Wednesday, October 27, 2010

KIBERA KID & TOGETHERNESS SUPREME (2 Movies from Kenya)


WINNER OF NUMEROUS FILM FESTIVAL AWARDS
.

WEBSITE
http://www.kiberakid.com/
.
Real Life Kibera Resident


.
You can purchase it for $10 from the movie's own website.
.
.
TOGETHERNESS SUPREME


.

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

AFRICA UNITED (An Upcoming Movie with African Child Cast)

Africa United: left to right, Foreman George (Yves Desenge), Beatrice Kayenzi (Sanu Joanita Kintu), Fabrice Kabera (Roger Nsengiyumva), Celeste (Sherrie Silver), Dudu Kayenzi (Eriya Ndayambaje).
Photograph: Nick Wall/Africa United
.

.
.
website:
http://www.africaunitedmovie.com/
.
TRAILER
.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-11566473

.

Ohhhhhhhhwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee I am so so so so happy looking ofrward to this movie. I just love the trailer and will advocate and advertise it as much as i can to reach the masses to watch it.
.
The critics are calling it "Africa Slumdog Millonaires'. I just love love love love the trailer. I am always so frustruated by our child actors cos apart from the few i mentioned here in this thread below:

http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2009/05/nollywood-child-actors-vs-hollywood.html

.

Majority of them are just blah with the acting and just chew and pour the lines which always comes out so rehearsed (But i dont blame them one bit - it takes a good director to direct and child to make them shine - case closed). And I guess when i wrote that article, I was only focusing on Nigeria and Ghana only (which is a BIG MISTAKE TO DO WHEN YOU TALK OF AFRICAN MOVIES - because trust me the many anglophone and francophone movie industry may not have as much buzz but believe me when i say always always they make it to the top film festivals - they care about Quality and not Quantity) - I will always advocate for great african movies no matter which part of africa its from.

.

To the new comers watching african movies, please get this straight, when we talk of NOLLYWOOD or GHANA movies -these two countries out of 54 countries in the continent of Africa - DO NOT represent the whole of africa. NOLLYWOOD does not represent Ghana Movie Industry nor the Whole of "African Movie Industry the same way GHANA MOVIE INDUSTRY does not represent Nigeria nor the Whole of Africa - One may collab with the other or vice versa, but they are just part of a whole big pie and going to get even bigger in the whole continent (ps: I dont like to use the silly aka for Ghana Movie Industry "GHOLLYWOOD or GHALLYWOOD or whatever the hell they call it" - when my website is launched I look forward to hold a competition amongst the ghanaian youth -in collaboration some key industry folks- to come up with more creative name for Ghana Movie Industry- the winner will get a price - this "WOOD" stuff should not stick, i advise the other upcoming african countries jumping on the WOOD bandwagon to stop it, its just ridiculus SOLLYWOOD-Sierra Leone,CAMMYWOOD-Cameroon,LIBBYWOOOD-Liberia - u have got to be kidding me - i mean Hollywood is probably laughing at us - Let us just stop at BOLLYWOOD, NOLLYWOOD please, thats enough- moving foward lets be creative - a nice unique african name will be nice).

.

I just wanted to get that straight and if you want to read further on the different film industries in the continent of AFRICA go here to wikipedia to read it or dig elsewhere for more research since http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cinema_of_Nigeria and/or http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/African_cinema

.

I beam with joy when i see african kids who act good and in regards to our kids from the south, i always knew they were very eloquent from watching the Oprah Leadership school interview the prospective students from the slums. I was so shocked - kids from my nation especially from the poor backgrounds dont speak this eloquent (maybe in the native language but not english), poverty kinda snuffs out a childs confidence sometimes. So watching this video several years ago i was very impressed. If i was a movie producer this girl (Thando from South Africa) in this video at 1:00 mark, is the type of african child actress i will be most eager to cast - similar to those child actors this upcoming movie Africa United (these kids in the movie are apparently products of Rwanda). I have no doubt in my mind she would be a successful african actress - i have never forgotten here since i watched this video years ago.

.

AFRICA HAS A LOT OF GREAT HIDDEN TALENTS. (Off Topic: by the way i encourage every parent and every teacher to purchase the below video off of Oprah website and let your children watch it to be encourage and inspired that even if you come from nothing - you should never give up life - the courage of these kidds in this documentary was infectious to me even as an adult)

.


.
Storyline
In rural Rwanda, Dudu (Ndayambaje) is a 13-year-old fast-talker who seems able to make just about anything happen. He convinces his pal Fabrice (Nsengiyumva) into trying out for a team of children taking part in the World Cup opening ceremony. But their journey is derailed when they board the wrong bus, and they end up as refugees travelling cross-country to Johannesburg. Along the way, they're joined by young Bea (Kintu), who wants to become a doctor; George (Dusenge), who's running from gun-toting thugs; and teen runaway Celeste (Silver), who works in the sex trade.
.
The film tackles several of the continent's biggest issues without ever wallowing in them - the generational ravages of Aids, child soldiers, educational challenges, international aid, class inequality. This is merely the fabric of everyday life for these children, as is their consuming obsession with football. Each of them has a telling skill to contribute (Dudu is an expert at making footballs from condoms and plastic bags), and all of them maintain optimism even in the face of unsettling violence.
.
The young cast fill the screen with personality and attitude, not to mention seemingly boundless physical energy. Each of the four travellers has a distinct back-story, and the script perhaps tries too hard to keep the tone jaunty and cute. This strains their abilities as actors (Dusenge and Silver give the strongest performances), although their raw authenticity makes up for that. And the positive mindset of these characters is both revealing and inspiring.
.
Director Gardner-Paterson keeps the tone light even while exploring some very dark subjects, while Dudu's epic storytelling lets her insert some spirited and colourful animation. Of course there's a lot of spectacular scenery along the way as well. But it's the humanity of the film that lingers in the memory: the way these children just want to live a full life, even if it means risking everything on a daring adventure.
.
Theme

Made in Rwanda, Burundi and South Africa, it includes many issues other continents would associate with Africa: AIDS, child soldiers, lack of schooling, war and prostitution. But it deals with them in a matter-of-fact, occasionally light-hearted fashion
.
Produced By

-Mark Blaney

-Jackie Shephard

.

Co-Producer & Media Production

.Eric Kabera

.
Directed By
Debs Gardner-Paterson (Her First Directorial Debut - EXCELLENT!)
.
Written By
-Rhiddian Brook
.
Location:
-Set in South Africa, Rwanda and Burundi
.
Starring:
-Foreman George (Yves Desenge),

-Beatrice Kayenzi (Sanu Joanita Kintu),

-Fabrice Kabera (Roger Nsengiyumva),

-Celeste (Sherrie Silver),

-Dudu Kayenzi (Eriya Ndayambaje)
.

.
Its always very sad to me when africans can never tell our own story so well that we have to wait for foreigners to come tell it and win awards for it, Just as, THE KING OF SCOTLAND, HOTEL RWANDA and many more.

.

Yes you may blame funding (as always - what else is new) but that is no excuse, you start of small with a with the little funding you have (GREAT SCRIPT DOESNT NEED MONEY - IT SIMPLY NEEDS CREATIVE BRAINS) and maybe just maybe a angel investor may help you do it big in future like this.

.

You are not doing anybody when you put our CRAP QUICKIE PRODUCED MOVIES, You are doing your self - A WORD TO THE WISE IS ENOUGH. Utterly fabulous script (if you are on of the YeYe producers kicking ya self right bout now asking why didnt i think of such a great script especially during the Africa World Cup - cos you were busy spending that quick buck ya made on your quickie crap movie, you were too busy to think (thinking seldom happens). I am so proud of our other african countries - they are doing so well and I will always give them a shout out for their good work.

.

sources:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-11566473

.

THE MOVIE HAS ALREADY PREMIERED IN UK THIS PAST WEEKEND (Oct 22nd) AND WE IN THE USA EAGERLY WAIT TO WATCH THIS MOVIE - AND I FEEL IT SO WELL - IT WOULD MAKE IT TO THE OSCARS Feb/Mar 2011- Its already made it to London and Toronto film festivals and I dont have a doubt it will make it to Sundance. Ohhhh i love this - the trailer makes me so happy and so eager.

.

Monday, October 25, 2010

Miss Tilii's Website COMING SOON

After much procrastination and snail walking, i have finally purchased my domain name and hosting server (wordpress platform)
.
I am very excited about this cos i know this blogpost can be annoying and not user friendly sometimes. I look forward to creating my new website, with the help of friends who are willing to teach Miss Tilii a thing or two.
.
I have always been a blog girl so this creating site thing is new for me, but I am willing to learn from the pros.
.
I will announce the name of the website as we get closer to the day of launch (not too far fetched though - wink wink). If there is any content you would like for me to add to the site please let me know and I will see if i can accomodate that. My goal is to make it user friendly with easy search tools.
.
" .COM" ohhh that sounds so nice - I am very excited about this. Wish me luck (oh and one more thing, i wish i can use this same color theme on the new website but am not sure - it depends on the themes i find on wordpress). What i dread the most is the length of time it will take me to transfer all this 2 yrs data from here onto the website. Na wa ohhh.
.

Friday, October 22, 2010

Movie Trailer for "Dirty Secret" (Starring Muna,Tontoh and Artus)

Munnaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa???????????? Why why Why . Ohlawd - ok thats it - am done - i cant take this ish no more .I am so done . My girl Nolly told me last month and i refuse to believe her, i didnt even want to imagine it - Muna in thongs showing ya butt cheeks (green for that matter - how patriotic)? What?? the devil is a liar, i will keep praying. "Pushing the envelop is an understatement" - you have a great reputation and you just fcking it up real good lately.


.
I think my weekend is messed up - Am depressed right bout now. I mean what is next Muna, huh? What? I will start our divorce proceedings ASAP, expect mail from the baillif - oh i am so done - Mi ni wu Agyai!
.
Yes you proved ya point - you are versatile actor - maybe a lil too much. As for Tontoh, keep on keeping on - dig ya own hole - and just that you know, you are still not in the "A" LIST BRACKET.
.
African Movies why now whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy???? We seriously need to pray for our african movie industry (Ghana and Nigeria) - this will not stick. Let it just be some phase we going thru. Edien Asem Ni?
.
I am just curious who produced and directed this movie?
.

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

UNSTOPPABLE (Upcoming Hollywood Movie starring DENZEL WASHINGTON)

Well every now and then i will post an upcoming HOLLYwood movie that I am excited about. Tyler Perry Colored Girls which opens nationwide on Nov 5th 2010 is one of them and then the other is "UNSTOPPABLE" which opens nation wide on Nov 12 2010. Its Denzel yall, now you know , I aint missing that, he grew older but he aint lost his touch with me. Still cute as a button. The trailer looks exciting. I think i heard its based on a true story. And the white co star Chris Pine , mmm, mmm, the finest white dude mine eyes has seen since Channing Tatum and Simon Baker.
.

.
.

Two Dollars (An upcoming Comedy Starring Mercy, Jim, Sam Loco, etc)


.
.
:lol: i am already laughing hard just watching this trailer. If you have watched the movie "Keziah" with Mercy you would know Mercy is very funny in comedy movies. And watch her in her liberian accent in this trailer, NO one does Liberian accent better than Mercy.

.

Mercy, Jim and Sam Loco Efe in a comedy???, Oh lawd - I better brace myself for this one, and especially also the huge headache am going to receive hearing Jim Iyke and (Ghanaian actor) Samuel Ruffy Quansah with their yankee wannabe fake accent plus acting stupid :lol - these two are hilarious. They are both crazy in this trailer. I love comedy and look forward to this movie.

.

ps: there is also an old comedy movie called "ONE DOLLAR" starring Patience Ozorkwor, Jim Iyke etc, if you havent seen it you better look for it and watch it. You will laugh till tears.

.

Sunday, October 17, 2010

The Champion Sportsman (Comedy starring John Okafor and Patience Ozorkwor)


.
White Man: Are you trying to kill me??
John Okafor: That is my mission
.
Lollllllllllllll, Chei, chineke me! John Okafor and Patience will not kill me today with laughter oohhhhhh :lol: there is nothing like a good comedy from John Okafor or Patience, Nkem, etc. You will laugh till you cry.
.
I am not exactly sure if this movie is out yet, but if i get my hands on it I will watch and review it. (Thank You Linda for sending trailer to me)

Happy Sunday everybody - i better go in my library and find some good comedy to watch today this sunday afternoon (anything with Patience or Nkem will do) - i need a good laugh.
.

Sunday, October 10, 2010

FELICIMA (An Upcoming Movie Starring My #1 - Genevieve Nnaji)


.
Well Well Well - now thats some great news - Genny and Yemi together in a movie. Now if you have watched the infamous Jetta Amata classic movie "LETTERS TO A STRANGER" you will know why am so goo goo gaa gaa bout this movie (if you dont own this movie 'letters to a stranger yet, starring genny and yemi, go and buy it now! - its a sure keeper for your video library worth every dime - GO AND BUY IT!!). Felicima doesnt seem like a romantic movie - but nonetheless i love Genny and Yemi Blaq together in a movie, just as much as i like
-Genny and Muna Obiekwe
-Genny and Majid Michel
-Genny and RMD
-Genny and Ramsey
Genny has the greatest onscreen chemistry with the 5 mentioned above.
.
I will post more update on this movie as I get it. Stay tuned
.
.

Saturday, October 9, 2010

Happy Birthday Tchidi Chikere

Today is Tchidi Chikere Birthday
Happy Birthday Tchidi
Have a wonderful Birthday
.
As an honour i will dig into my library and find some of your old village movies to watch (Blood Sisters starring Genny and OmoT AND All My Life starring Rita and OmoT).
.
When are you coming out with one of your signature village theme movies. I miss that about you. I really truly miss your villlage theme stories - apart from Chinny Ahaneku (another great story teller with village theme movies), no one tells it better. 2010 has been dry but i am looking forward to 2011. As you will all know from reading this blog my favourite African movies are the traditional village theme movies- they are more real and less pretense. I just love it.
.
.

PRIVATE ENEMY (Upcoming Movie starring Mike, Ini, Kofi,Tontoh etc)


.
I will post more details as i get it (trailer looks good - i look forward to reviewing it after its release)

.

.

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

6 HOURS TO CHRISTMAS (A Sparrow Production - A Ghanaian Film)

.
Official Website (this is 1 of the things i love bout Sparrow - always market with a professional movie website)
.
Youtube Trailer

.
To say i am excited about this highly anticipated and new Shirley Frimpong Manso movie is an understatement. I absolutely love Sparrow Production and how they hold quality and creativity to the high esteem.
.
As a fellow Ghanaian i must say - currently, they are the ONLY ghanaian production house I truly respect and always looking forward to what they have to offer - even if they release two or three movies per year I am satisfied cos its worth the wait. Though Checkmate wasnt my favourite - with Shirley I give her the benefit of the doubt cos she has proved her self plenty with many of her previous work. I love Shirley cos she always chooses the finest - the most articulate, the most eloquent - not some fly by nite, fake contacts, lace front weave wearing actress who think just cos they are pretty they have to be infront of a camera and call themselves actress.
.
Sena Tsikata for instance is a dynamic actress from Ghana TV show "Things You do for Love". If you ever want to see the best ghanaian actress/actors, most of them are alums of our past prime time TV show (Majid is an alum and many other actors and actresses that Shirley uses) such as "Things You do For Love", "Sunset City", "Jagapee" etc etc. I miss our TV shows - we had the best and flawless acting performance from the best people, on those shows than anything. Dont be fooled or bamboozled by the recent epidemic of maame water talentless actresses you are seeing in many of our bombardment of crap movies - those actresses dont do Ghana justice at all. I promise you - You havent seen the best of Ghana yet, but thanks to ppl like Shirley you will slowly see them gradually. I love the fact that Shirley gives these hidden great talents a chance in any of her new movies. There are so many in ghana and thats why i get so frustruated when i see actresses in many of our recent crap movies who give us a bad name. Pretty faces (or not) - cant act, cant speak english - just bLAHHHHHHHHHH!!!. Go see a stage play in Legon Drama School or National Theatre and you will be shocked the type of talent ghana has - you be like "how come we aint seen this talent".
.
Sparrow Production is the one production house I plan on doing my best and whatever I can to help raise funds from angel investors to help her make more great movies - since clearly "money has miss road" and has ended up in many wrong hands (producers/directors of our numerous crap movies) in the industry whose only aim is to give us one crap noncreative movie after another. Its all about quantity to them and no creativity in script. Just cos the picture and sound quality has improved does not mean you can blind me with your non creative script that has no head or tail. Wubua koraa - enye menisu!
.
I WILL ALWAYS ADVOCATE FOR SPARROW and pray we get more great director/producer/writers in our movie industry. Hear Ye, Hear Ye, all those who have the great gift of directing/producing/writing, yet hiding under a rock (and to those NAFTI grads/alums who migrated abroad - come home and help) - We Need You! to uplift our industry and weed out the crap. If its funding you need - that is why we are here - we bloggers will advocate and help all we can and thru this social media ground help you raise funds -that is one of my biggest plans as i transition from blog to website soon.
.
The Movie Details
.
Starring:
Chris Attoh, Damilola Adegebite, Sena Tsikata, Marian Lempogo, Benny Ashun, Asamani Boateng, Victoria Johnson and Charles Cuammy
(I like Chris cos as an upcoming Ghanaian actor, he is very careful and highly selective with his choice of scripts and doesnt act in any movie just nillywilly - he is surely building a good resume of work - that is what i like. Being hella sexy with a sexy smile and a 6pack to match is pleasing to the eye too. I will love to see him in more challenging roles too. I look forward to interviewing him soon)
.
Written & Directed By
Shirley Frimpong Manso
.
Produced By
Ken Attoh
.
Theme:
Romantic Comedy
.
Storyline:
It looks like it is going to be a typical 24th December day for suave creative director, Reggie and perhaps a slightly more memorable one as his girlfriend promises him dinner and fireworks before the stroke of midnight.
.
Things however take an exciting turn for him when his office colleague and the girl he's lusted after for a long time gives him a Christmas present he finds impossible to refuse.
.
As Reggie's mind goes into overdrive, events unfold into very hilarious and yet bizarre circumstances and it seems a day that started with the promise of Christmas may just end in heartbreak and a gun to Reggie's head.
.
Premiere Date:
Friday October 29 2010
.
Venue
National Theatre, Accra-Ghana
.
Time
6.30pm (aka 1830 hrs)
(Ghana fuo mu ta ye late dudu, Please be on time, Won pa nye fai! we beg)
.
Tickets Sold in following locations in Accra-Ghana;
Koala, National Theatre or Airport Shell
.
For all of you back home - go and support this premiere on Friday October 29th 2010 in National Theatre. Go get your tickets now- dont wait to last minute. I am waiting for my Sparrow contact to give me more update but am assuming its around the 20 cedis ball point. I will confirm later.
.
Oh and did i mention - I love Sparrow Production.
.
I will keep you guys posted with more details.
.
PS:
I am still very dissapointed in my other favourite producers who have kept us waiting all year for their highly anticipated movie and refuse torelease it for us to enjoy it; Namely all the movies i have listed in blue on the right hand panel of this blog. You guys have really starved us this 2010.
.
2010 i must say has been the worst year when it comes to great movie releases. Everyone has chosen to sit on their work - its not fair at all. Its not fair at all. We have been inundated with crackers all Year - for the love of God give has some digestive biscuit - ah ah. Na wah - how long will we beg.
.
.

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Relentless (Upcoming Movie Starring Nneka, Jimmy Jean etc)


.
Uber talented chick Nneka is spreading her wings and trying her hands out at acting. She’ll be making her debut in Relentless, a movie about loneliness, love and self-discovery in Lagos & Sierra Leone. Directed by Andy Amadi Okoroafor, it also stars Hatian actor Jimmy Jean Louis (Phat Girlz) and Gideon Okeke (Tinsel).
.
Director
Andy Amadi Okoroafor

.
Cast
Nneka Egbuna

Gideon Okeke,
Aloba Taiwo

.
Country
Nigeria
.

Writer
Andy Amadi Okoroafor

.
Running time
91min
.

Year

2010
.
Storyline:
A story about love and self-discovery, set in Sierra Leone, one of Africa's unforgiving countries.
.
Obi is a Nigerian peacekeeping soldier in war-torn Sierra Leone. He meets Blessing, a Sierra Leonean woman and falls in love for the first time. His world and life are then devastated when he finds Blessing mutilated by child soldiers. On his return to Lagos after the war, he tries to reintegrate into his community by running a small security company with Ola, his best friend and fellow war veteran. At night he wanders the lonely streets of Lagos, haunted by his past. During one of these midnight walks, a high-class call-girl falls into his arms, thrown down from a bridge to die by one of her clients. Obi is thrust back into reality as he once again is carrying a woman in his arms, another victim of violence, another life to save or let die. Relentless is a visually accomplished film debut that laconically narrates a story about love and self-discovery, set in one of Africa's unforgiving capital cities

source: http://www.bfi.org.uk/lff/node/1084

.
I will post further info on this movie as i get it.
.
And once again thank you anonymous for sending this to me.
.
I encourage all my african brothers and sisters from all over africa - if you find any nice upcoming movie and you want me to post it here - dont hesitate to contact me and i will announce it here. If you read my blog you will realise i advocate for ALL GREAT african movies - not just Ghanaian or Nigeria. We are all brothers and sisters and have to support each other. If the movie is great most definately i will let every boy know.
.
I love francophone subtitle movies, I love south african movies, yoruba movies are my second favourite to english movies. I am advocating strongly for the other anglofone countries who are fast rising (Kenya etc) - I wish them the best. I am open to all.
.
.

Monday, October 4, 2010

Ini Edo "MEMORIES OF MY HEART" Premiere in Lagos















Trailer:

















.




Premiere Date:




Friday October 15 2010




.




Venue




Ikoyi, Lagos - Nigeria




Time




TBA




My Naija brothers and sisters - if you are home in naija now, go and support this premiere on Oct 15th- this is Miss Ini's First Production - so please if she is a fan of yours support her. If i was in Lagos - i will go support her and will be there live to hype it up for my girl.Big ole booty Ini (look at pot calling kettle black - mine is just as big and i can not seem to get it down no matter what excercise i do)




.




The trailer looks good - i am proud of her - and proud of Emem and Desmond for supporting and nurturing her - to have a second job to fall back on. I already posted about this movie several months ago (one of my highly anticipated movies as listed in blue on the right panel). Read here for further sypnosis; Produced by Ini, Co produced by Emem, Directed by Desmond - starring Ini, Ramsey, Nse, Adjololo, Desmond and Monalisa. My whole Royal Arts Family doing it big.







ps: Bola - send me details for the show start time for the Ikoyi Premiere - you know black folks will always be late so lets emphasize the time. Also yall dont leave us here in the diaspora out, we want to know when yall touring here too - we all wait patiently.

Sunday, October 3, 2010

Congratulations to movie "Anchor Baby" and to Omoni Oboli

.
Omoni Oboli Best Actress, 'Anchor Baby' Best Film, Harlem International Film Festival in New York City.
.
Shot in Brampton and Hamilton, Ontario Canada, ‘Anchor Baby’ the film that had its producer Lonzo Nzekwe chosen by the Reel World Film Festival as one of the 20 emerging film makers in Canada now bags two awards from the Harlem International Film Festival in New York City.
.
Harlem International Film Festival has had the honor of programming five years of diverse, quality films and gave ‘Anchor Baby’ its first award as the best film of the year and ace actress Omoni Oboli was pronounced the best actress for her roles in ‘Anchor Baby’.
.
A film that had Caucasian, Hispanic, Asian and African characters playing major parts, ‘Anchor Baby’ tells the tale of a married illegal immigrant couple living in the US, Joyce and Paul Unanga. They have been ordered by the US immigration to leave the country by voluntary departure. They agree to leave; but only after Joyce who is 5months pregnant delivers her baby inside the US. This will guarantee automatic citizenship for their child. Ignoring the deportation order, the couple goes into hiding. Paul was later caught and deported while Joyce stayed back to struggle on her own to achieve their dream. The love, hope, pain and struggle that came with this decision is bound to stir up some emotion in you.
.
Speaking on why he chose Omoni Oboli for the lead role the producer Lonzo Nweke said ‘That decision is one of the best decisions I made in the earlier stages of production. When I wrote the script, I wanted someone who could transform the script and bring it to life. I hired a professional casting director to audition all the actors I used in the movie. I sat through all the auditions and hand picked every single character in the movie. When I watched a few of Omoni's movies, I was convinced that she has the ability to transform the script. Plus, I did a brief background check on her and spoke to her extensively on the phone to know more about her, that's when I decided she was the one’
.
Set to hit the Nigerian Cinemas soon ‘Anchor Baby’ had almost 40 actors with speaking roles and about 60 extras. The frontline actors in the film are Omoni Oboli, Sam Sarpong, Terri Oliver, Colin Paradine, Michael Scratch, Mark Cassius, Rachael Ancheril, Cyrus Faird, Santiago Lopera, and Chris Patterson.
.

Source:
http://harlemfilmfestival.com/2010/index.html
.

.

Saturday, October 2, 2010

4th Quarter of the Year - My First Stash Arrived....

Its the fourth and final quarter of the year (Oct-Nov-Dec) before the year ends and we still havent gotten the best of the best yet - its just been one crap after the next all year - worst year ever in the past 5 yrs, we are still waiting .
.
Anyway, I got my package with my stash first week of Oct 2010.
-Temptation (Majid, Martha etc)
-After The Service (Bimbo, Mercy, Nuella, Van etc) - 20 mins watching it and i can see it was a straight jack and steal from american movie with Jennifer Lopez "Maid in Manhattan" - some african producers at their best - can never be original and ish - they always have to STEAL someone elses script. MONEY MISS ROAD Producers and Directors at the creative best.:lol: - hey lets just steal a script and call it a day - our mind were not born with such creativity - this is utterly shameful and pitiful. And Mr Vicker i am not going to be harsh today cos i just came from church this sunday afternoon, but P U H LEESE lawd, boy take a break of acting - invest in some acting classes - Yes Mr Vicker Lord knows you are a handsome scrumtious delicious looking man (Adjoa is a lucky lady)- but seriously dude, watching you act is another story - Modelling will be perfect for you - but for now acting is just not it - i am still waiting for a day i see u in a scene which you act to make believable (Happy, Sad, Dangerous, Crying etc -borrow some tears from Mercy if u have to since your cant come natural etc- no character u play is ever believable to me yet - Jeez!!!). I do have hope in you though. If you take a year out and do some intensive acting lesson - that might really help.
.
-Room Service (continuation of After the Service - a complete twist - just ah-ihght)
-Princess Myra (Patience, Mike, Desmond, Nonso)
-Royal Treasure (Chika Ike Van Vicker, Ali Nuhu) - JESOS CHRIST, WHAT A COMBINATION. THIS IS THE ONE I WILL WATCH LAST - I WILL NEED A COUPLE BOTTLE OF TYLENOL OR PARACETAMOL TO GO THRU THIS ONE - DOUBLE DOZE OF HEADACHE!!!
-Fear Not (Adjololo, Oge, Ini etc)
-Agatha (Ghanaian movie)
.
.
Clearly a couple of crap ones - but i have no choice, i gotta smoke it - puff puff pass -puff puff pass, but bear in mind I will ONLY review it IF it is GREAT. If its crap - i wont bother reviewing it. I might simply rate it. Another weight of stash is being shipped to me next week. And to all those asking - no i still havent received Nollywood Hustler - I dont know why its so late for my dealer to get it, but I will keep you posted.
.
I gave up on "Bursting Out", and all the others which we have waited so long. I am just fed up waiting. "I sing of a well" is here but my dealer forgot to include it in my stash.
.

Temptation (Movie Review)


.
Starring
Majid Michel, Martha Ankomah, Artus Frank and others
.
Written By
Abdul Salaam Mumuni (oh lawd - heavy sigh)
.
Produced By
Abdul Salam Mumuni (rolling my eyes as i type)
.
Directed By
Frank Raja Arase (rolling my eyes as i type)
.
Storyline
The spark that graced their marriage seems elusive, with the couple barely seeing eye to eye. A desire to escape the unserinity that pertains in his home let to a blissful escapade, the unfortunate ignition for an unforeseen and protracted web of entanglement and blackmail. A tacit husband striving to salvage an almost fading marital union; a father grappling with the delicate health of his only child; a man desperate to unwind the twist that has befallen him...... (BTW: bare in mind most of these sypnosis aint my writing - i copy it as i see it straight from the box - :lol: )
.
Theme
Infidelity, blackmail, marriage, children
.
My Review
I really dont have much to say bout this movie - usual Abdul Mumuni Hooplas. I dont like movies that insults my intelligence -"There was a lil mix up with the blood test" my ass. Whatever
.
Say Something Nice Challenge:
Though i really dont care for the script, Martha Ankomah was excellent in her role, she held it up real good and i hope that some better producer and director with a much better script get to work with her to make her shine more. I definately have my eye on Martha Ankomah - she is a force to be reckoned with (mehn martha can shout when she is pissed -ewuradiyesu).
.
Apart from Martha any other wanabee actress in this movie - i didnt even recognised - they just filled space - the regular pretty faces yet no talent types - just fake contacts lenses, fake lace front hair and the whole 9 yards and their chew and pour delivery of lines. No Talent whatsoever. No memorable acting by any of them. Martha was the only good actress to hold up such a luckluster script. Majid was good as usual. Artus Who?? - he was just ah ight - notthing to ride home about.
.
Tatalay - Talata ? - whatever Abdul - you and your non creative ways and wierd names you use in your movies. If the movie is ghanaian maybe you should learn to use ghanaian names sometimes - opps ma bad, you your self are not true blood ghanaian to be proud our names to use it. Who exactly are you - i am curious?
.
My Rating
5/10
.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...