Saturday, March 20, 2010

African Movie Awards After Party




These industry folks did not leave any stone unturned at this after party for the African Movie Awards held last month.Ghana and Nigeria doing what they do best - party, eat and dance. Loves it. Dancing to Timaya "Owey" and all.
.
If you watch carefully you will see a lot of familiar faces u probably seen on screen - those still working now and other veterans like RMD who have taken a break from movie sets. Theres is Jackie Appiah, there is Ama K Abebrese (tv host), etc
.
Favourite of all is Majid doing damage to that "chinchinga" (khebab) see him chew it well like nobodys business, as his beautiful wife sits there and watch him) :lol: Majid u too moch.
.

Am glad they all had a good time.

youtube credit: Mr Anangfio


You can also visit the official award site here
http://www.ama-awards.com/

.

.

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

MOVIE: TANGO WITH ME (update)

.

.

.

.

photo are "owned" by: Mr Ali Bolagun

.

I got sent further details to Tango with me starring Genevieve Nnaji, Joke Silva, Bimbo Akintola and new actor Joseph Benjamin (Thank you Lord you answered my prayers and gave us someone new - we needed that).

.

Movie is complete - finishing touches are being made. Fingers cross it wont be long for it to be released. I doubt this movie will be one of those straight to video type movies, its not your regular Idumota mass produced type overnight two week low budget movies with mediocre actors :lol: - I am sure there will be a premiere and the whole shebang.
.
SYPNOSIS:

Lola and Uzo are the perfect couple. Their married Life in front of them. All is well until they arrive at the hotel for their honeymoon. The happiest day of their lives becomes the worst. This event leads the couple to a journey of self discovery.

.

Tango with me is a contemporary story about forgiveness about some of our core values as people and about our faith. A STORY THAT PROOFS THAT ABOVE ALL - LOVES DOES INDEED CONQUER ALL.

.

I say a is a nice storyline - given us a break from royal theme stories - Thank You God. I am very proud of our african producers in nollywood and ghollywood who have chosen to raised the bar of movie production. By end of 2009, i hear Mr Bolagun had exceeded his 50million Naira budget for this movie so you know - its not a cheap movie. I wish him luck as he plans on showing this film in Cannes Festival - as well as other notable international film festival this year.

.
STARRING:
-GENEVIEVE NNAJI (well of course - cos we can NEVER get enough of her)
-JOSEPH BENJAMIN (chei - dude is fine abeg)
-JOKE SILVA (a re-union for both ladies -Genny and Auntie Joke- after Movie Keeping Faith)
-BIMBO AKINTOLA (another re-union after Keeping Faith)
.
PRODUCED & DIRECTED BY

-Mamhood Ali Bolagun

.

SCREENPLAY

Femi Kayode

.
DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY
Keith Holland (expat crew member)

.

PRODUCTION DESIGNER

Toi Whittaker

.
For all ladies eyeing the lead actor Joseph Benjamin, abeg move joh :lol: - i got him first :lol: (Sorry Muna Obiekwe that am cheating on you :lol:) - LL Cool J lips aint got nothing on dude - chei!. Never seen him in a movie - but with our one and only Genevieve as his co-star - I know I wont be disappointed. Just looking at his lips i am thinking maybe i should start thinking of getting into this acting thing and go audition some :lol: - so i can get to act on those lips - tonsil tennis and all :lol: - i swear there are some great benefits to acting i tell ya :lol:.
.

With the type of cast, this movie got "2010 2nd Annual Miss Tilii Oscar Awards" written all over it. I am glad Bimbo Akintola is showing her face again - For those of you new to nollywood movie watching and not familiar with whom Bimbo Is, brace yourself, Excellent yet underrated - beautiful, eloquent, articulate, flawless actress (a rare package we seldomly get in nollywood/ghana movie industry). I promise you will love her (hopefully her role is not minor in this movie)

.

Look out for the movie Jacket and trailer very soon - I am still waiting on that. Save your money from buying all the various crap releases on the market and put that money aside to buy this movie when its released. I promise with this type of cast you wont be disappointed.

.

.

17 yr old Ugandan King (interesting article)


.
.
source - CNN:
.
King Oyo was crowned when he was 3 years old. Now he is 17 years old and more qualified for the job. He rules over the kingdom of Tooro, that is composed of about 2 million people. Like Uganda’s other 3 kings, he governs with the advice of President Museveni.
.
Fort Portal, Uganda (CNN) — At first glance, he looks like any other 17-year-old. He bobs his head to rapper Jay-Z, plays video games and reads the “Twilight” vampire books. When he’s not doing homework, he kicks a soccer ball in his backyard. Yet looks can be deceiving. People in this corner of western Uganda know the young man as King Oyo, one of the world’s youngest ruling monarchs.
.
The teen king rules over more than 2 million people in the Tooro kingdom, one of four kingdoms in Uganda that conjure images of pre-colonial Africa. King Oyo lives for part of the year in a palace perched on a hill in Fort Portal, a place where bicycles stacked with bananas race past ramshackle huts in the shadow of a snow-capped mountain. He also has a palace in the bustling Ugandan capital, Kampala, where he studies at a private school while soldiers stand guard.
.
Friends at school greet him with hugs and handshakes, but back home, subjects kiss his feet while sprawled before him on the ground, as if they were doing push ups.
.
“I still find it a little uncomfortable when people bow, especially the older ones,” says the king, whose full name is Oyo Nyimba Kabamba Iguru Rukidi IV. “My friends at school (could not) care less that I’m a king. They like me for who I am, not for what I am.”

King Oyo has worn the crown for as long as he can remember. He ascended to the throne aged three, after his father died in 1995. For his coronation, the toddler sat on a miniature throne and played with toys after a mock battle with a grown-up “rebel” prince. At one point, his majesty dashed from the throne to climb onto his mother’s lap. He also yanked off a lion-skin crown that was too heavy for his little head. The next day, King Oyo attended a meeting with Cabinet members who were old enough to be his grandparents.
.
Now he stands nearly six feet tall and looks much more regal. He sits on a throne draped with leopard skin and wears a royal robe of blue and gold, his cropped hair covered by a crown with a fluffy white tail.
.
Tooro Kingdom Website
http://www.toorokingdom.com/
.
So to the producers who cant think of nothing else to script but a royal theme movie, how about this for a movie for yall? :lol:
.
.
.
.

Recap on Movies I Dont Waste My Money or Time on

So i got this young lady (non african) email me today telling me about how she has spend so much money on crap movies which is just on her shelf and is purely a waste and wishes she had been a little selective but just like we were all got duped when we started this movie watching game 10 yrs ago - we all learn as we go along. (Poor thang :lol:)
.
All the movie titles she mentioned in her email have all the type of storyline i avoid as stated in my previous thread (link below). I wish this lady had read this thread but i guess she hadnt stumble on this blog yet. She got convinced by what the movie dealer in the african store told her.
.
For all the newbies in US/UK starting out watching movies - please dont let the african store owner convince u the movie is nice, most of the time they havent even watched the movie themselves. They are just trying to sell - so if they purchased 5-10 copies of some particular movie off of distributor Franco Films or Sanga Entertainment- come what may they have to get rid of all and sell these movies - even if it means lying to you. Dont always believe them.
.
Try and do your research by reading the various movie review blogs first (mine, Nollywoodforever etc) before you go and spend money buying the movie (Money is tight in this economy and every penny counts).
.
If you have to start reading from the beginning of this blog, read through and alert yourself and find out what we call out as crap (at least crap in my opinion - but "to each his own" right?) then please spend that 1 hr to do that.
.
Your research will be worth it. It will save you some money - and thats the whole goal of these various review blogs.
.
If you browse thru this blog you will notice producers i have called out, for audience to stay clear from. We all dont have to like the same thing neither do you have to agree with me - this is simply my opinion - its at your own judgement call to go out and buy these movies.
.
Read This Old Thread on "Crap Alerts" and Movies to NOT spend your money on
http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2009/07/movie-themes-that-have-clear-signs-of.html
.
.
.
.

Monday, March 15, 2010

When BollyWOOD, NollyWOOD, GollyWOOD, and all the Woods copy HOLLYWOOD

Do other movie industries copy Hollywood when it comes to script of a movie - well ofcourse.
.
.
Bollywood has been know for years to copy a lot of Hollywood movies to the T. Someone actually started a face book group listing all the Hollywood movies copied by Bollywood (they got assed out :lol:) http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=106464276401&topic=9759
.
.
Nollywood, Gollywood has copied a few too including: Scarface, Save the Last Dance, The other Boleyn Girl, (i will list the other if i remember them)
.
.
Notice Venus FIlms (Abdul Mumuni & Frank Arase) has copied several times already (not steal a scene here or there but straight up copy from beginning to end) - yep Venus and their reputation lacking originality in anything they do.:lol:
.
.
I heard people complain that Shirley Frimpong Manso movie "Perfect Picture" or "Life and Living it" was a copy of Hollywood movie "The Brothers" - What is our definition of a copied movie anyway?. Mine is when its copied exactly from beginning to end - when there is nothing new from the original. Sometimes i overlook it - and thus why i did not complain too much about "Crime to Christ" cos Majid did bring that movie justice - but fact still remains it was copied from Scarface from beginning to end :lol:. Once in a while when its done and done right thats ok, but when one builds a reputation of always copying then thats a problem.
.
.
We the audience do prefer originality more than anything else and ones work is respected more. Also in the US there are strict laws to protect the copyrights of these movies so i guess Bollywood or Nollywood can try and get away with copying - but someday am sure someone is not going to take it lightly. If you are going to copy the whole movie i think its just respect to ask permission I guess.
.
.
Everyone including my self pointed out when MS Vivian 5 min scene from Silent Scandal seemed like a straight copy from Tyler Perrys "Daddys Lil Girl" - i noticed it too - but that did not overshadow the rest of the script - I am sure some Hollywoodians themselves have copied each other too. I mean i have seen movies like Parents Trap with Hayley Mills redone with Lynsey Lohan -but i imagine they at least bought the rights.
.
Now since i am a movie addict i watch all movies from all walks of life Hollywood (except horrors or sci-fi), Bollywood, Nollywood (including subtitled Yoruba, Ibibio etc), African Francophone movie, and all types of movies - my favourite theme is traditional, suspense, romance or dramatic movies.
.
.
My all time favourite is watching Hollywood old movies from the 50s and 60s (including black and white movies - particularly those staring Elizabeth Taylor, Paul Newman, Hayley Mills etc) - and one that stands to be my one and only favourite is Elizabeth Taylor and Paul Newman "Cat on a Hot Tin Roof".
.
.
Excellent scripted movie by Tennesse WIlliams - it was adapted into a broadway stage play starring my one and only Sanaa Lathan as well as James Earl Jones, Phylicia Rashad, Terrence Howard etc - i never got to see it but i yearned to.
.
For those in London - u might wanna go check it out cos i heard they are touring there until April 10th 2010 check it out here, http://www.catwestend.com/ or check it out the cast interview on youtube here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UkZLlkq6xCI - u still want to get the dvd though.(i see they replace Terrence with Adrian ??)
.
.
Now this movie i will love to see a Nollywood adaptation of it starring Genevieve Nnaji and Majid/Ramsey Nouah - i mean i got all the cast written down and errthang :lol: . I even started a whole thread on it here http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2009/08/genny-ramsey-star-in-remake-of-cat-on.html
- Genevieve Nnaji as Maggie
- Ramsey Nouah or Majid as Brick
- Kofi Adjorlolo or Justise Esiri as Big Daddy
- Patience Ozorkwor as Big Mama
- Ini Edo or Uche Jumbo as Coopers Pregnant Bitchie Wife
.
.
This is a movie i so respect and will wish some one in nollywood or gollywood simply ask for permission to redo it within our industry.
.
.
If you havent watched this movie i urge u to purchase it somewhere and watch it - its a classic hollywood movie you want to keep on your shelve just as much as other greats such as Sound of Music, One Flew over the Cuckoos Nest etc.
.
Since we talking bout movies and errthang - i need help in finding a title to a movie. This movie addiction thing started way back when we first got betamax back in ghana (if u know what betamax is then u definately oldschool). I use to watch all these movies nonstop - having 5 brothers "Scarface" was on rotation in my house. I loved the novels turned into movies too such as that by Sidney Sheldon or Jackie COllins, but there is this one particular movie i have been lookin for for ages and cant find the title cos i forgot - i will love whomever help me find this movie title so i can purchase off of amazon. Ok so the story line goes a man and a woman married, man starts to cheat on wife with friend, in order to get rid of wife to marry mistress, man takes wife to the lake to go fishing or whatever, pushes woman in an alligator infested lake and leaves her to die. God being so good woman does not die cos though the alligator did do damage to her face-she was rescued on the other side of the lake and stayed the for years and got plastic surgery and all. Husband assuming wifey had died but wifey surprises husband and mistress years later and emerged a new woman after numerous surgeries to her face which the alligators had damaged. I mean that movie was the business, i loved it but i dont remember the title. Help me out.
.
.
So do you know of other Nollywood, Ghana Movies YOU HAVE WATCHED, which you think has same or similar to some Hollywood movie. Was a a straight copy or a coincidence. Lets talk about it (if you have watched the movie that is)
.
.
.
.

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Upcoming Titles for 1st Quarter (Jan-Mar 2010)

I am simply announcing whats coming out in then next month (as part of 1st quarter Jan-Mar 2010).
.
I am not certain how good they will be. Apart from the actors listed - i will also need to see who the directors and producers are before I shell out my money to buy it.
.
Based on my experience, there are "Some" actors, producers and directors i am always certain it will be good and almost always they never dissapoint, but others i am very cautious- VERRRRRRRRRRRYYYYYY CAUTIOUS indeed based on the cast combination and producer/directors past work (As u all know, now I pay very close and particular attention to producers/directors now - i watch their work with a keen eye - and will call out those who clearly are in this buiness not to entertain us fully and give us our monies worth but simply to put out quantities of junk every fortnight just to make a quick buck).
.
I will advice not to go out and just buy these movies just yet - wait. Always remember to browse the web and read the several review sites first. Try to stock your video library with only great movies you love and can rewatch.
.
As a movie reviewer its my duty to watch all movies and i have no choice i will, however this blogging is something i do on a part time basis thus in 2010 I choose to only review the great ones in depth.
.
If its just "OK" i will mention it briefly, and if its totally uttterly crap, i have decided to NOT WASTE space on this blog, thus I will not mention it at all (:wink:). I am just saving us all the headache and most of all the money.
.
So here are the upcoming movie titles and its cast members, all other info on the movies as in the storyline and names of directors/producers will be announced later.
.
A DATE WITH DESTINY
(Starring: Jim Iyke, Patience Ozorkwor, Olu Jacobs, Kofi Adjorlolo)
.
A BATTLE OF DESTINY 1&2
(Starring: Jim Iyke, Patience Ozorkwor, Olu Jacobs, Kofi Adjorlolo)
.
HEAT OF THE MOMENT
(Starring: Mercy Johnson, Emeka Ike, Kofi Adjorlolo)
.
HEAL MY SOUL 1, 2, 3 & 4
(Starring: Jim Iyke, Olu Jacobs, Mercy Johnson, Yvonne Neslon)
.
RESTORE MY SOUL 1 & 2
(Starring: Emeke Ike, Emeka Duru, Juliet Ibrahim)
.
THE FOLLOWERS
(Starring: Emeka Ike, Chika Ike, Nadia Buari)
.
MARRIAGE OF SORROW
(Starring: Oge Okoye, Pat Attah, Ngozi Ezeonu)
.
FALLING APART
(Starring: Zach Orji, Eucharia Anuobi etc)
.
KINGS DESIRE
(Starring: Patience Ozorkwor, Ini Edo, Mike Ezerounye)
.
LIFTED SOUL
(Starring: Patience Ozorkwor, Olu Jacobs, Ini Edo, Mike Ezerounye)
.
KEEP US TOGETHER
(Starring: Ini Edo, Emeka Enyiocha, Eucharia Anuobi)
.
BITTER GENERATION 1, 2,3 & 4
(Starring: Ini Edo, Oge Okoye, Olu Jacobs)
.
PLAN B
(Starring: Tontoh Dikeh, Yvonne Nelson, Nonso Diobi)
.
GENE STAND BY ME -
(Starring: Genevieve Nnaji, Emeka Duru)
ALERT! ALERT ! ALERT - this is an OLD Gene Movie which i rate 6/10
.
Please to those contacting me about reviewing Chelsea and all the Venus Production Hooplas' - am sorry i "can not" review them because i refuse to watch any Venus Production anymore - i notice watching most of Venus produced film always gives me a terrible migrain & dizziness and sometimes on a verge of yanking my hair out - my health is important to me :lol:. Thus Far "Crime to Christ is the only one i liked and sat thru from beginning to end, but since then - i try and avoid them, i mean i have decided someone else has to watch it and tell me about it b4 i even venture - sometimes the trailer alone tells me a lot.
.
Upcoming "Who Loves me" i may give it 5 mins - i have a short attention span for nonsense movies :lol:. I am not picking on Venus, I just tell it like it is, if its good i will say it, if its not i will say it.
.
I do this blogging on a part time basis so i have to utlise my time right and focus on if not great at least good movies - not crap movies from Venus. The only fellow ghanaians i fully support and whose movies i will spend my time to review is Shirley Frimpong Manso, Akorfa Asiedu and any other great producers. I dont do Venus nor any of the other pornstyle crap movies by those mediocre producers.
.
ok ok, I will watch Chelsea, after reading the other various & numerous review sites to see what they say about it. (:wink:, :wink:)
.
.
.
.

CheckMate (Upcoming Movie by Shirley.F.Manso)



.

here is the official website of upcoming movie by our Ghana's very own Shirley Frimpong Manso
.
http://checkmatemovie.com/

(the movietrailer is also on the website or simply click here


.

The title is called "CHECKMATE" and it stars Nadia Buari (this is the first time Shirley has decided to work with Nadia. Well i hope she leaves her brimerican accent aside and hopefully Shirley brought out the best in her to truly act abd be realistic in the character -am not a big fan of Nadia - YET! - to each his own).

.
The movie was produced and written as always by Shirley herself, co produced by Chris Attoh and Directed my Chris older brother Ken Attoh who also directed "A sting in a tale".

.

It also stars ghanaian actresses Naa Ashorkor Mensah, Ekow Blankson, Kweku Sintim Misa (KSM) and introducing Sesanu Gbedawo.

.

Its very understandable why Shirley chose not to recycle this time like she has done with her previous movies but rather - bring in new faces, I hope these actors lived up to the expectation - you are not just acting some movie - This is a Shirley Frimpong Manso movie and her reputation is at stake here so i hope these new actors dont disappoint at all - I will be watching with an extra keen eye.

.

Tis the year for new faces - new EXCELLENT talent - Africa is a big continent with a lot of hidden talent we need to dig - and this is where i put my energy to dig those talents. We need that Majid, Adjetey, Jim, Genevieve, Rita, Ini etc type package - Beautiful/Handsome, Eloquent, Articulate, Diverse in their acting skills and most importantly can bring the character to life and make us believe in what they are protraying - nothing forced. I am yearning for new faces this year.

.
STORYLINE:
Kwame has made all the right moves in his life; a good job, a beautiful devoted wife, an adorable child, and an impending promotion as a senior customs officer at the airport.

.
But what seems like a typical guys hang out on a weekend away from home in the company of his new friend and mentor, Kiki, turns out to be the one wrong move Kwame makes. After losing a game of Chess, he succumbs to a bet to seduce the attractive, sexy Caroline.
.
A few weeks later, the consequences of a dirty forgotten weekend pops up in Kwame’s life threatening to destroy everything he so dearly loves. But the games are just beginning when he realizes that Caroline’s demand for his love is nothing compared to the demands of a drug lord who will do anything to get Kwame’s assistance in smuggling drugs out of the country.
.
With his entire life hanging on a thread, Kwame must try to win the game or risk losing everything.
.
The official premiere dates in Ghana is April 1st - this is why i love Shirley so much - she is a true ghanaian patriot who always make sure she releases her ghanaian movies first in the ghanaian market before anywhere else - regardless of whether its cost efficient or not - i guess it still works for her some way.

.
Many atimes a lot of ppl back home complain cos people in the states gets the movie released months in advance before its released on lagos and accra markets. I still get people from Naija contacting me asking me how come they cant get a hold of Silent Scandal or A Sting in a Tale or Guilty Pleasures - I dont know maybe they are looking in the wrong places.
.

After the success of "A Sting in a Tale", "Perfect Picture", "Life and Living it", and "Scorned", we all wait patiently to see this new movie. I anticipate folks in US and UK will get to see this around May or Mid June when Shirley finally releases here. Most of her DVDs are released by Sanga Entertainment in NY.

.
PLEASE NOTE DATES
.
GRAND PREMIERE

.
DATE:
.

ARPRIL 1ST 2010

.
VENUE:


NATIONAL THEATRE
.


TIME:

6.30 - 9.30PM
.

.
GHANA NATIONWIDE RELEASE


(Oops I meant SILVERBIRD release :LOL)
.


DATE:

APRIL 2ND 2010

.
VENUE:

SILVERBIRD THEATRE - ACCRA MALL

.
TIME:

CALL SILVERBIRD OR GO TO THEIR WEBSITE TO VIEW SHOWTIMES.
.

.

.

.

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

New Relationship of Celebs should be kept private

So there is a new rumor of two big african celebs dating - man spilled the beans (supposedly/allegedly) in an interview cos he couldnt supress his love no more.
.
I really wish when it comes to relationships of celebs (nollywood, gollywood, hollywood etc)they keep it private and wouldnt kiss and tell so much - no matter how much one is in love or how proud one is of their new found love, -its best to keep it quiet for the longest haul. Be private and a lil unassuming especially when its new and especially when both are stars.
.
Its no ones business, because telling so early and revealing puts a pressure on the relationship especially considering our ruthless tabloids (they will write any thing to sell the paper) and especially when the two involve are so big in their celeb status - every tom dick and harry will be watching like hawks - not cool mehn.
.
I wait patiently for confirmation from the lady herself (when it comes to news particularly of her i wait for her own confirmation otherwise its hogwash to me)- until then - i take this with a grain of salt.
.
The whole interview with dude sounded more sacarstic to me than real and the lady in question that i know will NEVER EVER WANT HER PRIVATE BUSINESS (as to whom she is dating) publicly aired out like that, NEVER, she has always been private and thats why i respect her so much. So like i said i take this with a grain of salt. Hogwash news to sell paper.
.


Sunday, March 7, 2010

1st Annual Ms Tilii Nollywood & Gollywood African Oscar Movie Awards

(All movies are English Movies from Nollywood & Gollywood)
.
BEST MOVIE
GUILTY PLEASURES BY EMEM ISONG & DESMOND ELLIOT
.
BEST SCRIPT
A STING IN A TALE BY SHIRLEY FRIMPONG MANSO
.
BEST PRODUCER
DESMOND ELLIOT & EMEM ISONG FOR “GUILTY PLEASURES” & "RELOADED"
.
BEST DIRECTOR

SHIRLEY FRIMPONG MANSO FOR “A STING IN A TALE”

BEST ACTOR (younger)
“RAMSEY NOUAH” IN GUILTY PLEASURES
“MAJID MICHEL” IN SILENT SCANDAL
(this was the hardest decision thus we had to tie them)
.
BEST ACTRESS (younger)
GENEVIEVE NNAJI
IN SILENT SCANDAL BY VIVIAN EJIKE
.
BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
ADJETEY ANANG IN A STING IN A TALE BY SHIRLEY FRIMPONG MANSO
.
BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
INI EDO IN NATIVE SON BY TCHIDI CHIKERE
.
BEST ACTOR (older)
CHIWETALU AGU IN EVIL MANIPULATION
.
BEST ACTRESS (older)
CAMILLA MBEREKPE IN FIGHTING FOR NOTHING
.
BEST NEW COMER ACTOR
ADJETEY ANANG IN A STING IN A TALE (he is not new in ghana but new to the most africanmovie audience worldwide)
.
BEST NEW COMER ACTRESS
NSE IKPE ETIM IN GUILTY PLEASURES & RELOADED
.
BEST NEW COMER PRODUCER
DESMOND ELLIOT FOR "GUILTY PLEASURES" & "RELOADED" & "BEFORE THE LIGHT"
. this was a tie between Desmond and Ken Attoh
BEST NEW COMER DIRECTOR
KEN ATTOH FOR A STING IN A TALE
.
BEST NEW COMER DIRECTOR
DESMOND ELLIOT FOR "GUILTY PLEASURES" & "RELOADED" & "BEFORE THE LIGHT
.
BEST STYLIST & COSTUME
UCHE NANCY
FOR SILENT SCANDAL BY VIVIAN EJIKE
.
BEST SOUND & PICTURE QUALITY
A STING IN A TALE
BY SHIRLEY FRIMPONG MANSO
.
WORST MOVIE
STUBBORN PRINCE (aka GANSTER PRINCE) & KISS OF VENOM"
BY NONSO EKENE OKONKOW
.
WORST SCRIPT
HEART OF MEN
BY FRANK ARASE & ABDUL MUMUNI
.
WORST ACTOR
ALI NUHU
in EVERYTHING (most of these movies arent even memorable to remember titles)
.
WORST NEW ACTOR
"PAUL FRANK"
in GUILTY PLEASURES as Oriafo
.
WORST ACTRESS
MIRIAM ORJIEKEW
IN “STUBBORN PRINCE (AKA GANSTER PRINCE

.
WORST NEW ACTRESS
MIRIAM ORJIEKEW
IN “STUBBORN PRINCE (AKA GANSTER PRINCE
.
WORST DIRECTOR
NONSO EKENE OKONKOW
FOR STUBBORN PRINCE (AKA GANSTER PRINCE) & "KISS OF VENOM"
.
WORST PRODUCER
NONSO EKENE OKONKOW FOR STUBBORN PRINCE (AKA GANSTER PRINCE) AND “KISS OF VENOM
.
Enjoy Everybody and remember this is all in fun - we not giving away any plaques or trophies (:lol:).
.
Next year we will add more categories - who knows this fun stuff could turn into something else in future (if any of you have any suggestions please dont hesitate to let us know).
.
Movies such as "The Figurine", "Home In Exile", "Cindys Notes" and "I Sing of a Well" was not included in the category because it was not widely released world wide for us ordinary folks to watch it and make our judgement - so this year 2010 it will be added to the nominees once the most of us finally get to see it. Most of us are still waiting to watch this movie on dvd.
.
CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR WINNERS & loosers!!!!
.
if you see any typos - please pardon me and alert me to make changes

Saturday, March 6, 2010

2009 Miss TiLii Oscar Awards - Winners/Loosers Will Be Named on Mar 7th 2010

I know many oyall been waiting for me to name the winners and loosers of the 2009 nolly/gollywood awards.
.
Based on the responses i got from here
http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2009/12/2009-end-of-year-miss-tilii-emg-movie.html
The Winners & Loosers will be named on Mar 7th 2010, Same day as the Hollywood Oscars :lol: - We call it "Miss Tilii Oscar Winners and Losers" :lol:
.
Its all in fun - nothing serious
.

Monday, March 1, 2010

Black Hollywoodians Recognized at NAACP Awards

.
Like you all know this is a strictly african movie review site but every now and then I switch it up a notch with international news if its entertainment related - since i am a movie addict I try to keep up to date on how everyone is doing across the globe (particular Nollywood and Black Hollywood).
.
One of my favourite Black Hollywood Award shows is NAACP which honors black people in hollywood and entertainment industry as a whole for their achievements. This award show was televised on Saturday Feb 27 2010 and below are the red carpet and award photos.
.
New actress Gabby Sidibe won the Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture Award and after sashaying to the stage (and exchange love taps with presenter, Chris Rock), she stood before the mic and began with, "It is an honor to be nominated, but it's so awesome to win!" She went on to thank, and dedicate her award to, "all the Precious girls out there." In addition to her win, her co-star, Mo'Nique won for Outstanding Supporting Actress, director Lee Daniels won for Directing and screenwriter Geoffrey Fletcher won for Outstanding Screenplay. The film also won for Outstanding Indie Film and Outstanding Motion Picture.
.
The NAACP also awarded special honors to a handful of our most prominent players including Tyler Perry (Chairman's Award), artist/philanthropist Wyclef Jean (NAACP/Ford Vanguard Award) as well as Former White House Advisor, Van Jones (President's Award). Additionally, music industry "godfather" Clarence Avant was inducted in the Hall of Fame.
.
Rounding out the night's winners were Maxwell who won for Outstanding Male Artist and received a heartfelt, standing ovation from the audience as well as Mary J. Blige, winner for Outstanding Female Artist and Outstanding Album. Co-Host, Hill Harper, earned the award for Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series while Lance Gross won for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series. The family series, "Lincoln Heights," which, sadly, will sign off this year after four seasons, won for Outstanding Drama Series.
.
Also, it seems that Steve Harvey's message has resonated as his 52-week New York Times bestseller, "Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man," was honored with the Outstanding Literary Work (Instructional) Award.
.
Congratulations to all the recipients for me particularly Tyler Perry cos he seems to be the only one holding up Black Hollywood right now and creating constant work for our people. I am still waiting for our veterans like Spike Lee, Antoine Fuqua, John Singleton and the likes. There is a lot of black folks and people of color still waiting in line to get an opportunity. The ratio in hollywood is not fair at all, thats why sometimes i feel i dont even care for our Genevieve and the likes to go hollywood route, I dont want them to be waiting in line like the majority of black hollywood counterparts always are. Daniel Lee did a great job with Precious and I hope he does more good work in the future.
.
credit/source: www.wireimages.com and www.essence.com
.
.

Keshia Knight Pulliam (lil Rudy Huxtable all Grown up)

Keshia accepting her Award

Actress Kimberly Elise


Newly Engaged Journee Smollett and her Boo
(i love this girl - excellent young black actress)

Tchina Arnold, Chris Rock and Journee Smollett

Newly Engaged American Next Top Model former Winner Eva and her boo actor Lance Gross

Singer and New mom Jill Scott

Actress Gabrielle Union
Actresses Essence Atkins and Gabrielle Union

Hollywood D- Z listers whose name i dont quite remember

Singer ...."Mz Keri Baby...." nice dress

Ms Keri wins

Young Child Actress Keke Palmer
(like Journee Smollet i love this chic - she is definately the future Angela Bassett- she is only 16yrs old yet such a great actress - if u have young kids i suggest you buy them movie "Akeelah & the Bee - Ms Prestidigitation :lol - i mentioned her in my blog article about Nollywood Child Actors vs Hollywood Child Actors)

Kekes Palmer well deserve Award - Congrats

Keke Palmer making her acceptance speech

Raven Symone (lil Olivia from the Cosby Show)

Our Haitian American Actress Garcelle Beaveau

From L to R: Journee, ?, Eva, Tchina and Lance


Tyler Perry and our Legend Actress Cicely Tyson (love me some Cicely)

Tyler Perry accepting his well deserved award
He said quote: We don't have to wait for somebody to greenlight our own projects. We can create our own intersections.- Tyler Perry

Tyler and actress Taraji Henson (and NO i doubt dating - she is just Tyler's friend who starred in his last production movie: "I can do Bad by myself")

Actress Taraji P Henson (love the hair, dress & earrings)

Toni Braxton (she is coming back yall - watch out for this summer release)


Keshia Knight Pulliam showing off her award


Maxwell during the acceptance speech
(to all the Maxwell Fans he is touring with Jill Scott starting in May 2010 - I just cant wait for this)

Morgan Freeman
(one of the very few black hollywoodians who is always blessed with constant job - GREAT ACTOR)

Quentin Terrantino and Kimberly Elise giving Mr Freeman his Award

New Actress Gabby Sidibe during her Acceptance Speech
(The movie "Precious" which she starred in won 6 image awards)

Actress Monique Accepts her Award
(Congrats to her for her Oscar Nomination for "Precious" - Oscar Awards is Next Week Mar 7)
.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...