Sunday, June 27, 2010

Scent of a Woman (Movie Review)



Starring:
-John Dumelo as Ben Hilary
-Jim Iyke as Tony George
-Mercy Johnson as Sherry Smith
-Olu Jacobs as Chief Smith
-Patience Ozorkwor as Mrs George (wife of Chief George)
-John Lawson Madueke as Chief George
.
Executive Producer/ Story
Chinedu Nwani
.
Director
By Afam Okereke
(great director - Afam am still waitin for "Heavy Rain Pt 2" - wuzzup i=u want me to bug u like i did Emem with Behind Closed Doors Pt 2. :lol: -for those who are new to watching nollywood movies - look for Heavy Rain to watch starring Ramsey Nouah, Emeke Ike, and Chioma Chukwuka. Afam this is my 2nd best directed movie by you - rewatch these two and ask your self what you did right and maybe follow the same trend. Was it the script or the actors or both? - either way i loved this movie)
.
Editor:
Fidelis Ewata
.
Screenplay:
By Amechi Ukeje
.
Movie Duration:
4hrs 10 mins
.
Production House
Get Rich Production Ltd
.
DVD Produced and Marketed
By Franco Films (USA)
.
Theme
Inheritance, Family, Love, Power, Family Business
.
Storyline
What will Mrs Hilary do when another man (Chief George) takes her husband's properties and company and leave her in the wilderness in a tough economic season. Will she sit and watch or just hope for the best? In mix of all this the Smith Family bids for the same company. Who will win over this business when Chief 'helath is in jeopardy? Will Mrs Hilary reclaim the business for his son or will Chief george calim it for tony his son. In search for a higher position in the company Tony's mother tries to convince Tony to marry Sherry in order to gain access and power. But Ben on the other hand is keeping a good hand on the company to succeed his father's sock and the one of Chief George's. Both mothers are convincing their son to succeed. Who will it be?, lets find out.
.
My Review
I will give a more detailed review later (obviously using my style of 'never giving you all, but just enough for you to go buy it). The script was a bit flawed especially in many parts of Part 1 and 2 - but to me the acting was very good by John, Mercy and Jim and they held up - undeniably one of the best actors/actress in african movies. With excellent scripts the sky is the limit and they shine like none other. Love them all. We need more producer/directors to continue to challenge them and bring the best out of them.
.
CONTACT YOUR MOVIE DEALER QUICK AND GET THIS MOVIE - PERSONALLY THIS IS THE MOST INTERESTING MOVIE I HAVE SEEN THIS YEAR 2010 (as we still sit and wait for the long awaited, "bursting out", "private storm" and the whole nine yards.) -
.
John Dumelo if you are reading this - i say excellent choice of movie - kudos to you - your best choice of till date in my opinion - you acted very well. To me this is your best movie thus far - even far better than "The King is Mine" - you played your arrogant bossy bully role very well, I felt your character and this is what we critics look out for - You were the character.
.
THEY GAVE A GREAT PERFORMANCE (in my opinion)- i will talk about Jim and Mercys excellent performance later. (Uche Ebere (who played Jims supposed girlfriend) like Biola Ige - i will spare u my harsh words of criticism and ask that you please take a break from acting and get some lessons - u not ready)
.
Some parts of the scripts were a lil less creative than i wanted it to be and this is where it lost major points. I mean how do you kill off a character right after he finishes writing his will - DOHHHHHH!!!!. That was dumb. And also Wuzzup with the unkept ruff looking bushy hair guy playing lawyer. I looked at his bushy hair just imagining how many hair lice he must have in real life - ewwww. Nothing lawyer about dude and a very bad actor at that. Gosh everybody wants to be infront of a camera acting.
.
HUGE POINT LOSS: I DIDNT KNOW SENATORS HAVE BEDS IN THEIR OFFICES - I GUESS ONE OF THE PERKS THAT COMES WITH THE JOB.
.
I just bursted out laughing am like Mr Producer you could have been more creative on this part. HOW IN THE HELL DOES A SENATOR HAVE A BED IN HIS OFFICE.
.
Mercy called out "Mr Ben Hillary" at least gajillion times - i was getting real bored hearing it over and over again
.
There was a scene where father and daughter (Olu Jacobs and Mercy) were eating Egg Sandwich with fork and knife. Africa whats with all this nonsense. First Orange Juice in wine glass now this. If i Miss Tilii observes and say something they say i talk too much. Who eats bread and eggs with fork and knife.
.
My Ratings
7.0/10
(Miss Tilii's highest rating thus far in 2010 - just this once, my rating was 60% geared for the "acting" than anything else)
.

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Keywords in Movie Titles That Needs Retirement

THough this post was initially posted last year (8/2th/2009) i just had a feeling to re-post it to bring it to light and bump it back up, considering the amount of BS being put out lately.
.
This Post was posted on Aug-2-2009
Well no one does it best when it comes to titling nollywood movies horribly - Nollywood/Ghana Movie Industry. I could list a gazillion nollywood movies which had an absolute ridiculous titles, or title not related to the movie but i wont take too much space.
.
For now all i want to do is name specific keywords in the movie titles that surely needs to retire - these keywords have been use, reuse and abused. Some of them are just dead give away to the storyline.
.
Nollywood and Ghana Movie Industry we beg, please me a little creative - for once in your life.
.
Key Words:
- SEXY
- LOVE
- ROYAL
- KING
- QUEEN
- PRINCE
- PRINCESS
- BRIDE
- WOMAN
- MAN
- BABES (there is one out there now - stay clear)
- MY
- YOUR
- BEYOND
- DANGEROUS
- DEADLY
- DESPERATE
- BLOOD
- BATTLE
- ETC
.
Dont get me started with names used for characters which are absolutely ridiculous and the two directors well known for this nonsense is Frank Arase and Abdul Mumuni (producer/director for Beyonce, Kings is Mine, Princess Tyra etc). They use names such as CIARA, BEYONCE, SOLANGE, etc. I guess they havent used Michael Jackson yet, but we are waiting :lol: - I just heard Majid and Mercy have one coming out called "Shakira" - the day i heard it i almost choked laughing, I was like "chinekkeeeeeee" what else is new.:lol:
.
I use to pride my favourite dude Tchidi Chikere - proud igbo director/producer known for his beautiful scripted village set movies for using local and native igbo names (i learnt a lot about the igbo culture just by watching his movies) like Emeka, Chimezie, Amaka, Kelechi etc so beautiful and this is what i wish for some ghana producer to do too. But i must say Tchidi has been slipping this 2009, cos he has been using a lot of westernise names in some of his movies - however i give him the benefit of doucbt cos i know T will come correct when u least expect. I highly anticipate several of his movies soon specifically one starring Majid, Jim and my lovely dovely beautiful schnookooms friend (Hi Pearl :lol:) Uru Eke (starred in Widows Men).
.
I really wish my wishes come true where by nollywood start titling our movies with titles that make more sense.
.
x

Monday, June 21, 2010

Romantic Agony (Movie Review)


.
Movie Title
ROMANTIC AGONY
.
StoryLine
Phil has his own way of making Anita produce wealth and happiness for him. He was her worse nightmare and she was his dream come true. She took pieces of her puzzle...Who would help her rearrange it
.
Starring:
Jim Iyke, Mike Ezerounye, Mercy Johnson etc
.
Theme
Love, Cheating, Blackmail, Addicted to Love,
.
I was going to spend time to review this movie but i changed my mind cos though part 1 and 2 were great, Part 3 and especially Part 4, seemed too dragged on and thus made it loose some points with me. Nonetheless BUY it if you want to spend some money, at least you can watch it to while away your time whilst waiting for the best of the best.
.
Personally I think this is an enjoyable movie. though some few parts of the scripts were weak in parts 3 & 4. As mentioned before - Its in four parts (its about time they stopped that 4 part nonsense,dont you think? - how bout narrowing all movie into 90 - 120mins max - when it drags on so much as much as this did in parts 3 and 4 then basically tells me the producer lost his touch.)
.
PS:
-Jim Ikye you dey craze :lol: - he made me laugh so much - he acts so well its extremely hard to tell the difference between the real person and the actor - and this is exactly what we critics look out for. Superb performance. Never met him or know him but those who have said he is NOTHING like his character. You have to take your hats off for the man - he is a great actor - but chaley Jim abeg slow your role when you are boning - chei - you want the woman intestines to come out of her mouth? Aba!!!!!! - If truly women had to endure this type of speed in bed, none of us will be walking.:lol: and if we were we will be walking bow legged at all times.
.
-and as for Mercy Johnson- gotta love her - very good actress- and very funny sometimes - and yes Ms Johnson - we Get it - "You Got it and You Love to Flaunt what ya mama gave ya" - chei - (I now like saying her favourite phrase "I mean - Check me and balance me Well" as she twirls around to show her assets. As for crying it comes to Mercy like nothing - she can bat her eyes in a milli-seconds and tears will be flowing like rainfall.
.
She played her role well, and my conclusion of her character is "***k is a Helluva drug" :lol: (as my african american friends will say). She just couldnt shake Phil off - everytime she returned to him am like - "Girlllll u have got to be kidding me - you went back????? - what exactly has this guy done to this girl.
.
- Mike Ezerounye as much as I heard u dont like me cos i gave you a nickname you hate (Roaring Mike) - I tell it like it is - You look hella sexy and scrumtious when you dont scream and growl your lines (Lucky bride Nkechi -congrats or Nkechi is a gorgeous lady too so i'd say Lucky groom Mike :lol:) - you need to act like that more often Mike - we ladies love ya cool demeanor. Like Seriously.
.
-I truly like the lady who plays Mercys friend, she played her character well (very believable) and out of respect i will find her real name from the credits and post it here - bare with me.
.
Ratings:
6.5/10
ps: the actress called Biola Ige who played Ada (Phil's side piece in Pt 1 & 2). Biola - abeg stay away from all movie locations - brace ya self cos you may have to wear the Miss Tilii's end of year award and crown for 2010 NOLLYWOOD WORST ACTRESS - it kills me when all pretty faces think they deserve to be actresses. NOOTTTTTTTTT!!!!!. Your acting is embarassing.

Sunday, June 20, 2010

Aaaaaaarrgghhh I Need a Hit

For crying out loud (as Genny will say) :lol:
.
Its June 2010 already and we still aint got one hit yet - not one (nothing but bombardment of one crap movie to another combined with the new trend of Ghana's nonsensical useless soft porn style movies - Ms Shirley congrats on ya baby boy, but after ya post-maternity leave please save our nation from thine hell)
.
To the great movie makers (you know who you are) please lawd we the audience who like great hits are suffering - am itching and scratching my arm/neck/eyes for just one hit - just one abeg - i cant wait any longer - ihave relapse now and i need a hit :lol.
.
I havent been high not even once all year, i have been patient and its now May - c'mon now - where y'all at.?
.
Give us a hit joh, stop punishing us - we are enduring too many crap movies lately - and we patiently waiting for you all to release your much acclaimed movies as i mentioned in February 2010 click below
.
http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2010/01/2010-upcoming-releases-to-look-out-for.html
.
And to my blog readers if you wondering why i havent updated with more movie reviews its because i decided in 2010 and henceforth, i will only have time to review "great" movies (unless by popular demand i m asked to review a particular movie and vice versa u wasted ya movie on a crap movie and would like to share and call them out - you are welcome - i give u this platform to do that - Also i will review movies if a movie maker sends me their movie to watch cos they appreciate my honest constructive criticism) -
.
i just dont have time or space to waste on the blog reviewing movies that are not worth buying.
.
I realised before, that i have been giving crap movies too much platform on this blog even if just to mention or to give my honest critique of what i really thought of the movie (from a movie watcher point of view - my constructive criticism) but all i sometimes get in my inbox is angry movie makers/actors mad at me for telling the truth - so i have decided not to even give them the platform. I just wont give u the satisfaction.
.
Miss Tilii's New Policy: If it aint great its not worth mentioning here" and trust me when i say i watch every single movie release and know what am talking about.
.
My goal is to save you all money as i mentioned in my introduction to this blog. We are still in a recession globally - $10 could by you petrol/gas for a couple of miles than to waste on a crap movie.
.
Just like you, I am still waiting for the highly anticipated and much acclaimed great releases this 2010 (last year we had "reloaded", "a sting in a tale", "guilty pleasure", "silent scandal" etc etc - it was fun).
.
One might ask how do i call it great when i havent even seen it yet, answer to this "cos i seen the movie makers resume/cv of work and 8 out of 10 they dont dissapoint - so I have high expectation of their work and if they dont live up to it - I will mention it too. I tell it like it is. I give these movie makers the benefit of doubt until they prove me wrong.
.
Once again i say, I watch all movie releases , but if i dont review a movie consider it aint worth your dime -. You could watch it "anyway you can", BUT I encourage u to Save your money. You can buy at your own descretion.
.
I ONLY PROMOTE THE PURCHASE OF GREAT MOVIES WHICH ARE WORTH BUYING - EXCELLENT MOVIES WITH AT LEAST 8/10 RATINGS from ME. So before u make any purchases read reviews first. Spend ya money wisely.
.
Everytime i look in my storage junk room and see the wasted money of boxes and boxes of crap movies i purchased in the past - almost 10yrs worth (cos i didnt know any better) I cringe - I have been thinking of getting rid of them on ebay but most are on vhs and others on vcd (whose gonna buy those) - i wasted money and space - dont make the same mistake i made. Be picky and selective for nothing but the best.
.

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Checkmate (review)

.
My review will be up in 24-48 hours - but lets just say one of the reasons I DONT CARE FOR Nadia Buari is that accent. A Dzorwulu estates girl raised and schooled in Ghana, She knows she has a ghanaian english accent so why does she always try to americanise the way she speaks when she acts - abeg if you want to go hollywood leave africa movie alone and go audition in hollywood.
.
Shirley am shaking my head at u for casting her - coulda used even a new face from Legon Drama school or something - one of those beautiful articulate eloquent kind who are not afraid to use our proud Ghanaian accent. Shoulda left her for the Frank Arase and Abdul Mumuni kind to use her. I suggest Nadia and Stephanie Okereke do a movie together titled the FAKERS - am sure tha Veeda who played Kikis supposed sister will fit in well too- Charlies Angels trio.
.
I will be back with my review later - thus far, great script, but acting coulda been better, I give it 5/10 and am just tired watching Nadia and all her slangings. Just be your self Nadia alll the rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr in your tonation doesnt make you any better an actress.
.
Ok today is June 4th 2010 am back yall - sorry am late my schnookooms guest. How yall doing today? So here goes...........
.
Starring:
-Nadia Buari as Caroline
-Ecow Blankson as Kiki
-Senanu Gbedawo as Kwame the customs officer
-Naa Ashorkor Mensah as Naana – Kwames wife
.
Director/Writer/Screenplay: Shirley Frimpong Manso
Producer: Ken Attoh
??????????: Chris Attoh
Production House: Sparrow Production (A Shirley Frimpong Manso production)
.
Synopsis:
Coming soon.
.
Theme:
Marriage, Cheating, Blackmail, Drug Trafficking
.
My review
I watched this movie over two days so that alone should tell you it was not that great. The first day I watched it I fell asleep and continued the next day.
.
Personally I think the storyline was well scripted – however there were a few glitches in the script that did not make sense (go buy it and watch it and detect what I mean.) I really can’t say much for the actors – there is not a single one that stood out for me. Nadia Buari you all know I am not a fan nor care much for – YET. It’s like the same ole same ole with her acting – the slanging is a huge turn off for me. It is always predictable with this girl.
.
The Ecow Blankson guy who plays KiKi reminded me of the female version of Jackie Appiah – NOT NATURAL – NOT BELIEVABLE!!!!. His acting did not whoo me much some parts of his lines seemed too rehearsed and theatrical for my liking – like am watching him on a stage play or something – you could simply tell he was ACTING and with me when am watching a movie I want you to make me believe its not acting – I want you to "BE" your character so much that i cant tell the difference between the real person and the actor. I want your acting, from the way you speak, talk, walk to be realistic – I did not get that from dude. I guess Ms tilii just loves her some "method acting" - i guess so - i have a short attention span for slow acting and method actors are the only ones who help me escape into make believe when watching them.
.
The new guy on the block actor Senanu Gbedawo who plays the customs officer Kwame is a “good” actor– one actor with great potential. I got my eye on him anyway.
.
Actress Naa Ashorkor Mensah (a good Ghanaian actress in my books – the eloquent articulate kind who has no pretences and acts well) thus far has been featured in at least 3 or 4 of Shirley’s past movies and in this movie played Kwame’s (Senanu Gbedawo) wife Naana, was simply ok in this role. Actress Naa Ashorkor has great potential and I think depending on the script she could shine more. I would like to see her in a lead and more challenging role next time.
.
The end of the movie though not predictable (which is good) I cant say I liked it much and Shirley Please tell me you are not coming out with a part 2 because I personally don’t care much for a part 2. I simply wish the wife should have known about the infidelity of her husband and not leave that topic of infidelity hanging at the end the movie.
.
The worst scene for me was the last beach scene were all were arrested– very poorly done and not believable whatsoever, I had to pause the movie and ask myself – “Ohhh hell naahhh, wth is this? u have got to be kidding me, wait a minute – is this truly a Shirley Frimpong Manso produced movie or am I being punked” – very poor acting (or directing) and very mediocre – like the kind you get from the “you know who” producers– but not from such a great Producer like Shirley. I was watching that whole scene thinking she musta taken these actors/extras on the spur of the moment or something.

.
I don’t know whether to blame just Shirley alone, Ken Attoh or just the poor actors they used. I mean the last beach scene was just not great work in my books. I am a perfectionist – either you going to do it right or not at all. Shirley you did almost perfect with “A sting” but as for this one paaaa diye, am sorry - but compared to your past work. "Wei diye - Enye koraaaa. Like Nana Addo will say “Ye ko ye nim”, not backwards (meaning: we are moving forward not backwards) – this was definitely a step back after “A sting” last year.
.
I love you Shirley no one in the movie industry in our nation Ghana makes me proud as much as you and your Sparrow team do , but am afraid like my name saids “I tell it like it is” (T-i-L-i-i) – and for those of you who disagree with me - as I always have said “we can agree to disagree” (to each his own), it is what it is, I am harder on those I know are good and can always do better.
.
The picture and sound quality of the movie was good as usual – Shirley never fails us on that and I cannot complain much on that department.
.
Overall the movie was “good” but definitely not “great” or should I say not the best of Shirley – however with the outpour of rubbish on the market it’s definitely a keeper – am sure many of you would love it. If you have been starving all year for a hit (2010) like I have, and someone throws you a cracker and from a pro such as Shirley Frimpong Manso – it then taste like Digestive biscuit to you no matter what :lol:.
.
And we wait patiently for all the other outstanding movies this 2010.......... Still waiting patiently.
.
By the way Congratulations to Shirley for her first child and son. Take a long break and we look forward to something better either before the end of this year (2010) or even 2011. I give you the benefit of doubt for this movie and particularly the casting – maybe you were just tired (and that is understandable), and whilst we are on the subject "Ken Attoh how are you? – this has been a great year thus far hasn’t it? :wink: :wink:
.
My Ratings:
6/10
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...