Friday, December 30, 2011

What is the Title of That Movie.....???

Dec 30th 2011
I decided to bump this thread up because there is a movie out there, which i have been searching the title for and I cant seem to remember at all. I watched it around 2004- i think. 
.
As I have mentioned before I started watching african movies since the 11 years ago (May 2000) and when i compare the scripts then to now - those movies were 100% better that the craps out today - although the sound and picture quality (and on VHS cassette) was not that great.
.
Many had the assumption in those days, most african movies were all witchcraft based - but thats where you are totally wrong - i had the same assumption too- until i really got into it. I have boxes and boxes and boxes onf VHS movies and i even dashed some away. Excellent story lines and themes - and most of all my favourite traditional village themes. I am strongly advocating that the producers of those movies back than between 2000 - 2005 - please give the rights to have the movie reproduced onto a DVD high quality format (its very doable).
.
Anyway the reason i bumped this thread up cos i am searching for a title of a movie and I was hoping one of you veteran movie watches can help me out. Its a movie with Emeka Ike, Emeka Enyiocha and Chiwetalu Agu. I totally loved that movie (i miss seeing Emeka Enyiocha in movies stemming from "Sharon Stone" days with Genevieve). This movie i am searching for , was a sad movie yet very interesting - with "lesson learnt" or "moral to the story" kinda ending to it (unlike most of the old movies all had - unlike todays current crap). If you think Mercy Johnson can cry - well Emeka Enyiocha is the male version - he cries hard and nasty LOL.
.
I think it may have the word Poverty in the title - am not quite sure, but anyway, in the movie the two Emekas were brothers and from a very poor family, as well expected Chiwetalu was their evil uncle who was just evil towards them. Its a village set movie. If anyone remembers and can tell me - i will truly appreciate it. I know its in my pile of boxes but am not ready to be popping no vhs in trying to find it.
.
(although i have not been posting a lot in 2011 - please dont hesitate to search many of my old post on this blog starting 2008 - they were quite interesting post - i am trying to figure out a way how i can create a drop down search of these title threads - so its easier for you all to search these threads - than search by Month as blogger currently has it set - any advice will help me too)
.
.
June 30 2010
You know how you watched a movie you liked a while back and you been racking your brain to remember the titled but you cant. I am going through a similar thing now, and I am sure a few people have gone through that once or twice before, so i thought if i created a forum in the upcoming website - you describe the movie you cant remember title to - and then maybe someone might remember and tell you what the title is.
.
Description of Movie:
The movie i am currently trying to remember title to, is a very funny movie with Nkem Owoh , where he had 3 wives - one Igbo (played by Patience Ozorkwor so go figure - u will laugh till u drop), one Hausa, both wifes gave him plenty daughters and yet no son, and as he really wants a son so he goes out and marry a new wife (Yoruba Woman) in hopes of finally getting a son since the his Igbo wife and Hausa wife failed on him (or he failed on himself :lol:). So now he got a igbo wife, a hausa wife and a new yoruba wife all living on the same compound with his dozen or so daughters.
.
This is one of the funniest movie i ever watched (i laughed so hard) and i want to rewatch it again but i dont remember the title. Patience Ozorkwor and Nkem Owoh cussing each other out, you will laugh with tears. my favourite scene in the movie.
.
In one scene, the hausa and igbo wife were fighting, so one of nkems daughters quickly run to her fathers workshop (cos nkem was a carpenter in the village market) to tell him what is going on in their compound and that he should come quickly to stop the fight - her mothers are fighting (her mother and her step mom that is)

Nkem patiently listened to her daughter narrating the fight backhome, and after she was finished, she carefully reached in his hammer box and handed her daughter 2 hammers, and slowly said to her (just imagine nkem ) , " GO BACK HOME, AND GIVE ONE OF THESE HAMMERS TO YO MODA, AND THE OTHER TO YOUR STEPMODA, AND TELL THEM TO TRY AND AIM AT EACH OTHERS FOREHEADS WITH THE HAMMER, THAT WILL BE BETTER.
.
I was eating whilst i watched this scene i swear i choked on my food, drinking water didnt even do it for me. I laughed so much i was in tears. I wasnt expecting that response from him at all, but trust Nkem and his talk (so real - no pretense).
.
Then in another scene he tells one of his wives, "i married you because you came highly recomended from JOS, they say banana from jos is bunchy and the apples are fruitful,i brought you from jos yet you refuse to give me a male child, you are FRUI, the TFUL part is the male child you havent given me"
.
If anyone does remember please remind, it will be very much appreciated.
.
Thank you in advance for your cooperation.
.
revised
I found the title everybody - its called "MY BABY"
.
I like Nkem because he is not only a great actor but i love his village settings (which is always my favourite kind) - and i love his sound scores and beautiful igbo music he uses in his movies (even though most of the lyrics to the songs give the movie away :lol:)
.

2010 CRAP ALERT LIST

(Save Your Money/Headache)


-*Hidden Fantasy


-*Geisha Girls/Malaika Girls .


-*Royal Temptation/Royal Target .


-*Royal Panic/Together Apart .


-*Statement of Account


-*The Journalist


-*The Return of Spade .


-*My Dying Day .


-*Return of Blackerry Babes


-*Blackberry Babes (Its simply EMBARASSING yet funny)


-*Dangerous Maiden (Rita D this is pitiful u accepted this)


-*Blind Lust -


-*Behind Da Heart -


-*Who Owns the City


-*The Altar -


-*Criminal Minds -


-*Good Girls Gone Bad -


-*Gift of Angels -


-*The Code -


-*Jewel of the Sun -


-*Campus War -


-*Dirty Secret.


-*Other side of Love

-*And many many more. 95% of 2011 releases were CRAP

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

KWAW ANSAH MOVIE "SUFFERING TO LOSE"

.
Thank you Jesus. Finally ghana's finest and veteran movie makers are slowly coming back. I hoped for this and my dream are coming true. Hopefully our great actors like Majid, Martha, Adjettey, Nana Kwame etc - will finally have choices besides the likes of Venus and all the other hooplas. So finally Kwaw is back, plus we have Shirley and Leila. Finally ghana movie industry (GMI) will take a better turn.
.
Renowned Ghanaian film maker, Kwaw Ansah (producer of renowned movie "Love Brewed in African Pot" will premiere the third installment of ‘The Good Old Days’ movies, titled ‘Suffering to Lose’ at the National Theatre on the January 7 with a repeat on January 8, 5:00pm and 8:30pm each night.
.
‘Suffering to Lose’ is an intriguing and compelling story of love, family and relationship which portrays the hallmark of a good African woman who suffers through thick and thin for her family’s financial success. From the dawn of time, life has been sustained by the marriage of man and woman. And whether the marriage becomes a success or failure depends on the determination of the two to endure the challenges of life. But how do we often remember the woman in the success story? Or is the woman, indeed, her own enemy?
.
‘Suffering to Lose’ which takes viewers through the journey of life, success and reward is set in the 1950s and 1960s. It ends with a mixture of love and tragic events that are sure to capture the imagination of the viewing public and cause people to re-examine their interpersonal relations, which tend to pose a great challenge to society.
.
‘Suffering to Lose’ features pioneers of the Ghana film industry such as Akofa Ajeani Asiedu, Ekow Bingo Baiden, Albert Jackson Davis, Ekow Smith Asante, Akosua Agyapong, Portia Asare Boateng, Agnes Dapaah and Emmary Brown
.
Tickets are available at TV Africa, Koala, Max-mart and Batsonaa Total Filling Station. Rate – Ghc20.00 Regular, and GHc35.00 Special tickets which give two VCD’s on entry. This event is sponsored by, MTN, Obaapapa, Kasapreko Alomo Bitters and supported by Indomie, Special Ice Mineral Water, DDP, Ultra Films and Ink it.
.
I cant wait to see this movie - the "hair aboy" alone kills me (aboy is ghana's slang for the hair partition LOL) - you only have to be old school to know wuzzup. I can imagine the Tunabu's and your guarantee in tow (tunabu is the trousers with the big wide bottom, and guarantee is the shoes with the big platform bottoms). You were the flyest if you had your aboy hair style ,your tunabu trousers and guarantee shoe platforms back in the day.
.
I am so excited for 2012 - first i hear the good news of Nigeria New Cinema - which is a joint effort of all the best movie makers like Kunle, Lancelot, Teco, Emem I, Vivian E etc - belonging to an association whose ultimate goal is to produce and give the audience quality international level movies - which movies - better equipments - better scripts etc etc. My ultimate wish is that the mediocre illiterates who have saturated the market producing one nonsense after the next be weeded out finally, so its exciting news to me when i hear such.

.

Sunday, December 25, 2011

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR FROM MISS TILII


Wishing all my fellow Christians a
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year
May our Lord God fulfil every heart desire you may have
I pray for Good Health, Safety and Abundant Prosperity to You all and your Families
That You shall never lack
.
.
I am extremely honoured that you are reading my blog and I promise to post more often in 2012 and even if there are no movies I think are worth reviewing - there are so many interesting topics we could talk about to make it more interesting. I wish you well. Amen.
.
I love my Jesus and today I am going to overdose on FOOD as i celebrate HIS birthday (jollof rice, chicken, yam balls, fried yams and fish, kenkey, african 1000 calorie salad  fried plantain and beans, cake, chinchin, poff poff, mascatto wine, irish cream, sheridan, lambrusco, fanta, coke, sprite, masketella, meatpie, cabin biscuit, bread pudding etc etc. I will start my diet Jan 3rd 2012 (LOL) as i concurrently do my 21 day fast with my church so am not worried.
.
If you are out and about and you see a homeless person in need, please dont forget to give him/her something. This is what christmas is about - LOVING, GIVING, CARING, FORGIVING etc etc
.

Saturday, December 17, 2011

African Movie Industry -Who is The Curviest of Them All

.
Omotola Jalade - Ekeinde
(Nollywood Actress)
.
So this new Mercy WoW photoshoot has started debates amongst a few fellas and ladies who look at her photos. Some of the ladies say Mercy's hour glass is over rated (which is understandable cos clearly they werent blessed with any LOL - so its understandable for them to hate those who got it), others think not.
.
So I was in an african store today and met these guys (Nnamdi and his 2 friends Daniel and Omar), who had a lil netbook computer and were looking at Mercy's WOW photo on different blogs including Blogger friend Mynne Whitman's and debating who was the curviest. Nnamdi told me he thinks Omotola is the curviest of them all in the industry and i said to him well dude you havent seen them all so dont judge - I said although i personally think Mercy takes the crown in that department, Omotola and Mercy are not the only curviest in the movie industry.
.
The other guys started throwing in different nollywood actresses names  including Tontoh (i looked at dude with a side eye like "u must be crazy"  - WHO!!!!!!!???) and am like what are we talking about here? Shapely curvy actresses or what?, if so then stick to the facts, dont just be throwing names out there including NMFs who should not even be mentioned in this discussion. Nnamdi said well he doesnt agree with me cos Mercy might be photoshopped or have butt implants and I am looking at him asking him "Why is it so hard for some people to believe" some are just blessed. If you have been watching Mercy for the past 10 yrs you will know - thats all hers - ALL of IT, and so is Omotolas and the ladies i have mentioned below. The debate was about curvy african actresses - every other name some of them wanted to bring in our friendly discussion was redundant. 
.
I said to them there are many others too who are not necessarily household names in the industry - but are in the industry non the less. He ask me who? I mentioned a few names but he is new to watching movies so he doesnt know them, So I decided to post photo of one more lady called Daniella Chioma Okeke and another lady called Toolz whom i saw on a blog (i dont know who she is but i guess she is an entertainer or whatever)
.
Daniella Chioma Okeke
(Nollywood Actress)
.


 Jocelyn Dumas back shot advertising for ReneeQ New BP Shawl

Jocelyn Dumas
(Ghanaian Actress and TV Host)
.
Toolz
.
There is another Cameroonian born Nollywood Actress called "Lyon Matte Titah" who I remember from movie "Behind Closed Doors  1&2 from years ago, but i havent seen her in a movie in a while neither do i have her picture. There is also another nollywood actress Thelma Nwosu (very good actress) but i havent seen her on screen in a while either. Lets not forget the likes of Ebube Nwagbo and maybe Ini Edo (pre-weight loss)
.
Also I would consider ghana's own Martha Ankomah and Joycelyn Dumas very curvy too - but i dont have a photo of her to showcase that. If any one has their curvy photos - send it to me and i will post it here. (yeah someone sent me a inobx message and said Juliet Ibrahim -well yeah i guess)
.
So to Nnamdi - the above are the rest i promise i will post (a few of them i cant find photos for, but i will search the movie title for you). Hope this makes your day - you and your boys can continue your debate. I have said my own. LOL
.
Thanks to the likes of  Nicki Minaj and Kim Kardarshian, finally society is slowly appreciating a curvy woman (at least out here in the west). Thank God Curvy is being Appreciated!!!!!!!!. I dont have to be shy about my curves again.
.
So in conclusion I ask one of the guys what is your definition of a curvy woman and he saids "You have to have the Ratio" - and i asked him - what is the ratio- what ratio are you talking about and he said
.
"Your waist should be no more than 15-16inchs inches than your hips/butt  and your bust should no more than 10 inches past your waist size to provide a perfect hour glass shape, and the example he gave me was such as 34-24-40. I could not believe what i had just heard, I just busted our laughing and am like "What?!!!! - you guys study women like a science project or something" - i just couldnt stop laughing. He claims to me that all straight men who appreciate curves know about this "RATIO" dimension thing. I just shook my head and left them in the store after making my purchase and i was thinking "Black Men" - Cheiiiiiiii
.
I say Whatever shape God blessed you with - just appreciate it too. Do you Boo.

You Wanted Majid Michel Up Close-You Got Him!


.
Ladies (and Gents) you watch him on screen and admire that great talent, he make us laugh, he makes us cry and sometimes pisses us off on screen, but nonetheless, he is our Majid and we will forever love and cherish him because he entertains us a lot.
.
Some hope to meet him upclose someday to talk to and experience the great man behind the phenomenal actor , and someday you will as he continues to make his rounds globally for movie premieres, work promotions and charitable endevours.
.
For now what better way to wrap a christmas gift for yourself, your family or that friend you love , than to wrap up a nice 12 month calendar of Majid to give to them to put on their wall. As you will see, above are just a few of the pages you will see in the 12 month calendar. All the photos are beautiful taken and on nice glossy paper that will shine as a work of art on any wall(s). I mean personally i hardly drink milk but after getting my copy and seeing that beautiful teeth smile in that milk shot, i added milk to my grocery shopping this week - 2012 i plan on drinking more milk. That *pepsodent/colgate* teeth smile - mmm - mmm - mmm.
.
And why would this be so special - you might ask?, Well, because the calendar is not all about Majid but also the important fact that 20% of the proceeds (of the calendar retailing for just $20) is going to a charitable course. You are not only giving a gift to your yourself, your family or friend, but also you are contributing to a charitable course dear to Majid's heart which we as a people should all care about too. Read on ....... 
.

A Perfect Holiday Gift”

Majid Michel Rolls Out 2012 Calendar!

20% of Proceeds To Benefit Selected Charities.

.
Why won’t the fans of actor Majid Michel finally say Wow! A couple of weeks ago, Majid launched his official website, www.majidmichelonline.com  with rave reviews.
.
This week, Majid rolls out a twelve page 2012 calendar with a clear objective. Speaking on behalf of Majid, Reggie Erawoc explains…“Majid wants to take his philanthropy to the next level, this is a small effort to start a greater good that’s ahead. 20% of sales will be donated to selected charities and their names will be published on his website. The criteria’s are simple, we are looking out for organizations that are active and are affecting change in our rural communities. These areas are; the provision of clean and safe water, sanitation, hygiene and also NGO’s empowering our children and youth through education.”
.
To support the course, visit
 or
.
For further inquiries, contact:
Erawoc Bros Group & Zebrachild Ent.
678-698-4322 / 678-760-3504
rerawoc@majidmichelonline.com
.
ALSO WATCH OUT FOR MY ONE ON ONE VIDEO INTERVIEW WITH REGGIE ERAWOC (MAJIDS BROTHER) WHO TALKS MORE ABOUT THE PLANS FOR MAJID FOR 2012 and MORE ABOUT MAJIDS CHARITABLE WORK.
.

Thursday, December 15, 2011

WOW! WOW!WOW! LAWD HAVE MERCY!




STOP THE PRESS!!!!!!!!!!!STOP THE PRESS!!!!!!!!!!!.

Well what did i tell yall in this thread  (click link) many months ago. I wished it - i predicted it and it came true. Thank God.
.
My wish has come true. Observers (haters) are very worried cos obviously they were hoping for a gauged eye.
.
Hear Ye Hear Ye, I said it once and i will say it again -  Mercy Johnson has the Best Body in Nollywood  - bar none. And with her new hired stylist - yall better watch out for her in 2012.
.
This was my ultimate wish for her - that with THE GREATEST BODY SHAPE IN THE GAME- if she got herself a great stylist who understood her body - NOBODY can hold a candle to this chick in the body department in all of african movie industry. Just TOH BAD!!
.
Men are salivating, women are just wowed - and haters with flat chest, no ass, no hips are screaming is photoshopped, some say girdle, some say butt pads - i mean the list goes on, but personally when you are told you got butt pads - as i have been told a few times, its not an insult - its a compliment - You are blessed. People who lack what you got will always say what you are blessed with is fake. Bloggers and mainstream nollywood media are going crazy bout this cover today - topic of discussion - Mr Okojie - u are blessed - get to work tonight sha. All the praises should make your head big. Definately WOW
.
Boy am i so glad to see this - this has to be the best WOW cover ever - all natural body - no weave - excellent make up - all covered up. Keep this up Mercy.
.
Someone tell me where can i get this magazine to buy in the US?!
.
Mercy you are not leaving this industry - you hear me? (as rumor claim u said u might now that u married?) You can have em babies and still keep on acting like OmoT did. We love your acting and gracing covers like this, we want to see more of you.
.
I am so happy for you Mercy - this new chapter is fabulous. Kudos to your new stylist who did u for this photoshoot - Kudos to WOW photographer. Kim Kardarshian aint got nothing on you MJ.
.
My guy friend is looking at these photos and he shaking head and asking "Is this Humanely possible for any one to have this type of shape? Believe it brutha - this is all hers, LOL LOL - we have followed Mercy for the past 10 yrs since her first break out movie "THE MAID" - and trust me when i say "SHE GREW UP" - literally - and its all natural. Undiluted Vimto.
.
They are many great shapes in our industry like Daniella Chioma Okeke, Lyon Matte Titah to name a few but by far, Mercy takes the crown.
.

Phone Swap (An Upcoming 2012 Movie by Kunle Afolayan)


This is a new movie coming out in 2012 by well respected and International Award Winning Movie Maker Kunle Afolayan. The movie is starring Nse Ikpe Etim, Wale Ojo, Lydia Forson etc.
.
Below is the trailer
.
I am quite excited for 2012 cos lawd knows this was the year of the crap movie epidermic  - this was one of the worst years personally for me in my 11yrs watching african movies. 98% of movie releases were all absolutely crap. Its like the market is so saturated by producers and directors who dont know what they are doing and actors and actresses who do nothing but give us headache by merely watching them. The epidermic of "Money Miss Rd" - they get a lil change - they want to make a movie - Na wah ohhhhh!!!!! Sheish. If i tell you the amount of paracetamol i have taken this year alone watching some of these movies. LOL
.
I watched almost all the crap releases that were put out (cos i have no choice - if i havent watched it i cant make judgement) - and i chose not to waste an ounce of my precious time to review any of them because none of them were worth mentioning. I dont want you to waste your time watching it let alone buy it- and thats why i have chosen not to review it. To each his own. One could say review it and i will make my decision - well - am sorry i cant do that - For a hobby that i do and not get paid i think i should have some say on how my time is spent #knowwhattamsaying#.  I will be giving 'them" the satisfaction by even mentioning them here let alone review.
.
I dont have any of these crap movies in my possession now because i returned them all but i am trying to gather them back to note down all the titles, names of the producers, directors, actors etc, - once am able to gather all, i will be creating and end of year "2011 MISS TILII CRAP AFRICAN MOVIE AWARDS " - nominating and awarding actors, actresses, directors, producers, writers etc. I make no promises but once i am able to gather all the info I will do this. If you watched any movie you deemed crap - please let me know (title and all) and i will place it in the crap bucket for nomination. Off the top of my head i know particular folks will be taking home several awards  LOL.
.
At least 2% of the movie releases were "VERY GOOD" in my books but not necessarily one that sticks out in my mind which i will deem "A GREAT CLASSIC MOVIE"
.
A lot of my time was also spent watching old classics from my cherished movie library just to reminisce bout the good ole days - although the picture and sound quality were not as top notch, the scripts and acting were more exciting.
.
I am just fortunate to have a dealer whom i have dealt with all these years and is kind enough to allow me to return all the movies i dont like without paying for it and in turn sell it to another sucker who loves to spend their hard earned money buying crap movies - (eg by just looking at the attractive glossy pretty/handsome movie jacket :)) ). This saves me a lot of money, i must say. I repeat, - I only spend my money to buy movies i deem classic.
.
I am excited for 2012. I have know of several movies already completed or in the pipe line and all by promising producers & directors, starring good actors and actresses - so I am hopeful for 2012 much more than ever. I hope i wont be dissapointed.
.
Kunle is one of my most respected filmaker and I know I will not be dissapointed with this one. Please look out for it and lets support it when it comes out
.

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Majid Michel Launches His New Website


.
I think i mentioned here before many months ago that Majid's site was in the works, well - it has finally been launched. Check it out http://www.majidmichelonline.com/
.

This by far I say is the BEST website by any african star (let alone Ghanaian star) - and am not saying that cos i know him - it is what is is - at least some stars knows how to invest their money on something better than blackberries, brazillian weaves and shoes. This is a man well prepared professionally for Hollywood level. Check it out and see for yourself.
.
Ladies make sure you buy the posters & calendars (buy two - one for you and wrap a second one for your friend or loved one). All the sexiness oozing from all these posters and calendars dont make no damn sense. Majid you need to be arrested, cos this is illegal - u hear me!.
.
The website provides a place where people can get information, interact with Majid, submit scripts, read articles, book him, view updates of his movies, watch trailers, purchase any of his movies, browse through pictures and videos in the gallery, branding of his online store with the introduction of his upcoming 2012 calendar, posters, T-shirts, postcards etc.
.
In addition you learn about Majid’s philanthropy passion and his future charitable goals for 2012. Including some exciting upcoming features to be disclosed in the near future. It’s definitely a site to see!
.
Sputnic Erawoc (CEO of ZebraChildEnt.) adds, “As a multimedia consulting company, we are really proud of this project. We were impressed with how much time spent at the start of this project understanding the particular needs of Majid, his fans and the industry as a whole.
.
The real highlight has been the energy and enthusiasm from everyone involved, especially Reggie Erawoc and Mathew Nestor who worked tirelessly on content and design. By working closely with Majid, we think the site has achieved its objectives and then some.
.
EPK is in the works for all interested HOLLYWOOD scouts interested in Majid. 2012 is going to blow your mind for what Majid and the the whole Erawoc Bros Group has in store - and am glad to say am part of the team.
.
For further inquiries, contact: Erawoc Bros Group & Zebrachild Ent.
678-698-4322 / 678-760-3504; reggie.erawoc@gmail.com
.
(Reggie & Sputnic - i still got beef with yall - i aint gon hide it - am just saying)
.
To the person who emailed me about the SWIA review, I apologise for my lateness, in summary i rate it 8/10, so if you say its coming to your city, its all worth buying a ticket to go see it. I promise - its excellent acting from Majid - oscar performance,

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Genevieve Nnaji (We Salute You)


Yup, Genny - My Genny - looking amazing. A dose of Foiness 

We been stomping hard since we first saw her in year 2000 when we first saw her, and we still stomping hard for her even till this day. There is was and will always be one Genevieve. We've been called names and been called biased and all the names in the book and had many a cyber fights, debates and arguments (in former blogs i use to belong to and WAS a frequent commenter) - which even prompted me to start my own blog and dish the B.S. Cos On here on this blog I have 100% control and there will be no negativity of my Genny. 
.
Its amazing how the very people who use to diss her are now praising her when 10 yrs ago when we were stomping hard making noise - they didnt want to hear it. 2004 the haters came in drums - from east, west, north, south, with rumors and stories upon stories, cos clearly many (and even till this day) wants her spot
.
We dont have many, and my strongest believe is the very few BEST we have on our continent we praise them to continue to be the best.
.
When its all said and done Genny - Psalm 91:7 "A thousand May Fall at your Side, ten thousand at your right hand" . Through thick and thin, you kept your head up, earned your keep, and still standing, still strong.  Non talented newbies get in the game now - they want to be a success like tommorow.
.
Majority dont know how tough the road was, they see all the glamour now and they think you are an overnight success. We look forward to higher heights and the many great releases you have in store for 2012.
.
We Salute You and the whole Continent of Africa is Very Proud of You.
.
(i was watching Sharon Stone last weekend and I was just laughing at your many scenes - those were the good ole days. I miss the good ole days on Nollywood movies. Great Scripts)

ACT LIKE A LADY, THINK LIKE A MAN (Upcoming Hollywood Movie)



Trailer:

.
mmm, mmm mmmm - Michael Ealy. I love love love me some Michael Ealy. Yes puhlease. Search his name on this blog and you will know how much i love me some Michael. In Black Entertainment USA, he is the ONLY actor I love the most since he played Pretty Ricki on Barbershop many years ago.
.
Anyway above is the long awaited well casted black hollywood movie called THINK LIKE A MAN based on Steve Harveys best selling book (never read the book but i heard its good). The movie comes out on March 9 2012 and It has a well casted list. My personal favourite Michael Ealy, my funny actress Regina Hall (also Sanaa Lathans BFF), Gabrielle Union, Taraji P Henson, Meagan Good and funny as hell comedian Kevin Hart (if you dont have Kevin on your twitter then it must be dull on your twitter - he is just funny as hell). Oh and Chris Brown is in too i hear. and so is BET 106 and Park Terrence J.
.
In summary the story is a romantic comedy centered on a relationship expert who cannot keep his own love life in order.  The movie centers around four friends whose lives are interconnected. The women in their lives purchase Steve Harvey’s book and starts taking the advice he gives in his pages, which leaves the friends love lives jolted and shaken up. When the band of brothers find out that they have been betrayed by one of their own, they conspire to use the book’s teachings to turn the tables.

.
I am so excited for Michael because this will be the first movie he is headlining as the lead cast in a major movie. I just love me some pretty Ricky - To tell you a lil bout my boo, he majored in English in college, became a school teacher for a short minute before embarking unto hollywood. Born and raised in a real life Cosby Family in Silver Spring Maryland.

Although I dont care for thugs, no earrings nor cornrows on a guy, Michael made thug look so damn sexy in the movie Barbershop and as a first time his acting was just excellent and ofcourse them green eyes puts a trance on a lady. He did great in the movie "Colored GIrls" as the ex vet and always angry abusive husband to Kimberly Elise's character. I hated his character in that movie - but thats cos he played it so convincingly.

.
I just cant wait. I will make sure i catch this movie on non peak time (eg 11am on a weekday) when it comes out - cos over here in Atlanta - black women dont know when to shut up watching a movie with fine as Michael in it. They talk thru the whole damn movie like they do when their Idris Elba comes on screen (shirtless or not), and when it comes to Michael, I need complete silence like I am the only person in the theatre watching.

.
Below is a clip of Michael Ealy from Scenes in Barbershop. Barbershop is a great movie to own. Its very good movie by Ice Cube (also starring Eve and Cedric the Entertainer)
.

Saturday, November 12, 2011

African Child Actors vs Hollywood Child Actors (Part 2 Discussion)

In April 2009 - I wrote this article here about African Child Actors vs Hollywood Child Actors - well - check this trailer out here - a young child called "Kyler Drew" auditioning for a part in Tyler Perrys movie "Good Deeds". She looks no more than 5 yrs old to me, and yet such an good young actress - I hope she got the part. The movie "Good Deeds" comes out in Feb 2012.


But it brings me to think - if only we can nurture our own african children in the art of acting so they can act this good. Cos truth be told - yall know our kids (not all of them but most ) are not that good in acting. Very rehearsed. Not all kids have to be Doctors, Lawyers, Engineers etc.


If we nurture them at a young age as i said in my previous article - they can still get their education side by side as they act like many in Hollywood did - and once they grow up and gain more experience, we the audience dont have to endure CRAP ACTING with adult acting as we do so much now - if you catch my drift.

Friday, November 11, 2011

MY LEONARDO DI CAPRIO "WILL WIN" AN OSCAR COME FEB 26 2012

.
.
Check out the Trailer
.
Oscar better give an oscar to Leonardo Di Caprio come February 2012 on that oscar night. Am just saying Oscar and I have had long standing real beef  (and why i have boycotted it for years)- they never want to honour Leonardo di Caprio and i will be damn if come February 2012  they dare by pass my man again. I will go literally mad that day - You cannot tell me you let another year go by not honouring this man. And to top it off - it is a Clint Eastwood production and direction - boy puhleese, you better not try me come February 2012. You better do the right thing or else "Oscar or whatever you call your self - me and you" - wahala dey.

Ok so if you are a regular to this blog you will know my one and only white husband (in myhead) for more than 10yrs (since Titanic) is Leonardo DiCaprio - there has never been a moment i will mention Hollywood that his name will not be on my lips. My one and only un-adulterated white husband Leo. Chei - you guys dont know how i love me some him.

Leonardo DiCaprio plays another complex real-life character in “J. Edgar.” Working for the first time with acclaimed director Clint Eastwood, the three-time Oscar-nominated film star portrays J. Edgar Hoover, the powerful, enigmatic and controversial founding director of the FBI, in the new time-shifting biopic.

I love love love love me some Leo - I mean i am not one of those girls who see a star (not Hollywood, Nollywood nor any damn wood) that i will loose myself and be screaming like I saw Jesus or something, Never have - never will. Leave that to the birds. - but seriously i dont know what i will do if i came across this dude, I will probably just faint GBRAM! and an ambulance will need to be called for me or something.

I have boycotted oscars for many years because they wouldnt honour my husband Leo - every year they bypass him and it hurts me deeply as i mentioned here. I just dont understand. Till this day i still stand by my case and say that "Leonardo Di Caprio shoulda gotten an oscar for "Titanic" " (and please dont ask me how many times i seen that movie - I cant even say the number out loud or you will think am crazy) and many other of his Martin Scorcese movies he did after that - but everyyear - they ignored him and just pass him by - am like cmon Oscar Schmoscar - "ogini - what is this nonsense" - abeg dude has paid his dues since "Eating Gilbert Grapes - way before ppl like Matt Damon and Ben Afflect even came on the scene - yet you gave those dudes oscars and not my man.
ps: When they finally honour my husband Leo in February 2012 - I am going butt nakid and run on Peachtree street or go skinny dipping in Chattanooga River here in GA.

:))
Please everybody go out and see J Edgar the movie - which came out today 11-11-11 (i know I am). If you dont know who J Edgar is - please google him and you will be amazed the make up transformation they made to Leo to resemble him - the make up alone -has won an oscar in my my head. Not just cos Leo is in it - but the story of J Edgar is very interesting - at one point - rumour has it he had more powers in authority than the president of United States - and he had some dirty secrets - I hope they revealed in the movie he was full blown GAY too, undercover in those days ofcourse. He was highly corrupted with his midget self yet his powerful Bonarparte tendencies.

Read Excerpt of Leo's Interview below where he talks  about the movie

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. — For all the challenges involved in portraying real-life people onscreen, Leonardo DiCaprio found at least one big advantage in playing the title role of “J. Edgar.”


“To me, you couldn’t write a character like J. Edgar Hoover and have it be believable,” DiCaprio said with a laugh during a press conference last week at the swanky Beverly Wilshire Hotel.


“He was a Crockpot of eccentricities. We couldn’t even fit all his eccentricities into this movie … but the fact is that this man was if not the most powerful man in the last century, one of the most in our country. And he lived with his mother until he was 40 years old.”


In “J. Edgar,” DiCaprio – who turns 37 on Friday, the day the film opens nationwide — portrays the influential, enigmatic and controversial founding director of the FBI. The time-shifting biopic marks the movie star’s first collaboration with Oscar-winning director Clint Eastwood, but it isn’t his first time bringing a complex fact-based person to the big screen.  The Hollywood native has often won acclaim portraying real-life people, from drug-addicted street tough Jim Carroll in “The Basketball Diaries” to talented conman Frank Abagnale Jr. in “Catch Me If You Can” to reclusive business tycoon Howard Hughes in “The Aviator.”


As with his Academy Award-nominated turn in Martin Scorsese’s 2004 Hughes biopic, DiCaprio is earning Oscar buzz with his portrayal of Hoover. Along with his best actor nod for “The Aviator,” DiCaprio has been nominated for best actor for 2007’s “Blood Diamond” and best supporting actor in 1994’s “What’s Eating Gilbert Grape,” but he has not yet taken home an Oscar.  The potential for Academy Award glory aside, DiCaprio said he and Eastwood were compelled to take on the project after reading Oscar-winning screenwriter Dustin Lance Black’s script. which created “a very fascinating portrait” of Hoover. The film delves into Hoover’s relationships with the few closest to him: his demanding mother Annie (Judi Dench), his loyal secretary Helen Gandy (Naomi Watts) and his faithful assistant director Clyde Tolson (Armie Hammer), with whom many believe he shared a romantic interest.


“He was this incredibly ambitious young genius that … created this federal bureau that to this day is revered and feared. Yet he was a mama’s boy,” DiCaprio said. “He was incredibly repressed emotionally. His only outlet was his job. He wasn’t allowed to have any kind of personal relationships — or he felt that — and no matter what his sexual orientation was, he was devoted to his job. And power was paramount to him, and holding on to that power at all costs was the most important thing in his life,” DiCaprio said.


In nonlinear fashion, “J. Edgar” touches on several high and low points in Hoover’s nearly half-century tenure with the agency that became the FBI. including his investigation into the kidnapping and murder of Charles Lindbergh Jr., his advocacy for the development of forensic science and his underhanded penchant for collecting dirt on his political enemies.


“You can’t deny that he was a patriot, but at the same time, his tactics were pretty deplorable,” DiCaprio said. “What was I was fascinated by was his (Black’s) take on entering J. Edgar Hoover’s career during a time of almost a terrorist invasion by communists, the Red Scare, that sort of paranoia that was infused in our country, and the sort of lawlessness of these bank robbers that were going from state to state and becoming free men when they crossed state lines, and how J. Edgar Hoover really transformed the police system in America.”


“Of course, the story goes on to his later years when he became, in essence, a political dinosaur who didn’t adapt to the changing of our country,” he added. “When the Civil Rights Movement came along, he saw that as an uprising of the people.” He didn’t adapt or change to our country, and he stayed in power way too long and he didn’t listen to his own critics. He was a staunch believer in his moral beliefs and his beliefs about what was right for our country, and therefore, his career ended on a failed note, in my opinion.”


Playing the bureaucrat as a young go-getter required DiCaprio to dye his hair brown, wear dark contact lenses and don mouth appliances, a nose augmenter and a prosthetic double chin. But portraying Hoover in his 70s forced the handsome star to undergo an even more dramatic metamorphasis involving full facial prosthetics, a bald cap with punched-in hair and prosthetic hands. He credited Eastwood for creating an immersive environment on set and for reserving the latter-day scenes for the end of the production.


“We got to get our sort of footing in the characters, and then … the last few weeks, we sat in the makeup chair for five or six or seven hours sometimes,” DiCaprio said. “The challenge for me was not just the prosthetic work and how to move like an older man, but more so how to have 50 years of experience in the workplace and talk to a young Robert F. Kennedy as though he was some political upstart that didn’t know what the hell he was talking about.”


The star likened preparing for the part to taking a college course on Hoover. “As an actor, I just love researching this stuff. We got to take a trip to Washington, and I got to meet people … that knew him and really understand and capture this guy to the best of my abilities. That’s half the fun of making a movie for me
.
interview source: BAM
.
STAY TUNE FOR THE OSCARS IN LESS THAN 3 MONTHS ON SUNDAY FEBRUARY 26 2012. I am trying to tone up to fit in that dress - cos my husband Leo and I will be walking the red carpet and yes we will ride in in our environmentally friendly friendly PRIUS with our 6 kids in tow. :)) - Dont hate!

PASTOR BROWN (An Upcoming Movie by Rockmond Dunbar)

Rockmond Dunbar
(Actor of "Soul Food fame & now Producer)
.
Rockmonds Upcoming Movie


I love love love love movies with 100% great casting and this movie above is no exception. This movie stars all my favourite and the icing ont he cake - theres a cameo of my pastor and one of the greatest teacher of the good bible - Pastor Creflo Dollar.
Actor Rockmond Dunbar‘s directorial debut for Pastor Brown is finally ready to be released. Production for the faith-based film began in 2008 and now the film has a distributor–Coming in 2012.
I am so proud of Rockmond - he has come so far and has paid his dues in the movie industry. I fell in love with his character on the long running HBO series "SOUL FOOD" (which was a spin off from the movie) as he played husband to Maxine's character (Vanessa Williams). If hollywood is not calling you - you got to solicit some $$$ and create your own - Tyler can be the only one holding up - considering the likes of Spike etc aint doing much lately but sit on their asses critiquing those doing IT. I am overly excited cost he cast is DOUBLE MUAH - love them all. We need more diverse good scripted movies in our black community - so we dont get typecasted.


I love and will always support Black Hollywood and I yearn for all my favourite actors/actresses sitting on the side bench waiting for that call to get work - to finally be able to do work continuously. You can check this link to see my greatest HOLLYWOOD ACTORS/ACTORS of all time.
.
Anyway, "the movie "PASTOR BROWN" stars Salli Richardson, Nicole Ari Parker, Keith David, Michael B. Jordan, Michael Beach (one of the most underrated actors in my humble opinion - Love me some Michael), Tisha Campbell-Martin, Tasha Smith, Dondre T. Whitfield, Rockmond Dunbar, Ernie Hudson, Monica, Angie Stone, India, Arie - to name a few. Guest appearance by Pastor Creflo Dollar (obviously doing what he does best, great biblical words of wisdom in a short scene). For my Pastor to even agree to do a cameo in this movie - which he has never done before, this alone tells me - this is a spiritually great movie with some great morals to the story. Cant sleep on that one yall.


While speaking to Collider dot com about his current role on FX’s Sons of Anarchy, Dunbar stated that a deal had been reached with a distributor ARC Entertainment: 


When I directed this film called PASTOR BROWN , 3 years ago, We got 18 offers for distribution, 3 of which were international and we finally settled on ARC Entertainment. They  are going to do the distribution for the movie so it will have theatrical release. It looks like that'll come out somewhere around April 2012. Its a great film that is very spiritually uplifting.

The film made its way to several film festivals in 2009, including the American Black Film Festival (ABFF).

Please see this trailer - Ohhh i love this. now this is highly anticipating for me.
.
(PS: Well i see they just had to squeeze in husband and wife Sallie Richardson and Dondre Whitfield in there huh? Well whilst you were at it - you might as well have included my Ghanaian brother Boris Kodjoe to be with his wife too on set - am just saying though :)) )

(source: collider)

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

TYLER PERRY STUDIOS UPDATE FOR 2012


GOOD DEEDS



Above is the poster for Tyler Perry's new movie coming out in Feb 2012. sorry for the late response. i aint been on twitter in a short minute cos i been so busy. Tyler Perry ditches his Madea persona in Good Deedsf or someone a tad more conflicted: Wesley Deeds, a by-the-book businessman who has his world shaken to the core when he helps a young single mother (Thandie Newton) out of a tight jam and starts falling for her. The problem is Wesley's engaged to the beautiful and successful Natalie (Gabrielle Union) -- forcing him to decide between his heart and his head. Written, directed and starring the versatile Perry, 'Good Deeds' is out on Feb. 24

MARRIAGE COUNSELOR

 
The 2nd film "Marriage Counselor" centers around Jurnee who plays the character ‘Judith,’ a marriage counselor who has an affair with her client (Robbie Jones) after her relationship with her husband (Lance Gross) begins to fall apart. Vanessa Williams will act as the owner of Judith’s firm while Kim plays the counselor’s good friend and co-worker who breaks her out of her shell. Brandy will play Lance’s co-worker. Film also stars Lance Gross, Journee Smollettt, Vanessa Williams and Kim Kardarshian (hey give kimmycakes a chance lol).

Both movies are being shot  here in my home state of Atlanta - as yall know by now (or not) - Atlanta is now the 2nd Hollywood followed by New Orleans. Apart from the fact that Tyler's studios is based here, a lot of Hollywood movies are being shot here, since the state gives them huge task breaks - Statistics show ,more studios are being built here as well as many auditions and lots of scoutings - you just have to know where to go (downtown, midtown, etc etc).

Many aspires, and film school graduate are heading here now after graduation rather than head to expensive cities like LA or NYC. I announce this for the aspiring hollywood actors out there. You might wanna head here to Atlanta if you want to network and get your foot in tthe door. Hollywood competition is triple fierce. So just bear that in mind.

Monday, November 7, 2011

WHERE WOULD YOU WANT AFRICA TO BE IN 2060

This is a nice documentary i encourage everyone to watch (if you get a hold of it or it shows on a tv station near you). Its very well done. I am so proud to be African and have never been as optimistic about our continent and the direction we are heading as much as now.



By 2060 - I want to see a completely peaceful continent where there are no more civil wars in any nation (Thankfully Ghana has never had one, and I wish that for everybody). 


I wish that the illiteracy level will decrease. 

I see a huge decrease in poverty and completely wipe out dependency on the west and maintain our own resources ourselves and better.

I wish that all the brain gains who are out of the country for one reason or the other, have returned home to help build the continent like the Indians and the chinese did theirs. I want to see that we have no more old men (60, 70yrs old -including tyrants) heading our nations, but rather 40 something year old well educated, smarter brains men (like Obama's age group) - heading most of the african nations as presidents, bringing in more modern ideas for rebuilding and improving our economies (rather that these old acake greedy old men who are so resistant to change).

I see better and improved urban infracstructures in every city, every village, every town etc etc particularly town planning, roads and transportation eg fast speed trains where i can sit in in Accra and within 30 mins I am in Lagos or IvoryCoast, or that i can hop in my car and within 2hrs i can confidently arrive at my destination without potholes and what not - just as i am able to make it in 2hrs on road from Atlanta to a neigboring state.

My biggest wish by 2060 - is for corruption to be erased.

My wishful thinking is there are no lizards cos i hate them - but like i said - its wishful thinking. I wish all the lizards  will sit on a boat and migrate to the west world - am sure they will know what to do to them ).

I also wish to see more of our younger generation speaking our native language - unlike what i pitifully saw when i went home to ghana (utterly pitiful to see a teenager born and raised in Ghana, never set foot out the country and cant speak the ghana language all they speak is english - some even have correct brimerican accents - I was just utterly disgusted by the parents who allowed such nonsense. By age 7 I was speaking Twi, Ga and Ada - 3 languages - I still grew up fine and speak my desent ghanaian english. Dont know if this trend is like that in other metropolitan cities across africa - but personally i think its utterly pitiful to be loosing our language. My future kids have no choice - strict rule in my house - english will be banned! speak it at school). If you are from Africa born and raised (eg primary, secondary educated etc) and you  cant speak your language please dont brag about it - cos its SHAMEFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! UTTERLY PITIFUL .

I wish for a much more improved African Film Industry and that then last but not Least - i wish Majid and Genevieve would have won an oscar by 2060.
YES! - The First shall be the Last and the Last shall be the First.

This Is My Africa is an award-winning documentary film. Directed and produced by Zina Saro-Wiwa, this quirky and unique film is a journey into an Africa that many may not know about. Created to reveal a more personal vision of the continent by weaving together the personal memories, tastes and experiences of 21 Africans and Africaphiles, This Is My Africa has been described as a 50-minute crash course in African culture.
The Film features contemporary artist Yinka Shonibare MBE; actor Colin Firth; filmmaker John Akomfrah OBE; Channel 4 news anchor Jon Snow; actor Chiwetel Ejiofor; singer Mpho Skeef; author Biyi Bandele; travel writer Noo Saro-Wiwa; opera singer Josephine Amankwah; fashion designer Bayo Oduwole; playwright Dipo Agboluaje; writer Mazzi Binaisa; DJ Duncan Brooker; politician and lawyer Paul Boateng; restaurateur Mourad Mazouz; actress and film-maker Lupita Nyong'o; writer and curator Nana O. Ayim; magazine publishers Njide and Nneka Ugboma; DJ/Producer Tony Nwachukwu and contemporary artist Mustafa Maluka.

Watch clips of the film.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...