Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Summary of 3 Movies: WaterFalls, No Going Back etc

I dont have much to say. All i will say is - make your judgement call;
.
WATERFALLS
Ratings
4/10
(the girl who acted as Cynthia gave me migrains and several other BAD actresses in the movie - a real migrane watching them, it was like hearing breaking glasses/dishes in my ear - i would have given the movie at least 6/10, The horrible actresses took away 2 points) :lol:Tontoh no special performance - predictable as always, Van Vicker - well yall know how i fee about Van, like i said, with his "NO ACTING" TALENT and fine ass looks, I can put the movie on mute and go about my business in the house (cleaning, cooking) just to look at his foine pretty self. My webshot dude. (To his fans - am sorry - but if its any consolation, he is very cute though- ) . Movie was casted by Emem and Directed by Lancelot - which is why I am very surprised it wasnt as great as i wanted it to be. Like i said those few bad actresses ruined the whole thing for me.
.
MILLONAIRE WIDOWS
Ratings:
2/10 -
DIrected by Ikechukwu Onyeka, produced by Nwegwu Chinweke and Chibuzor Sunday Enobu. Nothing to ride home about - not worth buying - find some sort to watch it but i wouldnt buy it if i were you. Borrow from a friend who spent their money to buy it
.
NOT GOING BACK
Ratings:
2/10 -
Go figure, Ugezu J Ugezu direction - what else is new-"money miss road" - ring a ring a roses - round and round and round - NO HEAD! NO TAIL! - JUST BLAAAAAHHHHHH - If you want to rock ya baby to sleep put this movie on (and oh lower your volumes whilst you are at it). It was absolutely pain to even dare watch this movie - the box did not mention the director nor producer, but thank God i did not buy it. Money definately missed road big time with UJU.
.
DONT WORRY MS TILII DID NOT BUY ANY OF THESE MOVIES, I do judge a book by its cover when it comes to african movies - almost always am right. Thank You Lord.!!!
.
I still havent gotten my copy of the NOllywood Hustlers and frankly am not i any hurry from what i heard from those who have watched it - I am more keen on Bursting Out, Tango with Me and the rest
.
Nonso, Ugezu and Venus Production - form some coalition or something (CMA - crap movie association). You all have a lot in common, like seriously.
.

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Yvonne Okoro & Martha Ankomah - Ghana's Next Best Actresses to Keep an Eye on

Yvonne Okoro
Yvonne i predicted the first time i saw her in a movie "Beyonce" (bout 4yrs ago) where she played Jackie Appiahs character Ciara after Ciara's facial reconstructive surgery. She was the character in the scene singing - she played a small part but i remember her always and even contacted her to let her know how i feel and communicated from then on. If she looks familiar lately then she was in 4Play (not particularly googoo gaga bout 4play - but her acting stood out and ppl are recognising her now and am very happy).
.
Yvonne for example has one coming out starring herself, Mike Ezerounye and Yvonne Nelson - I think its called "I Broke My Heart" - will keep yall posted. Watch this space for my upcoming interview with Yvonne soon. If you wondering of her last igbo name OKORO - thats cos she was born to a nigerian igbo father (Mr Okoro) and a Ghanaian mother, however she was born, raised, schooled and lived all her life in Ghana (and France for a few yrs), Ghana is where she calls home. The question is getting tired, she gets asked way too many times.
.
. Martha Ankomah
.
The movie "TEMPTATION" (a ghanaian movie) has been released on the market starring Majid Michel and Martha Ankomah and some other people.
.
THough I have not be pleased with Marthas choice of character/script on the several movies she has played in the past and all that overly sexed characters (Heart of Men etc), I call a spade a spade, the girl got skills and a force to be reckoned with - she will go far.
.
Unlike the many pretty faces with no talent yet who feel just cos they are pretty, they deserve to be infront of a camera act some ish and describe themselves as actresses - Martha is actually a good actress with the greatest potential to be very great - BEAUTIFUL+ELOQUENT+ARTICULATE and ability to bring the character to live - After all in my opinion my country ghana doesnt have much of great actress (particularly the younger actresses cos we do have many GREAT older veteran ones) - with the younger actresses they are several "good" ones (Nadia, Jackie, Yvonne N etc) - but i said it before and i will say it again i wont describe them as GREAT- Majid as an actor on the otherhand is GREAT and Martha Ankomah as well as Yvonne Okoro - to me, has the greatest potential to be the next greatest for the Ghana movie industry. If only she (Martha) will not try to create attention by being nude in all her movies.
.
There is real talent there and i want to see it beyond some flashing of boobs or boning scene. All she needs is one great director- a great script to make a shine and give her a breakthrough movie and the sky is the limit like it is for Genny, Rita, Ini, Mercy etc - Thus far there is not one movie that I will call Marthas breathrough movie - she hasnt broken thru yet because of her own bad choices, all many remember her is her boobs and overly sexed characters. Think about it Martha, you need to change your choices. Temptation sure is tempting to watching cos it shows another side of your talent. (But either way if all this was a publicity stunt, i guess it worked somewhat - but you need to quit it, Lets see you for your real great talent.)
.
This movie seems promising by watching the trailer. I look forward to seeing it - I think by next weekend i will have it reviewed, my dealer just got it today..
.


.

Continue to watch this blog cos these two ladies Yvonne Okoro has a lot of movies coming out.

.

I am harder on my fellow ghanaian actors and actresses cos like i said you get ya last love home. I know we have some of the best and i want that to shine - i dont like the mediocrity. If you do a good job in my opinion - I stomp and shout and let ya name be known. I am a sucker for great talent - i just love em. Since i love Shirley the best, i advocate she writes a script for these two ladies and use them in one of her movies. I hope to interview Martha too sometime soon, i dont know her personally so, let me make some fone calls and see if its possible.
.

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

BENT ARROWS (Upcoming Movie with Dynamic Cast)

Movie Trailer
.

.
Starring:
-Olu Jacobs with wifey Joke Silva
-Stella Aboderin
-Omoni Oboli
-Desmond Elliot
-Ngozi Ezeonu
-Enebeli Elebuwa
.
Storyline:
will keep you posted
.
Producer:
Isang Obong
.
Director:
Lancelot Imaseun (aka Da Governor)
.
This movie already premiered in Nigeria/Abuja last Friday Sept 9th 2010 and we in the diaspora are still waiting to see it.
.
This has to be 2nd movie after the highly anticipated upcoming "Behind CLosed Doors - Part 3" starring Stella Aboderin that I am excited to see. Personally i think after the ban was lifted and she came back into the scene (which was also a difficult time for her considering her late husband Jaiye's had just passed) - I have not been impressed much with anything she has done since her come back, but am really excited about "Bent Arrows" and ofcourse "Behind Closed Doors". Though i have always had to take a reincheck on my invites to Emems premieres in Naija. i pray and hope I will be front center smiling ear to ear for BCD3's premiere. I dont think there has been a greater/stronger advocate than my self for the continuation of "Behind Closed Doors" - aka BCD3.
.
I am very happy for Stella -she has been thru a lot in the past few years and i wish her the best plus am kinda glad she is being extra selective with her roles.(if you guys dont know what i am talking about when i mentiont "THE ban" i guess u are new to the scene in watching movies and its too long to get into explaining what went on in 2004/5 with the industry - google it)
.
So anyway, lets all support this new upcoming movie "Bent Arrows" with this dynamic cast - you are bound to get your moneys worth PLUS it was directed by Da Governor (Mr Lancelot Imaseun - now you know u cant go wrong with that). There is some movies you see the Cast & Director, trailer and know without a doubt its a sure winner.
.
PS:
Omoni Oboli I salute you, I have really kept my eye on you in the past year and I must say I am proud of you with your extra selective choice of script and glad you are not jumping into anything nilly willy. You are doing great and I wish you well. I watch every body with eyes like a hawk and will not fail to recognise when they are doing well.
.
Thank you to the anonymous person who sent me this update about the movie.
.

"Colored Girls" Movie Released Date Change to Accomodate Oscar Nom/Win

Large Promo Photo coming soon
.
Official website with trailer
http://forcoloredgirlsmovie.com/
.

.
Well by now you all know i advocate any film black and especially films by great producers and directors. For our African American Community Tyler Perry is the only on holding up right now (no matter how much haters within our own black race hate on him - (cough cough midgetspike)
.
Anyway According to the Huffington Post, David Poland correctly predicted just a week ago, Lionsgate has moved the newest Tyler Perry film, For Colored Girls, from its original January 14th, 2011 (1975 play by Ntozake Shange - go grab ya copy and read) slot into the heart of the awards season. It will now open wide on November 5th, which is incidentally the same weekend that Precious (which Tyler Perry and Oprah Winfrey put their names on after the fact to insure a Lionsgate distribution) debuted in limited release, wracking up a record $108,000 per each of its eighteen screens
.
Cast includes veterans such as Kimberly Elise, Janet Jackson etc, along with Whoopi Goldberg, Kerry Washington, Loretta Devine, Phylicia Rashad, and Thandie Newton. Yes Tyler do the damn thing - like you said in your NAACP acceptance speech we dont have to wait for 40 acres and a mule before we do for ourselves, we can create an own acre. God Bless You - i will scream with joy WHEN you win. The cast is great and i have no doubt you will tell the story well.
.
Out of the cast Kimberly Elise is my ultimate favourite to win - but i would have to watch first and see how she plays her character - nonetheless she has never dissapointed me yet - a younger version of Cicely Tyson is how i see her - love her much.
.
Good Luck Tyler. I wish you the best
.
Ps: By the way i plan on attending Sundance and African Film Festival for the first time in 2011 - I am planning well towards it and hope i can make it - its been an ultimate dream to attend one of these festivals.
.
HERE ARE THE MOVIE STILLS AND PROMO PHOTOS
.
.
JANET

KIMBERLY ELISE
.
ANIKA NONI ROSE
.
KERRY WASHINGTON
.
THANDIE NEWTON
.
LORETTA DEVINE
.
PHYLICIA RASHAD
.
WHOOPIE GOLDBERG (why does this remind me of movie GHOST)
.

.
-Janet Jackson as Joanna
-Kimberly Elise as Crystal
-Kerry Washington as Kelly
-Loretta Devine as Juanita
-Whoopie Goldberg as Alice
-Phylicia Rashad as Gilda
-Anika Noni Rose as Yasmine
-Thandie Newton as Tangie
-MICHAEL EALY as Beau Willie
-Hill Harper as Donald
-Richard Lawson as Frank
-Khalil Kain as Bill
-Omari Hardwick as Carl
-Macy Gray as Rose
.
AAAAAARRRRRRRRRGHHHHHHH (ok pardon my scream)
that scream of for the fact that My American Hollywood Boo MICHAEL 'PRETTY RICKY" EALY (ohhh i love me some ricky is his damn foine ass green eyes, mmm mmm mmm - let me marinate in this whilst i wallow in my muna depression) is also in this movie. as well as Hill Harper and Khalil Kain, we aint had this many foine brothers in movie since "Takers" in August. I will not miss this movie for anything. Tyler i know i bombarded you with numerous letters asking you to use Michael in a movie but i was referring to a romantic lead role :lol: (gosh girl stop tripping - do you really think Tyler read ya letter :lol:)
.
After seeing this promo photos i am so wishing this movie at least gets an oscar nod. I am confident Tyler will tell the story well - EVERYBODY LETS GO SUPPORT HIM ON NOV 5th 2010 - I mean he does stand a great chance for Feb 2011 - in the black category i dont think he has much competition - but then again the masser always gives it to us every 2 - 3 yrs (:lol:) - after Precious we may have to wait - but maybe get a nod. I WISH TYLER WINS AN OSCAR FOR HIS MOVIE SO ALL THE ENEMIES GREEN WITH ENVY.
.
.

MEN IN LOVE (movie review)


.
Starring
Muna Obiekwe, John Dumelo, Tontoh Dikeh and others (when you are puttin in "others" category u should know u need to up ya game cos no one notices ya talent)
.
Producer:
Kingsley Okere
.
Director:
Moses Ebere
.
Storyline
The intricacies of marriage and the delicately torpid route is a must for every couple. Charles escapades have always been the ban in his marriage. His wife Whitney dearly loves her husband and would do all it takes to hold on to the pieces. Quarrels and reconciliation dictates the union on a daily basis. But for how much longer? What happens if the problems simply become intolerable and his flagrancy transcends beyond established norms?
.
Theme:
Marriage, Infidelity, Homosexuality,
.
My Review:
Honestly i dont have much to say about it - I did not like it and glad i did not buy it (i borrowed it), but in summary i would say the script was not that great, Muna still remains a great actor and JD is very good too, Tontoh still with her predictable gra-gra acting when she is emphasing a strong point with all the strong veins on her neck to stress that point. Seriously Tontoh u need to stop that - its become played out and too damn predictable of you. You dont need to growl like that when u want to get a point across. You got great potential but everytime I see you do that it takes some major points off of you. I have started forwarding such scenes, cos all i do is roll my eyes and say (just like i do when Mike or Desmond scream and shout to emphasise their point) ..."Blah blah blah - here we go again - what else is new"
.
And my award for the worst actress in this movie, would go to ........... (drum roll please).........."Ejinne" - she played one of Tontohs friend - gosh the way she spoke irritated the hell out of me when she spoke - cant act-cant speak without forcing some accent- its like she was trying to speak proper or something but it made her sound retarded. Why cant some of these force force acting newbies simply be themselves and act natural - speak your normal way - dont force it. I have marked her down cos she is going in the worst actress category in my 2010 end of year Miss Tilii awards with Biola and "the whole force force cant act coalition". Like the rest of em - she is an attractive young girl - I have to be constructive with my criticism so i advice girl to take some acting classes and be normal in her speaking and stop all that gragra annoying irritating speaking.
.
Other horrible acting also came from ALL of the guys who played Muna gay friends - oh my gash, to me their scenes were just horrendous AND hilarious. I cringed.
.
I noticed a bit of the scene was cut out/ommited either by the US distributors who redistributed the movie In the preview i think i saw Muna's Assets, but in the movie itself they did not show that - they showed he and JD getting it on, but they showed waist up. Thank God it was, cos that will definately not be appropriate - we got enough nonsense from my country ghana with showing everything, we dont need to continue that nasty trend. I dont want to see no hairy asses, however I would like to advocate and to see some SIX PACK - for once in african movies. I guess am thinking too loud - just give us one actor who cares and take care of his abs. Just one - we ladies are not asking for much - we have had enough of 2 litres & love handles - we want 6 Pack and we want it now (its got nothing to do with acting but its a great site and bonus if we are paying almost $7 to buy ya movies) - and Jim Iyke dont think you got it cos everytime i look at yours i think of "a bowl of oatmeal" (quaker oats to be precise).:lol: - oh c'mon Jim Ms Tiliis only joking. :lol:
.
My Rating:
4/10
(Now you know Ms Tilii does not review movies with this low rating (not worth my dime or time) but just for Muna I did review this (if you will call that lil short summary a review :lol:) - uma have to fly to Enugu and have a talk with my man - me and him r having issues - am so mad he accepted this role, yeah he is a great actor and want to show diversity in his skill set, but Muna c'mon - this is was not a good look. The only way he can win this battle is do one excellent romantic movie with a great director and maybe starring Genny or something, and then i will forgive him and all his bend down antics (oh lawd i just squirmed at the thought of that scene - i had to bury my face in my pillow).
.
And then to top it off my friend Nolly just told me my Muna has another upcoming movie of similar theme or some sort, wearing A GREEN "LEOPARD" THONG - am in tears as i type this. Muna if this is some type of popularity stunt you need to quit it cos you breaking my lil heart.
.
I guess i have to go watch movies such as "He Lives in Me" and "Warriors Heart" to erase the horrible mental f/up i just had after watching this movie.
.
In conclusion - is this movie worth buying - Hell to NO! - like i said - only buy movies i rate 8/10 and above.
.
.

Sunday, September 12, 2010

Upcoming Review This Week

Hi every one - happy sunday and blessed upcoming week.
.
Just to give you update - look out for the following reviews before the end of this week
-I SING OF A WELL
-MEN IN LOVE (thus far: chei Muna, am looking at you with a serious side eye right bout now - thank u for effing up all the dreams i had about US - acting or not - you effed up all my sweet dreams of all these years. Chimmmooooo this boy has broken my heart oooo - i need help - my dreams of your beautiful hands and tonsil tennis expertise. Hmmm - You will need to do another romantic movie with Genny for me to forget what mine eyes done seen today.
.
And to all the numerous emails i have been getting bout Nollywood Hustler - yeah i hear you all and i am not ignoring you, i just have not gotten the video yet, I keep calling my dealer in NYC and he still doesnt have it - he is very uptodate on the newest stuff and thus this surprises me - but i called other 'taj mahals / stash houses ' (:lol:) and they dont have it yet. So am still waiting - be patient with me - I will review it. Either way like i stated before - the rest of the year is going to have some excellent releases (almost all listed in blue on the right panel) so use your money wisely and save it for the great potential movies. Dont waste your money on crap - if its out and i have watched it and its great - i will review it (nothing passes me - I watch ALL releases) but if its out and i have not review it - like i said - consider it aint worth your dime. At least for Nollywood Hustler I am telling you i havent gotten my copy yet, and when i do - i will review it.
.
In some ways i kinda like how this whole thing was done in 2010 - the great producers sat back and waited for all the rubbish movies by the yeye producers/directors to be pushed out from beginning of the year to now and now they are slowly coming out with theirs.
.
I hope all these highly anticipated movies we are waiting for are great, cos if they are am buying one for me, one for a family member and one for a friend - just in time for christmas. My most highly anticipated out of all the movies i would say is BURSTING OUT - c'mon yall - with my Genny - anything is worth waiting.
.
Anyway have a nice week everybody.
.
.

Thursday, September 2, 2010

BENT ARROW (an upcoming movie)

Poster
(i will post it once i get it)
.
Storyline
Directed by Lancelot Oduwa Imasuen and produced by Isang Ubong-Awah ‘Bent Arrows’ storylines weave together to illuminate the human consequences of sexual abuse, betrayal, undue parental control and the male child syndrome on both the society, and specifically, on young girls.
.
Starring:
Joke Silva, Olu Jacobs, Stella Damasus, Omoni Oboli, etc
.
i will post further infor on this movie as i get it. Be patient with me.
.
I am very excited about it not just cos I love me some Governor (Lancelot) and with him directing there is hardly any dissapointment, I eagerly anticipate this cos the story line covers a lot and this is something I talked about to see in our movies.
.
.

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

What story lines would you love to see in African movies

I have always said that African movies always have followed the same story lines ROYALTY, CAMPUS STORIES, MARRIAGE – but none drives me to yank my hair out more than ROYAL Theme movies - I mean if told well I don’t mind and as you all know am a sucker for village theme movies and Tchidi Chikere always did a good job at that, back in the with his royal themes but now he branched somewhat to test other waters which is understandable).
.
I honestly cannot stand royal theme movies and story lines – I am BORED with it. I have been watching African movies for over ten years and I must say 50% of the movies that come out of Nollywood and Ghana are always Royal Theme, am sick and tired of it. It’s so played out like an “A” track.
.
You know one day my friend Nolly (who also has a movie review site like me) got very frustrated by the same ole same ole royal theme movies and critiqued one movie of such (and to me she was even nice – she wasn’t that harsh – Producer (whom I call MONEY MISS ROAD – ppl like this guy should not be behind a camera) called Ugezu J Ugezu got irritated my Nolly and all the other movie watchers critiquing him about his constant Royal Theme movies – his response was “HE WHO PLAYS THE PIPER CALLS THE TUNE and that no matter what we say he and the owners of all his many royal theme movies are SMILING TO THE BANK because the movies are selling regardless of what we say. I was shocked of his response – might as well said F You to all the audience who spend our hard earned money to buy movies. He might as well call us FOOLS to our face. Anyway let me not waste my precious time talking bout MONEY MISS ROAD Ugezu J Ugezu – but I guarantee you from here on I will NEVER advocate or promote his movies nor ask ANYONE TO SPEND A DIME TO BUY HIS MOVIES - they are not worth your money in my opinion. Watch it however you can but dont buy it - (after all without ppl like us - myself, nollywoodforever and the likes - shebi you break even still, abi???)– HE SAID HE DOESN’T CARE, WHAT YOU THINK ABOUT HIS THEMES, COS REGARDLESS YOU WILL BUY IT (I mean he might have well putting it in those words).
.
You know I wont even single him out cos many of the PRODUCERS in the industry have that same mentality and this is why we get bombarded with one crap movie after the next. But thank God for the various movie review blogs including mine truly like this – as long as continue blogging, I will keep alerting all my avid readers of WHICH CRAP to stay away from and WHICH to shell out money for. Some movies a not worth a dime – find some source of watching it but PLEASE DON’T BUY CRAP – have a library of quality movies worth re watching.
.
Back to the point, So in discussion am just curious to get some input from you all as to what type of movie themes you would love to see in African movies – Yes I do tell it like it is like my name said but I will also have some solutions and I open the forum for you all to discuss this topic. I would love to see stories that most dont like to tell, unspoken topics in our society, themes such as;
• I am a sucker for Romance and would love to see some nice romantic movie such as KEEPING FAITH, I loved that movie from way back when and cannot stop talking about it, I don’t think any romantic movie has beat that movie yet.

• I love Tchidi's back in the day village theme movies - he use to write so excellent back in the day and his movies really showcased the igbo culture which i learnt a lot from - I just wish he will bring back some of the old styles sometime. I miss that so much. Blood Sisters and all.
• Themes on sexual abuse and family incest(I think the movie Distance Between starring Rita Dominic, Mercy Johnson, Yemi Blaq and Kalu Ikweagwu did a great job at that)
• Female Circumcision
• Biographical and Historical Movies about many of a African Warriors (eg. Yaa Asantewaa, The Nigeria Biafra War etc etc – tell the story very well like King of Scotland about Idi Amin or like Blood Diamonds was told by Hollywood)
• Themes about Marriage topics such as when couple break-up how this affects the children or how infidelity from one party affects a family especially the children.
• I saw a documentary on YouTube on albinos
in Africa and how they are treated and would love to see movies where there is promotion of non discrimination of disabled or people who are different, that they are not being maltreated (I mean along storylines like a disable person rise up above negative sayers in the community and rises up to be someone great or maybe abandoned as a child because of their disability and yet some kind person adopts them raise them to be someone great – I just wish there were stories to uplift young children who are disabled
.
Yes my example has a lot of moral and social correct themes, but thats just my opinion so lets hear yours. Bottom line I would love to see more African movies with morals to the story – that promotes everyone loving each other more no matter their circumstance, like with Tyler Perry Movies you know you will learn a lesson about FORGIVESS, LOVE etc.
.
I am not saying we should simply focus on the few I have suggested above, this is just my personal opinion and I want to ask you the audience what are some of the best movies you have ever seen (Hollywood, Nollywood, Bollywood or wherever) – what makes it your best or favorite movie, what lesson did you learn from the movie and finally what would you suggest African movie industry tell you or the world who are slowly getting into our movies. I am only wishing instead of 20 odd royal theme movies per year, we narrow it down a notch, Yes we get it – the audience you are trying to target abroad, love COMING TO AMERICA, but please this nonsense is played out – go behind the drawing board and be creative (JUST THIS ONCE).
.
IN conclusion let me just state that not all African movie directors are doing a bad job, the few who are doing bad know themselves cos clearly they are in for the money and nothing else, they don’t care of what you like or don’t like, so we can blow are vuvuzela all we want – its going on deaf years.
.
If you read my blog you will notice whom I consider great and whom I consider not so great in movie producing, directing or acting. We will continue to uplift the names of doing a great job by telling great stories and giving us our monies worth.
.

YES I 've Watched it All, But its Not Worth Your Dime, Pennie, Pesewa or Your Kobo

Yes, as i mentioned on this blog before, Yes I do watch every single (99.9%) movie that is released on the USA market (and as you all know the movies are redistributed and released here first before anywhere else - with the exception of a few producers who choose not to go that route) - I repeat I watch every single movie - so nothing passes me- (sometimes i get to see it at least a week before it even hit shelves - :wink: :wink:).
.
The only movies i havent seen or watched yet, i have stated in blue font on the right panel and eagerly anticipating them just as much as you are. Anything i have not reviewed, honestly is NOT WORTH YOUR DIME (but please you dont have to take my word for it - this is just MY opinion). You may find it somewhere and watch it but i "advice" you NOT TO BUY IT - save your money for the better movies coming out before the end of the year.
.
So to all the email request asking me to review certain movie titles -yes i have watched it all - painfully i sat through them to make my final judgement, and I love you guys and appreciate you but I am very sorry to say, i can not honour that request. Like i mentioned on this forum before, this blogging, its a hobby i do on a part time basis in the evenings after work, sometimes in the wee hours of the morning when all oyall are asleep, I stay up and squeeze in an hour or so to update if i can, so am sorrry to say I refuse to review junk movies not worth purchasing - i will be doing you injustice. :lol:
.
Dont be deceived by some preview or some glossy hyped movie jacket, am sure they have gotten u many times and even you yourself have known - it was all a hype - so then why do you still keeping shelling out money to buy or torturing your eyes to watch these movies when we already did the torturing for you - watched it and telling you its not worht it. I have been watching movies so long - i can detect not just by the movie jacket and the cast or director that its going to be absolutely rubbish and a waste of time - but after watching the preview - it sums it up pretty well - i got so many pointers of detecting rubbish maybe i should come out with a 101 book to help the new comers to watching african movies (check out my thread of detecting rubbish - its called Crap Alert.
.
And a note to the email i got a few weeks ago and to answer your question - NO i do not like to watch african movies shot in USA with the USA cast. I tried once maybe twice and then i said NO MORE!!!- not all of them are bad but especially the ones usually shot from the tri state area (VA, MD, DC, TX etc u know the kind i mean) with the bombardment of mediocre actresses with lacefronts wigs and blue contacts who think they can blindside me with their pretty faces and fake american accents or i will not be fooled just cos its starring ONE GOOD NOLLYWOOD ACTOR - ONE GOOD ACTOR/TRESSES CAN NOT SAVE A BAD MOVIE full of mediocre actors/tresses- The acting is just preposterous and always so rehearsed and the storylines are poor. The one potentially good one shot in USA with great cast, I am looking forward to watching is ANCHOR BABY with Omoni Oboli and my ghanaian bro man Sam Sarpong - seems like a story line with substance and ofcourse we waiting for IJE with my Genny ofcourse. So with african movies shot here in USA, unless the casting is completely top notch and i know of the director/producer's great resume of work, I would like to stick my true african movies shot in AFRICA - i like that type of familiarity. As we are all abroad to milk knowledge/education to go back home, from time to time, we like to escape from all the wahala and stress and we do this by watching true african movies shot in africa with african accents and all - so lets leave all the hollywood gra gra from the movies shot here and all force force acting on the bench - chei - na wa ohhh). So in answer to your question - those movies never impress me much but to each his own, am sure some might disagree.
.
And YES Miss Tilii reads the book by its cover when it comes to african movies and "almost" always am right. Its like second nature - but you become this vigilant and weary as I am, after many years of being duped and throwing away money - up until 4 yrs ago. I have boxes of junk (VHS, VCDs and all) in my storage and every time i see the wasted money i my heart sinks. Just money down the drain. I guess i will keep em to tell a story of how stupid i was once.
.
My policy on this blog has always been (please read my right panel) - i stick to my guns and never known to ever conform, "I only review movies i deem great and worth the purchase". If in a whole year all we get is 1 great movie then i will review that 1 great movie and nothing else.To each his own. I do plan on having a section in my upcoming website before the end of the year where avid visitors and readers to this blog/website can contribute them selves and review movies i have chosen not to review if they choose to - one mans meat is another mans poison abi? .
.
Like i mentioned previously be VERY EXCITED for the final quarter of the year, all the long awaited movies as i have stated in the right panel in blue font are all being released in the next few months before christmas (from my understanding). Nollywood Hustlers is already out - i will review it in the next few days after i get receive my package, watch it and make my final judgements.
.
.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...