Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Godwin Kotey -GMI (Ghana Movie Industry) Great Loss

.
Our Dear brother - actor/producer/director/writer Godwin Kotey of GMI (Ghana Movie Industry - yes i am still advocating than nonsense Gally or Gollywood name to seize being used)  has passed away. I am still not sure the cause of death. Godwin Kotey is noted for popular productions such as Leila Djansi’s I Sing of a Well, Police Officer, Sodom and Gomorrah and a host of others. He owned Dreamhouse Studios.
.
Godwin was a remarkable man who is hailed as one of the great directors in Ghana. As an educator, actor, playwright, producer and director, he continues to inspire and set ablaze paths in the Performing Arts leaving distinct footprints with his flair, technique and originality. Within the industry, Godwin’s unique style and innovation is the power with which he captivates audiences and distinguishes his work; and over the years established himself as one of the most dedicated and creative directors in the country. His achievements in the field include directing Smash TV in 1996 and 1997 and Taxi Driver in 1999. He was also one of the directors that took the ACRAG and Charted Institute of Marketing award for Best Television Programme of the year for Taxi Driver.
.
"Taxi Driver" was one of my ultimate favourite Ghana TV series - it was hilarious and the acting was very on point (both twi and english) - I miss TTs wife. Ghana TV series always have better actors and better acting, than what we see in our nonsensical movies we get bombarded with lately. I miss TV series like "Taxi Driver", "Jaga Pee", "Sun City", Things You do for Love and many other TV series. Most of the directors like Godwin, are always well trained (eg NAFTI alum) and most of the actors and actresses are also well trained (Eg Legon Drama School) and always were/are the best to show ghana's best work in our movie industry, utilising our most eloquent and articulate actors/tresses who easily bring characters to live on screen effortlessly, making it believable, unlike the most we got lately in our industry, who always sound like they are chewing gravels when they speak (cyto school alums) thinking we are blind. Godwin is one of the few who coulda continue contributing to the rise of Ghana Movie industry to the world showcasing and international film festivals, to show our best scripts and casting our greats GHANAIANS like Majid Michel, Akorfa Asiedu, Adjetey Annang, Nana Kwama Osei Sarpong, Chris Attoh, Lydia Forson, Martha Ankomah, Yvonne Okoro, Roseyln Ngissah, Naa Ashokor Mensha, Ama Sintim Missah and the other actors and i consider great in my books or yet to be discovered. THis is such a great great great loss for the Ghana movie industry. Aah asem yi ashi mi papa. Ewuradzi yesu! Hmmmm - enye whii - yedi mema nyame.
.
Now this is so sad to me because he is one of our greatest - Ghana doesnt have much of this talent aside from the likes of Kwaw Ansah, Leila Djansi, Shirley Frimpong Manso. INstead we are bombarded with mediocre directors/Producers like Venus Clan, Socrates Sarfo, Pascal Amanfo and all them whose work currently is a NMF (non mther***in factors) in my books - until further notice or until i see excellence and not average.
.
Check out his Website to read his bio and Resume/CV - we lost a great one.
Godwin Damirifa Due - May Your Soul Rest in Peace.
.
(source: Godwins Website and GhanaWeb)

Sunday, March 4, 2012

KINYARWANDA (Rwandan Movie)

Winner of the 2011 Sundance Audience Award for most popular international drama, Kinyarwanda offers a new perspective on the 1994 Rwandan genocide. As the conflict between the Hutu and the Tutsi intensified, the Mufti of Rwanda, the most respected Muslim leader in the country, issued a fatwa forbidding Muslims from participating in the killing of the Tutsi. I
.
n the city of Kigali, the imams opened the doors of the Grand Mosque to those fleeing the conflict, making it a place of refuge for both Muslims and Christians, Hutus and Tutsis. Weaving together six narratives based on the accounts of survivors who sought safety in the Grand Mosque, Kinyarwanda deepens and broadens our understanding of those terrifying events.
.
Born in Jamaica and trained at New York University, director Alrick Brown brings an African diasporic perspective to Rwanda’s recent history, adding important new layers to the growing body of films on the subject.
.

.
.
I cant wait to get a hold of this movie on dvd to watch it. Congratulations of the Sundance Winning.

CRAP ALERT 2012


-Sasha- (Yvonne Okoro etc )
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 3/10

-Miss Queen- (tontoh Dikeh, Oge Okoye etc )
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 2/10
.
-Black Beauty/Divine Princess- (Muna Obiekwe, Patience Ozorkor, etc" )
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 2/10
.
-Royal Wedding / Make of a Queen- (Patience Ozokwor )
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 2/10

-Wanna Be- (Prince Osei etc )
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: -0000.10/10 (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)
.
-Hidden Fantasy- (Martha Ankomah etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1/10

-Unfaithful- (Yul Edochie etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 3/10

-Blood and Chocolatel- (Yul Edochie etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: -0000.10/10 (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)

-Profefssional Lady- (Tontoh Dikeh etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: -0000.10/10 (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)
.
-Game Mistress- (Tontoh Dikeh etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: -0000.10/10 (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)
.
-All My Tears / Honor my Tears- (John Dumelo, Martha Ankomah)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: -0000.10/10 (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)
.
-The Engagement- (Martha Ankomah etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1/10 (i caught a migraine watching this *ish)
.
-Saving of Emotion / Soul Transfer- (Mercy Johnson, Chika Ike etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 2/10
.
-Hero in Me- (Mercy Johnson, Chika Ike etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 2/10
.
-Goverment Babes- (starring Martha Ankomah)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 0/10

-Bitter Emotions-
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 2/10

-Caught in the Web-
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1/10

-Sweet Mistake/Corporate Games-starring Prince David Osei
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1/10
.
-Twist and Turn-starring Prince David Osei
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1/10

-Tatoo Girls-
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: -0.001/10 (excruciatingly horrible)
.
-Leave My Wife-Prince David Osei
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1/10
.
-Desperate Heart-
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 3.5/10

-Please Marry Me-starring Yvonne Okoro and Prince David Osei
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 4/10

-Tempest Wind- starring Jackie Appiah
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 2/10

Todays Date: March 22 2012
.
I am simply going to keep adding to this same thread post, so everyone can keep track of all the ratings under one thread - These are movies not worth my time to review in depth so i am simply goiong to rate it and its your judgement call to go spend your hard earned money and flush down the toilet (opps i meant to say 'hard earned money and buy it" LOL). I watched it and I returned the movies back to my longterm and understanding dealer for credit for better yet to be released movies - i forgot to write the names of the producers but i will write down ones i remember and later come back to complete the rest. They need to be put on blast too - not just the actors or actresses.
.
-Losing You - (starring Yvonne Okoro, Yvonne Nelson and Adjetey Anang)
-Producer/Director: Venus Production
-Rating: 4/10
.
-Images of Men - (starring Van Vicker etc)
-Producer/Director:Venus Production/Abdul Mumuni (I mean what else is new with them - same ole ish)
-Rating: 2/10
.

-Sins of Mama G - (Patience Ozorkwor, ChaCha Eke, Uche Ogbodo)
-Producer/Director:

-Rating: 4//10
.

-Agony of Birth - (starring Martha Ankomah, Rosselyn Ngissah and etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 3/10
.

-Haunted Shadows - (starring Van Vicker +Chika Ike= horrendous combination in a movie)
-Producer/Director: coming soon
-Rating: 1/10
.
-Hostage - (starring John Dumelo etc )
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 2/10
.

-Bitter Emotions 1-4 - (starring Martha Ankomah )
-Producer/Director: coming soon
-Rating: 1/10
.
-Complicated - (starring Mike Ezerounye and Tonto Dikeh etc)
-Producer/Director: coming soon
-Rating: 3/10
.
-Private Husband - (starring Oge Okoye, Uche Ogbodo etc)
-Producer/Director:

-Rating: 2/10
.
-King Jomo - (starring Juliet Ibrahim, Kofi Adjorlolo etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1/10

.
-Sons of Satan - (starring a bunch of ppl i dont care to know their names etc)
-Producer/Director:

-Rating: -0.00001/10
.
-Before Catwalk- (starring Oge Okoye, Tontoh Dikeh, Chika Ike etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: -1/10

.
-No Apologies - (starring Yvonne Okoro, Prince David Osei, Kofi Adjololo etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 3/10

.
-Silent Writer- (starring John Dumelo etc)
-Producer/Director:

-Rating: 2/10.
.
-Passion of Eve - (starring Martha Ankomah, Rosselyn Ngissah etc)
-Producer/Director:

-Rating: 1/10
.
-Behind da Walls - (starring Nadia Buari, Prince Osei David etc)
-Producer/Director: coming soon
-Rating: 2/10

.
-Behind da Heart - (starring Uche Elendu etc )
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 2/10

.
-Deception- (starring Martha Ankomah , Rosselyn Ngissah, Prince Osei etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1/10

.
-Game of Roses/(Sequel): Speechless-(starring Nadia B, Martha A , Kalsum Sinari, Artus etc)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 3/10

.
-The Portfolio - (starring Martha Ankomah & Prince David Osei)
-Producer/Director:
-Rating: 1.5/10

.
(Martha Ankomah i see you are on the roll this year, "Kor su wai", continue to say yes to every crap movie and build up your resume/cv real good. Just continue. I guess like the rest of em - you gotta eat too, and thus accept any thing that comes your way and working with scripts/producers/directors who cannot make you realise your great potential ando for you to shine and be known for the best work. Good luck - Two fingers and Deuces to you!)
.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
March 4th 2012
.
As it is well known on this blog, I DO NOT/WILL NOT review movies which i do not consider classics. I could review it like i use to back in the day, but in the past 3 yrs i have decided - I just dont have the time. Blogging is my unpaid hobby I do very late at night when everyone else is enjoying their beauty sleep -this is not my full time paid job.
.
A movie which is a classic to me is one with an
-Excellent Script
-Great Acting by all actors or actresses - READ HERE FOR MY DEFINITION or HERE
-Great Production
-Great Direction
-Excellent Sound and Picture Quality
-etc etc etc
.
The movies listed below - i have watched in and my opinion is no where near classic. Some are good, just ok, simply average or absolutely crap - you make your judgement call by the rating. After 4 yrs (2000-2004) piling up boxes and boxes of crap movies (and those were VHS which even took more space) - i decided no more wasting money, and this is why i created this blog to alert people.
.
These movies will not be sitting in my video library, I just return it to my long time dealer for credit for a future classic release. I know many dont have that previledge cos once you buy it and leave the african store where you buy its a done deal - you cannot return it for exchange or refund, but fortunately i have a long standing customer relationship with movie dealer whom i have spent money with over 8 years since 2004 and we have developed an understanding where he knows i dont like good, average, just ok and definately not crap movies. It has to be great for me to spend my money on it and Keep it. If after watching it - I dont consider it great, I give it right back.
.
They are a lot of movies i bought many years ago and were so great I still watch them till this day (to name a few Keeping Faith, All My Life, Blood Sisters, Alice my first Lady etc and many more ) - I can go into my library take it out and watch it and enjoy it like the very first day i watched it many years ago.
.
If people want to continue to marinate and praise movies that are not good or simply average - well thats your own. We are more than 20 yrs deep in the industry - the bafoonery and mediocre movies, bad acting, ridiculous titles, movies split into many parts and/or different titles etc, movies that insult the audience intelligence. We laughed about it many atimes in the early years and said "oh thats ok - its african movie, we dont have to be perfect, its ok if script sucks, or if the background music drowns the actors delivery, its ok someone is shot with a gun but i dont see blood or i can hear live construction going on in the background of some one hammering etc. People are aiming high and making international film festivals others want the short cut to make a quick buck for now.
.
If you the audience continue to buy into it, and let your self be insulted with these back to back nonsense movies, they will have the platform to continue to produce it, but I MsTilii choose will not entertain such - to each his own. The money you use to produce the movie is precious and important to you and you want to break even - well same here, my money is equally important to me and I like to spend it WISELY - If you do not give me my monies worth, am sorry i cant praise your work. To the audience, You may watch it and love it cos thats your taste - to each his own.
.
I wish i can sugarcoat stuff and act all fake ans say something is nice when i know I know for a fact its not and i will never watch the movie again, I just dont know how. I will continue to tell it like it is. I have done my part of warning you. DEUCES..
.
1st Quarter - .JAN / FEB / MAR 2012
  • LADY GAGA - 3.5 / 10
  • BITTER EMOTIONS - 4 / 10
  • MAMA & THE GIRLS/SWAGGER LADIES- 3/10
  • DECEPTION - 4 / 10
  • BRAVE MIND/HAND OF FATE - 5 / 10
  • VICTIMS (Part 1 - 4) - 4/ 10
*The script for "Victims" had so much potential and coulda been so much better but somwhere along the line - the writer/producer lost track and the movie was all over the place - no head no tail - long boring court room scenes etc etc. I hate movies that insult my intelligence - a gynaecolist who examines his patients with no nurse present and goes on to rape them? really? ok. Majid and Mercy were good as usual, Paul Sambo acting was average - i expected more - this script was just not him, Paul needs a better script and a good director / producer who can challenge him to shine. He is a natural as he was in Ladies Men, and has great potential and he is very articulate and eloquent (something that MOST of the actors struggle with but he doesnt). I am still waiting for a classic from him. This just wasnt it. Too many loose holes.

Friday, March 2, 2012

Chidera - What God Has Written (Upcoming Movie)

.
.
Starring:
- Martha Ankomah
- Paul Sambo
- Amaka Mordi
.
Producer
- Sandra Okereke
- Okwui Eneowo
- Ephraim Arinze (exec)
.
Director:
Serah Donald Onyeachor
.
Sypnosis:
Chidera in igbo means "What God Has Written.This movir Is a story about a 19 year old Dera (Martha Ankomah)  who out of Family pressure gets pregnant for her boyfriend (Paul Sambo) and in that confused state leaves her baby in the hospital for her boyfriend to take care of. Ten years later Dera is back but with a New face surgery as Fate will have it she meets her baby Daddy Jay and unknown to Jay he falls in love with her again , But little Jenny is giving Dera a hard time, because she believes her mother will come back some day, Dera is turn in between revealing her real self and standing the chance of loosing her boyfriend and Daughter (Amaka Mordi) again, or keeping the truth from them and living the rest of her life in lies .
.
I am very excited for Martha as i mentioned here -hope this is her big breakthrough movie like Sharon Stone was for Genny N, The Maid was for MercyJ and Worlds Apart was for Ini Edo. Like I said before, Out of all the Ghana actresses she and Yvonne O are the only ones to me with the greatest potential (Let me repeat, I dont care for any Nadia Buari or Jackie Appiah acting - if they are excellent in your books thats your own - to each his own).
.
I have high hopes for you Martha. Just keep making good script choices that will make you shine and help you improve - a director who can challenge you and push you to shine. I wish her nothing but the best and to work with ONLY excellent directors and great scripts. Lets just hope she doesnt fall on the bandwagon like the rest of being lured by the high nairas and cedis for any CRAP script.
.
As for Paul Sambo you all know from this post - that i have been waiting for him to headline something since Ladies Men. Wuzzup Paul - 2012 we are waiting ohhh (as well as Daniel and Alexx) - we have been patient for over a year now.
.
I hope this movie does justice and is a great movie. We look forward to its release date this March 2012.
.
Trailer:
.
.
.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...