Saturday, July 31, 2010

THE MIRROR BOY (Upcoming Movie with Genny)

This is one of the many upcoming movies with Genny. Look out for this. Will post further information as i get it. This movie is a collaboration with Naija and Gambia thus you will see a host of new cast names you may not be familiar with.
.

.
Produced by OH Films in association with The Nollywood Film Factory
.
Starring: Genevieve Nnaji, Osita Iheme, Edward Kaguzuti, Fatime Jabbe with Victor Carvahlo, John Charles Njie, Momodu Musa Cisse and Felix Cisse
.
Film Credits
Writer/Director: Obi Emelyone
Producer: Patrick Campbell
D.O.P: Clive Norman
Film Editor: Andrew Webber
Graphics: Daniel Tah
Sound Designer: Luke Corradine
Production Manager: Amma Aning
Line Prducer: Gordon Irole
Assocoiate Producer: Fatime Jabbe
Make Up & Hair: Gabriel Okorie
D.O.P Assist: Chukwudozie E. Manuel
Co-Executive Producers: Akin Salami & Patrick Campbell

.

Breath Of Love

i was going to review this new movie but i change my mind. I mistakenly bought it, just cos one of my favourite actors (Ramsey Nouah ) is in it, but one actress CHIKA IKE - spoiled it for me. The movie was just ok.
.
Chika Ike i am so tired of watching your movies - like seriously. I mean i try and avoid your movie at all cost but i got this movie cos of Ramsey and now i regret it. The one question i have for you (and you can take it or leave it) - WHY DO YOU ALWAYS HAVE PREDICTABLE ONE WAY FACIAL EXPRESSIONS IN EVERY MOVIE YOU DO - I get exhausted watching your movies and thats why i avoid your movies. Your facial expressions never change (same observation with ghana actress Kalsum Sinare), always predictable - Please do us a favor watch your movies - maybe watch it on MUTE and watch your facial expression in all the scenes from beginning to end - kinda like a frustruation look. I can watch my favourite other actresses on MUTE if i wanted to, and still understand the storyline. Your facial expression frustruate me so much, i start making faces like u do and someone walks in on me watching the movie and "Whats wrong" - so i avoid ya movies at all cost - My Ultimate Drive by
.
.
SAY SOMETHING NICE CHALLENGE:
Yes you are a beautiful girl Chika- that i give to you i seen nice smily photos of you before (USE IT MORE OFTEN) - but seriously you dont have to make your facial gestures the same in every scene - whethere you are happy, sad, surprised, tired, etc etc - its getting so tired, so just retire it.
.
Thank You.
.
(this is the first time in a long time, i got duped - Ramsey its all becos of you i bought this movie)
.

Ms Tilii's Month End Freaknic

From now on, on the last saturday of every month i will share my favourite african songs and/or music videos from all over africa as a celebration for month end. It will be called Miss Tilii's Month End Freaknic, for my blog guest to enjoy it for the weekend.
.
Nana Boroo - Ahayede (GHANA)- to the non ghanaians ahayede means there is no "place" sweeter - this song is on rotation on all radio stations and every club in ghana and think it will continue to be a hit all through christmas.
.
.
P Square - E No Easy (NIGERIA) - i first saw this song in the movie STOLEN WILL during the party scene. I looooooooooooooooooove Psquare - always have. This is a real party song.

.
This is to say happy weekend to you all - have a blessed upcoming week.
.
.

Thursday, July 29, 2010

INHALE (Upcoming Movie by Jeta Amata)

Jeta Amata another great favourite director of mine (directed movies like Amazing Grace) - Here is his new upcoming movie "Inhale" - more details later.
.
Trailer:





.
Starring
-Caroline Chikezie
-Ini Edo
-Hakeem Kai Kazeem
-etc
.
Storyline:
Inale is the beautiful daughter of the great King Oche, of the Idoma people in Idomaland, Nigeria. Her beloved Odeh must win the wrestling tournament to win her hand in marriage. The village gathers for the ceremony only to find a stranger in their midst, that challenges not only the tradition of the village but the strength of Odeh and Inale's true love.
.
.

RECOGNISING OTHER AFRICAN MOVIE INDUSTRIES

If you read this blog quite often, you will notice that i have mentioned in the past i am not just addicted to ghanaian or nigerian movies BUT ADDICTED TO MOVIES PERIOD - movies from all over africa, hollywood, black hollywood etc - movies that dont get recognised as much across the world like HOLLYWOOD does.
.
In Africa my favourite are all the great movies from the ANGLOFONE countries (Ghana, Nigeria etc) and ofcourse I absolutely love the story lines to many of the FRANCOPHONE movies too (so far as its subtitled and i can understand it) - i have watched a lot of francophone movies in my day. If you enjoy movies like I do I suggest you dont simply wait for just Nollywood or Ghanaian movies (ps: as u can see its still hard for me to say the name GHOLLYwood :lol: its so funny).
.
And please dont ever sleep on yoruba movies, cos you will be making a big mistake - I am ghanaian and i dont speak or understand much of any language apart from English and the three ghanaian languages i speak, so if i can watch and enjoy subtitled Yoruba, Igbo, Efik, Edo, Francophone etc movies then so can you. Seriously try it and see - you will really enjoy some of these story lines. And for Yoruba i have noticed i am not even paying attention to the subtitles anymore cos they intertwine english so much to the yoruba - you will surely figure out what they are saying. Anything with Funke Akindele i make sure i watch if it is subtitled. I have watched a lot of yoruba movies.
.
I am so glad that other anglophone countries such as Kenya, Sierra Leone etc our entering the market - it gives Ghana and Nigeria More competition and not to slack as much with the quality of scripts, direction etc. I personally feel the more the merrier. Bring it on. May no one pride themselves of being superior or first in the game above anyone, lets support all the other african countries and help them come up. There is room for everybody - may the best win and keep standing (the last may be the first in the long run - no one knows tomorrow).
.
Check out these trailers of movies from other parts of Africa - I havent seen them yet but to me the trailer seems good and I will search hi and lo for it, watch it and review it like i do the rest. If it is good - ofcourse I will market for free. My goal is to get all good african directors recognised by the masses, because they dont have a voice enough nor get recognised enough and i dont feel its fair.
.
Our storylines are sometimes better than Hollywood..
.
SOUTH AFRICAN MOVIE - " WHITE WEDDING"
.
KENYAN MOVIE: "MAROONED"
.
XXXXXXX
.
XXXXXXXXX
.
XXXXXXXXXXX
.
LOOK FOR THESE MOVIES BUY IT AND SUPPORT THEM.
.
.

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

THE FAKE PROPHET and HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE (Upcoming Teco Benson Movies)

Teco is one of my favourite director/producers and THE FAKE PROPHET is his most recent work to look out for. It is being premiered in AFRICA, UK, and USA so stayed tuned and lets support his effort. I love such unique story lines that no one likes to tell. Kudos Mr Benson - we look forward to watching this movie.
.
Producer/Director:
Teco Benson
.
Starring:
-Grace Armah played as
-Charles Okafor played as Pastor (one of my ever so favourite actors starred in Prophecy)
-
-
.
Storyline:
The Fake Prophet' is a Nollywood film that has been produced as an advocacy tool by the UK based child rights charity, Stepping Stones Nigeria, producers of the Channel4 dispatches documentary 'Saving Africa's Witch Children'. 'The Fake Prophet' follows two parallel stories. One follows a young girl who has been branded a witch, and the other tells of a fraudulent Pastor who claims to have power bestowed by God to identify and exorcise witchcraft. The film illuminates the harsh reality faced by children stigmatized as witches, while also exposing the truth behind those who make money by claiming to be prophets, able to seek out and exorcise child witches (as prevalent in nigerian state Akwa Ibom - if you dont know and never heard of whats going on - u are way behind, catch up maybe on bbc or youtube clip i have posted below the trailer)
.
Trailer to FAKE PROPHET:
.

BBC DOCUMENTARY ON AFRICAN CHILD WITCHUNT

Its not just an Akwa Ibom thing - this b.s is in Congo Too.

.

.
SUPPORT THE CAUSE TO STOP THIS NONSENSE THEY ARE DOING TO THESE KIDS.

.

The other upcoming movie by Teco is "HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE" starring Kanayo Kanayo, Clarion Chukwura, Lillian Bach, Yemi Blaq".

.

TRAILER TO "HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE" (according to Teco this is already on the mkt so i suggest you ask ya dealer for it )

.

Enjoy and Support. Thanks!

.

Today We Salute You .....

I will take it upon my myself to continue to rave and stomp my feet loud to the FEW directors and producers doing great work in the african movie industry. Their work will never go unnoticed at least not on this blog so as from today (and also when i transition to my new website which is still in the works) -there willl be a section titled

.

WE SALUTE YOU.

.

I have commended a few directors/producers in the past. Today i am saluting one whom i have never mentioned and probably turned a blind sight to unintentionally. Mr Izu's direction of work, which i have loved much to date, i will say is 2008s movie titled: "DISTANCE BETWEEN" starring our very own Rita Dominic, Mercy Johnson, Yemi Blaq and Kalu Ikeagwu. Excellent directed movie which touches on so many subjects including incest, rape, promiscuity etc. If you dont have this movie run (dont walk) and go grab it.

.

"MR IZU OJUKWU"

TODAY WE SALUTE YOU

.

Izu Ojukwu is arguably the youngest director in the Nigeria Movie industry who has garnered much respect for himself so much that the mere mentioning of his name makes practitioners shudder. This respect had come through the difference in his works. Since 1991 when he entered the industry straight from High School, Izu has done less than twelve movies basically because he has used those long years to better equip himself in terms of training not from the classroom but practically (bio source: allafrica).

.

Mr Ojukwu hand of work have included

-DISTANCE BETWEEN

-SITANDA

-SHUT IN

-CINDYS NOTES

-WHITE WATERS

-ACROSS THE NIGER

-NNENDA

-CHILD

-LAVIVA

.

I have seen "Distance Between", "Sitanda" and "Shut In" and truly enjoyed it all and still waiting to see the rest of titles as in blue I havent seen yet. I eargely wait for Cindys Notes especially - the reviews are so excellent - if anyone can help me get a hold of this movie here in US please let me know, I will pay for it. Here some of the trailers i could get for 'some' of his directed movies

.















.




.

Mr Ojukwu, l know like many directors in the african movie industry, funding and financial support is a huge challenge for you. I say May God continue to bless you to get all the funding you need to continue to tell the great stories yet untold in the african movie industry - I like the story lines you like to touch on o that most people in our industry wont - movies that gets us out our comfort zones as you did with "Shut In" (the only point loss was the sound score was kinda irritating). May our governments notice all the jobs these movies create and support great directors/producers such as MR. IKE IZU OJUKWU worthy of support for the good work they put out. Izu i see you shooting in a fully funded 35 MM (most dominate film guage for image origination) very soon (the same support and wishes goes to my other favourite producers and directors as i mentioned: http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2010/07/miss-tiliis-it-list-of-great.html )

.

Once again We Salute You.

.

I have said it before I will continue to market G-R-E-A-T african movies by great directors for FREE - its my passion and I will continue to do that if thats all i have to do to help.

.

.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Sinking Sand (Upcoming Movie)

Sinking Sands, low res. teaser from filmmaker on Vimeo.


.
Starring
-Jimmy Jean Louis
-Ama K Abebrese (congrats Ama for your very first movie)
-Chris Attoh
-Yemi Blaq

-Akosua Agyepong

-Doris Sackitey
.

Storyline
Tells the story of a couple, Jimah and Pabi, in a loving marriage which turns into one of violence and abuse when Jimah becomes disfigured in a domestic accident.

.

Produced By:

Tonita Perry

.

Movie Premiere

Location: Accra International Conference Center

Date: Friday Nov 19 2010

.

The most memorable Domestic abuse theme movie I watched way back when and enjoyed was by one and only Emem Isong's "EMOTIONAL CRACK " starring Ramsey Nouah, Stephanie Okereke, Dakore Egbuson and Patience Ozorkwor. Very nice movie - sure keeper. Ask ya dealer for it.

.

Monday, July 26, 2010

A Dose of Foiness -Genevieve Nnaji Ofcourse!

Well Good Monday Morning Everybody. I woke up and found this in my inbox and thought i'd share. Its none other but MY ONE AND ONLY GENNY (i love her so much). As you well know by now since its all over the internet she got this great endorsement from Mud Cosmetics. You can read all about Mud here.
.
http://www.mudblog.net/blog/mud-nigeria-genevieve-nnaji/
.
She was patient for the right endorsement and the right one came through. So proud of her. May she be exposed more internationally as ever before and may she get bigger endorsements, I am thinking MAC Africa or Loreal Africa maybe.
.
Very Gorgeous Pictures - Do da damn thang Genny. We love you.
.




.
Youtube Clip
.

.
To learn more about Genevieve, please visit her Ning page: http://genevievennajifanbook.ning.com , or follow her on Twitter: http://twitter.com/GenevieveNnaji1

.

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Miss Tilii's Website In the Works

I am in process of turning this blog into a real website. I think i have out done the blog thing (Nov 2010 will be this blog's 2nd Birthday) and now want to upgrade a notch to a website platform. I been crawling now i need to stand up. I am extremely busy right now but look out for a launch of my NEW website before the end of the year. Its going to be a lot more user friendly and a lot more interesting topics much more than just MOVIE REVIEWS focusing on GREAT MOVIES ONLY. Its going to be fun.
.
As u all know I am currently in collabo with my websista Nollywood Uncut and also in talks to collab with another new interesting review related website in the works, so rest assured u will see me around. The more the merrier, You guys will have more choices of webs to browse.
.
If i continue to see the amount of traffic i see here lately i may have to do this part time instead of letting it be just a hobby i do late at night when i have "spare time" - just so i can dedicate more time to this.
.
If there is anything u would like to see on my upcoming web - let me know your suggestions.
.
MORE UPDATE LATER

Friday, July 23, 2010

Fun Discussion on African Movies

To while away our time (as we still wait on great movies this 2010) we are going to have some fun discussions. I own this blog and I am bored out of my wits, and so i can imagine yall are bored beyond description - but its not my fault sha. Shebi the good producers have sat on their work and are all waiting on who is going to release theirs first, as we all sit and wait patiently and suffer from boredom.
.
I wish there were great movies out for me to review but unfortunately there isnt thus far. This year has been slow. Is not like the movie is not complete, I know of at least 10 movies complete which i know will be great releases, some were finished as far back as 2009 several of them starring Genny (and you know how i love my Genny) but the producers for one reason or the other are not releasing them - for own personal reasons.
.
The topics are as follows - You are welcome to contribute - and please "This is All in Fun" - nothing personal. I will come back to add more later. Enjoy
.
Discussion 1: Popular Phrases from African Movies
  1. TUFIAKWA (God Forbid) (honestly the igbos need 2 trademark this word for real - you'll be amazed how many ppl use this word)
  2. Chinekeeehhhhhhhhhhhhh Mehhhhhhhhhhh (Patience Ozorkwor)
  3. This girl has finished me today, chei, chim chim chim chimoooooooooooooooo, Heyu
  4. Abi ohhhhhhh
  5. Kwa???
  6. Abeg go Jooooooh
  7. Ah Ah
  8. Na wah for you oohhhh
  9. Eiwooooooooooooo (Patience Ozorkwor)
  10. Gini
  11. Chei
  12. Nna-ayi.....
  13. Mmazi ......
  14. Igwe
  15. Lolo
  16. Can u imagine???
  17. Please my son, I want to carry my grandchildren before I die!
  18. ?????? or whatever you call your self
  19. Idiot!!!!
  20. Gerra Out of Here
  21. Arant Nonsense
  22. Nicompoop
  23. Didnt i warn you
  24. Will you shut up that your dirty mouth before i shut it for you
  25. Shut up that your dirty mouf (patience Ozorkwor)
  26. Nooooooonsense!!
  27. Anoufia
  28. I will show you this is Lagos
  29. I will show you my name is ......
  30. WHEN ARE YOU GETTING MARRIED
  31. Before i count to 3 and open my eyes
  32. If i hear "FIM" from that your mouth, I will twist it behind your back
  33. If you dont want me to re arrange that your face for you (Desmond Elliot)
  34. Can u imagine, A whole me??
  35. Do you know who you are talking to
  36. We shall see
  37. You think you can reap where you did not sow?
  38. Every day running ya mouf "Pio Pio Pio.........." like a typewriter (Ini Edo and Patience say this alot)
  39. See me see trouble ooohhhh
  40. OSHO FREEE - FOSA!!!!!! (Rita Dominic said it and it stuck in my mind ever since :lol:)
  41. Hia (Gennys favourite sigh - which has become mine too)
  42. Check me and balance me well - (Mercy Johnson as the twirls her body)
  43. For crying out loud - Genny favourite phrase
  44. Do you understand ??- Gennys favourite
  45. I am in love with another - Gennys other fav saying
  46. How could youuuuuu?? - Gennys other fav saying
  47. You Slapped Me?
  48. I dont understand (i think this is one of the dumbest repititious phrase in all movies)
  49. What is the meaning of this.......????
  50. Chief
  51. I am waiting for my container
  52. My container has been seized
  53. I am going to Abuja for a meeting
  54. You are not getting any younger
  55. There is nothing new under the sun
  56. There is fire on the mountain
  57. When One calls out a persons name called three times and then ask them how many times they called them (eg Emeka!, Emeka!, Emeka!.then the person will ask again "How many times did i call you?.)
  58. Do You Understand? (Ini's Favourite question)
  59. Ehhhhhhh????????? So you want to beat me eh?? okay go ahead beat me, BEAT ME NOW, NONSENSE!!!!!! (Rita Dominic saying this whilst her petite self pushing her head towards the man chest).
  60. I swear to God if you touch me, you will regret it for the rest of your life - Rita's favourite saying.
  61. Eyaaaaaaa , Sorry Ohh(showing sign of pity)
  62. You Nko (usually said a lot in college campus type movies)
  63. I'll be back in a Jiffy (Ramsey's favourite saying - even if his character is a village boy :lol:)
  64. I swear to God (Ramsey's favourite saying)
  65. I am in love with you / I am falling in love with you (all naija actors favourite saying - i guess their definition of love is different from mine)
  66. Breda (as in Brother) - Nkiru's Sylvanus favourite saying
  67. Leave me alone oo
  68. I dont blame you
  69. It is a lie
  70. Init (Ramsey Nouah's favourite as well as Tontoh Dikeh's)
  71. You berra........ (as in you better)
  72. Why are you doing this to me?
  73. Youre my only son dont do this to me
  74. Ini Edo likes to say "JeeesOs" whenever she is angry or surprised.
  75. I cant write this cos its a thing that actor Olu Jacob always does "kinda like an animal growl"
  76. That Tongue clicking thing Ini Edo does with her tongue (Patience Ozorkwor does it too)
  77. What happened??
  78. Whoever sent you tell them u didnt not see me (Patience Ozorkwor
  79. Nnaga nu....... (Wish i understood what this meant.I know its an igbo insult work Patience uses a lot)
  80. God will PONISH YOU
.
Discussion 3: Scenes I usually fast forward
  1. Court Scenes
  2. Juju mans Scene
  3. Police Station Scene
  4. Mercy Johnson Crying Scene
  5. Screaming Shouting Scenes of Desmond Elliot or Mike Ezeruounye when they are trying to emphasise a point strongly.
  6. ANY SCENE with my WORST ACTORS/ACTRESSES (they know who they are) - if i dont forward i SIMPLY MUTE or if i want to sleep on a sunday afternoon after church i put them on cos they are like HUMAN SLEEPING PILLS FOR ME. (van, jackie appiah crying, kalsum sinari, ali nuhu, rukky sanda, etc etc - oh i got too many to name - A LOT to name)
  7. Chioma Chukwuka in a love scene - boring as hell. Peck Peck Peck. OmoT use to be like that until she loosed up with Van in "My Story" - I am a sucker for romance, BUT I dont like excessive profanity (as prevalent in many Ghanaian movies) BUT at least in a kissing scene make it believable - if not dont bother playing the scene. All that peck nonsense if you are married, stay married and stay off our screens.We want believable acting.
  8. Shopping in the supermarket
  9. Lovers holding hands strolling hand in hand eating icecream and prophesying Shakespearan love for each other.
.
Discussion 3: Scenes I usually rewind or rewatch
  1. Any thing with Genny almost always i rewind or rewatch over and over. Cant get enough
  2. Any kissing scene with Genny & Muna Obiekwe, or Genny & Majid or Genny & Yemi Blaq
  3. Any Nkem Owoh (Osuofia) funny scenes
  4. Yul Edochie trying to do his yahooze dance moves - I love to watch him trying to dance. He is cute as a button.
  5. Yemi Blaq or Yul Edochie prophesying love to some chic - Damn! the voices sends chill down my spine, mmmm mmm mmm am like "Ohhhhhh wweeeeee" - these two dudes baritone voices make me feel so damn ticklish. :lol: (U so silly Ms Tilii - I know i am)
.
Discussion 4: Most Ridiculous African Movie Titles (oh my gash i will be here all day on this topic here)
.
  1. Husband My Foot
  2. Any movie with the word BABES sounds silly
  3. ?
  4. ?
  5. ?
  6. ?
.
.
MY PEOPLE, THIS IS ALL IN FUN, SO DONT HESITATE TO COMMENT AND CONTRIBUTE. ALSO IF THERE ARE ANY OTHER "FUN TOPICS" ABOUT NOLLYWOOD MOVIES YOU WOULD LIKE US TO DISCUSS or OBSERVATION- PLEASE LET ME KNOW
.
.

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Ghanaian Local Movies (Twi Movies)

I never reviewed much of Ghanaian Local Movies because I know the majority of folks who traffic my blog are more interested in the English movies. However this is just a brief announcement to those who do watch local Ghanaian Movies to look out for some great titles out there (all i have listed is worth the buy i promise) - I hardly watch them cos in the past the script and acting hasnt been that impressive but i must admit lately i have watched several and they are very very nice. The Titles are as follows:
.
-ABRO KYIRE BAYIE (translation 'Witchcraft Abroad')- excellent movie - loved it from start to finish
.
-ABRO KYIRE ABRABO (translation 'Life Abroad')
.
-AKYA KOO AWARE BRONI (translation Agya Koo is married to a white woman)
.
-ANI DA SUO ASA (translation Hope is Gone)
.
-MAKOSEM (? i cant translate this- my twi is not that good)
.
-ME WUO AKYI (translation 'After my death')
.
-KAYA YOO (translation: referred to those who carry goods for customers in the market) - i love the mansion in this movie
.
-ABROKYIRE BURGER (translation: uhmmm I cant translate this)
.
-MI DIE NI WUA (translation:I am your one and only)
.
-NATASHA
.
-ME WUO AKYI (translation: After my death) - U have to check Agya Koo Michael Jackson moves in part 3 & 4 of this movie
.
-?
(I will add more later.)
.
The movies I have bolded in green where shot in London-UK, and I must say i truly enjoyed it. No pretenses - the Kumasianos are killing it :lol: - am truly enjoying their movies lately - much more than i had in the past. Agya Koo will have you rolling all over your living room floor - u need to see "Me Wuo Akyi" - where he was doing his Michael Jackson moves with pink gloves. I had rib stiffness from laughing so damn hard - hear me when i say i was on the floor rolling in laughter. He is hilarious beyond description. And on top of that he had the nerve to say "he was on his way to Michael Jackson funeral" (i guess this movie was shot around when MJ was being laid to rest in LA. :lol:
.
(am sorry - for those who who dont speak/understand the twi language and want to know if it is subtitled - i forgot - let me check and get back to you - i was so engrossed in it- its my first language so i didnt pay much attention.)
.
I truly enjoyed all the above movies. I guess our african industry do better in are local dialect movies cos they are no pretenses (the acting is way better and believable - scripts are better too) - the same way Yoruba movies 'sometimes' have better scripts than English Movies in Nollywood.
.
.

Monday, July 19, 2010

June/Jul 2010-'Tis the Season for Crap Movie Bombardment

I have never see so many crap movies all released in one month like June and July 2010. There are many releases out there - i have watched them all and most of them seem crap - to me at least or simply average not worth purchasing.
.
I am begging you - dont be fooled by the cast on the cover and rush to go buy these movies. You are wasting your money. By now we should know - the recession clearly has hit everywhere - good actors/tresses are saying yes to any crap script so far as THE MONEY IS GOOD :lol: - "Just SHOW ME THE MONEY - am straight:lol: (dont mind miss tilii - am just teasing :lol: u know how i do).
.
Like i have said on numerous occasions seldom do new movie releases pass me by. I make sure I watch them ALL, so if i dont review it - consider it crap (at least in Miss Tilii books - but to each his own - YOU MAY LOVE IT :lol:). You can WASTE your money at your own discretion but dont say I did not warn you.
.
But in conclusion i will have to say I am truly getting disappointed in the slow release from our favourite producers and the numerous outstanding movies we have been waiting patiently for. I mean when exactly are you guys planning on finally releasing these movies - cmon mehn dont do this to us - u are killing us - you dont even know what we are having to endure????. I think am going to have to fall back on my subtitled Yoruba and Francophone movies to make up for lost time.
.
I have never starved as much like this year before. :lol: - this is July for crying out loud (as Genny will say) - 5 months to the end of the year and you still going to leave as hanging like this. C'mon yall dont do this to us.
.

Sunday, July 18, 2010

AUDIENCE OF AFRICAN MOVIES WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE OF.....

I would like to see a lil bit more of
-Promotion of Wearing of Seat Belt when one sits in a car
.
-Promotion of Save sex which means showing characters using condoms before they proceed to such scene
.
-Less smoking when protraying a thug, a prostitute or someone evil - the smoking doesnt faze me to make me think they are bad like "Ooohhh am scurreedddd" (as in scared)
.
-use real flowers instead of plastic flowers and dont insult the audience by having the audacity to let the character smell it like they are telling us its real rose - yeah right.
.
-No more drinking of Orange Juice in Wine Glasses
.
-If you are protraying a rich home, i'd like to see kitchenware in the kitchen scenes to reflect that such as nice pots, pans, plates, cutlery, glasses etc
.
- NO MORE RICE FOR EVERY FOOD EATING SCENE (aba!! we are tired of rice) - africa has a lot more choice of food than rice - are u ashamed of our food our something.?
.
Yes i understand our industry have limited funding for making movies but none of the things i mention above are capital intensive. These are simple things to make the movie realistic.
.
I have a lot more to add to the above list but i will come back later to add them.
.
9 out of 10 a lot of movies (not necessarily all) i watch there is no moral to the story. I would love to see more movies with morals to the story. I always use Tyler Perry movies as example - there is always a message at the end of the story such as FORGIVENESS, PATIENCE, FAITH etc etc etc. What are the lessons to be learnt at the end of the movie.
.
AFRICAN MOVIE INDUSTRY - GET IT TOGETHER.
.
Your suggestions are welcome - clearly those producers producing all these nonsensical movies with overly sex scenes have lost their mojos (that is even if they had a mojo to begin with) - they dont know what story to tell anymore, but i am confident - africa has a lot more story to tell.
.
So give suggestions of movie themes and stories you would like to see - clearly SOME of these producers need help with creativity and since we the audience are the ones who will end up watching them - maybe we can help them out.
.
90% of Nollywood movies has to do with marriage this or that. Marriage themes is becoming tired - lets move on - and so is the Royal Theme movies as i have mentioned here before. There are some very important themes in africa that has not been touched on.
.
I for one suggested a while back stories along lines stories we read from pacesetters. http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2010/04/pacesetter-novels-reminiscing-bout-good.html
.
Also there are many biopic movies all over africa we can tell. Maybe you might say your lil budget cannot tell such a story, but just show interest and we will drum it and campaign for you to get the funding if thats what we can do to help. Lets not wait for hollywood to come to africa to come tell our out stories as they did with King of Scotland or Blood Diamonds and get Oscars for it.
.
To the few producers who are making the effort to widen their horizons and telling different story lines, we say thank you. We know who you are and we recognize your efforts. Though the movies are not coming straight to video like we anticipate, because you want to launch it on a big level to break even, we understand. IF the movie is great, we will support you all we can. May God provide and bless you with all the funding you need to do the best movie you can make.
.
WHILST WE ARE ON SUBJECT LET ME SAY MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE AFRICAN MOVIES ARE ALWAYS THE VILLAGE THEME MOVIES AND I WANT TO SAY "TCHIDI CHIKERE I MISS YOU A LOT - I MISS YOUR BACK IN THE DAY VILLAGE THEME MOVIES" - I HAVENT SEEN YOUR WORK MUCH OF 2010, I CAN ONLY IMAGINE YOU HAVE SOME GREAT THINGS IN STORE FOR US, AND PLEASE DONT GEAR AWAY TOO MUCH FROM VILLAGE THEME MOVIES - NO ONE DOES IT BETTER THAN YOU. I MISS YOU MEHN!
.
What exactly is going on in the industry this 2010 - something fishy. What is all this Sun Tzu Art of War techniques. Its becoming very transparent. Who is going to go first huh????? I see u.
.
.

Friday, July 16, 2010

ADVICE TO AFRICAN MOVIE MAKERS/DISTRIBUTORS

TO THE MOVIE MAKERS AND DISTRIBUTORS PLEASE YOU GUYS NEED TO CONSIDER YOUR DISTRIBUTION AVENUES COS THERE IS A STRONG DEMAND ALL OVER THE WORLD (APART FROM USA) AND YOU ARE NOT MEETING THEM -
.
I GET EMAILS FROM PAPUA NEW GUINEA, JAPAN, NEW ZEALAND AND ALL OVER THE CARRIBEAN WITH PPL ASKING ME WHERE TO GET THEIR MOVIES.
.
THERE ARE AFRICANS ALL OVER THE GLOBE AND WATCHING MOVIES HELP THEM TO ESCAPE SO PLEASE HELP MEET THIS STRONG DEMAND.
.
I AND MY FELLOW MOVIE REVIEW BLOGGERS CAN HELP ANY WAY WE CAN TO ADVERTISE WHERE PEOPLE CAN GET THEIR MOVIES ALL OVER THE WORLD - NOT JUST USA, UK OR CANADA.
.
I DO KNOW OF VARIOUS WEBSITES HERE IN USA WHERE AUDIENCE CAN MAKE PURCHASES BUT UNFORTUNATELY I CAN NOT TESTIFY TO THESE SITES OF HOW REPUTABLE THEY ARE BECAUSE I HAVE NEVER PURCHASED FROM THERE BEFORE.
.
I PERSONALLY GET MY STASH FROM DIRECT SOURCES OR MY LONG TIME DEALER WHO FEEDS MY HABIT.
.
.

Thursday, July 15, 2010

Most Eloquent/Articulate West African Actors and Actresses

You all know by now - i dont really care for those who force themselves to be in african english movies yet always struggling or forcing with the language - English is not our first language and thats totally understandable - but please if you can not make us understand what you are saying just reconsider this whole english movie acting thing - and please dont get it twisted i am not referring to anyone with some thick accent -
.
This has nothing to do with accent - Kate Henshaw has a thick accent and i understand her perfectly fine and actually love her that she doesnt pretend for anyone (as well as Nkem Owoh) - I am referring to those who downright can not speak the english language and got all their tenses/grammar all messed up most of the time - getting the audience confused on what they actually said. Its not by force to be in a english speaking movie.
.
FAKE ACCENT is like a definite no no in my books - You turn me right off - I will just shut them off and throw away the key. Most of the time i have seen if they are comfortable speaking - the acting comes natural to them - cos they are not concentrating on their speaking and wondering how they sound to themselves. They are just relaxed and let it flow.
.
IN no particular order - this is the list i came up with for Nollywood and Ghollywood MOST eloquent and articulate actors and actresses (focusing on EMG/english movies only). These are the ppl i consider natural and make the language flow naturally without making it seem so forced or needing any reason to take us thru roller coaster of fake American accent one minute, British Accent the other minute - no need for the rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr . "Init" - "You naaa mean"
  • Genevieve Nnaji
  • Rita Dominic
  • Bimbo Akintola
  • Fulola Aofiyebi????? (other actress from infamous and favourite movie "Keeping Faith" - all the cast of KF - were excellent - why u think it remains my #1 movie)
  • Yemi Blaq
  • Stella Aboderin
  • OmoT
  • Joke Silva and her husband Olu Jacobs
  • Dakore Egbuson
  • Kate Henshaw
  • Kalu Ikeagwu
  • Ramsey Nouah (occasionally when he puts away his BriMerican accent and lets his natural self flow -he is alright)
  • Stephanie Okereke (IF she doesnt fake her accent, and she is her natural self)
  • Jennifer Eliogwu
  • Muna Obiekwe
  • Mercy Johnson
  • Zach Orji
  • RMD
  • Sam Dede
  • Segun Arinze
  • Uche Osutule (i miss her - where is she, does anyone know)
  • Ebere Okaro
  • Desmond Elliot
  • Patience Ozorkwo
  • Nkem Owoh
  • Nse Ikpe Etim
  • Omoni Oboli
  • Uru Eke
  • Ufuoma Ejernorbor
  • Funke Akindele (yeah dont get it twisted this girl is more eloquent than u can ever imagine - u need to hear her in an interview)
  • Justus Esiri
  • Desmond Elliot (when he is himself and does not force to slang or scream)
  • Mike Ezerounye (when he is himself and does not force to slang or scream)
  • Jim Iyke (when he is himself and does not force to slang)
  • Pete Eneh
  • Pete Edochie
  • Yul Edochie (mm just love to hear his voice, so soothing - i can listen to him all day even if the movie is crap - I love his voice)
  • ??? (dude who played pastor in "Saving Sarah" has to be one of the most eloquent yet i hardly see him in movies)
Ghanaian Actors/Actresses
Not to be bias cos am Ghanaian but I will say most actors Shirley Frimpong Manso chooses to act in her movies are as eloquent as it comes. No pretense.
  • Most Shirley Frimpong Manso Movies (Adjetey Anang, Lydia Forson, Chris Attoh, Nana Kwame Osei Sarpong, Naa Ashorkor etc etc)
  • Akorfa Asiedu
  • Majid Michel
  • John Dumelo
  • Jackie Appiah
  • Nadia Buari (when she doesnt fake her accent she is ok - all the RRRRRRRR is not necessary - be yourself)
  • Yvonne Okoro
  • Yvonne Nelson
  • Luckie Lawson
  • Martha Ankomah
  • Kofi Adjorlolo
  • Rama Brew (THE BEST)
  • Brew Riverson Jnr
  • Sam Adjeteifio
  • Naana Hayford
  • Samuel Nii Odoi Mensah
  • Kweku Sintim Misah aka KSM (well ofcourse how can i forget him - the whole GHANA loves him)
  • Ecow Smith Asante
  • Jocelyn Dumas
  • Van Vicker
There is many more Ghanaian eloquent actors (just as much as there is in nollywood i presume - i use to watch this nigerian tv sitcom called "HERITAGE" starring Ramsey and they had the most eloquent cast - i loved that show) i simply mentioned the ones who were most known by the majority of us audience. AND NOT TO SAY EVERYBODY ELSE IS NOT ELOQUENT OR ARTICULATE - AM JUST PICKING AND CHOOSING "THE MOST ELOQUENT" IN MY BOOKS (emphasis on the bolded red - MOST)
.
FAKE ACCENTS OR TRYING TOO HARD TO SPEAK AN ACCENT THAT DOES NOT BELONG TO YOU IS MS TILII BIGGEST PET PEEVE. WHEN YOU ARE FAKING YOUR ACCENT, IT IS VERY EVIDENT TO US, AND MAKES YOU SOUND RETARDED, SO PLEASE DO US A FAVOUR, AND PLEASE BE YOURSELF COS YOU ARE NOT FOOLING ANYBODY, UNLESS SOME ILLITERATE. I WILL REPEAT, BE YOUR SELF AND SPEAK WITH YOUR OWN ACCENT COS WHEN YOU TRY TO FAKE IT , IT TELLS ME YOU HAVE VERY LOW SELF ESTEEM AND CONSCIOUS OF YOUR OWN ACCENT. VERY UNATTRACTIVE. YOU ARE NOT OYINBO AMERICAN AND YOU ARE NOT OYINBO BRITISH, YOU ARE SIMPLY AN AFRICAN WITH ENGLISH BEING YOUR 2ND LANGUAGE SO IT IS PERFECTLY FINE TO SPEAK WITH YOUR AFRICAN ACCENT. DON'T AIR OUT YOUR LOW SELF ESTEEM BY PUTTING ON A FAKE ACCENT.
.
Your suggestions are ever so welcome.
.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Upcoming Movies (3rd Qtr 2010)

Well by now you should all know am about fed up waiting for the numerous great anticipating movies such as Bursting Out, Memories of the Heart, Ije, Tango With Me, Private Storm etc etc - Its July 2010 for crying out loud, c'mon guys why are you taking so damn long to release these movies. Many of us are tired of waiting you know.
.
Anyway here are some trailers to some upcomings movies and all i can say to this one titled "Men in Love" (starring my one and only nollywood male crush MUNA OBIEKWE, Tontoh Dikeh and JD) " is Arrrghhhhh Chinekkkkeeee - Ohmygash. What is this? I guess naija jumped on the bandwagon of Ghana and their button pushing of scenes unappropriate for kids - what is going on lately with the african movie industry? I guess TIS THE SEASON FOR SWAPPING SPIT, ON-SCREEN BONING and then some.


.


What can i say - hmmmmmm. I am not going to lie, I will NEVER EVER pass up an opportunity to look at MUNA OBIEKWEs ass - r u kidding me. Because its Muna Obiekwe I will watch this movie and most definately you will be getting a review on this movie. (Tontoh - becareful sha - u take too much advantage on this your job)
.
Watch the Trailer and see for your self
(be warned - it is not kids appropriate and it doesnt seem like a movie you can watch at ease with the whole family - seems to me its adults only)
.


Ms Tilii does not encourage watching movies online for free (especially if its a movie I have recommended and suggested as a great buy - just support the movie makers and buy the movies.


.


The below movies i have posted - I have not watched them but simply posting the trailers i found from youtube. First of all these movies are not released yet. When they are released i will get them and watch it on dvd and give you update whether its worth it or not (most likely if its not i wont even mention it here cos its not worth my time - and trust me I WATCH EVERY MOVIE RELEASED ON THE MARKET, sometimes before it even hits the market based on my connnections) - I repeat becareful watching movies online for free - its not worth it and lately i hear many of these sites have deadly viruses you can never erase from your computer. So in conclusion - read the various movie review sites and if the movie is worth purchasing we would let you know..


.


And i say it once i say it twice, it breaks my heart so much when actors and actresses with such great potential - clearly say yes to any script that falls on their laps - not because they are looking for a challenge but me sitting in the audience chair looking in - tells me clearly they say yes to scripts "SIMPLY IF THE MONEY IS RIGHT" - it hurts me deeply - because you are being typecasted BY YOUR OWN FAULT and you are building a resume/cv you can never go back to erase.


.


Just respect what you are doing and dont make it too obvious you are in it for the money (sometimes i watch some movies and see these folks and shake my head thinking "why in the world did you accept this script".


Just Be selective. Try and get a second side job to fall back on so this acting thing is not your only source of income to depend on so much and thus accept any scripts all nilly willy. I am not going to mention any names, these actors/actresses with great potential know who they are - Good Luck with your choices. Word to the wise is enough. I am doing what i do best - telling it like it is.









interview with the cast and crew






Movie Title: MEN IN LOVE




.
Movie Title: THE BEAST (starring Majid Michel etc - A ghanaian movie)




.
.
Movie Title: TEMPTATION (starring: Majid Michel, Artus Frank, Martha Ankomah - a Ghana movie)
.





.


Movie Title: The Game (Starring Majid Michel, Yvonne Nelson, Yvonne Okoro etc)


.







Movie Title: "Silence is Golden" also called Forbidden (starring: Ramsey Nouah, Chika Ike plus very great promising Ghanaian actresses Luckie Lawson (producer) and Martha Ankomah etc. Luckie Lawson is the actress with the big pic in the background holding her face and she is also the producer - she is a first time producer so go out to support her. If she looks familiar thats cos she was in "Beyonce" and "The King is Mine".


ps: Luckie i hope u got my email. By the way theres a typo on the Jacket with "Asylum Down" - I wish i can be there to support. Good Luck girl.


.


.



Movie Trailer of Silence is Golden



.




.



.



By the way i just got the trailer to upcoming movie "Holding Hope" so here it is. Starring Uche Jumbo, Desmond Elliot and Nadia Buari.



.







Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...