Friday, December 30, 2011

What is the Title of That Movie.....???

Dec 30th 2011
I decided to bump this thread up because there is a movie out there, which i have been searching the title for and I cant seem to remember at all. I watched it around 2004- i think. 
.
As I have mentioned before I started watching african movies since the 11 years ago (May 2000) and when i compare the scripts then to now - those movies were 100% better that the craps out today - although the sound and picture quality (and on VHS cassette) was not that great.
.
Many had the assumption in those days, most african movies were all witchcraft based - but thats where you are totally wrong - i had the same assumption too- until i really got into it. I have boxes and boxes and boxes onf VHS movies and i even dashed some away. Excellent story lines and themes - and most of all my favourite traditional village themes. I am strongly advocating that the producers of those movies back than between 2000 - 2005 - please give the rights to have the movie reproduced onto a DVD high quality format (its very doable).
.
Anyway the reason i bumped this thread up cos i am searching for a title of a movie and I was hoping one of you veteran movie watches can help me out. Its a movie with Emeka Ike, Emeka Enyiocha and Chiwetalu Agu. I totally loved that movie (i miss seeing Emeka Enyiocha in movies stemming from "Sharon Stone" days with Genevieve). This movie i am searching for , was a sad movie yet very interesting - with "lesson learnt" or "moral to the story" kinda ending to it (unlike most of the old movies all had - unlike todays current crap). If you think Mercy Johnson can cry - well Emeka Enyiocha is the male version - he cries hard and nasty LOL.
.
I think it may have the word Poverty in the title - am not quite sure, but anyway, in the movie the two Emekas were brothers and from a very poor family, as well expected Chiwetalu was their evil uncle who was just evil towards them. Its a village set movie. If anyone remembers and can tell me - i will truly appreciate it. I know its in my pile of boxes but am not ready to be popping no vhs in trying to find it.
.
(although i have not been posting a lot in 2011 - please dont hesitate to search many of my old post on this blog starting 2008 - they were quite interesting post - i am trying to figure out a way how i can create a drop down search of these title threads - so its easier for you all to search these threads - than search by Month as blogger currently has it set - any advice will help me too)
.
.
June 30 2010
You know how you watched a movie you liked a while back and you been racking your brain to remember the titled but you cant. I am going through a similar thing now, and I am sure a few people have gone through that once or twice before, so i thought if i created a forum in the upcoming website - you describe the movie you cant remember title to - and then maybe someone might remember and tell you what the title is.
.
Description of Movie:
The movie i am currently trying to remember title to, is a very funny movie with Nkem Owoh , where he had 3 wives - one Igbo (played by Patience Ozorkwor so go figure - u will laugh till u drop), one Hausa, both wifes gave him plenty daughters and yet no son, and as he really wants a son so he goes out and marry a new wife (Yoruba Woman) in hopes of finally getting a son since the his Igbo wife and Hausa wife failed on him (or he failed on himself :lol:). So now he got a igbo wife, a hausa wife and a new yoruba wife all living on the same compound with his dozen or so daughters.
.
This is one of the funniest movie i ever watched (i laughed so hard) and i want to rewatch it again but i dont remember the title. Patience Ozorkwor and Nkem Owoh cussing each other out, you will laugh with tears. my favourite scene in the movie.
.
In one scene, the hausa and igbo wife were fighting, so one of nkems daughters quickly run to her fathers workshop (cos nkem was a carpenter in the village market) to tell him what is going on in their compound and that he should come quickly to stop the fight - her mothers are fighting (her mother and her step mom that is)

Nkem patiently listened to her daughter narrating the fight backhome, and after she was finished, she carefully reached in his hammer box and handed her daughter 2 hammers, and slowly said to her (just imagine nkem ) , " GO BACK HOME, AND GIVE ONE OF THESE HAMMERS TO YO MODA, AND THE OTHER TO YOUR STEPMODA, AND TELL THEM TO TRY AND AIM AT EACH OTHERS FOREHEADS WITH THE HAMMER, THAT WILL BE BETTER.
.
I was eating whilst i watched this scene i swear i choked on my food, drinking water didnt even do it for me. I laughed so much i was in tears. I wasnt expecting that response from him at all, but trust Nkem and his talk (so real - no pretense).
.
Then in another scene he tells one of his wives, "i married you because you came highly recomended from JOS, they say banana from jos is bunchy and the apples are fruitful,i brought you from jos yet you refuse to give me a male child, you are FRUI, the TFUL part is the male child you havent given me"
.
If anyone does remember please remind, it will be very much appreciated.
.
Thank you in advance for your cooperation.
.
revised
I found the title everybody - its called "MY BABY"
.
I like Nkem because he is not only a great actor but i love his village settings (which is always my favourite kind) - and i love his sound scores and beautiful igbo music he uses in his movies (even though most of the lyrics to the songs give the movie away :lol:)
.

2010 CRAP ALERT LIST

(Save Your Money/Headache)


-*Hidden Fantasy


-*Geisha Girls/Malaika Girls .


-*Royal Temptation/Royal Target .


-*Royal Panic/Together Apart .


-*Statement of Account


-*The Journalist


-*The Return of Spade .


-*My Dying Day .


-*Return of Blackerry Babes


-*Blackberry Babes (Its simply EMBARASSING yet funny)


-*Dangerous Maiden (Rita D this is pitiful u accepted this)


-*Blind Lust -


-*Behind Da Heart -


-*Who Owns the City


-*The Altar -


-*Criminal Minds -


-*Good Girls Gone Bad -


-*Gift of Angels -


-*The Code -


-*Jewel of the Sun -


-*Campus War -


-*Dirty Secret.


-*Other side of Love

-*And many many more. 95% of 2011 releases were CRAP

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

KWAW ANSAH MOVIE "SUFFERING TO LOSE"

.
Thank you Jesus. Finally ghana's finest and veteran movie makers are slowly coming back. I hoped for this and my dream are coming true. Hopefully our great actors like Majid, Martha, Adjettey, Nana Kwame etc - will finally have choices besides the likes of Venus and all the other hooplas. So finally Kwaw is back, plus we have Shirley and Leila. Finally ghana movie industry (GMI) will take a better turn.
.
Renowned Ghanaian film maker, Kwaw Ansah (producer of renowned movie "Love Brewed in African Pot" will premiere the third installment of ‘The Good Old Days’ movies, titled ‘Suffering to Lose’ at the National Theatre on the January 7 with a repeat on January 8, 5:00pm and 8:30pm each night.
.
‘Suffering to Lose’ is an intriguing and compelling story of love, family and relationship which portrays the hallmark of a good African woman who suffers through thick and thin for her family’s financial success. From the dawn of time, life has been sustained by the marriage of man and woman. And whether the marriage becomes a success or failure depends on the determination of the two to endure the challenges of life. But how do we often remember the woman in the success story? Or is the woman, indeed, her own enemy?
.
‘Suffering to Lose’ which takes viewers through the journey of life, success and reward is set in the 1950s and 1960s. It ends with a mixture of love and tragic events that are sure to capture the imagination of the viewing public and cause people to re-examine their interpersonal relations, which tend to pose a great challenge to society.
.
‘Suffering to Lose’ features pioneers of the Ghana film industry such as Akofa Ajeani Asiedu, Ekow Bingo Baiden, Albert Jackson Davis, Ekow Smith Asante, Akosua Agyapong, Portia Asare Boateng, Agnes Dapaah and Emmary Brown
.
Tickets are available at TV Africa, Koala, Max-mart and Batsonaa Total Filling Station. Rate – Ghc20.00 Regular, and GHc35.00 Special tickets which give two VCD’s on entry. This event is sponsored by, MTN, Obaapapa, Kasapreko Alomo Bitters and supported by Indomie, Special Ice Mineral Water, DDP, Ultra Films and Ink it.
.
I cant wait to see this movie - the "hair aboy" alone kills me (aboy is ghana's slang for the hair partition LOL) - you only have to be old school to know wuzzup. I can imagine the Tunabu's and your guarantee in tow (tunabu is the trousers with the big wide bottom, and guarantee is the shoes with the big platform bottoms). You were the flyest if you had your aboy hair style ,your tunabu trousers and guarantee shoe platforms back in the day.
.
I am so excited for 2012 - first i hear the good news of Nigeria New Cinema - which is a joint effort of all the best movie makers like Kunle, Lancelot, Teco, Emem I, Vivian E etc - belonging to an association whose ultimate goal is to produce and give the audience quality international level movies - which movies - better equipments - better scripts etc etc. My ultimate wish is that the mediocre illiterates who have saturated the market producing one nonsense after the next be weeded out finally, so its exciting news to me when i hear such.

.

Sunday, December 25, 2011

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR FROM MISS TILII


Wishing all my fellow Christians a
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year
May our Lord God fulfil every heart desire you may have
I pray for Good Health, Safety and Abundant Prosperity to You all and your Families
That You shall never lack
.
.
I am extremely honoured that you are reading my blog and I promise to post more often in 2012 and even if there are no movies I think are worth reviewing - there are so many interesting topics we could talk about to make it more interesting. I wish you well. Amen.
.
I love my Jesus and today I am going to overdose on FOOD as i celebrate HIS birthday (jollof rice, chicken, yam balls, fried yams and fish, kenkey, african 1000 calorie salad  fried plantain and beans, cake, chinchin, poff poff, mascatto wine, irish cream, sheridan, lambrusco, fanta, coke, sprite, masketella, meatpie, cabin biscuit, bread pudding etc etc. I will start my diet Jan 3rd 2012 (LOL) as i concurrently do my 21 day fast with my church so am not worried.
.
If you are out and about and you see a homeless person in need, please dont forget to give him/her something. This is what christmas is about - LOVING, GIVING, CARING, FORGIVING etc etc
.

Saturday, December 17, 2011

African Movie Industry -Who is The Curviest of Them All

.
Omotola Jalade - Ekeinde
(Nollywood Actress)
.
So this new Mercy WoW photoshoot has started debates amongst a few fellas and ladies who look at her photos. Some of the ladies say Mercy's hour glass is over rated (which is understandable cos clearly they werent blessed with any LOL - so its understandable for them to hate those who got it), others think not.
.
So I was in an african store today and met these guys (Nnamdi and his 2 friends Daniel and Omar), who had a lil netbook computer and were looking at Mercy's WOW photo on different blogs including Blogger friend Mynne Whitman's and debating who was the curviest. Nnamdi told me he thinks Omotola is the curviest of them all in the industry and i said to him well dude you havent seen them all so dont judge - I said although i personally think Mercy takes the crown in that department, Omotola and Mercy are not the only curviest in the movie industry.
.
The other guys started throwing in different nollywood actresses names  including Tontoh (i looked at dude with a side eye like "u must be crazy"  - WHO!!!!!!!???) and am like what are we talking about here? Shapely curvy actresses or what?, if so then stick to the facts, dont just be throwing names out there including NMFs who should not even be mentioned in this discussion. Nnamdi said well he doesnt agree with me cos Mercy might be photoshopped or have butt implants and I am looking at him asking him "Why is it so hard for some people to believe" some are just blessed. If you have been watching Mercy for the past 10 yrs you will know - thats all hers - ALL of IT, and so is Omotolas and the ladies i have mentioned below. The debate was about curvy african actresses - every other name some of them wanted to bring in our friendly discussion was redundant. 
.
I said to them there are many others too who are not necessarily household names in the industry - but are in the industry non the less. He ask me who? I mentioned a few names but he is new to watching movies so he doesnt know them, So I decided to post photo of one more lady called Daniella Chioma Okeke and another lady called Toolz whom i saw on a blog (i dont know who she is but i guess she is an entertainer or whatever)
.
Daniella Chioma Okeke
(Nollywood Actress)
.


 Jocelyn Dumas back shot advertising for ReneeQ New BP Shawl

Jocelyn Dumas
(Ghanaian Actress and TV Host)
.
Toolz
.
There is another Cameroonian born Nollywood Actress called "Lyon Matte Titah" who I remember from movie "Behind Closed Doors  1&2 from years ago, but i havent seen her in a movie in a while neither do i have her picture. There is also another nollywood actress Thelma Nwosu (very good actress) but i havent seen her on screen in a while either. Lets not forget the likes of Ebube Nwagbo and maybe Ini Edo (pre-weight loss)
.
Also I would consider ghana's own Martha Ankomah and Joycelyn Dumas very curvy too - but i dont have a photo of her to showcase that. If any one has their curvy photos - send it to me and i will post it here. (yeah someone sent me a inobx message and said Juliet Ibrahim -well yeah i guess)
.
So to Nnamdi - the above are the rest i promise i will post (a few of them i cant find photos for, but i will search the movie title for you). Hope this makes your day - you and your boys can continue your debate. I have said my own. LOL
.
Thanks to the likes of  Nicki Minaj and Kim Kardarshian, finally society is slowly appreciating a curvy woman (at least out here in the west). Thank God Curvy is being Appreciated!!!!!!!!. I dont have to be shy about my curves again.
.
So in conclusion I ask one of the guys what is your definition of a curvy woman and he saids "You have to have the Ratio" - and i asked him - what is the ratio- what ratio are you talking about and he said
.
"Your waist should be no more than 15-16inchs inches than your hips/butt  and your bust should no more than 10 inches past your waist size to provide a perfect hour glass shape, and the example he gave me was such as 34-24-40. I could not believe what i had just heard, I just busted our laughing and am like "What?!!!! - you guys study women like a science project or something" - i just couldnt stop laughing. He claims to me that all straight men who appreciate curves know about this "RATIO" dimension thing. I just shook my head and left them in the store after making my purchase and i was thinking "Black Men" - Cheiiiiiiii
.
I say Whatever shape God blessed you with - just appreciate it too. Do you Boo.

You Wanted Majid Michel Up Close-You Got Him!


.
Ladies (and Gents) you watch him on screen and admire that great talent, he make us laugh, he makes us cry and sometimes pisses us off on screen, but nonetheless, he is our Majid and we will forever love and cherish him because he entertains us a lot.
.
Some hope to meet him upclose someday to talk to and experience the great man behind the phenomenal actor , and someday you will as he continues to make his rounds globally for movie premieres, work promotions and charitable endevours.
.
For now what better way to wrap a christmas gift for yourself, your family or that friend you love , than to wrap up a nice 12 month calendar of Majid to give to them to put on their wall. As you will see, above are just a few of the pages you will see in the 12 month calendar. All the photos are beautiful taken and on nice glossy paper that will shine as a work of art on any wall(s). I mean personally i hardly drink milk but after getting my copy and seeing that beautiful teeth smile in that milk shot, i added milk to my grocery shopping this week - 2012 i plan on drinking more milk. That *pepsodent/colgate* teeth smile - mmm - mmm - mmm.
.
And why would this be so special - you might ask?, Well, because the calendar is not all about Majid but also the important fact that 20% of the proceeds (of the calendar retailing for just $20) is going to a charitable course. You are not only giving a gift to your yourself, your family or friend, but also you are contributing to a charitable course dear to Majid's heart which we as a people should all care about too. Read on ....... 
.

A Perfect Holiday Gift”

Majid Michel Rolls Out 2012 Calendar!

20% of Proceeds To Benefit Selected Charities.

.
Why won’t the fans of actor Majid Michel finally say Wow! A couple of weeks ago, Majid launched his official website, www.majidmichelonline.com  with rave reviews.
.
This week, Majid rolls out a twelve page 2012 calendar with a clear objective. Speaking on behalf of Majid, Reggie Erawoc explains…“Majid wants to take his philanthropy to the next level, this is a small effort to start a greater good that’s ahead. 20% of sales will be donated to selected charities and their names will be published on his website. The criteria’s are simple, we are looking out for organizations that are active and are affecting change in our rural communities. These areas are; the provision of clean and safe water, sanitation, hygiene and also NGO’s empowering our children and youth through education.”
.
To support the course, visit
 or
.
For further inquiries, contact:
Erawoc Bros Group & Zebrachild Ent.
678-698-4322 / 678-760-3504
rerawoc@majidmichelonline.com
.
ALSO WATCH OUT FOR MY ONE ON ONE VIDEO INTERVIEW WITH REGGIE ERAWOC (MAJIDS BROTHER) WHO TALKS MORE ABOUT THE PLANS FOR MAJID FOR 2012 and MORE ABOUT MAJIDS CHARITABLE WORK.
.

Thursday, December 15, 2011

WOW! WOW!WOW! LAWD HAVE MERCY!




STOP THE PRESS!!!!!!!!!!!STOP THE PRESS!!!!!!!!!!!.

Well what did i tell yall in this thread  (click link) many months ago. I wished it - i predicted it and it came true. Thank God.
.
My wish has come true. Observers (haters) are very worried cos obviously they were hoping for a gauged eye.
.
Hear Ye Hear Ye, I said it once and i will say it again -  Mercy Johnson has the Best Body in Nollywood  - bar none. And with her new hired stylist - yall better watch out for her in 2012.
.
This was my ultimate wish for her - that with THE GREATEST BODY SHAPE IN THE GAME- if she got herself a great stylist who understood her body - NOBODY can hold a candle to this chick in the body department in all of african movie industry. Just TOH BAD!!
.
Men are salivating, women are just wowed - and haters with flat chest, no ass, no hips are screaming is photoshopped, some say girdle, some say butt pads - i mean the list goes on, but personally when you are told you got butt pads - as i have been told a few times, its not an insult - its a compliment - You are blessed. People who lack what you got will always say what you are blessed with is fake. Bloggers and mainstream nollywood media are going crazy bout this cover today - topic of discussion - Mr Okojie - u are blessed - get to work tonight sha. All the praises should make your head big. Definately WOW
.
Boy am i so glad to see this - this has to be the best WOW cover ever - all natural body - no weave - excellent make up - all covered up. Keep this up Mercy.
.
Someone tell me where can i get this magazine to buy in the US?!
.
Mercy you are not leaving this industry - you hear me? (as rumor claim u said u might now that u married?) You can have em babies and still keep on acting like OmoT did. We love your acting and gracing covers like this, we want to see more of you.
.
I am so happy for you Mercy - this new chapter is fabulous. Kudos to your new stylist who did u for this photoshoot - Kudos to WOW photographer. Kim Kardarshian aint got nothing on you MJ.
.
My guy friend is looking at these photos and he shaking head and asking "Is this Humanely possible for any one to have this type of shape? Believe it brutha - this is all hers, LOL LOL - we have followed Mercy for the past 10 yrs since her first break out movie "THE MAID" - and trust me when i say "SHE GREW UP" - literally - and its all natural. Undiluted Vimto.
.
They are many great shapes in our industry like Daniella Chioma Okeke, Lyon Matte Titah to name a few but by far, Mercy takes the crown.
.

Phone Swap (An Upcoming 2012 Movie by Kunle Afolayan)


This is a new movie coming out in 2012 by well respected and International Award Winning Movie Maker Kunle Afolayan. The movie is starring Nse Ikpe Etim, Wale Ojo, Lydia Forson etc.
.
Below is the trailer
.
I am quite excited for 2012 cos lawd knows this was the year of the crap movie epidermic  - this was one of the worst years personally for me in my 11yrs watching african movies. 98% of movie releases were all absolutely crap. Its like the market is so saturated by producers and directors who dont know what they are doing and actors and actresses who do nothing but give us headache by merely watching them. The epidermic of "Money Miss Rd" - they get a lil change - they want to make a movie - Na wah ohhhhh!!!!! Sheish. If i tell you the amount of paracetamol i have taken this year alone watching some of these movies. LOL
.
I watched almost all the crap releases that were put out (cos i have no choice - if i havent watched it i cant make judgement) - and i chose not to waste an ounce of my precious time to review any of them because none of them were worth mentioning. I dont want you to waste your time watching it let alone buy it- and thats why i have chosen not to review it. To each his own. One could say review it and i will make my decision - well - am sorry i cant do that - For a hobby that i do and not get paid i think i should have some say on how my time is spent #knowwhattamsaying#.  I will be giving 'them" the satisfaction by even mentioning them here let alone review.
.
I dont have any of these crap movies in my possession now because i returned them all but i am trying to gather them back to note down all the titles, names of the producers, directors, actors etc, - once am able to gather all, i will be creating and end of year "2011 MISS TILII CRAP AFRICAN MOVIE AWARDS " - nominating and awarding actors, actresses, directors, producers, writers etc. I make no promises but once i am able to gather all the info I will do this. If you watched any movie you deemed crap - please let me know (title and all) and i will place it in the crap bucket for nomination. Off the top of my head i know particular folks will be taking home several awards  LOL.
.
At least 2% of the movie releases were "VERY GOOD" in my books but not necessarily one that sticks out in my mind which i will deem "A GREAT CLASSIC MOVIE"
.
A lot of my time was also spent watching old classics from my cherished movie library just to reminisce bout the good ole days - although the picture and sound quality were not as top notch, the scripts and acting were more exciting.
.
I am just fortunate to have a dealer whom i have dealt with all these years and is kind enough to allow me to return all the movies i dont like without paying for it and in turn sell it to another sucker who loves to spend their hard earned money buying crap movies - (eg by just looking at the attractive glossy pretty/handsome movie jacket :)) ). This saves me a lot of money, i must say. I repeat, - I only spend my money to buy movies i deem classic.
.
I am excited for 2012. I have know of several movies already completed or in the pipe line and all by promising producers & directors, starring good actors and actresses - so I am hopeful for 2012 much more than ever. I hope i wont be dissapointed.
.
Kunle is one of my most respected filmaker and I know I will not be dissapointed with this one. Please look out for it and lets support it when it comes out
.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...