Friday, January 28, 2011

Friday Comedy Laughs

.
Genevieve, Chidi and comedian AY

.

Mike Ezerounye and comedian AY
.
.

"KEZIAH and MR IBU" versus "KEZIAH" (Not the Same Movie)

.
The above movie jacket is the newly made Keziah and Mr Ibu which is a continuation (i guess) from the original "Keziah" released 3 years ago as seen on the movie jacket below - My raves about Mercy's award winning performance is about her performance in Keziah (as seen below).

.
Once again,let me clarify that the
award winning performance by Mercy Johnson was in the movie "Keziah" (onye -obioma).
.
Keziah and "Keziah" and Mr Ibu" are two different movies.
.
This new one called "Keziah and Mr Ibu" also stars John Dumelo. If you want the all time classic which i can guarantee you will laugh throughout and you would enjoy Mercy excellent performance - I will have to say, ask your dealer or wherever you shop you want the original "Keziah" which came out 2/3 years ago. Dont let your dealer fool you and tell you its the same movie - NO!! it is not the same movie. Its unlikely many stores will have the same movie now since its at leas 3 years old now, but just ask you never know. And the story line for the original "Keziah" is as follows;
.
Keziah's mother warned her father against giving her the name "Keziah" as a baby at her baptism. Twenty three years later in her quest to come to the aid of a girlfriend who has been duped by her boyfriend, Keziah loses the thing most precious to her and her beloved father, and as a result, finds herself under the control of a curse that has transformed her into an addict of a different kind. John Okafor is hilarious as Keziah's father. It is also refreshing to see Mercy Johnson [Keziah] in a role that does not require her to empty her tear ducts. Lots of humorous moments and the movie rolls around at a quick pace. An innovative, situational comedy that at the very least will make you crack a smile. Loved it.
.

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Black Hollywood TV Sitcoms (Girlfriends, Game etc)

I guess for the black community here in US we unlike our white counterparts we dont have any better positive show on tv so everyone is googoo gaaa gaaa since BET launched the 2nd season of the show "The Game" on their network last week. If you ask me, I think the show "The Game" is "good" but no greater than "Girlfriends" - and i think when "Girlfriends" was on, twitter and facebook was not as popular as its been in the last year. The Game owes their much thanks for the one lady who advocated and got a lot of support on facebook to bring The Game back on TV (their then network threw it away, and BET picked it up), and i truly wish someone (or maybe me) had advocate just as much for "Girlfriends".
.
Mehn i miss my Toni, Joan, Maya, Lynn etc etc - my character i think was "Maya" (what was yours?). Plus they had some of the finest fishes of men on there - Khalil Kain.
.
"The Game" is way overrated (yeah i said it). But I guess its better than nothing. I would have prefered "Girlfriends" run on just as long as white show "Friends" run on (yet "Friends cast got paid quadruple").
.
I do miss "Girlfriends" so bad. I mean I use to love it just as much as "Sex in the City" - it was funny, witty and classy and i love the matured cast. It was never the same without Toni and rumor has it she left cos of money issues (i guess she wanted to be paid more) - well sista girl now aint doing ish now are you. None of you are - and we miss you.
.
It really hurts me that black hollywood has so much talent yet all prime time tv on all networks is bombarded with all these ridiculous shows with one maybe two black faces - and then we get one tinywiny show and its like "oh its alright" - I guess like Tyler Perry said lets not wait for 40 acres and a mule - lets create our own networks on tv - not wait for massar to give us a 30mins slot on tv only to cancel it after few season.
.
Black hollywood has got extremely good and many talent yet majority just sit on the bench - and no one wants to give them work - I mean from Monday to Friday on all major networks between the hours of 8pm - 10pm you got so many shows yet we dont have any ( out of the 15 or so shows, we got lot 2 or 3, and now that The Game is on BET, i guess for those who cannot afford cable tv- they cant watch it)
.
i can name a bajillion names of those i want to see working yet unfortunately are not due to no fault of theirs. We only have a handful of people who are blessed to get continous work (if any). Yet you got this crack head fool called "Charlie Sheen" allways full arounding doing ish and he always have a job cos he "SUPPOSEDLY" rakes in major audience.
.
Theyd rather show us in a negative ghetto lite on reality shows like "Flava of Love" (btw flava now now owns a friend chicken joint called "Flava Fried Chicken" aka FFC - go figure :lol), For the Love of Ray Jay, Ghetto Nene of "Real House Wives of Atlanta", Bad Girls Club or whatever the hell they call it - fighting cussing and being ghetto as hell. Always have to show the black women in the most negative on tv as though all are like that.
.
By the way "Girlfriends" did run on for 8 seasons (2 seasons less than "Friends") and both Girlfriends" and "The Game were both executive produced by "Mara Brock Akil and "Kelsey Grammar". Supposedly there is some sitcom in the works starring Lisa Raye "GT lol", Lauren London and Stacey Dash (clears my throat)
.
I am an eighties chick and i miss the good ole days of great black tv sitcoms like Cosby Show, Girlfriends, Fresh Prince of Bel Air and my ultimate favourite of all time "Different World". I hope since power house ms Oprah got her own network maybe she can support us and have some positive black show on her network. There will never be shows like Cosby or "Different World" again - i wish there could be - but i dont know. I love "Different World" so much i yearned to go to college when i was a kid, I wanted to be part of a sorority group. I mean i can say "Different World" was one of the real reasons i went to college - cos i wanted to experience it so much. I wanted to be in Kimberly Reese "Delta" Sorority - just watching that show.
.
If you are reading this outside out USA and dont have a clue what am talking about - I am simply talking about weekly black sitcoms on TV here in the US - "The Game" vs "Girlfriends" etc. I lived in London between 1990 - 2000 and its even more pitiful over there cos there are no black shows whatsoever on tv. Just pitiful. Its like we dont even exist.
.
ps: as much as I love Tyler P, am sorry i am so not feeling his tv sitcoms at all.
.

Sunday, January 23, 2011

Milk+Honey (Idris Elba Produced Dramedy Series)

milk + honey series trailer from brown paper dolls on Vimeo.
.
Sexy actor (and as i'll call him my fellow Ghanaian and East Londoner Hackney hood "brutha") Idris Elba has dipped his hand in the Executive Producing bucket. "Milk + Honey" is a dramedy series for the web and TV, which focuses on the spiritual, professional, and romantic journeys of four young ambitious YBF women navigating through the lights, smoke, and mirrors of Hollywood. The women experience a journey all of us can relate to.
.
About the series, Idris says:
.
“I decided to get involved with Milk + Honey because of the strong demand for content that is relatable and authentic,” states Elba about his involvement with the project.

“Brown Paper Dolls has an intuitive way of displaying positive images of women throughout the series.”
.
The series stars Lance Gross (Our Family Wedding, "House of Payne"), Faune Chambers (Curious Case of Benjamin Button), Bryce Wilson (Beauty Shop), veteran actress Debbie Allen and introduces Asha Kamali. Also newcomers Yaani King, Shauntay Hinton, Charles Divins, and Rob Smith.
.
Idris and the Brown Paper Dolls company (Chicagoans and Spelman, Howard U & FAMU grads Dana Gills, Asha Kamali May, and Jeanette McDuffie) have been working on this series for over 3 years. It was created to showcase diverse images of women of color that are rarely seen on the big or small screen,and also to create more opportunities for black actors.
.
The "Milk + Honey" scripted series will soon be seen on all platforms soon and is looking to get picked up by a tv network. (Personally I hope its not BET cos i cant stand BET - anybody else but bootyshaking entertainment tv.)

.

source:ybf
.

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Madea's Big Happy Family (Upcoming TP Production)

.
Yall know when it comes to great Black Hollywood Movies - i Keep yall up to date. Here is Tyler Perrys upcoming Project - "Madea's Big Happy Family".
.
Madea's Big Happy Family is kicking off promo now as we speak since it opens nationwide on April 22nd 2011. The trailer doesn't come out for another few weeks. But here's the first look at the new promo poster. Bow Wow, Loretta Devine, Teyana Taylor, Lauren London, and plenty others will be starring in the flick.
.
Plot synopsis:
Madea, everyone’s favorite wise-cracking, take-no-prisoners grandma, jumps into action when her niece, Shirley, receives distressing news about her health. All Shirley wants is to gather her three adult children around her and share the news as a family. But Tammy, Kimberly and Byron are too distracted by their own problems: Tammy can’t manage her unruly children or her broken marriage; Kimberly is gripped with anger and takes it out on her husband; and Byron, after spending two years in jail, is under pressure to deal drugs again. It’s up to Madea, with the help of the equally rambunctious Aunt Bam, to gather the clan together and make things right the only way she knows how: with a lot of tough love, laughter…and the revelation of a long-buried family secret.
.
Tyler Perry – screenwriter, director and two-time star (as Madea and her brother, Joe) – returns with another tender and hilarious look at love and family ties with MADEA’S BIG HAPPY FAMILY, also starring Shad “Bow Wow” Moss, Loretta Devine, Cassi Davis, Lauren London, David Mann, Tamela Brown Mann, Isaiah Mustafa, Rodney Perry, Shannon Kane, Natalie Desselle Reid and Teyana Taylor
.
For those of you outside of US who still havent had a chance to see the great classic "For colored Girls .." - it is out on DVD and Blue Ray on Feb 22nd 2011 (only 3 weeks or so away - so grab ya copies). Talk about colored, the other great classic "COLOR PURPLE" is also being reproduced on to DVD and BLUE ray and that you definately need to get. See why you always have to save your money from buying crap and wait for classics as such.
.
And i sit patiently as the oscar announces in less than 3 weeks, their 2011 nomination and name "For colored girls' - if they dont mention this movie as a nominee and they dont give my white husband "Leonardo DiCaprio" his way overdue final oscar since Titanic - i am boycotting oscars for good and i will rattle my yoruba and igbo curses on their heads ("Oscars koni da fun, asho ishi, asho iya, asho iranu", "e iwo", "oloshi", "oloburuki" and ofcourse my favourite igbo insult "Anoufia" :lol:) - isnt it amazing when u learn a language how the insults are learnt first. :lol.
.
By the way - from now Mid January till April is Hollywood normal schedule for Award and various red carpet events. I always got the most up to date photos of their red carpet, but though this is a movie review site, I am not sure if you area all interested in such (i have posted a few in the past) - if you want to see the photos let me know and i will keep yall up to date.
.

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

The White Wedding (An upcoming SA movie)




I mentioned this movie many months ago, and finally the movie "The White Wedding" is going to be released on DVD this year (Janurary 25th 2011) so look out for it. I cant wait to see it. I know its released onthis date here in USA - i dont know about elsewhere


Once again here is the trailer








ps: to all my readers please dont hesistate to continue to keep me informed of upcoming movies across the continent of Africa (not just Ghana or Nigeria). To my SA reader who sent me update of the dvd release - thank you.

Sunday, January 9, 2011

6 HOURS TO CHRISTMAS (Miss TiLii Review)


Starring
Chris Attoh
Damilola Adegbite
Senu Tsikata
.
Written By
Shirley Frimpong Manso
.
Directed By
Shirley Frimpong Manso
.
Produced By
Ken Attoh
.
Storyline/Sypnosis
.coming soon
.
Theme:
Romantic Comedy
.
My Review
.coming soon
.
My Ratings
.6.0/10
.(Not necessarily the best that came out of Sparrow Production - nice comedy though - and different - my american friend loved it. We laughed a lot throughout the movie - however i was a lil bored watching a movie where 3/4 of the scene was shot in one place - i would not call this a classic out of Sparrow)
.
.
.

Saturday, January 1, 2011

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL MY READERS

Happy New Year to all my Readers, May God Bless You Abundantly this And Bless you with all your heart desire.
.
This last month was a lil bit of challenge for me with so much stuff that went on. But that is all behind me now. I am beginning a new year with a new positive attitude regardless of what happened going well and I hope you are all doing great too.
.
We look forward to great movies this 2011
.
Stay Bless
.
xoxo
Miss Tilii
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...