Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Burning Tears (April 2010 release)


.
I must say as picky as i am - i quite enjoyed this movie and will review it soon, so look out for that - Quite Nice movie.

.

Storyline/Producer: Nwawulu Arthur

Director: Ifeanyi Ogbonna

Screenplay: Ruth Kadiri

.

Starring:

Mike Ezerounye as Dr Kester/Kelvin

Tontoh Dikeh as Amara

Kalsum Sinare as Chinwe

Eve Esin as Nurse ChiChi

Amanda Ebeye as Nkiru

(message to Mike eventhough you hate me cos i gave you the nickname "Roaring Mike", no harm meant, :lol: - If you knew how hella scrumptious and sexy you look when you dont roar and scream, you will keep this new found gentle demeanor up this 2010 and beyond. Long overdue Mike - we like you more when you dont roar and shout - good job :lol: and to Ms Tontoh Dikeh I dont know what is happening to the face- but whatever it is, it is becoming obvious and u may wanna tone it down a notch - you are still beautiful sista - get it together)

.

Storyline:

The story is about two sisters Nurse ChiChi and Amara who live with their mother in the village. ChiChi is a nurse and her sister Amara is the tom boy/ tree climbing, foul mouth speaking and just the black sheep of the family - uneducated, hot tempered and disrespectful to everyone- while ChiChi is the calm one working as a nurse at the local clinic.

.

Amara decides to relocate to the city for greener pastures since there was no hope for her in the village. She goes to the city and lives with her friend Nkiru who had also lived in the village before relocating to the city, and to her surprise Nkiru's job was prostitution (rollseyes - isnt it how the story goes always in nollywood movies when a villager move to the city ) - Nkiru convinces Amara to join her in the trade or else she is not housing her under her roof after her hard work of coochie ridings & b.jobs (:lol:) - Amara feeling she has no choice and after much pressure and falling over 10 times simply trying to take a step in high heels (that was a funny scene). And the story goes on with shots between the city and the village ..........go grab ya copy and watch it. I dont like giving movies away and telling the whole story.

.

Theme:

Drama, Village, City, Prostitution etc

.

My Review:

The movie was just ok - i was able to sit through it from beginning to end because i was actually curious for the ending. Tontoh is truly a great actress if she tones down all the gragra a lil bit. For the character she played in this movie all that gragra fitted her well. She was just ruthless and notorious with her family and friends - the crazy black sheep of the family. The lady who played her sister ChiChi (I think her name is Eve Esin) - i have been seeing a lot lately on screen and I would say she does have potential to be greater - i like her depending on the role/character she plays and I think she did well in this movie. Mike Ezerounye to me is a better actor when he doesnt scream and shout like he always does - for his character as Dr Kelvin/Kester, he was calm (most of the time) and collective (and for a minute he was looking quite scrumptious to me - :wink: :wink:) - He played his character well.

.

In part 1 of the movie after Amara moved to the city I was getting confused - am like "is the village that close to the city that Dr Kelvin works by day and goes and have fun in the city by night, but as the movie continues everything fell in place and I understood why.

.

All the actors/actress played their character well (especially Tontoh Dikeh) - and i enjoyed the movie. Go grab ya copy

.

My Ratings: quite a few flaws but nice nonetheless - i was able to sit thru it, not a stellar movie, but nice notheless.

6/10

.

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Bursting Out & Nollywood Hustlers - (Coming Very Soon )

.
So ladies and gentlemen save your money from the many rubbish releases, some of the very best are coming soon - its been long in waiting, cos we almost done with first quarter (April 2010) of the year and nothing that great yet, but dont worry your wait will be worth the wait and thats the promise I have been giving. Be excited, be very excited.
.
Bursting Out
(starring Genevieve Nnaji & Majid Michel)
(I already posted the trailer here some time ago - do key search)


Nollywood Hustlers
(starring Uche Jumbo and Ramsey Nouah)
.

.
ok to make it easier for ppl who have not seen the trailer here is the trailer to Bursting Out
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPOBIGtgGrI&feature=player_embedded
.
Enjoy

Saturday, April 10, 2010

ChitChat With JD (Interview with Actor John Dumelo)




.
So I was suppose to interview john the previous week, but when I tried calling it said the phone was out of coverage area. I emailed him and we rescheduled to today April 4th at 1pm (Accra time). I woke up this morning and prayed – Lord please let me get thru this phone interview with John today – because I don’t want to fail on a promise I made to my blog readers. Also Lord please don’t let me be nervous when the time comes or fumble with my questions considering this is my first interview ever.
.
So I got my calling card and round about 12.59 I started dialling – John had given me two different mobile numbers – the first number was not getting thru at all, and the second kept ringing but no answer.

.
I hanged up and tried the second number again, this time I hear a Barry White tone voice at the end of the phone like ..
.
JD: “Hello”

(my heart sunk – thinking oh gosh, this is it (uhhm whats my first question), in my lil angelic voice am like )
MT:“Please may I speak to John” – he was like,
JD: “Yeah this is John” –
.
.
he was saying something but the line the line was very very static and feint kinda like wherever he was had some major bad reception (I don’t know who to blame Tigo, Kasapa, Zain or Vodafone – I betcha its ??? :lol:), before I could say Jack Robinson the line went dead – and I knew aint no way this fine ass gentleman hanged up on me – the line was definitely having some periodic pains or something – Ghana telecom’s usual time of month.
.
.
I immediately went on line and emailed him apologising for the drop call and that I will call back again (not really knowing from whose end it was from) – he responded promptly with his mobile Facebook (blackberry or iPod) saying not to worry, he was waiting for my call back.
.
.
So I waited for a lil while and then called back – but once again it said “out of coverage area” – am like “oh gosh what kind of embarrassing wahala koraa is this?” I waited a lil bit more then called again, this time the line went through and he picked up after two rings – the line was crystal clear.
.
.
MT: Hello John is this you, this is Miss Tilii calling back
JD: Yes it’s me
(for some reason the way he responded made me relax and my nervousness was reduced at least for the moment)
MT: John am so sorry for the disconnect when I called last, I tried calling back but it said out of coverage area, is it ok to speak now – the line sounds better even.
JD: Yes I know – I guess where I was had no coverage, but anyway am glad you called back, how are you?
.
.
MT: Am fine John, how are you too ? And how is the weather in Ghana
JD: Am great? The weather here in Accra is hot as always but it’s okay not bad at all
.
MT: It’s a good thing I don’t know anything about you beforehand cos then this interview is going to be very organic for your fans and please I want you to feel comfortable. if there is any question you feel like you don’t want to answer please let me know. I won’t ask you any personal questions that will make you uncomfortable and that are my promise.
.
I have watched several of your movies and quite impressed and think of you as a truly promising actor and that’s why I felt the need to interview you especially since you got so many fans who also frequent my blog and would love to know about you. “The King Is Mine” was my first movie I saw you in followed by the subsequent ones that followed which saw you as one of Ghana’s upcoming actors with great potential. In the Diaspora (UK, America etc you are making us very proud and you have an increasing fan base more than you can ever imagine)

.
.
MT: Okay so John my first question is Where are you from, Where were you born
JD: I was born and bred in Ghana, My Mom is Half Fanti & half Ashanti – and dad is Ewe
.
.
MT: How did u get into acting in movies?
JD: I got into movies about six years ago – and I started off acting in some TV series called “About to Wed”, later into advertising and appearing in several commercials (telecom commercial (Kasapa), A fruit juice commercial, a credit card commercial and an insurance company commercial), then 2 years ago I was called to come audition for the role of King in the “King Is Mine”, fortunately after intensive auditioning I finally got the job, and this became my very first movie
.
.
MT: Would you say you have had your most challenging role yet and if so which one was it
JD: The king is mine, I would say is the most challenging, because it was my first movie. My character was King and I had to transform myself like a king in everything i did, from the way I walk, talk and everything. It was quite challenging to be in the moment and transition into that type of character and do it well and consistently during the shoot. And you have to remember this was my first major first movie.
.
.
MT: What would be the ideal role you would love to play someday
JD: I think the ideal role I would love to play – something that truly challenges me would be playing a mentally retarded or disabled person in a movie. I think that will be my ideal role.
.
.
MT: Well have you watched the Movie titled “What is Eating Gilbert Grape” as well as “Monster” starring South African Hollywood Actress Chalize Theron.
JD: No I haven’t seen it, what was the name of the first movie you mentioned?
.
.
MT: Its called “What is Eating Gilbert Grape” Starring Leonardo Di Caprio. I think you should see these movies and maybe you can get some good cues from there for your future role. With “Gilbert Grape” Leonardo played a convincing retard so much that for years I was convinced he was retarded in real life until I saw him in another movie.
.
And with the second movie it’s based on a true life story of a woman who was molested as a child and grew up becoming a prostitute and serial killer to her clients. The transition from the stunning red carpet Chalize that we know to the convincing serial killer was phenomenal – you need to see it. She even won an Oscar for that

JD: Really? – I guess I need to watch these movies
MT: Yes
.
.
MT : Who are your favourite Hollywood movie actors or actresses
JD: My favourite actors of all time are Denzel Washington and Chris Tucker and in our industry I truly appreciate actors such as RMD, Ramsey Noah and Majid Michel.
MT: Sure, those are really good actors
JD: yes
.
.
MT: When acting movies – what do you do when you first get a script in your hands – how do you decide you are going to act this movie or not, I guess my question is what is your decision making process to choose a movie script at which to work on.?
JD: When I first get a script, I read the storyline – I see how strong my character would be – and then I decide on whether I want to be part of the movie or not, I like challenging roles.
.
.
MT: I suppose you also consider the producer/directors resume of work as well right?
JD: well of course most definitely
.
.
MT: When moments of self doubt come to you in life, what do you do or say to yourself to erase that doubt – and I ask this question for the many potential future young people maybe in Ghana who want to get in the acting business but don’t have the confidence due to self doubt or because their parents, family or friends don’t support their artistic idea (as you well know most African parents like their kids to be doctors, lawyers, engineers or something very corporate).
JD: The very first thing I would say is to pray first and seeks Gods guidance and direction. And also you have to remember many people who tell you, “you cant” and make you doubt yourself probably want to be in your shoes but don’t have the confidence like you do, to even try– so my advice is
.
“Don’t let others tell you can’t – take the word CANT or CAN NOT be out of your vocabulary – with God you can do anything you put your mind to.
.
.
Another advice I would like to give is that be prepared for rejection when you first begin, I am a true testimony of being rejected a lot when I first started – I got many “NOs” before a final “YES”, and so I will advice that you try, try and try again. So you keep on trying and if after so many tries it still doesn’t work out then maybe God has another route for your life which may even be better – so never lose heart
.
.
MT: you are very right John and this advice reminds me of a favourite quote that said “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God.
.
John I hear you, and sometimes the closest people to you are always the very people who will make you doubt yourself worth, so I guess what you are saying is one has to tune negative people out and always stay positive seeking God for guidance in whatever they want to do in life and most of all never to give up.

JD: Yes
.
.
MT: If you were not an actor what would you be?
JD: Real Estate – I am currently into it now, fulltime and on the side
.
.
MT: Really? Thats interesting, so you do real estate concurrently with acting? That must be hard.
JD: Yes but I make it work somehow
.
.
MT : What Primary, Secondary and University did you attend in Ghana
JD: I am a product of Achimota Secondary School (Motown) and during those times in school I use to take part in the drama club, and that’s where I acting.
.
.
MT : Did you do any acting in primary, secondary or university?
JD: I was part of the drama club in High School (Achimota Secondary School)
.
.
MT: I hear you are alumni of Tech – what was your major and what hall were you in.
JD: Yes that’s true I am an alumni of University of Science & Tech and my major was in BSc in Civil Engineering. I graduated in 2007? I was a resident of Queens Hall in Tech
.
.
MT: Whao Civil Engineering?, that’s interesting, My brother went to Tech too and he told me as a freshman he was ponded – were you ever ponded as a freshman too?
JD: Yes I was ponded :lol:

(to those reading this interview who don’t understand what ponding means, it is something that they do to freshmen in Ghana universities where as a welcome – a group of seniors target you, grab you and dip you in a pond (sometimes the dirtiest lake/pond on campus) – and this has been done for years as a way of welcome as a freshman – you may avoid it as long as you like even till sophomore year but so far as they find out you were never ponded when you first came – they will make sure they pond you (my own brother was ponded in sophomore year in University of Science and Technology (where John is also an alumni) – he avoided it for the longest but he could never escape – they capture you when you least expect (like on the way to lectures, church or library or receiving a visitor like girlfriend and then they pond you. Its kinda like an illegal initiation – but far from cult – cultism stuff is not that popular on Ghana campuses (as far as I know)
.
.
MT : How many brothers and sisters do you have?
JD: I have two 2 older sisters
.
.
MT : How many languages do you speak and what are they
JD: I speak Ga, Fanti and a little bit of Ewe,
.
.
MT: Are you single
JD: No I am not
.
.
Ladies so I guess your question has been answered – I asked John to clarify what he meant by No – as in whether he was married or not – and he said He is not married however he is a committed relationship). I Know many of you will be disappointed but hey, what can I say, dont shoot the messenger.
.
After this response I had to seize asking a list of other questions I had to follow (had he answered “YES” he was single) which included "What type of characteristics he looks for in his woman – physical or characteristics (whichever comes first for you)
.
.
MT: After you have paved the way in this industry and gained experience for a while would you someday like to get behind the scenes and say direct, produce or write a script
JD: Oh yes, for sure – I think in about 4 or 5 yrs time I will like to produce or direct.
.
.
MT: What do you think of the Ghana movie industry?
JD: I think Ghana movie industry is on the right track and we are doing well. I mean two years ago, not many people were even mentioning us, but now as you can see, we are slowing gaining ground in this industry and audience are becoming aware of us. I think the only challenge now is funding
.
.
MT: What is the weirdest thing a fan has done to you or said to you say at an airport or something?
JD: Its funny you asked that, cos Once we went to a house to shoot a film and when we got there, there was a girl whom I guess was a fan of mine who lived there, and while shooting we get to her room, and she had like 3 very large pictures of me plaster all over her wall .
.
.
MT: So I guess it was a compliment in a sense but sure it was a lil weird I think :lol: - next thing you know you come home and they are cooking your rabbit in a pot like in Glenn Close & Michael Douglas in Fatal Attraction.
JD: yes (laughs)
.
.
MT: What is your favourite Ghanaian food
JD: My favourite food is Garden Egg Stew and Plantain
.
.
MT: What are your hobbies
JD: Watching Movies
.
.
MT: What’s your favourite TV Shows
JD: Pirates of the Caribbean, Cosby Show, rush hour
.
.
MT: Whao – you surely do like Chris Tucker don’t you :lol:, no wonder he is one of your favourite actors – I bet you have seen all of Rush Hour series (1, 2 and 3)
JD: Yes I have (laughs)
.
.
MT: Would u by chance be attending June’s FIFA World Cup in South Africa to support and help Ghana Black Stars carry the cup home or would you be there in spirit like me – cheering them up in the comfort of your living room as you watch them on TV?
JD: Well am planning on attending, but I hope time permits – we shall see
.
.
MT: Finally my last question to you is –Is there any rumour out there or any misconceptions about you that you would like to clear up.
JD: Yes I want to clarify the rumour and say that “NO” - Yvonne Nelson and I are not dating – we are simply very good friends. I even saw her off at the airport yesterday as she left the country. We are simply very good friends and that’s it – so I hope I have clarified this rumour.
.
.
MT: Well John I guess whenever two actors have great on screen chemistry the audience have rumoured them to be dating each other in real life due to the chemistry, so with you and Yvonne I guess it has to do with the chemistry you both have on set. In the past the same has been said with other actors with great on screen chemistry such as Genevieve Nnaji & Ramsey Nouah, Stella Aboderin & RMD – I mean the list goes on :lol: - which were all bogus and false rumours, but I am glad you have cleared this up again.
.
.
MT: John I want to take time to truly thank you for your time and honouring me this interview. It was a challenge with the out of coverage phone situation but we made it work. Thank you sincerely for your time out of your busy schedule in speaking to me. I am not home in Accra yet but will be before the end of the year and when I do – maybe you could grant me another interview one on one in the near future.
JD: Most definitely Miss Tilii anytime – anytime – I really enjoyed talking to you too. Have a lovely day. Bye
MT: Bye

.
"Whew" i thought this interview is finally over, I was nervous a lil - am not going to lie.
.
This weekend, I have been thru the interview over and over again and started to kick my self on what i should have asked and what i shouldnt have asked and maybe i should have talked less than i did (i think anytime I talked cos i was trying to get over my own nervousness so i thought being too silent will make me look mumuish - i didnt want to come across as having rehearsed my questions neither) and I shoulda let him talk more etc etc etc .
.
My self critique this weekend has been endless as i go thru my notes and going thru the woulda coulda shouldas, but i am strong critique of myself and a huge perfectionist and this is my very first interview ever (i have never interviewed a soul before) so i learn from my mistakes and know what to do and what not to do next time.
.
I promise my next interview is going to be much better questions and better structured (but i still stick on my grounds to say i wont ask any questions these stars dont want to be asked - period).
.
Either way am proud of myself for my very first attempt ever and I am ever so grateful to JD for giving me this honour (someday we might sit talk and laugh and maybe he can be honest with me if he could detect any nervousness in me as i asked my questions - many professional african journalist have asked dumber questions - so i wont beat myself too bad ).
.
I am going to learn by watching interviews of some of my favourite interviewers of all time and learn them like science to know what to do and not to do next time.
.
.

PS: I have NOT given permission to any other website to take this interview to post on their site and call their own. The only sister site i share information with is www.nollywooduncut.com so please with due respect before you decide to copy and paste on your site - simply ask permission and get my ok first - its just due respect.
.

Monday, April 5, 2010

Upcoming Interviews with Some of Our Favourite Stars

.
April 5th 2010 at 3pm
.
Well following the post on March 17th 2010 as posted below, I said I was going to be interviewing a certain special someone to all of us whom we have seen in movies a lot lately, that special someone (whom i know a lot of the ladies love dearly) is (drumroll please)....................................................................
.
"John Dumelo".
.
I have completed the interview and in process of putting all my notes together so hold tight - give me at least 24-48hrs to get it posted, cos once i have paraphrased everything and written it all up nicely, I have promised to let him see it first to give me the ok to all the answers and questions before i post it here.
.
I want these celebrities to feel comfortable speaking with me - thus i dont ask anything uncomfortable neither do i choose to post anything that they dont want me to post. This media ground of mine is not interested in making up stories on celebs to sell a paper or to garner some traffic to this blog/web just for people to read rumors or lies. This is Pure undiluted one on one interview.
.
Yes Yes Yes ladies - i did ask - is he single (i posed that question to him at the very end of our conversation). Check back for all his responses and the whole interview including his history, his background, his goals - the one role he'd like to play in future, and his advice to young people also interested in getting in the industry, whats between him and Yvonne Nelson and all rumor clarifications or any misconceptions about him.
.
This is my very first interview ever and I am so honoured and grateful John granted it to me - cos i am no journalist, I guess he reads this blog and respects it.
.
.
.
March 17 2010 @ 3.10pm
.
Since the beginning of the year i have embarked on networking with a few of the nollywood gollywood stars, producers, directors etc I would like to interview (and I aim for just a handful). Thus far, I have got 2 yeses to some of these stars (and i am so honored and grateful since am new at this) and will be interviewing them very soon. So Look out for that - I cant mention their names but i can say both of them are of the male gender ":lol:" -
.
The interviews will be interesting but if you expecting me to ask questions about their intimate sex lifes, who they are doing now and did in the past, what materialistic possesions they have, what color drawls they wear, what skin color they date and all that b.s like many of the gragra journalist ask - forget about that - leave that to those tabloid magazines who cook up stories to sell a paper to make a buck - am not selling any paper. This will be just a respectable interview - what they say is what i will put out - by their permission ofcourse.
.
I know you ladies will want to know their status of whether they are married, single or looking and for sure I will ask that, but other than that most of the question will be about their history, how they got into the industry and their short and long term goals - stuff like that. And if theres any retarded rumor or misconception about them they need to squash i will give them the grounds to do that through this interview.
.
I want them to feel comfortable to grant me future interviews. I will taking cue from my favourite professional journalist of all time.
.
Just look out for these interviews - It wont be long.
.
.
.

Saturday, April 3, 2010

Unsigned Youtube Talents (AHMIR)

A lil something different for you all as my easter present (while still waiting for releases of GREAT movies for me to review - hold on tight - they are coming) :
.
every now and then when i am bored and surfing youtube - i usually listen to unsigned artist with great talent and so far my favourite include HipHOpRinRox (two bestfriends), LisaLavie (From Canada sounds just like Mariah), Sheena Melwani, Zewdy (Ethiopian Teenage Girl from NJ) Airto (from Amsterdam, Holland), and this group here called Ahmir (from US) - Ahmir kinda remind me of BoyzIIMen. I am posting this video - a rendition of Rihanna Take a Bow, they got talent but the reason i am posting is to share the humor of how funny they are. Just watch this


.
This is their rendition of Beyonce's "If I were Boy" titled "if You were a Woman" - sorry for the quality, for some reason you tube deleted their original great quality videos however someone saved it and this is it. Just go to youtube type AHMIR and watch their several other videoes that was not deleted



This rendition of Beyonce Halo seems to be the few youtube did not delete and the quality is still ok



They are very talented. Support them to get signed if you yearning for some great music (which seems to be fading lately).

here is the teeanage Ethiopian American based in NJ

(dont doubt thats her real voice - at first i thought she was lipsynching but she is not - watch her several other videos)

here is LisaLavie - sounds just like Mariah - she is the best in my opinion - a huge force to be reckoned with as a solo artist


had to post twice for lisa - u gotta listen to her rendition of "HALO"


here is Airto from Holland


Every now and then the unsigned talents get together to collab on a cover and here LisaLavie from Canada and Ahmir from US cover BoyzIIMen & Mariah Carey "One Sweet Day"


and another cover Jason Derulo "Whatcha Say" - once again another collab by LisaLavie and Ahmir - its amaziing how they make it work yet they are in two different countries.



And if you wondering why i love LisaLavie so - this is one of the reason, She and her team came up with the idea of getting 57 ordinary folks from around the world to do this rendition of We Are World to raise funds for Haiti cause- and this i think is better than the one Hollywood did with all those riffaff rappers spoiling the damn song.
.
Though nothing beats the original version I also appreciate this version and I thank LisaLavie and her team for putting this together and a salute to all those 57 ordinary ppl (waiters, cashiers, teachers, etc - ordinary folks with dreams of singing to an audience - if you watch carefully Ahmir, Airto and all the rest are in there too to support the cause) - I just really love this. Very Good - Maybe Nollywood and Gollywood shoulda done one too abi?




Forget American Idol or X Factor (Idol ko, Idol ni)- now all the above is what we call real talent.
.

Friday, April 2, 2010

Why Did I Get Married Too (April 2010 - Tyler Perry Movie)

Update: April 2nd 2010
.
Came out today everybody-released Nationwide USA today - but unfortunately am not there to see it, cos i made the mistake of visiting cold ass london. I cant wait to leave. Please go out and support Tyler and the cast if you live anywhere nationwide USA. Please tell me how you enjoyed it but dont spoil it for me by telling me what happened :lol: (all i know is i heard Ms Janet did a great Job, remember Michael had just passed round bout the time they were shooting this movie so her emotions were very high and it chanelled into her character - I am happy for Janet - plus she looks beautiful - I watched the whole cast interview on Oprah today (i just hope she finally dumped that thug google eyed georgian cricket jd :lol: - never liked them together - its like a bentley dating a yugo :lol:)
.
While we are on the subject of Tyler he has just finished casting for one of his future movies titled ''For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow is Enuf.'
.
The cast will include Janet Jackson, Mariah Carey, Whoopi Goldberg, Phylicia Rashad, Jurnee Smollett, Kimberly Elise, Kerry Washington, Loretta Devine and Macy Gray. (He initially wanted Halle and Beyonce to be part of it from jump but that did not work out - nonetheless what he got is great)
.
Based on Ntozake Shange's award-winning 1975 play, the film is scheduled to shoot in June in New York with a possible winter 2010/ 2011 release date. The riveting play, consisting of a series of poems performed through a cast of nameless women, known only by a color -- deal with such subjects as love, abandonment, rape, and abortion, garnered much acclaim, becoming the toast of Broadway when it opened at The Booth Theater in 1976
.
.
March 2010
.
click on the photo to see it larger
.
Every now and then i will post a trailer to an upcoming Hollywood Black Produced Movie that i support. So here is Tyler Perrys sequel to "Why did I get married" called "Why did i get married too" starring the same cast as was in Part 1.
.
I look forward to seeing this. I always support black produced movies if it is entertaining, and so far Tyler is the only one holding up in Hollywood (regardless of all the naysayers) - I will always support Tyler Perry.

I dont see any other black producer holding up like he is, everyone took a seat and waiting for Oyibos Hollywood to save them. What ever happened to great movies like The Best Man, Love Jones, 5 Heartbeats, Jason Lyric, The Brothers, The Wood, etc - Tyler is creating jobs for great black talents that have been waiting in line for years and passed over by Hollywood over and over.
.
I salute the guy for what he does, but trust other other blacks in the industry to critique him when all he is doing is to do something good. They (cough cough Spike Lee) critique him yet he always break box office numbers, I guess GHOST are whom are buying the ticket to go watch his movies.
.
Here is the trailer
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wqo7wAfa8Gk&feature=player_embedded
.
the official site is finally up now
http://www.whydidigetmarriedtoomovie.com/
.
.
Storyline
Gathered together in the Bahamas for their annual one-week reunion, four close couples eagerly reconnect, sharing news about their lives and relationships. But their intimate week in paradise is disrupted by the unexpected arrival of Sheila’s ex-husband, Mike, who hopes to break up her new marriage with Troy and win her back. The others soon realize they too are not immune to the challenges of commitment and fidelity. Angela doesn’t believe her husband, Marcus, can be faithful now that he’s a celebrity television newscaster. Dianne and Terry’s relationship is feeling the strain of raising children. And Patricia, a successful self-help psychologist, must finally reveal the deep flaws in her seemingly perfect marriage to Gavin. With their relationships hanging in the balance when they return home, each couple must choose between blame and forgiveness, doubt and faith, with life-altering consequences.

.

(SPOILER: "I hear someone is going to die" (dont take my word for it, thats just what i heard though) - abeg let me go and rewatch HOW DID I GET MARRIED PT 1 and figure out who that could possibly be. I also want to watch the dinner at the table scene "BOOYAAHHHHH! - I love Tasha Smith - she is so crazy :laugh: )

.

Though i have been eagerly anticipating this release, i am comtemplating maybe waiting till a week after its released b4 i go see - cos over here in Atlanta - "some" black folks cant shut the hell up in movie theatres especially on the first night of a Tyler movie - they talk loud from beginning to end with lil babies crying and all (am like what? someone got a baby in this theatre) - Its like u cant escape in any county - Gwinnett county where i live is no worse than Dekalb. I try to leave my local county to escape to the further into the burbs to watch it but never succeed. (Forsyth county etc :lol: you know they dont wanna show black movies :lol: -they too scared :lol:)

.

This woulda been a nice Nollywood script - kinda like the type Emem and her crew Bola would write. I love the theme and i cant wait till the release of this movie

MOVIE IS RELEASED NATIONWIDE IN USA ON FRIDAY APRIL 2ND 2010

.

ps: If u live in the US please support by going watch Antoine Fuqua's (Director of Training Day, King Arthur etc) new movie "Brooklyns Finest" which comes out this Friday March 5 2010- starring the finest themselves, my boo Don Cheadle (i love me some Don Cheadle), Wesley Snipes, RIchard Gere and Ethan Hawke. I eagerly anticipate and happy ANtoine got the greenlight to direct the movie about legend Colombian druglord Pablo Escobar (if you dont know who Pablo is wiki him) - if you have ever watched Training Day - u best believe Antoine will do justice to Pablos Story - however my south american friends think different - they want their own to tell the story. Depending on who plays him - it might turn out as good as "Scarface").

.see trailer for Brooklyns Finest
http://www.brooklynsfinestthemovie.com/

.

Thursday, April 1, 2010

GHANA ENOUGH OF THIS NUDITY NONSENSE. BAN X-RATED MOVIES IN GHANA

Love & Sex

A Socrates Sarfo Movie -

just like the many other titles like "HOT FORK"

THIS IS socrates sarfo the man behind "most" of Ghana soft porn nastiness!

The King of them all - of all this nonsense in Ghana and the culprit behind all this bs. is SOCRATES SARFO - Socrates sarfo I CANT STAND YOU. socrates or whatever the hell he calls himself is on the board of Ghana executive film board and he plus a few others gives the ok to many of these movies putting out on the market and to top it off he produces movies himself. Most soft born related movies - he is behind it. Now if this is not a sick perverted man then i don't know what is. 
.
THEY AT IT AGAIN, they never stop (getting worse) - this i hear is call 4Play and several more in the pipeline to be APPROVED by Ghana censor Board (What a Disgrace). ( Hmm, i aint got nothing to say anymore - i am tired) - At least all the actresses who choose to say yes in taking their clothes off - ALWAYS have ONE thing in common - You guess (N.T).

Yvonne Okoro you are one of the ladies i predicted to be one of Ghana's biggest female stars - i predicted this 4 years ago after seeing you in Beyonce (though i never cared for the movie - you did act your part very well - beautiful, eloquent and articulate and ability to bring the character to life) and i am still convincing some of my great producer friends to use you in their movies but word of advice Yvonne Okoro - please like i have told Majid Michel(because the two of you are maybe one of the very few ghanaians in the Ghana industry i care for ) - PLEASE BE SELECTIVE IN YOUR ROLES Yvonne - you are too good an actress to accept just any role. i dont have a doubt in my mind you will play your role excellent in this movie cos you always do it to the fullest, but i am not feeling the story line and the overly sex scenes and the lil i have seen in the preview. Say yes to scripts with much more depth and ones that makes sense (i hope Shirley uses u someday). You are building your CV - and you can never go back to erase crap movies on your CV
.
I am no prude, but like i said before if i want sexually explicit border line porn movie to watch i can easily subcribe to vivid entertainment porn. To the producers who are producing these movies- go back to the drawing board and try to be creative for once and write an intelligent script that doesnt have to have such explicit scenes in it.
.
African movies is termed home movie so one can watch with the whole family. - Ghana Censor Board you are an utter DISGRACE to our nation.. And to the actors/actresses saying YES to these scripts - remember - that you are building your CV and can never go back to erase the past - yes you might need the money - but if you want to be respected as an actor or actresses becareful the type of scripts you say yes to and dont just say YES to any script just cos the money is right. Sit down yourself watch these movies we are complaining about and be honest with yourself - critique your own self honestly. PEACE TO YOU AND GOODLUCK.
.



TITLE: Hot Fork



.
Update Feb 19th 2010
Title: Kiss me if you Can.




(the contact details of the producers/directors are there. I have already emailed them and told them a piece of my mind)
.
Another piece of crap sexually explicit movie from Ghana - this bs is becoming like an epidemic of some sort - its like they are now bombarding the market with these crap soft porn type of movies. Its a complete disgrace and I dont respect the people who are putting out these movies neither do i respect those who are constantly accepting these type of roles - 
.
I will continue advocate for movies by Shirley Frimpong Manso only, because everything else coming out to me is simply nonsense. We have such great producers  in Ghana, but unfortunately due to lack of funding they cannot show case their talent. I pray to God they are supported financially and that the resurface back on the movie scene and help Shirley resurrect our industry fully.
.
Shirley cant do all the good work by her self and until some of our great producer resurface back on the market is going to still be bombarded with such crap and soft porn type movies.
.
I miss the good ole days of Ghana movies, the Kwau Ansah "Loved Brewed in African Pot " - i mean great movies which could easily make the Sundance Film Festival. I want those producers and movie makers back to help us. We have the potential to be the greatest. Nigerian started, we follow suit and now Kenya is coming up and some of their movies are even making it to Sundance Festival and several movie festivals. With this type of nonsense Ghana has a long way to go. We are africans first, not westerners, so this stupid soft porn nonsense should not be tolerated in our movie market regardless of whatever rating they give it.
.
AFRICAN MOVIES ARE MOSTLY CLASSIFIED HOME MOVIES, ONE YOU CAN WATCH WITH THE WHOLE FAMILY, AND NO ONE IS SAYING DONT INCLUDE SEX/LOVE SCENES IN YOUR MOVIES IF THE SCRIPT CALLS FOR IT, BUT TO SHOW SUCH EXPLICIT SEX SCENES IS DOWNRIGHT DISGUSTING, ANNOYING, DISPICABLE AND JUST PREPOSTEROUS TO SAY THE LEAST. IF YOU WANT TO PRODUCE STRAIGHT PORN GO RIGHT AHEAD BUT DONT YOU DARE CLASSIFY YOUR MOVIE TO BE SOME CLASSIC GHANAIAN HOME MOVIE. 
.
Illiterate with no creativity or foresight get money in their hands they want to get behind a camera and produce and direct a movie, like hmmmmm "I dont know how to write a good script so let me just put in a few sex scenes and maybe ppl might buy it". You might ask how do i judge the movie if i havent watched it, the trailer tells me a lot and i can bet you anything the script is crap. 
.
To all these porn producers coming out, Please leave this movie making thing to the professionals who know what they are about and understand the writing of good scripts and entertaining an audience. I ADVISE ALL MY VISITORS TO STAY CLEAR AWAY FROM SUCH MOVIES, YOU CAN WATCH IT IF YOU LIKE, BY WHATEVER MEANS YOU HAVE TO WATCH MOVIES -BUT PLEASE DONT SPEND MONEY ON THIS CRAP, DONT BUY IT. SAVE YOUR MONEY FOR A BETTER MOVIE YOU CAN PUT ON YOUR SHELF OR WATCH OVER AND OVER AGAIN. Dont say i did not warn you. Do not buy this movie, you hear? Inanu? wuti diye mikachire wunu?



Title: "Love & Sex" produced by Socrates Safo

Update Feb 15th 2010
Oh my gosh i thought i had seen it all but this this is horrible. Someone sent me at trailer to a new ghanaian movie called "Love and Sex" and i am just totally disgusted by it - produced by Socrate Safo - . Starring some girls (i wont even call them actresses).
I respect yall too much to post this disgusting trailer on here so just go by the poster i have posted. Dont waste a dime on this foolishness.


Save your money for a better movie. DONT BUY THIS MOVIE - Same goes to the other movies i mentioned below - DO NOT BUY IT. Ghana you need to stop letting these ridiculous soft porn style movies out - its disgusting. Remember we are africans first - have some respect for yourselves. Absolute nonsense.

I Just saw another damn trailer of an upcoming movie starring John Dumelo and Yvonne Nelson called "QUEENS PRIDE", and once again like HEART OF MEN, i am actually disgusted. I have not watched this movie yet, and I will not watch it and YES i judge it already even though i have not watched. Like HEART OF MEN , I predict the dialogue and script is the usual nonsense.

Title: "Heart of Men"

.Title: QUEENS PRIDE.


Then there is also the overly sex scenes of "Material Girl."


Since when did sex scenes constitute to great acting. If i want to watch porn all i need to do is subscribe to Vivid Entertaiment. In hollywood the most tackiest sex scene that took away from a somewhat good script was Halle Berry in Monsters Ball (i'd be damn if i that ish clip on here) - My most favourite movie with the most tasteful and not too. over the top sex/lvoe scene was "Love & Basketball" starring Sanaa Lathan and Omar Epps as seen here in this clip.




(promotion of safe sex and all - something i hardly seen in our african movies, as well as promotion of safe driving buckling seat belt as one drives)
.
What is going in on in Ghana, why are they allowing this type of movies to be released - they have to draw the line somewhere. I mean is this what its come to now? If your movie script is CRAP and not that raved about or recognised, the next solution is to script some porn style scenes and maybe you might raise some eyebrows and be recognised. NOOOOOTTTTTTTTT!!!. I mean forinstance Heart of Men, could have been okay, but the several sex scenes were over the top and so unnecessary to the script.
.
This is real tacky. Ghana get it together. Kwaw Ansah,Shirley Frimpong Manso, Leila Djansi please save us from this mess, release another great hit for us and save us from all this nonsense.
.
ps: To the ghanaian apuskeleke females (i refuse to call u actresses) starring in these movies, at least go from being a good actress to a great actress before you accept such roles. Learn to crawl first before you run. Now you will be typecasted. Any boning movie scene, they will give yall a speed dial. Very disappointed. We are not saying dont include some sex scenes - but be tasteful - a lil descent and most importantly have a good script that makes sense., 

IF YOU HAVE TO SELL YOUR MOVIE WITH SEX, THEN THERE IS NO CONTENT TO BEGIN WITH. KEEP YOUR DAY JOB AND LEAVE THIS MOVIE THING ALONE - WE DONT NEED YOUR TRASH WORK ON THE GHANAIAN MOVIE MARKET.

GHANA MOVIE ASSOCIATION SENSOR AND STOP ALLOWING THIS NONSENSE ON THE MARKET. DO YA JOBS - FIRE SOCRATES SARFO NOW. SOCRATES SARFO YOU HAVE GOT TO GO. WE NEED SOME MORAL THINKING RESPECTABLE EDUCATED SANE MEN AND WOMEN ON THIS EXECUTIVE BOARD, THAT WILL HELP UPLIFT THE QUALITY OF GHANAIAN MOVIES
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...