Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Bursting Out (Miss Tilii Movie Review)



.
Starring
-Genevieve Nnaji as Zara Williams
-Majid Michel as Tyrone
-Nse Ikpe Etim as Tena
-Omoni Oboli as Ini
-Susan Peters as Ibiere
.
Written By (Screenplay)
Uduak Oguamanam and Bola Aduwo
.
Produced By
Emem Isong
.
Directed By
tba
.
Theme
Romance, Comedy, Drama
.
Storyline
A successful business woman Zara (Genevieve Nnaji) found no line of omission in her life but her two close friends did. To them she is not complete without a man. They set several blind dates for her; the outcome was not impressive. Zara decided to give up on love until the right man comes her way. Tena (Nse Ikpe-Etim) asked her to try a last blind date she has planned for her, she was reluctant but gave it a last try. This time the outcome was positive. Love was knocking at her door but with challenges that made her shiver with second thoughts. Does she open the door to embrace new challenges of the real world or just close her door and live her usual self-centered C.E.O life? Comedy and drama at your door steps.
.

My Review
It was good but, but not great in my books - i guess becuase it was a lil predictable for me. Once again Genny and Majid - shine on screen as a couple.

.
Susan Peters ohhhhh my gosh - she had me in tears laughing with her razziness and ghettofabulousness - very good actress - I think ihave to add her to the list of upcoming actress to look out for. In the Episode 1 of the movie - come and see her and her angelic self begging for mercy to be taken back by her ex- boy - Now the boy say he dont want you cos you cheated on him, come and see craziness at its best. She acted her character so damn well and i am so proud of her. (Favourite Quote: Tyrone - Do you know Ibiere, You dont know Ibiere) - razzness at its finest - I must say she reminded of the recent footage i saw of actress Ufuoma Ejenabor with the Lagos police - with that, at first, watching that i thought it was a movie - until it was confirm it damn sure aint no movie.
.
Nse and Omoni's roles as friends were simply Ok. No memorable scenes of them - I just wish sometimes they loose the americanism. The bedroom scene with Gen and Majid was very descent - not gross and sloppy like the many we see in the many crap movies - Descent like "Love & Basketball" Love Scene. Some parts of the movie once again like Silent Scandal - kinda reminded me of Edris and Gabrielle in "Daddys Lil Girls" -oh maybe its just me - Never mind. Omoni is a very good actress but I dont know, anytime she plays "a friend" or just a co-star- I just not feel her that much. Same way i wasnt feeling her in Guilty Pleasures. She just coast along in the movie and nothing great is realised. I guess she does better when she plays lead in a movie specifically made for her. We in the diaspora still waiting for Anchor Baby to get on DVD.
.
Like i mentioned in my previous thread - I think i am kinda tired of this corporate type role with Genny. She done that enough in 2009/10. Now i want to see other challenging type roles like she did in Sharon Stone, Blood Sisters, Wind of Glory etc etc - or something just out of the ordinary. She plays her corporate characters so well - just excellent but now i think its redudant - lets go back to the drawing board and come up with something more creative than those type of roles. She is such an excellent actress who has grown in her acting since i started watching her 12yrs ago - moving forward i want to see more challenging roles.
.
The few scenes I didnt care for was the scenes with office staff - i found that part a bit boring. Funny sometimes but most of the scenes with the staff chatting, i didnt care for.
.
(will continue later as i remember something)
.
My Ratings
8/10 - definately a collectors item and rewatchable
In 2009 I gave Guilty Pleasures 9/10 as you will see here – so goes to show I still like GP better – but Bursting Out was still very good nonetheless http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2009/10/guilty-pleasures-emem-isong-produced.html
.
.

Touch My Heart (Miss Tilii Movie Review)



.
Starring
RMD as
Stella Damasus as x
Bimbo Akintola as x
Joke Silva as x
Kate Henshaw Nuttal as x
.
Written By
Coming soon
.
Produced By
Coming soon
.
Directed By
Coming soon
.
Theme
Romance, Marriage, Infidelity, Friendship, Love
.
Storyline
I have no idea who to believe when it comes to love. To me "men are promiscuous, it takes self-discipline and self-control to remain faithful to their partners". As a personal trainer with a heart break assigned to train a man with his own marital issues, rather puts me in a dilemma. How complicated could this be? A blind side of love recruited.
.
My Review
This I personally think is my ultimate favourite out of the whole bunch I have watched in the past year. Its just a feel good movie – kinda like Ego Boyos “Keeping Faith” (which I will never stop mentioning). For those new to watching movies – these actors/actresses in this movie are the original veterans to what we considered great movies when we started watching movies – 12 odd years ago. They are eloquent, articulate and know how to bring the character to life without forcing. They didn’t need to take their clothes off to make a points or to be recognized as good actors and actresses – cos they just were – They didn’t try too hard- they just acted and they acted well. Almost all the cast of “Keeping Faith” were in this movie except “Genevieve Nnaji and “???”.
.
RMD our own african Denzel, gets better with age - though he has put on a lil bit of weight. Stella did great (and i cant wait to see her again and RMD and Desmond in BCD 3 - Emmmmmeeeeemmmmmmm I am waiting ooohhhhhhh - I dont think there is a bigger advocate for BCD3 as much as me - the wahala i give Emem is too much). Aunty Joke my ultimate favourite african movie on screen mom - as a mum (as she was to Genevieve in Keeping Faith) she gives the best advice. Excellent veteran actress like her husband Uncle Olu Jacobs. Bimbo Akintola - now how can you deny this excelletn actress - i just dont understand why we dont see much of her - she is sooooooooooooooo UNDERRATED like i cant explain. I wish producers will write more scripts for her (good scripts that is) - I see she has acted in several yoruba movies and she is good in that too but i miss my Bimbo for real. IN this movie she was a real bitch and she played it to a T. I Love Bimbo.
.
I enjoyed the script - it was just a feel good movie. Definately a collectors item for keepers. Wrap one as a gift for a friend or family
.
My Ratings
9/10
.
ps: Like i always say the sypnosis or storyline - is not my grammar - i copy from the movie jacket
.

Private Storm (Miss Tilii Movie Review)

.

Starring
-Ramsey Nouah as Alex
-Omotola Jalade Ekeinde as Gina
-Ngozi Ezeonu as
-John Dumelo as
-Ufuoma Ejenabor as
.
Written By
Vivian Ejike
.
Produced By
Vivian Ejike
.
Directed By
Lancelot Imaseun Oduwa.
.

Theme
Domestic Violence, Drama, Romance,
.
Storyline
He was the prince charming of every woman's dream with a beautiful fiancé Gina (Omotola Jalade) they made the perfect couple. As the saying goes "All that glitter is not gold", his jealousy took control of his anger causing him to rampage like a lion, constantly abusing her when any man come close to her. To the public she was a lucky woman with a handsome, successful fiancé and a happy home but silently suffered constant abuse. He knew how to work his ways around her by showering her with expensive gifts and best of surprises after abusing her. The story now gets interesting and complicated when the reason to his behavior was revealed. Is she still going to stay in an abusive relationship, when she have other men who could treat her better crawling at her feet?
.
My Review
This is a great movie and touches on a subject very prevalent to society. Once again like Guilty Pleasures – Ramsey acted excellent in this movie and his role was very believable – I hate him and his violence. Omotola as you all know never disappoints either and played her role very well. Then there is JD whose part I think was more comedic in Part 1.
.
I always judge women who stay in physically abusive relationship is the dumbest on earth but as time as gone by I have learnt not to judge - i mean in this movie for instance - when Ramsey was nice he was extremely nice - but when he was not nice - he turned into a totally new person like a real monster, beating on his woman out of jealousy.

.
At least the movie leaves a great message for abused women to get the courage to up and leave like Gina did, and dont fear of telling friends and family to help you - there is nothing to be shy about.
.
The one person who was getting on my nerves (and yall know am not big on brimerican accents aka british and american accents in our movies -i want my african movies strictly african - the slangings are a huge turn off) was the girl who played Gina's friend Uju - i mean i had to mute every scene of her in this movie - her voice - was utterly annoying. Her acting - not much to rave about - she was just "ok". Now the dude who played Ginas PR company boss (?) was a good actor - i hope to see more of him - he has good potential if he plays the right roles.
.
One thing i like about Vivians movies - is the decor in the homes she uses. Some nollywood movies you will watch you will see the character in this big mansion yet the homeware (bed linen, tableware, kitchenware etc) do not reflect the class - if its a mansion i want to see classy stuff in the mansion to reflect it - a kitchen to reflect it etc - not just the living room.
.
I am a fanatic of comtemporay interior decor (and a student at it now) so when i see that i get really impressed and in this movie i really liked the sheets used inthe bedroom scene, but Vivian - did you really think we will not figure out the same house you use in "Silent Scandal" is the same damn house you use as Ramsey's house in this movie - cmon - this can not be possibly the only house you can shoot in - right?????, dont you have rich friends in high places who could loan you their house to shoot a movie. I truly wish you had not use the same house. And also another thing i saw is the Range Rover in this movie is the same damn Range Rover used in "Silent Scandal" - attention to detail is very important to me - so dont think any thing passes when i watch movies - even if you wearing the same earrings or wig - i can tell. Top of it of Ramsey used the Range in most part of the movie and i coulda sworn i saw JD use it too, am like WTF, what it is - a range rover family or what. So anyway - just to let you know - "WE" noticed it so next time switch it up a notch - cos it aint a good look. (wink wink)
.
My Ratings
8.5/10 - definately a collectors item
(I gave it an extra 0.5 because on the important subject matter it of the movie – other than that it would I would simply have given it an 8.0/10). In 2009 I gave Silent Scandal 9.5/10 as you will see here – http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2009/12/silent-scandal-excellent-movie-starring.html

.
.

MY BABY (Classic comedy)

.



.
This was released bout 3 years ago and they have rereleased it again on dvd - You will love love love love this. Just imagine Nkem married to three wifes: Yoruba, Igbo and Hausa with Gajillion daughters and no son. You can imagine his frustruation. He and Patience exchanging words. I will review soon.
.

Monday, December 20, 2010

FELICIMA (Movie Review)



.
Starring
Genevieve Nnaji as
Yemi Blaq
.
Written By
tba

.
Produced By
.

.
Directed By
.
.
Theme
Drama, Political, Disability, Equality
.
Storyline
A Young and very successful public relations business woman affectionately know as Miss Felicima has it all; Style, confidence, fame, beauty, love and power. Added to this, she is ruthless and precise. These electric combinations make her a star in the business world. An unusual chance encounter with a crippled beggar opens up a whole new world to this woman with intrigue but also seriously devastating consequences. she is the eyes of the rich with opportunity, he, the flag bearer for all those with little or no hope.
.
My Review
The story was a good story with a great message, but I think the director/producer did not utilize Genevieve well in this movie. Genevieve acted excellent as always yet I felt the direction was flat – for one thing I did not like the picture nor sound quality at all – and I think it depends on the camera the director used to shoot this movie. I wish it was a lil more crystal clear (am not a fan of movies with panoramic shots). The disabled man (i forgot his real name - i dashed the movie away so id have to get it back to check the credits) acted well and delivered a great message on how society looks down on disabled people especially in Africa.
.
I hate movies that insult my intelligence – typical example was when Felicima’s house was supposedly burning – I watched that scene thinking “WTF” – you must be kidding me if you think I am going to watch a movie and think that is a burning house - somebody musta told u wrong dude - try again. I would rather you tell me the house burnt than show me a ridiculous scene like that –we are not kids watching these movies – and if you cannot make the scene thats is far from believable - I'd much rather you just leave it alone and don’t insult my intelligence. Other movies that insults the audience intelligence is when one is lying in a hospital from a supposed accident all bandaged up like a ghost – but the one that drives me nuts the most is when names credits are misspelled. It just goes to show the producer or editor of the movie (if any) does not care to check their homework before putting it out there. By now we all know the producers and movie makers who are simply in the for money and dont give a hoot about quality and attention to detail. How can you continuously misspell actors and actresses names?
.
I watched this movie over two days – cos I slept through part 1 and there are several scenes in the movie that just turned me off and I found boring – I had to forward a few scenes. This movie was “good” but I won’t call it a “great” neither would I call it a classic – but it did have a great message.
.
For you to pay a veteran like Genevieve to act in your movie and not have it be a classic – is a big loss to you – not Genevieve. The script, production and direction could have been better – the picture and sound quality could have definitely been better and so could have the acting from the co stars like Lopez and ?? – Nothing spectacular about their acting in this movie. The extra’s made it worse. Though movie extras are simply suppose to be extra’s in the background, I still pay attention to them and sometimes their unrealistic mannerisms and gestures in the background just spoils the movie.

.
more to come
.
My Ratings
6.5/10
.

.

Sunday, December 19, 2010

I SING OF A WELL (Movie Review)



.
Review coming this weekend

.

.

Movie Review Update (Christmas Week)

Guys sorry you havent heard from me in a 2 weeks. I am on bed rest cos i had an accident. I am fine and getting better. Whilst on Bed REst i have caught up with a lot of movies including Bursting Out, Private Storm and all the known releases (I got em all) so bear with me, and I will review it all. (as you all remember i reminded you 2 weeks ago to reserve your copies with your dealer- i gave you way advance notice so if you did not reserve it and its finished thats ya own. Do Not Watch it Online - Go PURCHASE IT). There also Shirley Frimpong Manso's 6 hours to Christmas and Touch My Heart (RMD, Stella D, Joke etc). Mehn, i have alot of reviews to do this christmas break (plus i am moving too to a new place whilst still recouping from my accident- busy busy busy)- I will be busy typing away, whilst yall are enjoying your self eating i will be up typing away to catch up - Plus i have to list all the top anticipated 2011 releases.
.
In summary i gave Bursting Out and Private Storm - its definately not an upgrade from Guilty Pleasures nor Secret Scandal but none the less its better than the most rubbish which were released to us this 2010. Dont take my word for it though cos i told you all before i am a sucker for romance and thats why i like Vivian Ejikes Silent Scandal better however this Private Storm - touches a lot on topic prevalent to society (domestic violence) so am sure many of you will disagree with me. Both Busting Out and Private Storm i consider a collectors item non the less - none has less that 8/10 rating - just wait and will review it soon. Am just tide up a bit with all the stuff going on in my life.
.
Lets just hope 2011 is better and also personally i think the whole playing corporate thing with my Genny is becoming redundant (we've had enough of that 2009/10- I want to see her in something different in 2011. )
.
I want to see her play very diverse roles as she did when she first started acting. I would love her to return to playing roles such as a mother, playing a disabled person, a wife, I want to see her in more challenging roles something way out of the ordinary (Like Chalize Theron played a serial killer on the movie "Monster" so convincing) - especially now that she is world renowned a lot of hollywood scouters may be scouting for her and they dont necessarily know of the old titles she has been in so i know they will be looking out for her new roles. Tango with Me is my next biggest anticipated movie i am waiting to see with her and JB.
.
I will put Bursting Out and Private Storm in my 2nd Annual Miss Tilii Awards which i plan for 2011 since 2010 did not have enough great movies worthy of being nominated apart from BURTING OUT and PRIVATE STORM - so i chose not to do the awards this year.
.
To the anonymous who emailed me to list DOMESTIC VIOLENCE african movies you need for your school project - well you couldnt have asked at a bettter time - PRIVATE STORM is a perfect domestic violence movie and try and get a copy of old classic produced by Emem Isong called EMOTIONAL CRACK starring Stephanie Okereke and once again Ramsey Nouah. There is another one with Bimbo Akintola but i forgot title so bear with me and i will name it later.
.
I have a lot of update to do and I will do it - just bear with me to get back on my feet.
.
ps: Emem Isong and Vivien Ejike thank you for finally releasing these movies just before christmas - you starved us enough.
.
There is another release on the market its pretty old but one of my favourite and most funniest Nollywood comedic movie starring Nkem and Patience - i mentioned it before in the thread titled Funniest Movies - the movie is called "MY BABY and the continuation is called "MY ONLY HOPE" you will laugh to tears - and i think like all the great titles mentioned above this will also be a perfect christmas gift. Nkem was married to 3 women from three tribes (Yoruba, Hausa and Igbo - and ofcourse you knwo who the igbo one was lol) - he wanted a son and all the 3 wifes gave him were daughters. Make sure you dont have food in your mouth when you watch this cos you might choke with laughter.

Saturday, December 11, 2010

TANGO WITH ME (TRAILER NOW AVAILABLE)

I already posted about Tango With Me here http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2010/03/tango-with-me-update.html
(but the trailer was not available then so here is the trailer)
.


.
Now this is the type of movie u save your precious money to buy and not that abundant crap they put out on the market. The trailer and the main star alone should tell you potentially a GREAT MOVIE. Enjoy.
.
ps:
Mr Bolagun - oga we are waiting ohhh. Let me know when to start hyping the premiere and what not. And to all yall ladies enjoying my JB (Joseph Benjamin) - u can look but you cant touch. Finally Nollywood hear our cry and give us an actor with a great body. Thank You Jesus - hallelujah. Now lets see them six pack JB. (wink wink) - LL Cool J lips aint got nothing on JBs.

.

.

A Bunch of Ratings for A Bunch of Movies

November / December 2010 Bunch of Ratings
.
I decided to simply add to the October/November 2010 thread below, cos none of these movies are worth a dime - and so I am not going to give any detail review - it will be a pure waste of time. You can watch it if you want. Please money is money - spend your money wisely on ONLY classic movies you can rewatch, dont flash your money down the drain. We are in a recession.
.

Wise In Laws (continuation to HoneyMooners)
Starring: Majid Michel, Ufuoma Ejenabor
Producer: tba
Director: tba
Ratings:
5/10
.
.
Royal Lust
Starring: Mike Ezerounye, Nuella Nujibibor, Patience Ozorkwor, John Paul Nwadike and Livinus Nnochire
Director/Producer: Chiejina Ephraim
Ratings: 4/10
.
.
Wrong Number (A ghanaian movie)
Starring: Ini Edo, Nadia Buari, Ekow Smith Asante, Khareema Aguar.
Producer: David Owusu
Director: John Izedom??
My Short Review:
this new ghanaian dude (Luis Macus McCathy) thought he could just stand there in the movie and look cute and we will brand him an actor. He didnt act whatsoever he just stood there like blahhhhhhhhhh - am like ok then - Miss Tilii got this - u aint heard the last of me. And Khareema who played the female detective to Luis character - also not much of a great actress either. But u know what - these days i dont always blame these up and comers for their lacklusters - sometimes its the director who doesnt knwo what he is doing to bring out the best in these prospective actors/actresses. Learn a thing or two from Denzel Washington who made Derek Luke shine in Dereks very first movie "Antoine Fisher". Gosh
.
Ratings: 5/10
It wasnt great and it wasnt bad, It coulda been better. borrow it or something - dont buy it.
.
.
World of Sin (continued as The Punisher)
Starring: Jim Iyke, Tontoh Dikeh
Producer: Ugezu J Ugezu
Director: Ugezu J Ugezu
Ratings:4/10
What else do you expect from one of Nollywoods worst script writer and director for 2010 - I think I will give Ugezu an award this 2010 - Worst Director/Producer and Script writer - I see he took the crown off of Nonso Ekene Okonkwo - 2009 Miss Tilii's Worst Director/Producer Award Winner.
.
I think Ugezu and Nonso should form a coalition titled ACMA - "AFRICAN CRAP MOVIES ASSOCIATION" - you will really be wasting your money if you spend to buy movies from any of the mentioned above. I SAID IT ONCE I WILL SAY IT AGAIN - their movies aint worth ish - watch it however you deem fit but DO NOT BUY their movies - its not worth it - all the do is do movies to insult the intelligence of the audience with one crap script after the next. No head no tail.
.
Before you buy the movie is look behind the box to see who is the producer or director. If you feel i am wrong with my statement - and are a movie watcher - name me one movie - that any of these "money miss road so called producers have produced in the past few years you will consider a classic" - name one and let me challenge you why i think its crap.
.
And i feel more sorry for the up and coming actors and actresses who say yes to launching their acting career with people like Ugezu J Ugezu or Nonso Ekene Okonkow. You aint going anyway sweetheart.
.
.
Tears of the Moon
Starring: Mercy Johnson, Mike Ezerounye, Emeka Ike, Eve Esin, Artus Frank etc
Producer: Uzo Nwosu
Director:Ugezu J Ugezu
Ratings:3/10 (Ugezu at his best - i rest my case)
.
.
October/November 2010
As you all know most movies below 8/10 in my ratings i would NOT give a time a day to spend time reviewing it (though i do watch it) - it will be acomplete waste of time - with popular request and many emails i have decided if nothing else though i wont review in depth I will simply rate with a BUNCH of others (yes i now call them the BUNCH!! - "A bunch of C***" ..:lol). And Producers/Directors if you are in my BUNCH category - thats not a good look - Get Ya "Ish" together.:lol: - I advice no one to use their money to purchase movies in the bunch category - might as well flash ya money in the toilet.
.
If i go in depth to review anything below 8/10 then its an exception cos there is one or two things i may have liked (eg great acting yet no so great script).
.
As always I would advice yall, the only movies I will purchase is movies with a 8/10 rating. If its below this rating - honestly its not worth spending money on - watch it - somehow - but save your money for something else.
.
My dealer and I have already agreed on these terms - he gives me 24hrs and I return movies I dont want to purchase - i keep and pay the ones i think is great. He knows i review movies thats why he was kind to give me these terms - so I am doing your homework for you. I watch - I review it - if its worth purchasing i will tell you my opinion and if it is not worth purchase yall know Miss Tilii tells it like it is. No sugarcoating. Its nice to have a great movie library with nothing but great movies that you can rewatch over and over again.
.
Challenge for you: Go thru your video library and calculate the crap movies you have purchased in the last year, which is sitting onyour living room floor or shelf, and have only watched once - and see how much money you have WASTED - i am honestly curious to know.
.
AFTER THE SERVICE
Starring: Mercy Johnson, Van Vicker, Nuella Njubigbo, Queen Nwokoye
Producer: coming soon
Director: coming soon
Ratings: 3/10 (just cos they stole the complete script of Hollywood Movie "Maid in Manhattan")
.
ROOM SERVICE (continuation of "After the Service")
Starring: Mercy Johnson, Van Vicker, Nuella Njubigbo, Queen Nwokeye
Producer: coming soon
Director: coming soon
Ratings: 5/10
.
FEAR NOT
.

Starring: Ini Edo, Oge Okoye, Chigozie Atunaya, Kofi Adjorlolo ete
Producer: Stanley C Ebonne.
Director: Ifeanyi Ogbonna.
Ratings: 2/10
.
PRINCESS MYRA (HOORAYYYYYY!!! Biola Ige got a lead Roll - Yipeee!!! straight to her CV)
Starring: Mike Ezerounye, Desmond Elliot, Nonso Diobi, Patience Ozorkwor, Chukwuma Uchegbo
Producer: Chukwuma Okeke
Director: Kensteve Anuka
Ratings: -1 /10 :lol:(negative 1 over 10 - words cant describe - i got a headache)
.
HIDDEN TREASURE
Starring: Mandy Eze, Van Vicker, Olu Jacobs, Ali Nuhu, Chika Ike
Producer: Nwankwo Nichodamus
Director: Nonso Ekene Okonkwo
Ratings:4/10
.
The usual PREDICTABLE (royal theme, poor girl+poor boy+rich princess - go figure) long winded movie that does nothing but insults ones intelligence with all the many loopholes in so many scenes coupled with Chika Eke predictable one way facial expressions - a Nonso Ekene classic :lol: - WHAT ELSE IS NEW?. Despite that its not a movie you would call "Great", I like the actress Mandy Eze (she resembles Biola Ige a tad bit but thank GOd she is a better actress - also Van was not that bad in the movie - When i watch a movie, regardless of how much the script sucks i pay real good attention to the actors and actresses and how they act - like i said i have hope for Van - someday ego be, and Mandy i wish you the best)
.
MORE RATINGS TO COME....
.
ps: "I sing of a well" i will review IN DEPTH by this weekend. And i have not forgotten about reviewing the crap Nollywood / USA collabo movie.
.

Monday, December 6, 2010

November/December Movie Releases

Oh gosh i am so tired guys and there are too many to list so i will list them tommorow.
.
If you are in the USA - according to my dealer the major distributors are releasing BURSTING OUT (Genny and Majid) and PRIVATE STORM (OmoT, Ramsey and JD) - so i am guessing no premiere here in USA we are getting it straight on dvd.
.
Listen, this is according to my dealer - so i am telling you in advance to contact your own dealer (or whichever shop you buy from) way in advance and order your copies because i guarantee you if the two movies listed above hit the shelve - it wont last a week it will be all gone. You all know how we have suffered this 2010 waiting for these two releases forever. Dont say i didnt warn you.
.
Just in time for christmas. Thank God - at long last - chei - you have made us suffer this year like no other year whiling away our time waiting for you, watching one rubbish after next - The Year of QUANTITY RUBBISH MOVIES. We have chewed crackers all year and our jaws hurt now its time for digestive and shortbread biscuit. lol - Merry Christmas.
.
ps: I am reviewing Genevieve's "FELICIMA" this weekend.
.

Sunday, December 5, 2010

Ghanaian Twi Movie

.
lately i prefer non english movies cos first of all there isnt that much great english language movies to watch and also i have always said that i personally think non english language movies do have better scripts (Ghana Twi Movies, Nigerian Yoruba Movies etc)
.
I am going thru a whole bunch of movies i received in my stash, but when i look at the faces on the boxes i just put it aside and say to myself - let me save my self the headache i will go thru those movies later (cos as you know when it comes to african movies i do judge our book by its cover and i am almost always right) - So there were a couple of my Ghanaian local twi movies and i decided to watch those first.
.
The first i watched was "Joe Criminal" which was a great movie (8/10), I also watched "I know My Right" (another excellent movie i rate 9/10), and then the one i watched to day is called ASEW BEYIFOUR (which means WITCH MOTHER IN LAW) - I confidently rate this movie 10/10.
.
The movie happens to be based on a true story and i swear its the best ghanaian local language movie i have ever watched - ABSOLUTELY EXCELLENT MOVIE - buy one and a couple for your friends a family - Its parts 1 to 3 all on one DVD.
.
The movie is about a newly married couple who start out poor both living under the roof of the husbands mom house, but later God favored them and after much prayer the became rich and go live in a big house. The young wife was not conceiving and became extremely worried and desperate even though her mom in law and husband were not giving her pressure and told her to just have patience with God. Did she have patience with God - you watch and find out what happens - this is a 3 hours long movie but all worth the watch.
.
I dont want to give the movie away by telling you the whole story, but i guarantee u if you are ghanaian and speak Twi or non ghanaian and dont mind watching subtitled movies (like i watch subtitled yoruba movies) - i promise you wont regret it at all.
.
Kumasianos are killing it with their great acting lol (kumasiano is just a nickname given to the a group of people who live in the ghanaian city of kumasi - just like you would say lagosians - people who live in Lagos) - their acting is great and flawless - especially when the script is great too - and so real because they are speaking their own native tongue and acting becomes natural. I know ghanaian movie watchers may wonder is actor Agya Koo (ghanaians version of Nkem Owoh) in any of the movies - no he is not but trust me - these movies i have just listed are great and most importantly like Tyler Perrys movies - there are great morals to the story and lessons to be learnt. A great movie you can watch with your whole family.
.
Go grab your copies and watch and you will enjoy it

Saturday, December 4, 2010

OYIBOS / OBRONI's IN OUR MOVIES

Almost always you will find one oyibo (or as ghana will say "Obroni") in our african movies they will choose the one with the worst of the worst acting skills (i mean take White Hunters for intstance - i loved the movie cos it was funny as hell with Mercy, Ini and Funke) - but the actors acting skills were horrendous.
.
So i came across this white oyibo dude (cute too) on youtube - clearly he was raised or born in naija and speaks with perfect naija accent as well as other languages like hausa and stuff. I would want to see this type of oyibo in african movies. If this dude got into african movies - he will make a lot of money - he can even call the shots. The ladies will definately love him and the producers will be knocking on his door like crazy. I have watched this video many times and I just so impressed cos obviously this is very rare. Here - watch and enjoy the videos
.



.

Also here are some videos of Turkish dude Nicolas who has never set his foot in africa let alone naija yet sings flawless naija songs - some PR people need to get to this guy and invite him to naija and ghana for christmas - the ladies will love him. lol (the first video of Nicolas is quite old)
.



.

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Update for December 2010

Bear with me people, I am having trouble with my internet lately, but rest assured i will keep you posted. I just received my movies today and there is alot i have to go thru. I have a lot of words for the Nollywood/USA collabo movies and i have a lot of words for Tontoh Dikeh. You wait.
.
ps: to the person who emailed me to ask me where to buy movies, I dont buy them on line - never have, i have a dealer who feeds my habit for years and gives me my stash and thats whom and all i know, however i have decided to do in my upcoming website is i will have locations by state (assuming you live in USA) which african store to go get your movies and if you live elsewhere (eg UK, Canada, Australia, Japan etc etc) with the help of you all you send me email of places in your vicinity (african stores) you buy your movies and i will list it in alphabeticall order for everybody - cos this question comes up a lot and i feel bad i havent been able to help much.
.
Also i plan on communicating with these store owners so everytime they have a release i will advertise for them (FOR FREE - NO CHARGE) - so in conclusion i dont have any trusted websites i buy movies from - i cannot lie and testify that go buy it from this or that site cos i have never purchased online before and i do understand you may not have a dealer where u live, like i do, but rest assured, in 2011 we will work something out.
.
I am speaking to some of this movie warehouses about distribution to international countries who are in desperate need - obviously your cost will be a tad bit higher but - it is what it is. If you have any suggestions let me know - i will relay it to them. Help me to help you. I am always willing to help.
.
The website launch is coming slow cos i am doing it by myself (no professional) an there is a lot i have to learn to get it right. I am not a techie person - and i have to make it user friendly so i am taking it one day at a time. Have a lil patience with Ms Tilii (wink wink).
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...