announced her secured role in the film adaptation of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s best selling novel ‘Half Of A Yellow Sun’. The award‐winning actress who was named one of Forbes ‘Most Powerful African Celebrities’ joins the star‐studded cast of Chiwetel Ejiofor, Anika Noni Rose and Thandie Newton in the highly anticipated movie.
.
The novel, which won the Orange Prize for fiction is set during the Nigerian‐Biafran War of 1967 – 1970 and explores the impact of this conflict through the twisting story of a University Professor (Ejiofor) and his lover (Newton) her sister, a British ex‐pat, and a young houseboy.
.
Nigerian born Nnaji won the role to play Ms Adebayo, another professor who develops a flirtatious relationship with her colleague Mr Odenigbo (Ejiofor).  ‘Half Of Yellow Sun’ is produced by Andrea Calderwood, the BAFTA winning producer of The Last King Of Scotland and Gail Egan, whose The Constant Gardener drew Oscar acclaim. Nigerian playwright Biyi Bandele, who has had a number of successes on the London stage, including his adaptation of seminal post‐colonial novel ‘Things Fall Apart,’ is making his directorial debut with this project. Yewande Sadiku and Muhtar Bakare of Shareman Media are both executive producers of the movie. Filming will commence next month and is currently scheduled for general release in 2013.
.
This is the second major role landed by Genevieve who recently confirmed a role in the Tony Abulu produced movie ‘Doctor Bello’, which will see her feature alongside US actor Isaiah Washington, Vivica A Fox and Jimmy Jean‐Louis and is set for a summer 2012 release.

.
(source: Vanessa Amadi - VA - PR)

Re-Branding Africa Through Our Movies



.
I dont know if many of you know this but between now and 2020 there is a new  strong movement of "Re-branding Africa"  to let the world know that the tarnished and bad image of Africa as its been for decades is not always true. Africans don't walk around half-naked, run around with tigers in the jungle nor do we live on trees and walk around like nomads cos we don't have cars. The one thing i always say to people with ignorant perceptions is "We sure don't live on credit, everything you see - unlike y'all, we buy with CASH money and not credit (marinate on that! LOL).
.
I for one, I am launching a new lifestyle blog/site very soon (purchased the domain and all), which will showcase nothing but the finest of Africa and what "THEY (as in the West) don't want you to see. THEY are about to be very surprised. We are moving so fast behind China and India - I have such high hopes for our continent by 2020 (I just pray for good leaders with foresight)
.
Having lived in Europe and USA, I give credit to Europeans (especially UK). When i make my comparisons, I know they are a lil bit more enlightened. But the rest of the world particularly USA, there is not much to be praised. It's sometimes kinda sad to me how  most DO NOT care to learn or know, but rather believe all their media tell them and refuse to leave their lil comfort zones and explore what is out there. 
.
I cannot begin to tell you the dumbest of the dumbest questions, I have been asked about Africa since I been in USA. Oh Yes it is dumb if you ask me do we live on trees and do we drive cars - I just tell it like it is - ITS A DUMB and INSULTING question. Slowly but surely we will enlightened those who want to be enlightened - not those with their noses in the air like africa aint ish.
.
Personally I think one of the best ways to do this will be through our movies - and we have somewhat but the majority of movies don't. This is why i respect the likes of Shirley Frimpong Manso, when it comes to showcasing the life and culture of my country Ghana. She is Ghanaian and understands the culture and customs and clearly proud of it. She uses a lot our African names in her movies, always rotates in shooting her movie in a different part of Ghana (apart from the capital city of Accra) to showcase our landscapes, our buildings, our beautiful highways, and as you all saw in her latest work of Adams Apple Chapter series (we are on chapter 10 now) she doesnt fail to showcase our beautiful Ghanaian produced African style dresses as well as the delicious Ghanaian food we eat, that, leaves you to salivate and am not talking just some Rice dish!  (I mean Shirley even showcases our mouth watering local dishes, being eaten with fingers likes it is suppose to be done, - I mean one can not be more real than that)- and all this kind of stuff remember, creates jobs for others too. I love me some Shirley. Very Smart. I would like to see more and more stuff promoting Africa in our movies, Stuff made by Africans.
.

.
.
.
Shirley will not use nonsense names like Rihanna, Beyonce, Ciara or Tyra in her movies. She has way more sense. Even if its an English movie, in some few scenes let our various languages be spoken and subtitle it like South Africans do with most of their sitcoms and soap-operas. As Africans, we have to patronize our own. F.U.B.U - For us By Us.
.
I think this also tells the world that we dont always have to copy the west in EVERYTHING (as it has mostly been done) - Lets try and be original for once. Pioneers of something.
.
Written By Miss Tilii
.

The Butler (An Upcoming Movie starring David Oyelowo)

.
David Oyelowo to star alongside Oprah WInfrey and Forest Whitaker in an upcoming epic movie titled "The Butler" 
.
British born Nigerian actor, David Oyelowo has emerged as a stunning chameleon in each project he has appeared in and has continued to receive positive reviews since his first major movie break in 2000… when he became the first black actor to portray an English monarch for the Royal Shakespeare Company when he played the title role in a production of Henry VI Parts I, II and III
 .
The 36 year old actor is steadily becoming a staple part of Hollywood since  his US debut in two HBO productions, the Kenneth Branagh directed "As You Like It" in August 2006 and as the lead in the mini-series "Five Days," for which he won the Satellite Award for Best Actor in a Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television for his performance
 .
His panache and sterling performances in some of UK’s best TV series and movies helped in land starring roles in Hollywood block-busters like The Last King of Scotland, The Help, Red Tails and Derailed
.
 The talented thespian is currently set to play a unique role in Lee Daniel’s upcoming controversial epic, ‘The Butler’ which will also star Forest Whitaker and Oprah Winfrey
We start [shooting] The Butler in June and that’s incredibly exciting for me because I get to work with the amazing Forest Whitaker again. It’s a phenomenal script and a great, great role — I play his son. Oprah Winfrey is his wife and my mother. My character is a radical, civil rights activist.” David told BET in a recent interview.
.
(Credit: Fakile Wale )

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Black Hollywood - Missing Good Ole Days?

If you have missed the Good ole days of great black hollywood feel good movies like Love Jones, Love and Basketball, Jason's Lyric, Two can play that Game, The Best Man, The Brothers, then this weekend go see Think Like A Man. I bet you guys are wondering why you promo-ing so hard - well, its cos of Michael thats why (u got a problem with that? LOL)
.
I miss the good ole days and i wish we start getting more black hollywood movies like we use to before. 
.
I wouldn't mind a remake of Love Jones anyway (Sanaa and Michael maybe).
.
I am a sucka for love and romance and would like to see more black romance in our theaters, than the reality tv shows we are bombarded with lately,  that showcase nothing but b-ball groupie heffas slapping each an other and pulling each others hair, and that is suppose to depict black women? - I think not.  You can put on a million dollar Loubie shoes and finest Brazilian hair - i still say CLASS can not be bought (u feel me?). You either  got it or you don't and its sad Prime TV is showcasing those who don't. See the Genny Post I posted above - simple yet classy - kinda reminds me of Beyonce, they dont even have to try too hard.
.
Bill Packer and Steve Harvey Thank you for this movie. I am going to see it again - I just want to see my Michael thats all - besides the theatre was too noisy last week cos folks wont keep quiet - how can one talk through out a movie from beginning to end. Like Seriously.
.
.

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Doctor Bello (An Upcoming Movie with Dynamic Cast)


.
i must say for 2012 this movie is my most anticipated and i cannot wait to see it. The cast selection for this movie is absolutely fantastic and i have no doubt it will be great.
.
CAST:
Genevieve Nnaji 
Vivica Fox
Stephanie Okereke
Isaiah Washington
Jimmy Jean Louis
Zach Orji
Desmond Elliot
Bern Cohen
Victor Brown
Andrea Leigh
.
PRODUCER:
Tony Abulu 
(Mr Abulu is a Hollywood pro with has over 30 yrs experience in various arenas. His resume is deep.)
.
DIRECTOR:
tba
.
SYPNOSIS:
Brilliant Cancer specialist Dr. Michael Durant is emotionally troubled, wrestling with the traumatic loss of his 10 year old daughter from Cancer. Immersing himself in his work in the hospital, away from his wife who blames him for their child’s death, he forms an unlikely bond with a sick, loving, but rambunctious seven year old boy Sam, the son of a rich Jewish couple who are major contributors to the Hospital’s Cancer Research Fund.
.
Unfortunately, Sam’s health deteriorates drastically, and soon, he slips into a coma, with only a few days to live. Dr. Durant becomes desperate, willing to risk anything to save the child’s life. A surreptitious Nigerian Nurse convinces him to seek the help of Dr. Bello, an uncertified Nigerian Doctor, known in the Brooklyn-African underground as a miracle worker. Dr. Bello, an introvert with a controversial past, secretly visits the child at night and administers a strange African potion, replete with incantations and by the next morning, miraculously, the child begins to recover, the Cancer speeding into remission
.
The Hospital Medical Board immediately orders an investigation and soon the secret is revealed and Dr. Durant is suspended. Dr. Bello is arrested and charged with medical malpractice. Dr. Durant soon falls into depression after his wife leaves him. Meanwhile, Dr. Bello has fallen critically ill in jail and can only be saved by the ingestion of the same potion that can only be found in the mysterious “Garden of Life,” nestled on the peak of Nigeria’s sky mountains.
.
The trailer is not out yet but will be soon so please stay tune - the promo photos are not even out yet. Gosh am getting giggles just excited - I mean the story line alone is exciting. Mmm - we don't get them like this too often. 
.
Save us oohhh Save us from movies with titles like Royal this Royal that, Babes this Babes that.  Deliver us. I will market and promo this movie like nobody's business. I am just motivated by the story line and great cast. I just cant wait.
.

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

UPCOMING 2012 CANNES FILM FESTIVAL

Just to alert you all - the Cannes film festival is coming on on May 16-27 2012 - less than a month away.
.
I have been told that Ghana nominated only 11 names to the invitations this year. I know the list but i cant confirm it to yall until i know this is 100% true. 
.
(I cant get pissed off by a rumor so for now - i will say no more, until I confirm everything). 
.
I am just curious to know who are the decision makers and jury in Ghana, who decides who goes and who doesn't go. I know for a fact Cannes expect each country to nominate their list of names of whom to invite, but as to who decides in Ghana who is invited or not, I am yet to know that, but i will find out. The nonsense disrespect to non English actors has got to stop.
.
Stay tuned.

The Rugged Priest - (A Kenyan Movie)





I will write more details about this movie later but in the mean time just check out the trailer. Seems interesting.
.

I look forward to watching this movie - this topic of priest having relationship as we see in this movie is one of those hush topics in our African community. But i know it exist. I never really understood the reason behind some priests not being allowed to marry. Maybe if they did all this wont happen.
.

Thanks to my Kenyan reader for sending me this trailer. I always want to shine the light on all great African movies (not just Ghanaian or Nigerian) - and so i ask you all wherever you are from in Africa - if there are any great movie releases -just let me know and i will publicize it here for you here. I want to support all my African countries with my free publicity. This is the least i can do.  Its my greatest pleasure. 
.
Thanks

Upcoming Movie: Breath



.
.
Upcoming movie based on a true story about real life health issues particularly for expectant moms - as it happened to Angela Burgin Logan. This movie is educative to all moms to be - especially expectant black moms here in USA since statistics are higher for this group. 
.
Starring Jazmine Lewis, Robin Givens, Elise Neal and Miquel Nunez


Here is more details of the real life story of Angela Burgin Logan  http://www.ladiesliveandlearn.com/about/ 


Thanks

Monday, April 23, 2012

RECENT NOLLYWOOD BACHELORS WHO TIED THE KNOT



(pic coming soon)
A lot of things happened this past weekend within Nollywood - there was the AMAA awards, Stephs Wedding in Paris and the 2 Nollywood Actors tying the knot. 
.
(pic coming soon)
Actor Chidi Mokeme, finally tied the knot (traditionally) with his fiancee - this was just a traditional wedding and i hear the actual wedding is next week. 
.
(pic coming soon)
New Nollywood actor Paul Sambo also had his  white wedding with his woman (now wife). 
.
Eissshhh so who is next? 
.
I am kinda glad these bachelors are settling down with their women. It kinda shows maturity on their end for taking that big bold step. I always say Men marry women not the other way round. I feel when 'most' women hit 20s are always forever ready and its always up to the men to propose, so when a marriage happens like this, i always commend the guy for taking that bold step (unlike his many counterparts who continue to sow their oats till kingdom come - one day that thing will fall gbram - misi eber ti ator). Another thing too is if you are not married and you enter this type of industry and you become famous, a lot of women tend to love you, not necessarily for you but the fiction they see on tv, but you can never tell, who is real and who is not, so its very special when you finally find that someone and settle down with. Hopefully cuts down the many pressures from the female fans who want more than just a smile and a photo op.
.
I Respect the institution of marriage. Congratulations to all you guys, I am very proud of all of you. You did good.
.

2012 Africa Movie Academy Awards Winners


.
.
Below are all the winners for the 2012 AMAA awards. A big congratulations to Majid for winning Best Actor in Lead Role. We are so proud of you brother and there are many more global recognition to come - don't forget what i told you. Prepare your Oscar speech and tag it away somewhere for some day.
.
Congratulations to Rita Dominic - also well over due and much deserved for winning best actress in a leading role. I have not seen Shattered yet cos its not out on release here in the west but i hope to see it soon. As you all know Rita is on my list for top 5 best actresses.
.
And finally A big big congrats to Lancelot Imaseun (aka DaGovernor) for his film "Adesewa". I have not seen this one yet neither cos its not on DVD release yet but i hope to see it and review it. Lancelot has done so many great movies (production and/or directing) in the past which were all award worthy so i have no doubt Adesewa was great.
.
Congratulations to everybody else. 
.
Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Fano Mokoena – Man On Ground

.
Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Terry Pheto – How To Steal 2 Million

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Majid Michel – Somewhere In Africa
.
Best Actress in a Leading Role
Rita Dominic – Shattered
.
Best Director
Charlie Vundla – How To Steal 2 Million
.
Best Child Actor
Tshepang Mohlomi – Otelo Burning
.
Best Young/Promising Actor
Ivie Okujaye – Alero’s Symphony
.
Best Short Film
Braids On A Bald Head (Nigeria)
.
Best Documentary
African Election (Nigeria / Germany)
.
Best Diaspora Feature
Toussaint Louverture (France)
.
Best Diaspora Documentary
The Education Of Auma Obama (Germany)
.
Best Diaspora Short Film
White Sugar In A Black Pot (USA)
.
Best Animation
The Legend Of Ngog Hills (Kenya)
.
Best Film by an African Living Abroad
Mystery Of Birds (USA / Nigeria)
.
Achievement in Production Design
Pat Nebo – Phone Swap
.
Achievement in Costume Design
Iyen Agbonifo – Adesuwa
.
Achievement in Make-Up
Sarah Wanjiru – Shattered
.
Achievement in Soundtrack
Chibuzor Oji – Alero’s Symphony
.
Achievement in Visual Effects
Victor Ehi-Amedu – Adesuwa
.
Achievement in Sound
Jim Petrack – State Of Violence
.
Achievement in Cinematography
Lance Gewer – Otelo Burning
.
Achievement in Editing
Mick Audsley – How To Steal 2 Million
.
Achievement in Screenplay
Leila Djansi – Ties That Bind
.
Special Jury Award
Man on Ground
.
Best Film in an African Language
State Of Violence – Dv8 Films (South Africa)
.
Best Film
Lancelot Oduwa Imasuen – Adesuwa (Nigeria)
.

Friday, April 20, 2012

Ghanaian Local (Twi ) Actors vs English Actors: Part 1

I read somewhere actor Prince David Osei said he will not act in Twi movies because its not attractive to him, whereby John Dumelo on the other hand said he is very open to acting in Twi/Akan movies. Hey!!!! David Osei tell me that did not come out ya mouth .For now i will give you the benefit of doubt that did not come out your mouth. I am going to discuss in detail who i think are the better actors.
JD more grease to your elbow. I wish to see you in such movies acting along side our greatest like Bill Asamoah, I will really love to see that side of you.
.
Twi and English Actress Emelia Brobbey - thank you for raising this topic awareness of "being a great actor means being versatile in both english and local dialect movies (twi). You are so right and this is a topic worth discussing.
.
I will tell it like it is how i see it and i will not be comparing lace-front wigs and fake contacts coupled fake accents. i will be comparing REAL TRUE ACTING.
.
STAY TUNED-COMING SOON

SHINING THE LIGHT ON GHANA AKAN / TWI MOVIES

As an Ashanti, I dont think i shine the light enough on our Akan (Local) Movies in Ghana even though they are doing an excellent job. For many years i shied away from it because the story lines were just annoying and I use to say "Oh Cmon how many witch craft of juju movies can you make" - but in the past 2 years i realise they are definitely a force to be reckoned with now and not to be by passed at all. Their story lines have really improved especially the dramas & suspense (not the comedic or witchcraft ones- I cannot stand the witchcraft ones-its so annoying).
.
I have now noticed that majority of the Akan actors and actresses are 100% better yet very underrated and from now on, i am taking it upon myself to shine the light on them. This is way overdue. 
.
I just stayed up till 3am last nite, watching a movie titled "ATTA SAMAN" and I must say this movie by far is one of the best movies i have seen in a long long time for an Akan movie and i only wish the producers will go back and subtitle it well so the non-akan speaking audience can enjoy it too. ATTA SAMAN" (in translation it means - the ghost of ATTA - the name ATTA means "twin" in Akan language - and No! this movie is not all about Ghost).
.
I have always said local movies in both Ghana and Nigeria (e.g. Yoruba movies) ALWAYS seem to have a better story line. Why is that? Is it because the actors and actresses are able to perform better and let the story shine when acting in their own local dialect? And if so why not maybe do more of such movies with confidence that nonetheless it will still make international film festival. Subtitled Francophone countries in Africa always make it to Sundance Nominations and awards. Oscars have a foreign movie category and European subtitled movies always make that list during Oscars and win awards. I personally think we should put a lot more effort in our local movies, SUBTITLE IT VERY WELL and the sky is the limit for us, rather than spend so much time in English movies of which 3/4 end up being crap cos the actors and actresses are not even eloquent enough to articulate their lines - coupled with a crap script.
.
I have also noticed For the Akan movies (unlike the Ghana English movies produced by ppl i don't even deem credible except Shirley Frimpong manso and Leila Djansi - only a non ghanaian will name ridiculous movie titles such as Beyonce, Tyra, Rihanna, eg.) - these good akan movie drama always have a moral to the story, example the ones starring Apostle John Prah (real life pastor). If they subtitled these movies well, from beginning to end, I guarantee you they will outsell the many of the English movies.
.
I will come back and write in detail what prompted me to start this thread. I already did a write up a lil bit HERE  and HERE last year about Akan movies.
.
Granted Agya Koo is the most well known because of his comedic streaks in the Akan movies, but I am here to say Bill Asamoah IS THE BEST ACTOR in the Akan movie industry - Because of Bill Asamoah i am going to create my own Akan Movie Awards cos he deserves plenty. If you understand the Twi language - then please search high and low for this 2012 new release movie called "ATTA SAMAN" you will be absolutely blown away by his performance, as well as he co star Vivian Jill. I am looking for the Movie Jacket to post in a new thread and review this movie in detail which i rate 9.8/10. I wll tell you in detail why you lost 2 points when I review the movie in detail. right now am searching for a large size jpeg photo to post in a new thread and review the movie.
.
I am trying to communicate with a point of contact in the industry to speak to someone whom i can interview to give me a lil history background about the industry.
.
I also already voiced my opinion in one of my previous threads here how much i utterly hate the name they call the industry KUMAWOOD. Kumasi is the capital for Ashanti region in ghana - the movies are shot in a vicinity called Adum to be precise. They decided to call the industry Kuma-wood because someone just felt just cos there is Bollywood, Nollywood, damn Ghollywood they will name this industry KUMAWOOD (get it? Kumasi + Wood) - i repeat his is one of the worst name i have ever heard. Tanzania smartly decided to call their movie industry Bongo City - which i think is great, why cant my people also sit down and be creative in their thinking and come up with a better name than Kumawood. The nickname of Kumasi is "Garden City" and i was thinking you coulda simply called the industry "Garden City Movie Industry" - simple.
.
Anyway let me not digress of what this thread is about. From here on I am going to pay extra attention to Akan (Local) Movies - particularly the non comedic ones with excellent story lines like i saw in "ATTA SAMAN".
.
Bill Asamoah (Nana Yaw) I must say, as picky as I am in whom i deem great in acting, You have highly impressed me to the fullest and i commend you 100%  as my ultimate favourite Akan actor. I hope he is being paid every dime of whats he's worth cos he deserves every penny - i hope he negotiates a good amount for movie he does - his fan base is rising (The akan actors and actresses also deserve some endorsement).  Michireser I want to steal one of the "kumasiano terms to describe how fond I am of this guys acting but I don't know what to say. I saw your potential in the movie "I KNOW MY RIGHT" (with Nana Ama)" and you did great in that too, but I think you did an excellent job in this movie "ATTA SAMAN". I will review the movie later and commend the story writer and director too. 
.
Mr Producer please subtitle this movie and re-release this movie again. Its just too excellent for the world not to see. It is currently subtitled but all am saying is it could be a lil better. I just want to recommend this to my non Ghanaian friends who dont understand the language.
.
Shout out to my other Kumasi based Akan actors and actresses Nana Ama McBrown, Apostle Prah, Agya Koo, Akwasi Boadi (Akrobeto), Mercy Asiedu, Naana Hayford, Vivian Jill Lawrence, Honey Frimpong (good actress and great female producer and director), Benny Sowah, Emelia Brobbey, Bridget Adusei (love this chick someone told me, she and I may come from the same town Ejisu/Onwi), Isaac (Ike) Amoako, Clara Amoateng Benson, Kwaku Manu, Nana Osei Kwame Obrempong, Sandra Adu, Sylvester Agyapong (Sly is great), Portia Asare Boateng, Ellen Kyei White, Nana Yaa Appiah, Benedicta Gafah, Bernard Aduse Poku (another great actor) and many more whose names i dont remember - i will add later when i do and lets not forget the akan child actors - they are the best yet - absolutely great. Doing my lil award thing will be so difficult cos honestly 90% of them are so good at what they do, it will be hard but i will try like i did here. I would love to see a nice photo shoot of all these stars so the world can see them. The ladies are beautiful and they  guys are cute.
.
As for Akwasi Boadi (aka Akrobeto) - one of our best comedians, i will do a whole thread just about him later and how much i find him funny - i wish non twi speakers could understand what he saids. He is about the one person who i find so funny that he'll say something and for weeks, i will remember and still laugh till my rib hurts. He is so hilarious, esp when he gets angry and gets into his high pitch speeches. One memorable movie line he said to his pregnant wife whom he couldnt perform on; Well his wife was giving him pressure to have sex and he said's something so funny, but i can't translate it. He saids " Minti mi performi, enti saa diya, Ser wupe wa tinka diya, eni yer, mami en usey minsa - Ser wantinka keke na wupeh?" and his wife responds "Enti wunsa na wudi nyim mi"?. He saids these funny sentences with a straight face, that makes me laugh so hard, in in tears rolling on the the floor". Between  him and Agya Koo you might laugh so hard you wouldn't know what to do. I just love these actors so much. Entertainment to the max. There is this new young guy nicknamed LilWayne but its pronounced "LiWin" (real name is KwadwNkansah ) - he is hilarious. 
.
I will start a new thread soon and put them all in my upcoming "Garden City Movie Awards" which i plan on writing - these will be my own selection of favourite actors/actresses (if i could get head shot photos of all of them to showcase the world it will be even better).
.
Yes you can call it kumawood for all i care -i sure am NOT calling it that. - Garden City Movie Industry/Town - this sounds much better and if not please come up with a better option than kumawood - think outside the box - please. Having "wood" in the name is very un- creative). I am pleading with  you guys to please change the name. Don't let it stick.
.
One lil critique i had is for the great scripted movies was that sometimes they need to work on the sound quality (its either too loud or too low). 
.
For Akan movie audience - in 2012 - I advice you to buy the following movies for keeps ( i promise you - you will not be disappointed (i will make a new and longer list by merging the 2011 movie list with the new 2012 list)
.
- ATTA SAMAN (translation: a twins ghost) - it is subtitled but it coulda been better
My Ratings: 9.8 / 10
.
- HWE WA WAWARIE YIE (translation: take care of your marriage) - it is subtitled
My Ratings: 9 / 10
.
 BAFFOUR (translation: Baffour is just a name) - it is subtitled
My Ratings: 9.5 / 10
.
ps: I hope Valentina (of Afia Schwarzenegger fame) will join the Akan movie group - i think she will fit right in  - she is also a great and funny actress. 


The one other brother I will so love for him to get back to acting ASAP is Nana Kwame Osei Sarpong - who stared in several Shirley Frimpong Manso. He is currently on  hiatus concentrating on his radio gig, but bro man you I want you back on screen so bad. He is excellent in english movies and i don't have a doubt he can easily transition to Akan/Twi movies and star in a few movies if he wanted. I am praying he changes his mind and come back to movies instead of radio. Kwame we want you back on screen, please. 
.
To the new actor called George Berthou, i seen you in one preview ( but not a full movie yet) in an akan/twi movie and i got my eye on your acting. I Hope your acting is just as good as your great looks unlike VV.-  Eish ma nu yi. (LOL) - Good luck bro - I wish you well!.
.
Producers and Directors in the Akan movie industry if you have a great scripted and casted movie and you need me to do free promo on here - am all yours (So far as it doesnt have witchcraft in it - am cool). Just send me a movie jacket and/or a 3min preview / youtube clip.
.
MI MA MU MO

Which Stores do you BUY your movies

Hi Everyone
.
Please i need you all to help me out. What state or country do you live in and where do you BUY your movies (if you are one of those online movie watchers you can just bypass this thread), I am only asking for physical stores.
I get a lot of emails from people all over the world telling me there live here or there and need my help in where to purchase movies in their localities. 
.
Obviously you all know i live in Atlanta Georgia USA by way of Accra Ghana so I only know places here in Atlanta, so i am asking you all to help me out to help my other readers. 
.
You tell me names of stores you know in your area and i will list them. I am even willing to do free promos for these stores pertaining specifically to new movie releases only - no charge. Every lil bit of publicity helps.  
.
The latest inquiry i had was from a lady from Los Angeles. I know for sure i have several LA readers, please let me know where you buy your movies so i can list it.
.
Read Here to see the list i have thus far. Thank you in advance everyone and have a blessed and nice weekend

Think Like A Man (All Black Cast Hollywood Movie)


April 20 2012:
Had to bump up this thread again from Feb 10 2012 cos its out today in nationwide theaters. Grab your friends and go watch and Oh if your neighborhood cinema has a lot of black traffic, make sure you go at a good time other wise i promise you - you wont hear a damn thing. I know what am talking about. I am going to watch the morning show at my local AMC theatre (Discover Mills AMC in Gwinnett County) cos i don't want any disturbance when my green eyed Michael Ealy comes on screen. Yall know how my fellow black women be - always screaming and shouting when when a fine brother comes on screen. LOL - I still love black folks in movie theaters with black cast - they are just hilarious with their comments. I don't think i can wait till tommorow. I just might as well go tonight on prime time and sit in the middle of the screams. I most definitely will re-watch again one morning show. (oh and get ready for Kevin Hart to make you laugh till rib stiffness).
.
Common everybody lets support this movie. Have a great weekend
.
.



In November 2011, I also mentioned about this upcoming movie based on Steve Harvey book "Act Like A Lady Think like a Man". Well this movie is also being released in a about 4 weeks time on March 09 2011 so please look out for it and lets go out and support it. Yall know I will be front row and center salivating over my Michael Ealy - But please remind me not to go to watch it in a theatre bombarded by too many black folks, but rather a white neighborhood cos yall know "how we be" - i know i will not be able to hear one word if i go watch places like Dekalb county AMC or even Atlantic Station AMC - I love my fellow Black folks they dont know when to shut up when fine brothers come on big screen. They talk through out the movie from beginning to end, then Women be shouting , queenies (esp in Atlanta) will be shouting louder, snapping their fingers, blowing kisses - and oh and lets not forget the ones who are adamant about sneaking in thier toddler babies.
.
I  may have to convince my friends to let us travel 45mins up north in predominant 'burbs' Alpharetta or Forsyth county (lol) to watch this movie the first day it comes out (that is if oyibos decide to screen it in their burbs LOL LOL LOL - i think Tyler movies are always safe - no gangbangings or just great morals and lessons learnt at the end of the day so am sure they will show it). Feb and March is a great month in American Entertainment - lots of movie releases and lots of red carpet events. If you are all interested in me posting the red carpet events let me know
.


.

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

MR AND MRS (Movie Ratings)

I have eagerly anticipated this movie for the longest and finally i watched it this weekend and i rate it 6.5/10. 
.
I only review movies in depth if i rate it 8/10 or above - so obviously this is not one of em. 
.
You may get it and watch if you like - maybe you may like it better than i did.
.

Sunday, April 15, 2012

A Kodak Moment

...Absolutely love it when I am underestimated, and they finally find out and the looks on the faces are just classic kodak moment. They eat their words and thoughts - I giggle every time. Don't wear your self on your sleeves. T'is good to be unassuming sometimes. I choose to remain this way most times. Have no air about you, its more attractive.
.
Blowing ones own horns is so pitiful.
.

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Funny Video with Regina Hall (Think Like a Man)

Funny video of my favourite actress Regina Hall
.

.
Here as the some of the cast of Think Like A Man is being interviewed, we got my one of  fav chick Regina Hall. If you are wondering if she is high or drunk, NO she is neither  - she is one of my favourite actresses (check out www.imdb.com for her resume) but more so my one of my favourite comediennes and a great personality. In this video she is just a acting silly as she always does - but she puts on a serious face one cannot tell LOL. She is not just a pretty face, but also an underrated actress and comedienne than people give her credit (BTW-she is also Sanaa Lathan's best friend). She cracks me up so much.
.
 Don't forget to go and watch "Think Like A Man" which comes out next week in nationwide theaters (April 20 2012). I am very impressed of how much time they whole cast and crew and movie owners have put in in marketing and promo-ing this movie for the past 4 months - they were just here in Atlanta - Atlantic Station AMC 2 weeks ago and have been stopping in every major city for further promos. I'll be highly dissapointed if it doesn't make #1 or #2 in the box office. Good Luck Guys.
.
(ps: the folks you see in the video are just some of the cast - not all of em)

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Tanzanian Actor Steven Kanumba Laid to Rest


.
My sincere apologies to my East African Friends (Tanzania to be precise) - that i am so late on this story. i don't know what rock i was hiding under in the past week. Honestly I haven't had the privilege to see any of his movies so i guess the name did not click, but now i am searching high and low to find some to watch. 
.
As i have said on my blog many times i like to learn about other great actors in the continent apart from Ghana or Nigeria so whenever you guys see talent as Steven was please alert me so i can dig on him and search for his movie to watch and review. It hurts me so much that i did not know of him, but after his death. May he rest in peace.
.
More than 30,000 people in Dar es Salaam have attended the funeral of Steven Kanumba who accidentally died this past Saturday - Whao 30,000 - he was such a loved man. I hear so many women /femal fans, fainted out of distraught as he was being laid to the ground including Former miss tanzania turned bongo movie actress Wema Sepetu (seen below in the 2nd pic) fainted after seeing the casket carrying the body of her ex-boyfriend Steven Kanumba.







I can imagine how painful it must be for all his fans. He is gone way too soon and he was so cute with so much ahead of him. Please can any one recommend some of his classic movies so i buy it and watch it. I am so sorry for his early demise and wish he did not die. May he rest in peace.
.
Story from Last Week
Dar es Salaam – Police are busy trying to resolve a mystery surrounding the shocking death of movie star  Steven Charles Kanumba, who died in Dar es Salaam  yesterday, shortly after picking  a quarrel with his girlfriend.


The Bongo movie iconic actor, 28, was pronounced dead on arrival at Muhimbili National Referral Hospital where he had been rushed by his doctor, a family member and close friends. He died at around 3am.
The Kinondoni Regional Police Commander, Mr Charles Kenyela,  said Kanumba had been rushed to the hospital unconscious from his city home in Sinza suburb.
“Initial reports indicate that he fell in his bedroom where he was with the 18-year-old girlfriend identified as Elizabeth Michael,” said Mr Kenyela. The girl, also an actor commonly referred to as ‘Lulu’, has been cohabiting with Kanumba for some time now. 
.



.
Mr Kenyela confirmed they were holding Ms Lulu for questioning. She was still locked up at the Oysterbay police station last night. The police chief said investigations were  still in the initial stages, and as such, it  was too early to draw conclusions on the cause of the death, but  promised to issue a detailed statement upon completion of the exercise. He confirmed  that a postmortem was also underway at the hospital’s mortuary.
According to Mr Kenyela, Lulu told them that Kanumba fell down and hit his head on the concrete  wall and passed out on the spot. “She said the deceased just slumped to the ground and hit the concrete once they were in the bedroom,” he said in a telephone interview with The Citizen.
He said the girl told the police Kanumba had picked a quarrel with her after they had arrived home at about 1am,  over a telephone call she had received  a short while earlier.
“Lulu claimed when he got aggressive, she attempted to run away but Kanumba caught up with her outside the gate and took her back to the bedroom. She says he collapsed as soon as he locked the door and hit the wall,” Kenyela explained.
The police took from the scene a glass and bottle of whisky which the deceased was believed to have been drinking. Other witnessed claimed they also saw them dust the wall and also take away a sword found in the bedroom.
News about the death spread fast and shocked the nation where the self made actor had attracted tremendous following and liking for his quick success in the film industry spanning almost decade.
His talent not only made him a household name locally, but also in other countries like RwandaBurundi, DR Congo, Ghana and Nigeria, if social network post yesterday are anything to go by.
Thousands of fans rushed to the hospital  as soon as they got wind of the incident. The crowds welled by the second outside his house gate, forcing the police to intervene to cordon the highway for smooth traffic flow.
Fellow actors wailed uncontrollably and some fainted on arriving at the home to join other mourners, whom included Cabinet ministers,  and top public and private sector  executives.
The  grief galvanized the entire nation and other countries where Kanumba had made a name for himself as one  of the rising actors in the continent. A close friend and South Africa based Tanzanian model Happiness Magesse could not hold her tears and broke on national television during an interview in the morning.
At Muhimbili, close associates and comrades cried and huddled in disbelief when they witnessed his body  being removed from his brand new Toyota VX land cruiser and wheeled him into the mortuary.

I dont know how i feel about this story because i cant imagine this tiny petite girl killing this man, to me they simply have to do an autopsy to figure out cause of death, If he got drunk and slipped and fell  on the concrete and hit his head that makes sense but other than that i dont know what to believe, all i know is this 18 yr old is too tiny to be able to kill this huge man during a fist fight or struggle. Tis a case of wrong place at wrong time, but you know africa police they will need a  scapegoat to pin this on. I hope this case is solved and we all hear some update.
(Source The Citizen and Bongo5.com)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...