Sunday, November 28, 2010

REBOUND

I am lost for words – this is the epitome of crapppppppppppppppppest Nollywood USA collab movies I have ever seen and bear in mind i only watched it cos in part 1 I thought i was watching a my nigerian movie and then come part two and all hell broke loose.
.
The story line was ok in Part 1 but then in Part 2 i endured the biggest suffering of watching the worst actreses i have ever ever ever ever seen thus far this 2010 – and icing onthe cake your Van Vicker is in the movie too – go figure.
.
Africans in USA i beg you in the name of God leave this movie thing alone and if you are goign to do it dont call it NOLLYWOOD – we want to watch AFRICAN made movies set in AFRICA for a reason.
.
Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrghhhhhhhhhhh – when i get time i will give you more update.
.
DONT BUY THIS MOVIE IN THE NAME OF GOD.

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Website Work in Progress

Ok friends, I have a 4 day weekend (Its Thanksgiving Holiday here in USA) and my agenda is to work on this long awaited websites. Let me know if there is any topics/pages which will be of interest to you - or you would like to see on the site and I will incorporate it if i can. I just had an idea to have a section for suggestive non english speaking african subtitled movies eg Yoruba, Francophone Movies etc. I mean i watch them all if i can and if its good i will let you know.
.
For me I just dont enjoy watching ALL movies, but it but its a chance to learn a different language too and over the course of 10 yrs since i started watching african movies i have picked up a lot of Igbo and Yoruba words (maybe just the swear words for now - but am learning sha!) - if more people spoke other foreign languages and undestood other customs and cultures the world will be a better place. I speak 3 ghanaian languages and willing to learn more african and other languages from other parts of the world even if its thru watching movies.
.
Broaden your horizons on african movies, there are some great ones out there that are not necessary english speaking or from Ghana or Nigeria. If you can watch Bollywood movie and understand it even without subtitles i suggest you give other non english speaking african movies a chance (if it is subtitled). Lets support all africa (crap movies excluded!!).
.
I encourage the Igbos (I can trust my Tchidi and Chinny Ahaneku for this), Ibibio (Hi Emem),Idoma, etc etc to come out with more native language movies (i love both Igbo and Yoruba language and thier music is so utterly beautiful thats why 9ice remains my favourite naija musician) - the native language movies have better scripts (i can testify for Ghana) and the acting is more real, no pretense - also be encourage because in OSCARS there are categories for FOREIGN FILM and a lot of great films get nominated. All we need is a good script, good direction, good subtitler cos honestly most of the subtitles are off.
.
I wish you all a great 2011 for the whole african movie industry. i want them all to succeed.
.
ps: i am using wordpress for my site and honestly am not impressed by the choice themes i have to choose from. I was wanting something with an afican theme. Yo Nolly help ya sista out.
.

Genny's Interview on CNN Connect

Its finally here yall - Genny's Interview in London CNN Headquarters. I think she did great and looking lovely as always. Next Stop a Hollywood interview (so far as they dont STEAL her away from us- i get scared sometimes when i think about it - I like my Genny in my african theme movies). The sky is the limit for my girl. Love her so much.
.

Monday, November 22, 2010

Why I dont care much for Nollywood-USA collab movies yet

Here are the following reason
  • Fake and Bad Lace Fronts - check (if you live in the usa and cant get ya lacefront on point and let it sit on ya forehead, its a huge problem, at least girls back home,they are still learning and havent gotten the beyonce glue yet - but for you who live in USA i say "May Day May Day - we have a state of emergency")
  • Overly done make ups with guarantee 3 inch eyelashes - check
  • Fake eye contacts - check
  • Fake accents - check
  • Poor and unmemorable acting by many force-force actors & actresses - Oh most definately check
  • If an oyibo/obroni guest appears in a scene u best believe its the worst acting you ever going to see - i always wonder? Chei.
  • Some gigantic gorgeous beautiful rented home - (and here in the US most likely owned by Wells Fargo, BOA or GMAC Bank (:lol)
  • Most of these movies are shot in Atlanta, GA, Tristate VA,MD,DC or Houston,TX - same scenery.
  • No head or tale to the scripts that will bore u to sleep
.
You cant fool me by putting in a nollywood known face like Desmond or Ramsey Nouah or Van Vicker (cough cough) and make me think just cos they great (or good) actors and they are part of the cast, the script or acting by the several other bad actors will make it good. Bottom line these famous actors are just in these movies to market and sell the product - period. Thats not that hard to figure out. The splatter their faces on the box and make ppl thinks its worth a dime.
.
I like my african movies african - with african accents, african themes, african scenery etc etc. We in the diaspora watch african movies for a reason, to escape from all of the oyibo stuff here, so if i want to see fake lacefronts, i could go to my nearest blockbuster and borrow a bad black movie like "Trois" or "Soul Plane". Ok maybe these are not considered african (i dont know what to call it) - well then simply - i am not a fan of Nollywood-USA movies (opps i said that already huh?).
.
And yes, i have watched several of these type movies (US/Nollywood collabos) before making this judgement - 4 was enough for me, and now you cant even pay me to watch anotheer, unless its a more SENSIBLE script like Ije or Anchor Baby or something of that sort.
.
I have gotten a few emails ppl asking me why i dont advertise or post info of these movies here. Firstly cos I only post movies I consider a great buy and also because of all the listed blue above, which are a huge pet peeve when i watch african movies. Unless i see some great script and acting - loose all that fake stuff, I will not advocate it on this blog. It is what it is.
.
.

.
Hey dont take my word for it - go grab a copy of the movie if you like and i guarantee u - you will watch it once and then it will be left sitting on your shelf. Invest in great movies and eliminate junk.
.
For those of you who love it so much name ONE classic or one memorable great one you ever watched.? Great script - phenomenal acting.
.
Am just saying though - like Wendy Williams will say "It is, what it is". I cant sugarcoat, i just gotta tell it like it is. I could post many of these trailers, but I will spare you all (Bad publicity is good publicity like they say).
.
This is my personal choice and opinion- to each his own. Everybody else might love it - I dont.
.
SAY SOMETHING NICE CHALLENGE
The sound and picture quality are excellent (wink wink)
.
I look forward to great scripts such as IJE and ANCHOR BABY and I applaud those doing a good job and truly understand what the audience want.
.
In the entertainment industry if you cannot take criticism then maybe you need to really examine and evaluate if you are in the right place.
.
ps:
Oh and i am being hounded with emails bout this is an upcoming one "DECEPTION" (great name :lol:) - i think i will save myself from that headache - i would rather wait and watch later. I was thinking maybe you guys could do me the honors by watching it first (however u find it to watch it), watch it and give me feedback. Lol, let Miss TIlii be spare of the headache of such, and you do me the honors (wink). Watch it review it and rate it.

.

MORE "BUNCH OF ....." RELEASES TO END 2010

And as Nollywood and Ghana continously advance in their movie making to reach an international market (hollywood OSCAR bound) -with their QUANTITY release and not QUALITY - we are once again bombarded by a list of movies not worth a dime - I literally had headache after going thru this and had to go straight to bed after taking tylenol. DO NOT BUY ANY OF THESE MOVIES - SAVE YOUR MONEY.

.
-Rough Ryders (coulda been better)
-5/10
.
-Turn me On (its by Frank Arase & Roger Quartey at their creative best in script - what else is new -tchewww)

-3/10

.

-Before my Wife
3/10
.
-Enemies of Progress (i got this movie cos of Nkem but must say the bombardment of Razness did not do it for me)
3/10
.
-Wise In Laws
2/10
.
-Twisted Fate (coulda been better)
4/10
-
PS: On this blog "Bunch" means "Bunch of Crap" lol - I will be posting more. Simply print this page and take it with you to the african store so you know what to stay away from.
.

Saturday, November 20, 2010

Yvonne Nelson Banned from Movies in Ghana & Nigeria

For those who care (cos i definately dont), Yvonne Nelson has been banned from acting in any Ghanaian or Nigerian-produced movie for a year.
.
(the following info below is not my writing)
Investigations into the matter reveals that Yvonne’s ban is based on accumulation of several alleged incidents of her disrespectful and rude attitude towards fellow actresses, producers and crew members on location and even when off-camera.“She doesn’t respect,” was Alhaji Salam’s reply when asked why that severe action against her He explained that there have been series of complaints about Yvonne’s insulting behavior and lack of respect on set. The latest incident which broke the camel’s back, occurred some few weeks ago during the shooting of the new movie by Venus Films Productions titled; “4play Reloaded” http://showbiz.peacefmonline.com/movies/201011/107458.php
.
Actually I (miss tilii) heard the audio interview they asked him why he banned her and his actualy response was "BECAUSE "OF" SHE DOESNT RESPECT" - :lol: typical example of what i describe as "money miss road" - the man (salam) is not even articulate or eloquent (evidently not educated much- Brofo koraa onti bi. Okurasini biara nya sika osi miyeh movie) and no wonder his movies are such superficial crap and he sees a reason use ridiculous non ghanaian names like Beyonce, Ciara etc etc - not creative one bit). And they have the nerve to bring out another 4play called 4play Reloaded (emom paaaaa, onyami seh yenka).
.
Anyway to cut the long story short you can read further on ghanaian website peacefm and bottom line she is been banned. Personally i think Venus should be banned too FOR NON CREATIVITY IN SCRIPTS) lol. I dont care cos first of all she is not that of a great actress to be missed (its not like she is a Genevieve and second of all ALLLLLLL of VENUS production are superficial non creative and absolutely crap in my books so i definately dont care - Abdul Mumuni and Frank Arase are not creative - I said it once I will say it again - great picture and sound quality does not sell me on movie you have to have the sense to write sensible scripts and give great direction - They must think they are the bosses in Ghana movie industry and untouchable ).
.
I blame the ppl who buy these crap movies by such producers to have the audacity and balls to think if they dont give job someone wont eat. And for you Yvonne this is time to use some of the lil money you have made to take some further acting courses to polish your acting - your ok but definately not good let alone great. You will not be missed. Bye
.
ps: And to the anonymous sending me emails cos they are mad I told it like it is about VENUS Production (Abdul & Salam) to each his own - I am not impressed by their work and as long as i have this blog - if someone produces crap movies i will alert my audience. After listening to Salam "SPEAK" for the first time in that audio interview it all makes sense why he and his crew are NOT creative with their script" - clearly it will be a CHALLENGE FOR SOMEONE LIKE SALAM OR ABDUL TO WRITE A CREATIVE SCRIPT lol. I am ghanaian and Venus DO NOT represent my country Ghana with their superficial hoopla movies (Kwaw Ansah, Shirley Manso save us ooooo). I will keep saying it. I honestly dont need u to read this blog if what i say bothers you - the name is TELL IT LIKE IT IS. And if you dont like this blog - stop always creeping back to read it cos i know you creeping in here - :lol. You So transparent :lol:. Venus Production International Film Festivals and Oscar bound lol HURRAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.

Friday, November 19, 2010

NO "Miss Tilii 2nd Annual Movie Awards"

As we near the end of the year, I am here to announced there will be NO 2nd Annual Miss Tilii Movie Awards" like there was last year http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2009/12/2009-end-of-year-miss-tilii-emg-movie.html .
.
2010 was the most disappointing year in African Movies - we got bombarded with so many crap movies (90% releases were absolutely CRAP - not worth your dime)- none is worthy to be in the BEST CATEGORY, unless i decide to create solely "CRAP MOVIE AWARDS" then there will be plenty to be on this list.
.
And for the producers whose movies we highly anticipated yet they left us hanging (Bursting Out, Ije, Tango With Me ) - Thank you very much. And i also like to thank bootleggers becos of you the best movie makers are taking longer to release their "great movies" because they are trying to come up with strategic ways to combat bootlegging, so instead of straight release to video they are doing the whole premiere thing first (which to me is very good) and then finally when they get to release it on DVD then they do (even if they take 2 yrs to release in DVD :lol). Other than that we just sit and wait. Most of these movies were complete 2 years ago and and we still waiting.
.
.
Right now am waiting for my "OMO GHETTO" :lol:

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Genny Speaks To "Ovation Magazine"

My Genny - always a breath of fresh air - speaks to Ovation Magazine, and modelling clothes from her St Genevieve Line (Genevieve holla back at a sista - ppl asking me bout where to purchase your line as well as website)
.
NOLLYWOOD STAR GENEVIEVE NNAJI OPENS UP ON LOVE, LIFE AND THE PRICE OF BEING A CELEBRITY IN THE NEW UPCOMING DECEMBER ISSUE OF OVATION MAGAZINE (OVATION magazine is a nigerian magazine sold in selected Newsagents in Nigeria, Ghana, London and selected african stores in USA)
.
Multi-talented and multiple award winner, Genevieve Nnaji has continued to wow her fans, breaking new grounds and injecting some freshness to her craft as an artiste.
.
The delectable lady whose latest works Ije and Bursting Out are doing well at the box office has moved from acting, singing to fashion designing and now she has taken up modelling, by becoming the official face of Make Up Designory (MUD) cosmetics. In fact, she just returned from a photo shoot in Los Angeles, California, USA courtesy of MUD.
.
Born to a disciplined Catholic family of eight, Genevieve, who is the fourth started her acting career at the age of eight with Ripples, a popular soap opera on television then she has definitely gone on to greater things. In this extensive and exclusive interview, she spoke about life, love and more.
.
Welcome back from your MUD cosmetics photo shoot
Thank you.
.
How did it feel being covered in real mud for hours
It was tedious; it was cold, because it was real mud. They tried their best to keep me warm, I had fun doing it in general but it was a lot of work.
.
How do you manage to combine all your activities?
Exhales. It's hard, it's demanding, but I try to hold things together.

Two years down the line, how has St. Genevieve fared ?
St Genevieve is doing very well, a lot of my clients are very happy with our work. Unfortunately, I've been extremely busy so I haven't been able to take it as far as I would have wished but then we still carry on with our yearly fashion show which is my own little way of giving back to Charity.
.

(If you want to read the rest - grab ya copy of Ovation Magazine (sold in Nigeria, Ghana, London and selected african stores here in USA)
.
.

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Congratulations to Newlyweds Mike Ezerounye & Nkechi Nnorom

.
Nollywood actor Mike Ezerounye married his pretty gorgeous bride Nkechi this past weekend - November 13 2010, in Lagos. They met when Mike was shooting a film on location at Keke's grandma's house in Abuja - where she was, after returning for vacation from her base in Canada. Mike saw a flower he knew he had to pluck - and he sure did pluck the prettiest flower of them all from that garden.
.
Mike Miss Tilii wishes to Congratulate you and wish you a happy married life - your bride is absolutely gorgeous. Now we wait for those cutie pie babies. May God Bless your married Life and bless u with plenty SONS and daughters. I hear a lot of the nollywoodians were there to support his special day. I just cant wait to see them cute babies.
.
I wonder who in the industry is Next. I like it when young men take such a bold step - its shows responsibility and maturity. Take note - all yall men continously sowing your oates. Keep on sowing - one day it will drop off Fiam! and u will be satisfied.
.
ps:
His boy actor Nonso Diobi was one of his best men.
.

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Miss Tilii's Cast for "African Version of "Colored Girls "

I loved this movie so much not just cos I am a sucker for Literature, Poetry and Drama but I just loved the acting and how Tyler did it - this has to be one of the best novel adapted movies ever done since the classic movie "COLOR PURPLE". Read My Review Here . When i love a movie i like to cast in my mind how it will look with an african adaptation.
.
Anyway as i sit here am wondering IF there was a african adaptation of the movie who would play who? I am thinking no one else but Genevieve to play Kimberly Elise's role and other cast such as :
.
-Yvonne Okoro or Dakore Egbuson to play Anika Noni Rose role
-Rita Dominic for Janets Jackson's role
-Nadia Buari for Kerry Washington's role
-Rama Brew or Joke Silva to play Phylicia Rashads role
-Bimbo Akintola to play Loretta Divines role
-Mercy Johnson to play Thandie Newtons role
-Martha Ankoma to play Tessa Thompson's role
-Bukky Ajayi for Whoopie Goldberg"s role
-? for Macy Grays role (am still thinking who can pull this role off)
.
For the guys am thinking
.
-Majid Michel for Hill Harpers role
-Adjetey Anang for Michael Ealys role
-Jim Iyke for Khalil Kains role (no one can play that role better)
-Chris Attoh, Nana Kwame Osei Sarpong or Muna Obiekwe for Omari Hardwicks role
-Ramsey Nouah for Richard Lawson's role
.
(if you think different of my list above let me know - this is just wishful thinking)
.
Bear in mind these are just actors i am more familiar with in Ghana and Nigeria - I am sure in the whole continent of Africa there may be some great potentials in say South Africa, Kenya etc. I am just thinking out loud. I also think all drama or theatre school should make their students read this book and watch the play and maybe act it out themselves as part of their course.
.

Monday, November 8, 2010

Tyler Perry's "Colored Girls" Red Carpet Affair

Tyler Perry (Director, Producer & Screen Writer)
.
Kimberly Elise

Janet Jackson
.
Anika Noni Rose
.
Loretta Divine
.
Phylicia Rashad
.
Kerry Washington
.
Kerry and her mum
.
Thandie Newton
.
Macy Gray
.
Tessa and Anika at the after party
.
Michael Ealy
(announcement everybody this is my husband pretty ricky nash)
.
Khalil Kain
(yall remember with Tupac in Juice right as well as "GIRLFRIENDS - by the way he is 46 yrs old - yes sirrr - Black surely dont crack)
Omari Hardwick
(He is cute and all, but I have some reservatiosn bout his acting - its just ah-ight. I think someone else could have played his role better, like Rockmon Dunbar or Morris Chestnut -but I like Tyler cos he is known to always give newbies a break and a chance - i like that)
.
Richard Lawson
(though his role was small, personally i'd've casted underrated actors Clifton Powell or Roger Guenveur instead)
.

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Review of Tyler Perry "Why Colored Girls....." (Excellent)

.
.
the cover in a rainbow of beautiful gowns.
Thandie Newton (orange), Kimberly Elise (silver), Phylicia Rashad (peach), Anika Noni Rose (yellow), Kerry Washington (blue), Loretta Devine (green), Janet Jackson (red), Tessa Thompson (purple) and Whoopi Goldberg (white) sat for the exclusive portrait for the magazine's 2010 Hot List issue.
.
(AFTER YOU FINISHED WATCHING THIS MOVIE, I WANT US TO START A CONVERSATION ON THIS BLOG AND TELL ME WHAT RAINBOW COLOR YOU REPRESENT - AND PLEASE THIS IS NOT ABOUT SKIN COLOR - YOU HAVE TO WATCH THE MOVIE TO UNDERSTAND)
.
First performed in 1974, the play by Ntozake Shange - which Shange called a "choreopoem" - was a sensation. Played by seven wounded but resilient black female characters (each known only as a color - NOT NECESSARILY COLOR OF THEIR SKIN - BUT RATHER COLOR OF THE CHARACTER THEY ARE PLAYING), it's a series of 20 poems.
.
The play was a powerful flow of eloquent, full-blooded testifying, one that has since been revered and repeatedly staged. That Perry would be drawn to it makes sense: Raised by women, he has made them his specialty.
.
Finding a narrative to string Shange's poems together, though, is no easy task. Perry has put most of his nine women into one Harlem apartment building (they were scattered across the country in the play), where their stories overlap.
.
There is Crystal (Kimberly Elise), the mother of two and wife to an abusive war veteran (Michael Ealy). Her boss is a fashion-magazine editor, Jo (Janet Jackson), whose steely success castrates her husband (Omari Hardwick).
.
Across the hall from Crystal is Tangie (Thandie Newton), a bartender who slides into bed easily with her customers. Her sister is a high school dancer, Nyla (Tessa Thompson), who has just lost her virginity. Their angry, righteous mother (Whoopie Goldberg) is a religious fanatic clad in only white.
.
Living in between Crystal and Tangie is Gilda, a concerned, motherly neighbor (Phylicia Rashad). Then there are the health workers: Juanita (Loretta Devine) runs a women's health clinic, and Kelly (Kerry Washington) is a visiting social worker. Dance instructor Yasmine (Anika Noni Rose), who is betrayed by a date, rounds out the protagonists.
.
Perry juggles them all awkwardly in their characters yet what's left is the most sensational aspects of their stories.
The ladies in red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple. The various repercussions of "being alive & being a woman & bein colored is a metaphysical dilemma" are explored through the words, gestures, dance, and music of the seven ladies, who improvise as they shift in and out of different roles. In the 1970s, when Ntozake Shange herself performed in for colored girls, she continually revised and refined the poems and the movements in her search to express a female black identity. Improvisation is central to her celebration of the uniqueness of the black female body and language, and it participates in the play's theme of movement as a means to combat the stasis of the subjugation..
.
I have loved movies ever since my late father showed us our first movie on a projector in a our living room. I was about 5 or 6 yrs old but i remember it like it was yesterday. Back then movies were not so common and as you I am from Ghana and it wasnt a common thing for young children my age to go to a movie theatre even if with their parents - In the city of accra where i grew up movie theatres were few and far between.
.
Then came "BETAMAX" in the 1980s(if you dont know what i mean by Betamax then maybe you too young - I am a child of the 80s and i remember betamax very well). So when betamax came my father purchased the player (kinda like a vhs player) - we the kids thought we had died and gone to heaven. Video Library became very commong (at least in the city of accra) - you borrow for a day or and return it.
.
I actually became addicted to MOVIES then (african movies were not even that common then). I remember i use to run home from school after the bell rung, just so i could watch a new movie the family had borrowed, and of course if you had a strict dad like i did you know on weekdays you cannot watch the movie until your homework was done and you dont have to wait to be told to get up go take your bathe and to bed no later than 8pm (my dad only had to give you one look and it spoke volumes), so weekends were my favourite times. All the neighborhood kids would come to my house and we'll cramp up in my living room (with permission from my dad ofcourse) and watch a movie. These movies helped me to escape the world I did not know yet - the outside world outside of Ghana. Then in mid 80s my aunty was returning to ghana from USA and ask us (my siblings and I ) what we wanted and simultaneously we all said movies, my older brother said Scarface, but with me i didnt have any titles so i told my aunty "any nice movie".
.
Well my aunty finally arrived in ghana on one rainy Friday night and that night i remember my siblings and I could not sleep - cos we were eager to know what she'd brought and you know people who come from abroad dont open their scented luggages until the morning after. The next morning she called all of us one by one and gave us her gift from abroad and amongst many things my own gift was "Sound of Music", "My Fair Lady" and "Parents Trap" (my brothers got "Scarface" and some other ones i dont remember) - that was the end for me, I became ADDICTED TO MOVIES (way before african movies were born). I watched these three titled movies so much from the 80s to the early 90s i wore it out. Ofcourse our Betamax Player broke - betamax went out of fashion and then came VHS and so on and so forth. To cut my long story short......
.
In all my years watching MOVIES in general I have never watched a movie that had so much DEPTH and CHARACTER & EMOTION all at once, as much as this movie by Tyler Perry "For Colored Girls...." I mean i dont even know how to describe it but if i had one word to describe it I would say "THE MOVIE WAS EXCELLENT - everything about the movie was phenomenal all the way from the acting to the poetry etc etc.
.
Every character (9 main characters) did an excellent excellent excellent job. Why do i describe this moive was deep? Because it covers almost every issue in life - but particularly issues related to women and issues related to men too. It covers a lot of topics. My favourite characters were of course Kimberley Elise and Thandie Newton and Loretta Devine but every person in this moive including Janet did an incredible job with their performance
.
I walked away from the movie saying to myself "As humans we are so much alike striving for the same thing - the one thing - LOVE. This is why we never have to judge each other. Only God can judge us.
.
Mr Perry I salute you, and I truly hope and wish you win an oscar for your production and directing of this movie. It takes an excellent director to bring the best out of an actress or actor (african movie industry take cue) and you do a heck of a job with that in ANY of your movies and nailed it with this one. I appreciate you so much for what you do and contributing to the change the face of African American Movie industry.
.
I urge every one (Women and Men) to go see this movie - to me - this movie has to be the best movie out of HOLLYWOOD this 2010 - bar none and if it does not win an oscar for someting, I will be shocked.
.
This is a movie I hope Mr Perry translates to other languages around the globe through subtitling so that women (or men) across the world can watch it and enjoy it.
.
Dont read these HOLLYWOOD WHITE CRITICS (i mean we talking black movies and you are going to listen to a BOSTON GLOBE preppy critic) that dont know anything about BLACK WOMEN ISSUES - dont pay them any attention. I bet you if it was the darkworld, occultic demonic HARRY POTTER OR STAR WARS they would love it. Read black critics when it comes black movies. We dont need "their" approval.
.
And to the person who did not like the poetry - this is why i say the movie is very deep - you really have to understand arts and love literature and poetry to really appreciate this whole movie and the themes and messages. I could easily see this movie being a subject point for some college major literature or drama class. The story is like 20 stories in one in regards to the topics in covers. All the women (and the men) had issues that one person or another in real life musta dealt with. You know Mariah Carey was suppose to play Thandie Newtons role, Mariah got offered the role first, but some how she pulled out and she was replaced with Thandie, and I am glad they used Thandie cos I just can not seeing Mariah Carey pulling it off as good as Thandie did. I just heard thru the grapevine there are talks bout turning this movie into a mini on screen series. I think that will be perfect - absolutley great (at least create some all black cast prime time tv show since we dont have much lately - they give a couple of seasons and cancel on us :lol:)
.
If anywone watches this movie and tell me they didnt like it or that its way overrated,then I say to you probably just are not use to watching INTELLIGENT MOvies. Well i can stress it enough to say i encourage everyone to go see it. Oprah has not gotten them on Oprah yet (as she always does prior to a Tyler Perry movie release) but rumor has it (like me) she is confident all the cast will be poising up ready for Feb 2011 oscars, so she will have them on a special segment then (on her new network). I have no doubt we will be seeing all the cast on red carpet come. I will be posting info on the upcoming 2011 oscars. I want you all to go see it and tell me what color rainbow you represent.
.
My Ratings
10/10
.
. Kimberly Elise and "MY" Michael Ealy in a Scene
.
Anyway all i had to say before i rush to bed all i can say to my boo Pretty Ricky Michael (just as i damn Muna) is "Damn You Michael Ealy, damn you - why did you have to do that???" - the only two men I love in movies period (africa or hollywood) - seems like both men are trying to send me to an early grave with their recent protrayals and characters they played on screen. But all jokes aside - Michael you did a heck of a job with your character - I was so mad at you - and that is the whole point of movies - You made the character believable. Either way Michael u and i are going to get married after you complete therapy - I heart you Michael - for real. Oh and shout out to Hill Harper and Khalil Kain - I musta missed Old Spice advert (look at me) Mustapha. Did anyone see mustapha as i hear he was suppose to be in it.
.
Oh and did i mention i love the movie "Colored Girls by Tyler Perry?.... opps i said that already didnt i? lol - go see it - You will either HATE it or LOVE but to each his own.
.

Info on 2011 Academy Awards (Oscars)

.
Academy has already set the date for next year. Reason i care to post this info just this once and for the first time is because I am confident one of my favourite movie makers TYLER PERRY will be making headlines with his recent movie "COLORED GIRLS...." - and for the first time ever I can so feel it in my bones they FINALLY FINALLY FINALLY going to give my one and only white husband LEORNADO DICARPRIO an oscar - i have waited too long - and i am tired they keep passing him by. In the name of Jesus let my two favourite WIN in 2011. Amen
.
The 83rd Academy Awards will take place on Sunday, Feb. 27, 2011. The ceremony will be telecast live from the historic Kodak Theatre in Hollywood on ABC.
.
Here's a breakdown of the Oscars schedule moving towards the 83rd annual ceremony:
.
Friday, Jan. 14:

Nominations polls close 5:00 p.m., PT
.

Tuesday, Jan. 25:
Nominations announced 5:30 a.m., PT, Samuel Goldwyn Theater
.

Wednesday, Feb. 2:
Final ballots mailed
.

Monday, Feb. 7:
Nominees Luncheon
.

Saturday, Feb. 12.:
Scientific and Technical Awards presentation
.

Tuesday, Feb. 22:
Final polls close 5:00 p.m., PT
.

Sunday, Feb. 27:
83rd Annual Academy Awards presentation
.

Nov 2010 was the deadline to release ones movie that is why Tyler release it now rather than 2011, so this means he made the cut in time enough to be considered for nomination.
.
I have always been curious how nominees and winnners are picked and who picks them. It has never sat well with me why excellent black movies such as "Whats Love Got To Do with It" starring Angela Bassett and "Malcolm X" starring Denzel never won - I took it very person and was so deeply disappointed, and lets not even get started on the conversation on overnight successes that win Oscars rather than veterans like Cicely Tyson, Angela Bassett etc etc - that will be a long long conversation and i have strong view points on that. Yall know how passionate I am about my movies. I never Hollywood them for such robbings.
.
(My ebonics humor)

Seems like da masser only gives us ONCE every 2 /3 years. "Please massser we is free now....... Ohhhwweee, In 2011 massr finna give as another award" I is happy now, we gon celebrate.:lol:
.
As i lean my chin/face in my hands, and I tap my fingers on my cheeks with wondering eyes gazed upon the sky, I ask my self "Mmmmmm, now what Nollywood or Ghana movie can I nominate for the oscars, mmmm, let me see, mini mini mini mo......."" :lol: :lol:
.
We shall be here all day if we have to wait and think lol - or maybe our our industry might want to come up with an OSCAR award, since we cant be creative and we copy and emulate the west so much in everything they do, lets call it "NOSCARS and GOSCARS" "BOSCARS" - noscars will be for nollywood and goscars will be for ghana and boscars for bollywood :lol: roflmao and maybe the Kenyas, SierraLeonaians and Cameroonians will follow suit as they currently are with all this "WOOD" business- AFRICA FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, LETS CARVE OUR OWN NICHE AND BE UNIQUE IN SOMETHING at least in the naming of our movie industry lol -anywayyyyyyyyyyyyy let me go to bed sha.
.

Friday, November 5, 2010

I predicted it and it may come true

remember i said in this thread
that i think out of all the cast FOR COLORED GIRLS.... i think Kimberly Elise (one of my favourite actress of all time- the Cicely Tyson of our generation) will probably win an oscar for her role, well hollywood critics who had the chance to see the advance preview, are all mentioning her since they saw the movie.
.
I have always liked Kimberly since "Set it Off" - she is a phenomenal actress who knows how to bring her characters to life. I heart her big time. I predicted (even though i havent watched the movie yet) that her performance will be excellent and she will once again raise eyebrows and all the critics who have watched the movie are saying it.
.
I havent watched the movie yet but it comes out to day and you best believe am on it like white on rice - am going out with my girls to see it and if you live in the US i urge you to go see it too.
.
.

Thursday, November 4, 2010

JUMPING THE BROOM (An Upcoming HOLLYwood Movie)

Here is the trailer for an upcoming Hollywood movie (black cast) that will be released in early 2011.

.
Angela Bassett will star alongside Paula Patton in Columbia's "Jumping the Broom," a wedding-themed ensemble comedy directed by Salim Akil (director for black tv sitcoms like "GIRLFRIENDS" and "THE GAME". Also joining the cast are Laz Alonso, Loretta Devine, Meagan Goode, Tasha Smith and Romeo Miller.
.
"Broom" revolves around the clash of two black families from opposite ends of the socioeconomic spectrum meeting for the first time during a weekend wedding in Martha's Vineyard.
.
Bassett will play Patton's mother, an heiress and a pillar of the Washington elite. Miller plays Patton's cousin, a senior at Yale. Alonso will play Patton's love interest.
.
ps: cute Laz ( i see you - wink wink)
.
.

Monday, November 1, 2010

Essence Magazine Nov Issue with Cast of Colored Girls


.
As you all know though this is an african movie blog i am a strong advocate for Tyler Perry Movies and i posted this info about his upcoming movie
http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2010/09/colored-girls-movie-released-date.html
.
It opens nationwide this Friday Nov 5th 2010 so if you are in the USA please make sure you go and support him by going to watch it. It will be a nice girls nite out type movie date. Grab ya girl friends and go see this movie - if you have read the book you will know its a great scripts.
.
Here is the cover of Nov 2010 Essence Magazine to hit the shelves soon. Yall know am going for the mens cover right (wink wink) - you got MY MICHAEL EALY, you got Hill Harper? you got Khalil Kain? - girl please which cover did you tink i was going to buy-anyway the photographer coulda done a much better job, overall both shoots are just ok.

.

GLAUCOMA AWARENESS (Yvonne Nelson featuring other Ghananaian Entertainers)


.
.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...