Sunday, February 28, 2010

SHIRLEY FRIMPONG MANSO WINS PAFF AWARD FOR "A STING IN A TALE"

Shirley Frimpong Manso - our one and only Ghanaian filmaker has won an award at the 18th Annual pan african film festival (www.paff.org) for the movie A STING IN A TALE - read my review here http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2009/12/sting-in-tale-ghs-shirley-frimpong.html
. .
The Pan African Film and Arts Festival, is America’s largest and most prestigious Black film and arts festival that takes place annually in Los Angeles during the month of February.
.
Shirley thank you - you make Ghana proud because thus far you are the only one doing a good job with movies in ghana - NOBODY ELSE IN GHANA - PERIOD. You make us very proud and we salute you!!!! - I hope you get all the funding you need to continue to do such great movies
.
LOS ANGELES, Calif. —The Jury, Audience, Festival, and other special award-winners of the 2010 PAN AFRICAN FILM & FESTIVAL (PAFF) were announced at the Festival’s Awards Ceremony hosted by actress CCH Pounder (Avatar) at the Culver Plaza Theatres (9919 Washington Blvd. Los Angeles).
.
The Kenyan narrative FROM A WHISPER won for Best Narrative Feature. A three-way tie was announced for the Audience Favorite Narrative Award for films SOUL DIASPORA, A STING IN A TALE, and SPEED-DATING. The documentary on the L.A. Black Panthers 41ST & CENTRAL: THE UNTOLD STORY OF THE L.A. BLACK PANTHERS won the Audience Favorite Documentary Award.
.
With the theme “Get Involved,” this year’s PAFF featured 135 films representing 36 countries, including 40 in competition, 64 feature length films, and 12 world premieres.
.
The films receiving Jury Awards were selected from six categories:
- Best Feature Documentary
- Best Documentary Short,
- Best Narrative Short,
- Best Feature Narrative, and
- First Time Narrative Feature Directing.
.
All films in competition were also eligible for the PAFF’s Audience Awards as selected by Festival audiences. The PAFF Board of Directors and Programmer Festival Awards were awarded to their pick for Best Documentary and Best Narrative film. A special award from the British Academy of Film and Television Arts/Los Angeles Festival Choice Award was awarded to the film FROM A WHISPER.
.
For more information, please visit source http://www.paff.org/
.
ps: Mehn these Kenyas are not playing at all - they just started in the game and they are not leaving any stone unturned. To me - the more the merrier cos it creates a challenge amongst all the film makers across AFRICA to producer beter and quality movies. I am proud of all of them.

Saturday, February 27, 2010

Jan/Feb 2010 is very slow - No "GREAT" release yet

Am i the only one bored out of my mind this first quarter of the year with lack of great movie releases.
.
I am scratching my neck like a crack fiend. For gosh sakes I need a hit. Cmon Emem, Vivian, Shirley, Tchidi, Lancelot - where yall at???? :lol: -
.
I guess i have to pop in some of the old hits and put them on rotation - I mean do i have a choice.
.

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

WHITE HUNTERS (review)


TITLE:
WHITE HUNTERS
(the above is the movie jacket for the USA DVD release, i think it would market more had they included Funke Akindele on the cover as well, she has a larger audience after infamous movie JENIFA)
.
STARRING:
-Funke Akindele
-Ini Edo
-Mercy Johnson
-Halima Abubakar
-Chigozie Atuanya
.
STORYLINE:

Young women constantly looking for greener pastures in white men. The only survival plan is to get hooked to white men from any part of the world with loads of money. :lol:
.
PRODUCER:
tba
.
DIRECTOR:
tba
.
MY REVIEW:
It is not the greatest script movie and yall know i dont like reviewing movies less that 8/10 ratings - but this one was funny sha. I mean is this really realistic back home, i dont know you tell me. Funke makes it hilarious. She had me in tears laughing. She still had that Ayetoro Suliat mannerisms in this movie.
.
Its about girls trying to hunt for oyibo men by any means necessary cos they think its their meal ticket. Funke (with only secondary education under her belt) competes with Mercy Johnson and Ini Edo characters for oyibo men.
.
Funkes character searched and searched and searched but to no avail until she found herself a GARLIC EATING INDIAN MAN WITH A TURBAN ON HIS HEAD (she met him in a grocery store and pursued him)Hilarious movie. I realise how much I miss her so much in english movies (i first noticed her in Sharon Stone also starring Gene and Stephnora- though it was a small role she had, she really caught my eye as a potential great actress), but she got me watching Yoruba movies 2 yrs ago nonetheless and i havent stopped watching since. I love you Funke. You are too much :lol:.
.
Mercy's character had me in stitches with her new found white love as she competes with Inis character - a 73 yr old man using walking stick - this is what i mean by "By any Means Necessary". Funke back to her "Gbogbo Big Girlz , kilon sparkles, is like u know, amean, hi, excuse me, hounshhhhhhhhh", Its just hilarious movie i think - Funke and Mercy made it funny.
.
All the white actors acting in this movie was NOT GOOD as expected, I mean it comes as no surprise, cos there has not been one ghanaian/najia movie to date i have watched where the oyibos acting is top notch, its like they go for the worst actors and place them in these movies, and this is why usually i avoid such movies.
.
MY RATINGS
5/10
(IF YOU HAVE MONEY TO WASTE - THEN BUY THIS MOVIE :lol: - its not a classic but its funny nonetheless. I mean once u see a movie jacket where the girls are dressed like aristos/runs as this movie jacket u know thats not a movie for keepers :lol:)
.

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

SILENT SCANDAL (Excellent Movie Starring Genevieve Nnaji)

Update on Feb 17th 2010:.
I just got this movie again this past weekend because the one i had from Dec 2009 was the VCD format which I got back home in GH this christmas) (i guess west africa still sells the vcd formats cos its cheaper to produce and sell - I got mine on the streets of accra from the movie hawkers for 5 ghana cedi, two cds part 1 & 2 in one case - same with A Sting in a Tale - VCDS are no more than 5 ghana cedis - no where did i see DVDs format being sold - i woulda bought that).
.
I dont like VCDs (because i prefer my DVDs where all parts are on 1 dvd and not several) so i had already decided to get the actual DVD once i got back to US . I finally got it this weekend for my library and its been sitting there cos I knew i had already watched it many times alreadt , but today i was bored (do u blame me 1st quarter 2010 is slow as hell and we need some great releases as such) so i decided to pop it in my dvd player and rewatch again for the gajillionth time :lol:.
.
If you dont know this, most movies released in USA (i dont know for UK - nollyforever confirm this for me) are reproduced in DVD format here in USA by Sanga Entertainment, Franco Films etc (silent scandal was reproduced by franco - executive images).
.
I am only 30mins into the movie and just noticed that there are several scenes in the US DVD release that were not shown in the theatre premiere in Silverbird Ghana, nor was it on the VCD I purchased when i home. SO obviously the DVD is way better than VCD (always make sure you PURCHASE DVD if its available).
.
I hope eventually they start producing and selling the DVD formats back home (Ghana, Nigeria etc) - its simple its just all parts in one cd (even if its 2/3 or 4 parts) and not several cds to take space. I love the DVD formats.
.
I plan on repurchasing "A Sting in a Tale" too considering what i have realised now. I am sure there maybe some scenes in there too that i did not see on the vcd format i purchased back home.
.
All these are EXCELLENT movies so i dont mind purchasing it and i continually suggest you all do the same and buy some for your friends and family. Its money well spent - a rewatchable movie for your VIDEO LIBRARY.
.
See below for any revisions on my review based on the new stuff i see watching this again. I will put any addition in green font (if there is any).
.
.
December 2009
.

.
Aaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
.
Thats my scream of excitement after watching SILENT SCANDAL - PHENOMENAL EXCELLENT MOVIE. Ohhhhhhh I loved it.
.
I mean anyone who reads this blog knows Ego Boyo's Keeping Faith remains my #1 movie of all time (a movie i can watched so many times and still not get bored) but afterwatching Silent Scandal - am rethinking, Keeping Faith is going to shift to #2 :lol - let me not speak too quick before my long awaited Emem Isong produced "Bursting Out" make me eat my words - still patiently wating for that)
.
Lets just say our female producers sure as hell are taking all the men producers to the cleaners. Vivian Ejike, i dont who you are and never seen your work before this movie, but lets just say i salute you. You ladies are making me so damn proud to be a woman and i will continue to support your good work. I love love love love love love you all.
.
Emem Isong (love you always my sister, Ego Boyo (Keeping Faith producer, where u at, we miss ya work), Shirley Frimpong Manso (Life and Living it) and now Vivian Ejike (Silent Scandal)
.
I thought GUILTY PLEASURES sealed it for us before the end of 2009 but Vivian Ejike just had to put the icing on the cake or shoud i say the cherry on the icing cake,chei. I love it love it love it.
.
STARRING
Genevieve Nnaji as Jessie Obi
Majid Michel as Naeto

Uche Jumbo as Mukky
Chelsea Eze - as Ella Ubaka
Ebele Okaro as Grandma Ubaka
.
PRODUCER
VIVIAN EJIKE
.
DIRECTOR
TK FALOPE

.
SCREENPLAY
Vivian Ejike
.
SYPNOSIS
The dramatic love story that revolves around the hidden and triangular love lives of a strict mother, her spoilt daughter and an indigent 'playboy,' has top actress, Genevieve Nnaji, as the lead act, Majid Michel, Uche Jombo, Ebele Okaro and a host of other emerging acts.
.
Silent Scandal was shot with hi-tech production equipment and thoroughly manned by tested professionals within and outside Nigeria.“It's a contemporary and an emotional story, where a mother and her only daughter, unknowingly, are torn apart by the true love and lust of an indigent young man.
.
"Silent Scandal" is full of intrigues and suspense from start-to-finish. She also states with all sense of modesty that the movie, is another plus for Nollywood, especially now that the nation is preaching the gospel of re-branding. The movie, which was directed by a Nigerian filmmaker based in Los Angeles, US, also featured a live Fashion Show by award winning designer, Zizi Cardow and her leggy models.
.
STYLIST
Uche Nancy
(I have never added this category in my movie review before but i felt the need to this time cos i love the whole wardrobe of Genny in this movie. I dont know if she used her own stylist as she always does or this was the work of Uche Nancy who is usually the stylist for the majority of the cast. I have a feeling Genny had her own stylist. Loved every scene what she wore and yall known she wears the hell out of it. Unlike the mnay nollywoodians onset, she wears the clothes, the clothes dont wear her. Love me some Genny.
Uche Nancy
.
MY REVIEW
It wasnt no damn premiere, it was simply the movie showing in a theatre with regular folks. I have barely gotten home to ghana and i have been 419ed as welcome :lol:.
.
This is me thinking some red carpet and stuff, got all dressed up, got there and realised i was overdressed for the occasion. Accra Mall (where Silverbird is) jam packed with teenagers - I guess this our first mall was built for them - the teenagers practically live in that mall - and now unlike during our days they dont even want to speak our local language anymore, You speak to them in local dialects and they respond in BriMerican slangs :lol (na wah oh).
.
I dont even know where to start but lets just say i am not going to give the movie away by giving you all the details. Loved the movie from beginning to end and i cant wait till it gets on DVD so i can gift wrap it with Guilty Pleasures and Reloaded and give it as christmas gifts to my friends and family - This movie has to be one of the best movies for 2009.
.
The beginning of the movie at least the first 30 mins of it kinda reminded me of Tyler Perry's "Daddy's Little Girls" (starring Gabrielle Union and Ghana's finest Idris Elba) - the whole movie - just like i loved Gabbys wardrobe and styles in that movie i did the same for Genny. The whole uppity nose in the air black corporate lady in mid 30s with no man always engrouged in work stuff being driven by a handsome poor driver (u go figure the rest) - that whole bit reminded me so much of the movie Daddys Little Girls.
.
The new girl who plays Gennys daughter I will say is good - i honestly forgot her name and you know i dont have the dvd yet since i saw it in Silverbird. She has potential and she played her character well.
.
I am not sure where the movie was shot, a part me thinks its ghana and a part of me thinks its naija, I cant make it out. Either way it was good.
.
Uche Jumbo was good in her role, she made the audience laugh a lot in many of her scenes with her comments. She played Gennys boy/sex craze friend, side kick and confidant. My best scene with her was the restaurant scene where she was going on about how she keeps fit having lots of sex, and then just as she was speaking some dude (who is suppose to be one of her exercise machines i guess) knocks on the window, she gestures him to come into the restaurant, he does so, and comes kneel down next to Uche and whispers something into Uches ear as Genny sits there wondering what the hell) without a beat, Uche reaches into her purse and whips some money out and gives it to him ( i guess that's payment of services :lol) - the whole theater busted out laughing.
.
One of my other favorite scene in the movie (apart from the passionate kiss scene) is the scene where Majid proposes. Oh my gosh, it was too nice. I could hear some women in the theater saying loud enough in to the Ghanaian men in the theatre to hear"WATCH AND LEARN" - i just bursted out laughing. I swear i love me some Majid, he is such a good actor and when you pair him up with such great talent as Genny, it makes it even better
.
LEAVE THE BEST FOR LAST - Genny and Majid - the chemistry was phenomenal as expected. I cant describe the feelin in my heart watching these two together in every scene - excellent on screen chemistry (best i ever seen since Genny and Ramsey Nouah or RMD or Muna Obiekwe) - And oh after they parted and found each other again and Genny went to his house to confess - it was a wrap. Just loved it - am like ohhhhh they gon kisss, they gon kiss ohhhh - oh my Gosh - this is too much (Akos u silly sometimes - yeah i know - am a sucker for romance - blame Mills & Boons - thats all i read growing up :lol:).
.
I predicted how great a chemistry Genny and Majid will have right after first seeing Majid in "Crime to Christ" for the first time in November 2007 over thanksgiving dinner watching the movie with a group of friends , I instantly emailed Genny and told her about him and predicted they will be good together on screen someday and I was right. There is just something about Majid - all I can say is the boy is going places. Ms Olympio (Majids mom) you raised a fine and talented son. Good Job. He makes our country proud.
.
But that scene Genny confronting Majid in his home - i'd have used quotes such as the one from Love and Basketball -my favorite Hollywood movie of all time (Sanaa & Omar) - by Majid telling Gennys character
- Majid: "U havent changed - You think the sun rise and shines on ya ass, well it doesnt.
- Genny: So why you so upset
- Majid: Because you dont pull this type of ish on someone who is about to get married
.
My favourite scene was when Majid told Genny off for being stuck up and stuck in her high and mighty world. I just wanted the ground to burst open so i can hide for her. Imagine the audacity of your employee driver telling you like it is (i mean it wasn't far from the truth).The whole theater was like"ohhhhhhhhh no he didnt" - and Gens face looked like a ghost - she couldn't believe her ears. Next thing you know - she roaming round the slums and ghetto to go find the same driver who told her like it is.:lol: "Wube ka ni kure" :lol:
.
Majid ("Apaakye" - my nickname for him since Guilty Pleasures) - i swear i love this dude, he never dissapoints. Only if he sticks to great producers as such who make him shine like he did in this and Guilty Pleasures - he better no let me bump into his lite ass in Rhapsody or Citizen Kofi Club this Christmas - uma have to pull him aside and give himm some advice. I want nothing but the best for Majid, He has soooooooooo much potential to cross over to even Hollywood.
.
So the last 7 mins of the movie they type in bold large fonts across the screen which says "30 MONTHS LATER (am like What??? 30 ke?) I shook my head and said, there you go - that’s nollywood for you, now what would a nollywood movie be without a fastword to 30 months or more later :lol:
.
When you first watch the movie and the credits start rolling at the end of the movie, you may be like me and say WTF, it ended already ??? Just like dat???u might feel the ending was kinda odd, but when you walk away from the movie, it makes you think why did they end it like that, but give your self a few minutes think about it and you realise, why it made sense for it to end like that. You solve the Mystery yourself. I hate to give movies away when most havent watched it. Hopefully you get hold of this movie b4 end of the year (2009), Watch it come back and lets discuss.
.
You wondering if this movie was so great as I rave why didn’t I give it a perfect 10, well I did not because I have never given a perfect 10 . Not even "Keeping Faith". There were a few flaws, but these flaws dont overshadow the greatness of the movie like most movies. For this movie in particular the hairstylist did not do such a great job on the hair department.
.
I think if Nollywood is not going to use good hairstylist, lets simply retire with the half wigs right bout now, bcos clearly with most movies I've seen if they are doing half wigs. They put these half wigs on these actresses and comb their hair over it and its looks like night and day (reminds me of "hass" :lol: black and red candy from the 80s) - and its like night and day, their hair almost always never matches the wig color. Maybe the screen which I watched this movie and the past movies are always too crystal clear, so clear I can see everything (the skin & hair at HD quality) Chelsea Eze (who played Ella) hair did not look great in any scene at all. Sometimes the wig was so evident. When it comes to Genny in most movies her hair is on point & great, but in this movie her hair was ok in "some scenes" but not all scenes.

.
So overall the 0.5 on points was lost on the hair dpt. The film score (sound/music) was also "just ok". So on my final note (and humorous one at that) Abeg lets retire on the half wigs, either you are going to give us a great weave, braids, full wig or better yet lets upgrade to LACE FRONT WIGS. YES LACE FRONT WIGS - its fast easy and always on point. Hollywood have been using it for years, and now its affordable to all, if we are going to wig it, lets just make it our new year resolution. Seeing two different tones on ones head is quite distracting to me. This is just my sixth sense and suggestion for improvement to the movie set GLAM SQUAD of our stars.

.
Though this was not in this movie however we are on the subject for suggestions maybe some
real flowers instead of fake plastic roses, will do great or if u r going to use fake don’t insult the audience by letting the character smell it like they're smelling some real rose. C,mon now- what do you take us for - fools?? and then finally a closure to the drinking of orange juice in wine glasses :lol: (let me just end here cos I could go on forever).
.
Either way i loved the whole script, the production, the direction and everything. Vivian Ejike and her whole crew did well and you all know i love great prodcuation and will promote and advertise for free. Please support this lady and all our other great female producers and go out and PURCHASE this movie. DONT WATCH IT ON LINE or BUY BOOTLEG- PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD.
.
Just go buy this, buy Guilty Pleasures, buy Reloaded, buy Distance Between, buy Letters to a Stranger, buy Keeping Faith and all the many other great movies that need to e supported. If u dont buy it and support them how do they recoup the money to put into it to make this movie and make another one.
.
YOU HAVE NOT LOST MONEY IF YOU BUY GREAT MOVIES SUCH AS THIS. IF THE MOVIE IS CRAP I (and oher movie review sites will tell you like it is and let you know our opinions)
.
So that’s my conclusion….. Oh and by the way did I tell you I ABSOLUTELY UTTERLY MUTTERLY LOVED THIS MOVIE SILENT SCANDAL (oh ok, I thought I forgot to mention) :lol
.
(ohhhhh what kind of wahala is this with stupid cafe - ah ah. i have to comeback to continue, nonsense ghana cyber cafe, abeg i will continue later - When will vodafone come and fix my internet at home, am getting tired of this wahala in the cafes.419ers left right and center. Sometimes i wonder can i even stay as planned - but i will try sha, there is no place like home. To all th e ghanaians on board please recommend the best company for the FASTEST home internet service (nothing frustruates me more than a slow service) - i am leaning to Vodafone right now but i havent shopped around so i want to know i am making the right choice.
.
MY RATINGS
9.5/10 - THE BEST MOVIE OF GENNY FOR 2009 - GO GRAB YA COPIES QUICK
.
VIVIAN EJIKE - WE SALUTE YOU THIS DAY AND HOPE YOU CONTINUE TO GIVE US SUCH GREAT ENTERTAINMENT, YOU AND EMEM ISONG AND SHIRLEY FRIMPONG MANSO AND ALL THE OTHER GREAT PRODUCERS IN NOLLYWOOD WHO TRULY UNDERSTAND THE TRUE MEANING TO GREAT WORK AND GREAT ENTERTAINMENT - MAKES US ALL PROUD. WE SHALL ALWAYS SUPPORT YOU ALL.
.
RUN AND GO TO YOUR NEAREST STORE TO BUY THIS MOVIE, I SUGGEST YOU BUY IT AS GIFT FOR YOU NON AFRICAN FRIENDS WHO HAVE NEVER WATCHED AN AFRICAN MOVIE - THIS WILL BE A GOOD RECOMMENDATION (AS WELL AS GUILTY PLEASURES) FOR A FIRST TIMEER EVER WATCHING OUR MOVIES
.

Run and go to your nearest store to buy this movie, i suggest you buy it as gift for you non african friends who have never watched an african movie - this will be a good recommendation (as well as guilty pleasures) for a first timeer ever watching our movies .

.
To all the male producers - what are you going to do about this, cos the ladies are surely wiping all of you on the floor this 2009. Prove me wrong and come correct 2010. Tchidi i still got my eye on you, i havent given up on you, whether you get mad at me or not you still will remain one of my best. I am just waiting for something great from you, it didn't happen this 2009 but i look forward to 2010.
.
These many review sites got nothing personal on any producer - we don't even know you, we are just giving constructive criticism and telling it like it is - from an audience point of view. Keep ya knickers on.
.
Update on Jan 1 2010
.
So finally this movie is out on VCD here in Ghana (even though I would prefer all my movies on DVD format, and as such I will have to repurchase when I go back to Atlanta) and within a week I have watched it at least 10 times (I mean hey it’s a slow year with bombardment of crap movies so unless you put movies such as “Guilty Pleasures”, “Reloaded”,Sting in a Tale” and “Silent Scandal” on rotation, then I don’t know what else to do, at least until the next best movies are released). By the way I realized from watching the vcd that at least 4 or 5 scenes were cut from the movie shown at the theatre, so to whomever missed the movie in the theatre you are better off buying the dvd/vcd – cos there are no cut scenes at all.
.
The more I have watched this movie I have noticed a lot of things and yet loving it more and more. First of all someone tell me, am I the only one that wants to strangle that watchman (Jessies’ watchman) with my bear hands, gosh he is such a dummie. What is he being paid for? He is full of ish. “Useless” is an understatement. But I guess he played his dummie role very well. He was frustruating the hell out of me, I just wanted to fling his ear.
.
Few Noticed Flaws
The age thing with Jessie and her Daughter Ella that people are pointing out, I see what you mean, but the flaws of this movie do not outweigh the greatness of it, so had you guys not mention it – I wouldn’t have noticed it when I watched it the first time, but now after watching it for the 10th time or so, I see it.
.
There are a few contradictions with the dates and times. My only question to Vivian is how many months/years went by after Jessie and Neto broke up before they met again at Jessie’s surprise birthday party? Was it a few months or two years?. Reason why I ask is – In the restaurant where Neto had reunion lunch with Ella, he said, it had been 2 years since his break up with the lady he married (being Jessie). I got confused there. Anyway, I won’t let these lil flaws mess up the movie for me, Like I said it’s not even evident unless its pointed out.

.


Okey Benson, you did the editing to the movie and shoulda catch these flaws – the math was all wrong on the dates/times. Granted Jessie celebrated two birthdays in the movie but yet still the age, dates and times were a lil fumbled and contradicted as many have noticed.
.
My only advise to Vivian is next time please subtitle the parts with pigeon english (as spoken by the gateman and Rose - the house help) – though I plus the many others understand it, I suggest those parts are subtitled. I was watching this movie with my non African friend and whenever they spoke she kept asking me “what did they say”? Your movie is excellent Vivian and you want to reach a wider international audience to at least break even in order to get your funding to entertain us more.
.
The more I watch the movie, the more I think seriously Genny is an EXCELLENT actress (and may all the haters say “AMEN!”:lol: – hey I mean like Wendy Williams will say “It is what it is” – you can deny it all you want – she is, was and will always be the best) – folks think cos she is my friend I think every movie she does is perfect, NO – you are wrong – matter of fact there have been a handful movies she has been in, in the past which I did not like and I let her know that).

.

Gosh I mean you watch this movie and pay good attention to detail and see what I mean, just like Majid, she knows how to express emotions so well and so convincing you forget you are watching a movie. I mean every scene was excellent in that movie – there is not a single Character this lady cannot play well. She leaves no stone unturned, and what makes me love Genny more is she is nothing like the character she plays (just like Patience Ozorkwor in her overly evil, conniving, shrewd, cunning roles that are so damn convincing – some ppl cant even separate Patience from her characters but according to sources she is so not like the character she plays) - One will be very amazed to know, Genny is actually very down to earth and very funny – and so when she gets on sets and acts all these characters so convincing – I love her more for being able to come out of herself and play roles so damn well – I don’t think it’s an easy task. Beyonce got Sasha Fierce, I am gonna have to find an onset nickname for my Genny. I love me some Genny – she is the BEST.
.
Ps: by the way Genny I just wanted to let you know the aviators sunglasses you wore in the 2nd part of the movie, whilst your new driver Sam drove you from the airport – IS THE BUSINESS – I love it –lend it to me :lol: Made you look very Monte Carlo-ish. Your whole wardrobe was great – Thanks to Uche Nancy or whoever your stylist was.
.
MAJID! MAJID! MAJID!
Lord knows I love me some Majid – He is what we call an excellent actor – not a good actor –but a GREAT EXCELLENT ACTOR – the same way I will describe Leonardo Di Caprio. He is definitely not perfect cos as you all remember, I have critiqued him when he sometimes speak too fast, but apart from that, he is definitely a force to be reckoned with. I would love an interview with him. I have so many questions for him and his craft.
.
Pay very good attention to every scene of him in this movie, his facial expressions in every scene – MAJID MICHEL IS THE KING OF EXPRESSING MOTIONS – a real pro at expressing emotions in any given scene for any character he is asked to play (expression of frustration, confusion, sadness, surprised, drunkenness, conceited, evil, jerk, romantic etc).
.
Watch these scenes very well; His reunion with Jessie in his home, when Jessie told him “she loved him back”, look at his shock facial expression (real Kodak moment), then pay attention to detail to the bed scene when Jessie told him “promise me to do the right thing” – he seemed confused and in a state of “what should I do now”. He didn’t even have to speak and you felt what he was thinking. When it comes to Genevieve and Majid, they are so good at their craft in acting, they can use less dialogue and more about about their visuals to tell the story and make the audience feel what they are feeling in any given moment or scene..
.
I mean whatever character Majid plays you feel him a 100%. I felt his confusion when he walked into the hotel room – his facial expression said it all, he seemed weak and confuse in love, I felt his frustration as he curled up in his couch gazing in thin air all confused about the situation and not knowing what to do next. Gotta love Majid. Now that is what we call an ACTOR. 2009 – bar none he reigned amongst all actors (Ghana and Nigeria), and I see him growing even more in 2010 depending on whom he chooses to work with.
.
I respect him so much. I have not met Majid yet, but I hope to meet him for the first time on Jan very soon. According to sources whatever role he is asked to play he does a lot of research. This is why I will ALWAYS respect him as an actor. I love me some Majid - like Toni Braxton will sin "I love me some him".
.
The one scene which was my favourite of all was scene at Netos house when Jessie went to speak with him AND the hotel room scene and the dialogue between Jessie and Neto. I could feel the passion - by now u all know am a sucker for romance (this is what years of Mills and Boons will do to one). I was almost teary eyed when Jessie said " I wont choose you over my daughter so dont bother choosing me" and then Neto Responded all emotional oh so deep in IT "Dont tell me how what i will and will not do - thats how i feel" - (i thought oh gosh, someone give me a box of kleenex or something.) Ms Ejke, i would 've made them both shed a tear in that scene to highlight the strong emotion, when one is torn between IT. Even if not that scene at least the scene in Netos house where they Jessie confessed of how she felt.
.
Those were two strong scenes. Loved it! Loved It! Loved It. Scripted Perfect, Acted Excellent.
.
MY BIGGEST QUALMS WITH VIVIAN ON THIS MOVIE :lol:
AS FOR ME, I THINK THE KISSING SCENE BTWN GENNY AND MAJID WAS DAMN TOO short. AH AH VIVIAN, - 30 sec kissing scene after all that patient waiting i waited.
.
WHY DO YOU HAVE TO BE SO STINGY WITH THE KISSING SCENE :lol:, AT LEAST LETS SEE THEM WHIP SOME TONSIL TENNIS FOR AT LEAST 2 MINS – WE WANT MORE, we aint seen anything this good since Muna whipped it on Ms Genny in He lives In Me and what not. Abeg next time stretch a lil, at least 3 mins. If u do a 30 second kiss scene ever again (esp with great actors with such great chemistry) i will boycott your movie :lol: Inanu? You hear?
.
Also the last scene of the movie when Richie and Neto sat in the car, I didnt like what Richie said. Granted Richies role was a tad mumu-ish for my liking , I didnt like what he said " :


Richie: I wouldnt mind switching places with you to have the both of them".

to which Neto responded with a laugh (they both laughed) and drove off. To me, thats kinda like insinuating this whole thing was a game or something -. dont think Richies comments were that funny. Neto should not have laughed that in response- That kinda contradicts the whole hotel room and his house scene and the dialogue between Neto and Jessie. Catch my drift. Okay maybe its just me. EITHER WAY I LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS MOVIE AND ITS BEEN ON ROTATION FOR ME SINCE I PURCHASED THE VCD.
.
SAVE THE “WORST” FOR LAST:
The actor who plays Naeto’s bestfriend Richie (the alcholic-as ella described him) (real name: Paul Frank) – , I noticed his bad acting as Liz’s (Nse Etims) guy friend Oraefo in movie “Guilty Pleasures”and once again he did it again with Silent Scandal – how are you getting these roles cos I doubt you are truly auditioning for them.
.
Dude, do us all a favor and take some time off to polish your acting (Majid invested in acting lessons and it paid off). Yes you are a handsome looking dude but I am sorry acting is not your forte – at least not now – am not being harsh or nothing this is just my honest constructive criticism. Invest in some acting lessons – coupled with your fine boy looks maybe we will take notice of you in future – but as at now, it’s very very bad dude, like seriously, truly pitiful and very embarrassing (as I sit here and type am just remembering your scene with Ramsey in Guilty Pleasures, It was so embarrassing – your acting that is).
.
Oh and while you taking your crash course in acting, I suggest you take Van Vicker with you. Who knows? Maybe you both can be roommates and practice acting with each other (J):
.
In 2009 Majid is kicking a lot of actor’s ass. If I was a movie producer, I will only invest money on young actors such as Majid Michel, Adjetey Anang, Jim Iyke, and maybe John Dumelo.
.
As fine as you look (I love your beautiful eyebrows – u are very cute man :wink: wink:) am afraid I have to put you on the 2009 Worst Actor Award List, alongside Ali Nuhu and Van Vicker. These actors have a huge problem acting well to make their characters convincing. Expressing Emotion is like zero for them – Like Nil, absolute Zilch. Expressing Sadness – Nil; Expressing Anger – Nil; Expressing Shock/Surprise – Nil – I mean need I go on
.
At the end of the day God sometimes does not give you all, it’s either good looks or great acting (a few chosen are given ALL and sometimes above and beyond) (me for instance am a pretty lady but unfortunately short at only 5’1’ft, he passed me on height but that’s ok:lol:).
.
No hard feelings. Beyonce is a great singer, but a not so great actress – am sure she knows and accepts that. Sometimes you have to work at a skill. I wish you good luck for 2010 dude, but you best believe we will tell it like it is when we see it.
.

Saturday, February 13, 2010

We Are the World 25 -
World Premiere



.
Credit: Youtube
.
After weeks of talk and photos and snippets “We Are The World 25 For Haiti” debuted last night during the opening of the Winter Olympics. Props to Oscar-winning director Paul Haggis (Crash, Million Dollar Baby) who directed the video:
.
In case you didn’t recognise some faces, that took part in the song and video they include:
.
Akon, Bono, India.Arie, Patti Austin, Swizz Beatz, Tony Bennett, Justin Bieber, Bizzy Bone, Ethan Bortnick, Brandy, Jeff Bridges, Toni Braxton, Zac Brown, Kristian Bush, Busta Rhymes, Natalie Cole, Harry Connick Jr., Kid Cudi, Miley Cyrus, Celine Dion, Snoop Dogg, Drake, Earth Wind & Fire, Faith Evans, Fergie, Melanie Fiona, Jamie Foxx, Sean Garrett, Tyrese Gibson, Josh Groban, Anthony Hamilton, Keri Hilson, Julianne Hough, Jennifer Hudson, Nipsey Hussle, Enrique Iglesias, LL Cool J, Janet Jackson, Michael Jackson, Randy Jackson, Taj Jackson, Taryll Jackson, TJ Jackson, Al Jardine, Joe Jonas, Kevin Jonas, Nick Jonas, Rashida Jones, Gladys Knight, Adam Levine, Jimmy Jean-Louis, Benji Madden, Joel Madden, Mary Mary, Katharine McPhee, Jason Mraz, Mýa, Jennifer Nettles, Orianthi, Freda Payne, P!nk, A. R. Rahman, Nicole Richie, Raphael Saadiq, Carlos Santana, Nicole Scherzinger, Isaac Slade, Trey Songz, Musiq Soulchild, Jordin Sparks, Barbra Streisand, Swizz Beatz, T-Pain, Robin Thicke, Rob Thomas, Usher, Vince Vaughn, Lil Wayne, Kanye West, Will.i.am, Ann Wilson, Brian Wilson, Nancy Wilson and BeBe Winan.
.
I teared up watching the part with Janet and Michael - ohhhh i love me some Michael and i miss him so much.
.
Yes we missed a few famous folks like Beyonce, Mariah,Whitney and the likes, but a part of me really wanted Lauryn Hill to be part of this, Her voice in this song would have done magic. I am glad Ye (as in KanYe) was part of it, I am not going to lie, i miss his arrogant conceited lil self - he is like the annoying type of cousin/brother one has, that you can not live with them, and you can not live without them - whether we like it or not Kanye will always be Kanye, he speaks the truth..... sometimes, but there is a place and time for everything. Hollywood have punished him enough, i hope the stars did not shun him during the rehearsals.
.
And someone tell me what in the flipping hell was all that autotune about, was it necessary to include all those rifraff rappers. Weezy, Pain and all them grillz. The music woulda done fine without the rap at the end.
.
Personally i feel there are some classics (We are the World, Thriller etc) that are not to be messed with and this is one of them (and i hear this is why Jayz, Beyonce, Madonna etc though donated millions to Haiti chose not to be a part of this ensemble) I still like prefer the original version but anywho they did a good enough job - they tried sha - i am definately glad no one else sung the part of Michael ".....and When you are down and out and there seems no hope at all......"

A lil history to the song:
"We Are the World" is a song and charity single originally recorded by the supergroup USA for Africa in 1985. It was written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie, and co-produced by Quincy Jones and Michael Omartian for the album We Are the World. Following Band Aid's "Do They Know It's Christmas?" project in the UK, an idea for the creation of an American benefit single for African famine relief came from activist Harry Belafonte, who, along with fundraiser Ken Kragen, was instrumental in bringing the vision to reality. Several musicians were contacted by the pair, before Jackson and Richie were assigned the task of writing the song. Following several months of working together, the duo completed the writing of "We Are the World" one night before the song's first recording session, in early 1985. The last recording session for the song was held on February 28, 1985. The historic event brought together some of the most famous artists in the music industry at the time.
.
The song was released on March 7, 1985, as the only single from the album. A worldwide commercial success, it topped music charts throughout the world and became the fastest-selling American pop single in history. The first ever single to be certified multi-platinum, "We Are the World" received a 4× certification by the Recording Industry Association of America. However, the song garnered mixed reviews from journalists, music critics and the public. Fans enjoyed hearing racially and musically diverse recording artists singing together on one track, and felt satisfied in buying "We Are the World", knowing that the money was going to charity. Other individuals, including many commentators in the rock press, were disappointed that the song did not challenge listeners as to why famines occur in the first place, and felt that the lyrics were self-aggrandizing.
.
Honored numerous times — including three Grammy Awards, one American Music Award and a People's Choice Award — the song was promoted with a critically received music video, a home video, a special edition magazine, a simulcast, and several books, posters and shirts. The promotion and merchandise aided the success of "We Are the World", which was eventually named the biggest-selling single of all time. As of 2009, it has sold more than 20 million units and raised over $63 million for humanitarian aid in Africa and the US. "We Are the World" has demonstrated that diverse musicians can productively work together, and has further influenced the movement within pop music to create songs that address humane concerns.
.
Following the devastation caused by the magnitude 7.0 Mw earthquake in Haiti on January 12, 2010, a remake of the song by another all-star cast of singers was recorded on February 1, 2010 in Hollywood, California. It was released as a single on February 12, 2010, and proceeds from the record will aid survivors of the impoverished country.

.

BUY THE SINGLE - ALL PROCEEDS GO TO HAITI

Friday, February 12, 2010

"Home in Exile" (A Lancelot Oduwa Imaseun Movie)

February 12 2010 Update:
.
Update on "Home In Exile, A movie my Lancelot Imaseun
.
2010 Movie Premiere dates
.
Date: Friday, March 5 2010
City: Lagos, Nigeria
Location: tba
Time: tba
.
Date: Friday, March 19th 2010
City: Accra - Ghana
Location: tba
Time: tba
.
I will post further details as and when i get it - please bear with me.
.



.
If you read my past post you will notice Lancelot Oduwa Imaseun (aka D'Governor) is one of my favourite director too - a 12yr veteran in the industry-and whenever he collabs with other great Producers such as Emem Isong to do a movie-its dynamite and a sure winner.
.
Together Lancelot and Emem worked on past hit movies such as Games Women Play, Private Sin, Tramautize, Behind Close Doors, Emotional Crack etc (if you havent watched any of these movies i have mentioned you are missing out a lot, go out and look for it - these are the type of movies Sanga and production houses need to re-release.)

.
Anyway he has a movie coming out, i just thought i'd let y'all know. Great cast + Great Director - i hope for nothing but great outcome for this movie.


.
Starring:
Desmond Elliot, Justice Esiri, Chiwetalu Agu and introducing Beverly Meyer (from london) - if you know any of these first three actors in this movie - then you know this is not a movie to sleep on. The new girl, i dont know who she is but we shall see. We wait with anticipation to disect.

.
The movie is about Nigerians in the diaspora who want to come home to invest as the government has always encouraged. They come and meet all the troubles & frustruation that investors meet when they come home and try to invest.
.
I will review immediately it is released and i buy it. With Lancelot Movies (like Emem, Tchidi, Fred Amaka, etc ) based on my past experience, I can boldly buy it from my dealer with confidence my money is not wasted.
.
I support good work and will market for free - as always.
.
Apparently this movie will be premiered in Lagos, Abuja, Benin (Lancelots own hometown), Ghana, Sierra Leone, London and New York.
.
x
.

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Beyonce & Alicia rocking African Design Print

Though we all know this site Miss-Tilii to be a site for african movie reviews, every now and then i like to switch it up a notch. This morning (Wed Feb 10th 2010) i was browsing on my numerous favourite sites and blogs to get updated on whats good & whats popping and came across this.
.
Bee and Alicia were spotted in Rio (Brazil) shooting their video for "Put it in a Love Song". Its so beautiful to see them rocking some african inspired prints. With a body like Bees (and Alicia's) they make this look so damn fab. We dont advocate our own prints and design enough. I am just so proud to see them wearing this. Brazil has a high number of people of african descents and i am thinking they rock such african inspired clothing too.
.
May all our African Designers (Christie Brown, Jewel by Lisa etc) get some foreign clientele such as Bee, Alicia and the likes (make that money, and make it rain on your international competitive designers this 2010) - am eager to hear who the designer is for these clothes they are wearing, Lets just hope they mention an african name and not some non african who has stolen our prints and made it theirs. (Fashionista reporters BHM, MiMi & Ladybrille please feature these photos on ya'll site)
.
Photo Credits: Beyonce World
.
Alicia
Alicia
Beyonce
Beyonce
Beyonce
Beyonce
Bee & Alicia
Beyonce

Enjoy.
.
According to sources these above designs were by www.boxingkitten.com
.
click on "About" and read about Maya Lake the so called "designer". And am sorry but what is she talking about she took the "respectability" and "piety" of a church going woman in the Civil Rights Movement and the cultural nationalism that the women from the black power women ........ blah blah blah blah. (:rollseyes:) - SAY WHAT!!!! - girl puhleese.
.
Let me not get started on this. All i know is these are our african prints, I dont know what she talking. It looks nice on Bee and Alicia but this is nothing unique Maya. You simply took our african designs and make a dress out of it- go to Ghana's famous Makola market, pepper sellers and street hawkers are all rocking this like its nobodys business. At least mention some west african country in your interview or profile to let ppl know you were inspired by OUR prints. Selling it expensive in mid $200. I better go tell my hardworking seamstress Aunty Cecilia in Accra, that she let me create a site for her too and sell her styles for $100 plus. Maybe in a year she might able to afford that generator she always wanted to get uninterrupted electricity in order for her to do her work at ease.:lol:

.
The style is yours, but Lady the print design aint yours.(i'm not hating, just stating facts). In one interview i read of Maya last year she mentioned "her designs were unique" - am like "Girl Poof! Bye!.:lol: You really think us africans and our designers are going keep our mouth shut for you making a statement like that. Somebody don told u wrong. My praises go to Bee and Alicia for wearing it so well. I better call my seamstress back home give her this picture of Bee and ask her to sew one for me, if only my big ass can fit into it like Bee wears it so well. Gosh I need to cut on my carbs.
.

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

2010 UPCOMING RELEASES (to look out for)

.
promotion photo not yet released
.
.
TITLE
SPELL BOUND
.
STARRING
- Nse Ikpe Etim
- Uche Jumbo
- Michael Sesay (new dude on the block - dont know much bout him)
- etc etc
.
PRODUCED
Emem Isong
.
DIRECTED
Desmond Elliot and ?
.
.
.
Here is the upcoming poster to Ini Edo's debut as a producer as i mentioned to you all earlier - the movie is titled "Memories of the Heart". Please lets support Ini like we did Desmond with Guilty Pleasures and Reloaded.
.
TITLE:
MEMORIES OF MY HEART
.
STARRING:
-Ini Edo
-Ramsey Nouah
-Desmond Elliot
-Nse Ikpe Etim
-Uche Jumbo
-Monalisa Chinda
.
PRODUCED BY
INI EDO AND CO PRODUCED BY EMEM ISONG
(Lets support Ini in her first debut as a producer - like we did Desmond Elliot with "Reloaded" and "Guilty Pleasures") .
.
.
.
TITLE:
HOLDING HOPE
.
STARRING:
-DESMOND ELLIOT
-UCHE JUMBO
-NADIA BUARI
.
WRITTEN BY:
coming soon
.
PRODUCED BY:
coming soon
.
DIRECTED BY:
coming soon
.
.
.
Here is also a photo with Gen, her sexy lead actor with the producer. Apparently- it will be released in May 2010. WE LOVE U GENNY - DO DA DAMN THANG - CANT WAIT TO WATCH THIS. MORE BLESSINGS THIS 2010 - U ARE GOING TO GO HIGHER THAN U IMAGINE - WITH GODS HELP. GENNY IS MOVING ON UP - LOVE THIS! LARRY KING U HAVE TO STAND IN LINE :LOL:
.
TITLE:
TANGO WITH ME

.
STARRING:
-GENEVIEVE NNAJI
-One fine dude with some sexy ass lips -dont know his name - LL Cool J aint got nothing on dude) ??
-JOKE SILVA (a re-union for both ladies after Keeping Faith)
-BIMBO AKINTOLA (another re-union after Keeping Faith)
-ALEX USIFO
.
PRODUCED BY
-ALI BOLAGUN
.
You "may" also read about the movie a lil here:
http://234next.com/csp/cms/sites/Next/ArtsandCulture/Film/5497164-147/On_the_set_of_%E2%80%98Tango_With.csp
.
.
.
TITLE:
BURSTING OUT
.
STARRING:
-GENEVIEVE NNAJI
-NSE IKPE ETIM
-MAJID MICHEL
(i guess the above names are ENOUGH for you hold on tight) .
.
PRODUCED BY:
EMEM ISONG .
.
.
.
TITLE:

PRIVATE STORM
.
STARRING:
-OMOTOLA JALADE EKEINDE
-RAMSEY NOUAH
-UFUOMA EJORNOBOR
-JOHN DUMELO .
.
PRODUCED BY:
VIVIAN EJIKE
(IF YOU ARE STILL DROOLING OVER "SILENT SCANDAL THEN YOU BETTER WATCH OUT FOR VIVIANS NEXT HIT) .
.
I may add more upcoming releases too depending of if the producer gives me the green light and go ahead to let it be known. I know of several but i cant just let you all know ALL the titles yet unless I am instructed to - besides the titles may change. Also i never got any update of Nollywood Hustlers, The Figurine, Cindys Notes and Home in Exile and I am still waiting on that so I will update you on that when i get further information. Please bear with me. Thank you ladies and gentlemen.
.
x

Sunday, February 7, 2010

2010 WISH LIST: A PHOTOSHOOT OF ALL OUR GREATEST "..OLLYWOOD STARS

.
I was reading vanity fair magazine today (Feb 6 2010) and it had a photo of the next generation of young actors of Hollywood on the cover of the magazine as seen above, titled "A New Decade - A New Hollywood 2010) and it got me thinking of how much i love and appreciate our great African Actors/Actresses who keep us entertained and sometimes i think some of these great actors and actresses (emphasis on the 'great ones" and not just anyone -yall know who i mean) are not supported / raved enough. Its my wish list this year to see them in a nice photoshoot all together.
.
They may not me popularly known like Hollywoodians - but they are ours and we love them no matter what cos they keep us entertained more than hollywood ever does. We relate to them more. My wish is that this year some top african magazine dedicates an "...OLLYWOOD ISSUE (Its neither Nolly or Golly its simply OLLYWOOD cos :lol: i am tired of these ridiculous prefixes of the nolly, golly, solly, molly - schmolly - i mean why does it have to end in ollywood anyway - its so funny :lol:) with a beautiful vanity fair style photoshoot of our actor, another of our actresses and maybe another of our best producers and directors and all those who make it happen .
.
On another note i hope you all see what i see on this vanity fair photoshoot, blatant constant racism, and this is why i dont even bother watching hollywood movies as much as i use to unless its at least diverse a little, I escape with my nice african movie instead. It just bothers me so much of the accountable MINORITY actors (black, asians, latinos etc) in Hollywood who still wait in line in auditions to get casted, once the oyibos got their Denzel Washington, Laurence Fishburn, Will Smith, Morgan Freeman, Forrest Whittaker, and a few handful of others, thats enough for them, they cant have more than a handful (are u kidding me). Someone tell me why they got all these skinny white girls on the cover (and i swear i dont know the half of them, do you?).
.
Why arent they including black actresses "Precious Star" Gabrielle Sidibe or Avatar "Zoe Zaldana in this photoshoot.
.
This year’s ladies include (2nd Picture: left to right) Carey Mulligan, Kristen Stewart, Abbie Cornish, Mia Wasikowska, Amanda Seyfried, Rebecca Hall, Emma Stone, Evan Rachel Wood, and Anna Kendrick.
.
Amanda Seyfried stared in the movie musical Mamma Mia! and later went to co-star in the flop Jennifer’s Body. Kristen Stewart stars as Bella in the franchise Twilight (cant hold a candle to any of our top black actresses). Emma Stone has gone the comedian route in movies like Superbad and Zombieland but apart from that, hasn’t done much else. Lastly, Evan Rachel Wood starred in the movie Thirteen years ago and has recently been in Across the Universe and The Wrestler.Anna Kendrick in the trailers for Up in the Air.
.
I mean they always have to be blatant with this ish. Granted not many blacks were not in much movies in 2009, but the question is WHY NOT?. Did they feature the excellent cast of Denzel Washingtons "Great Debaters" when that movie came out (Jurnee Smollet and the rest)? THE ANSWER IS NO. You catch my drift? - the point is there is still racism in Hollywood - period. Just look at our prime time tv shows, black shows apart from Bill Cosby and Fresh Prince then they last nothing but for a season or two and then they are cancelled (why on hell would Girlfriends be cancelled - its like we can never win), rather they give the blacks reality shows where they act bafoonirish and ghetto. Thanks to our very own BET who i dont respect for not showing us in great light neither thus i wouldnt say is helping matters either.
.
This is why i will always support our several african producers/directors as well as Tyler Perry - cos he is trying to help our people and not sitting around waiting for the Massar to help us (am still waiting on our veteran best such as John Singleton, Spike Lee etc).
.
If i told you how much the cast of our popular entertaining shows like "Girlfriends" earned versus that of other sitcoms like "Friends", "Twilight" etc earned, you will be disgusted as to the unfairness of it all. Just pure blatant disrespect and racism (pay real good attention to type of black roles they also choose to nominate or let win for oscars - see the trend??). Let me just stop here cos if i am to start on the conversation of hollywood and their unfair treatment to actors of color, i will be here all day. That is why i will continue to cherish our african best. They dont need to cross to hollywood to be deemed successful. On our continent - they are "our" best and we love them.
.
Talking about Tyler Perry, please dont forget to check out the trailer for "Why did i get married too" starring the original cast of "Why did i get married (Janet Jackson, Jill Scott, Tasha Smith -the crazy chick, Richard T Jones - the jerk, Malik Yoba, etc) - i hear someone dies in this part , but i dont know whom and i dont wanna know. I just want the movie to come out so i can support Tyler. The movie comes out April 2nd 2010. Kudos to Janet for completing the movie cos her brother Michael died whilst she was on location shooting this movie, I can imagine how tough that must have been for her. I heard Tyler paused the filming and waited for her to take time off (that was so nice of Tyler). I so look forward to this movie. The trailer tells me its going to be very interesting. Check out the Official Website and Trailer; http://www.whydidigetmarriedtoomovie.com/
.
.

Saturday, February 6, 2010

"NOLLYWOODUNCUT" GIVIN IT TO YOU STR8 NO CHASER

.
Hear Ye, Hear Ye - New Sister Site - Nollywooduncut
.
Dont you get tired reading so much rumors and lies about your favourite movie stars (Ghana & Nigeria) all because some tabloid magazine want to make a quick buck thus will plaster any lies on front page to garner attention. Well look no further. (no more bombardment of fabricated gist - if the alleged actor/actress has not confirmed it on here then it must not be true)
.
Finally a website where all is rolled up into one with updates from a real industry source (I call her Miz B); Real undiluted honest scoop/interviews and updates about your favourite nollywood stars, film reviews (by moi! Miss Tilii) announcements of upcoming movie releases and premiere dates, country premiere itinerary and dates, announcements of casting call, acting workshops, backstage access to premieres, contest giveaways etc (eventually the launch of unpirated movie sales would be added to this site).
.
DONT BELIEVE EVERYTHING YOU READ IN THE TABLOID MAGAZINES, GET THE REAL UNCUT GIST FROM NOLLYWOODUNCUT.
.
Tell a friend, Tell a friend, Tell a friend and stop my sister website http://www.nollywooduncut.com/ -
.
I am real excited about this new sister site. GET REAL EXCITED ABOUT 2010 because you cannot imagine the great movies that are about to be released, if you think Guilty Pleasures, Reloaded, A Sting in A Tale, Perfect Picture, Silent Scandal, Native Son etc got you real entertained then brace yourself for 2010, are favourite producers and directors and actors are back with a SWANG! with pre movie site launches, and all. Get real excited for 2010.
.

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

If i see one more release of a royal theme movie

if i see one more release of a ROYAL THEME movie, i am going to screaaaaaaaaaaaam.
.
Gosh, cant u write anything else. King, Queen, Prince, Princess, Your Honour, Your Highness, blah blah blah, i am so tired of it.
.
Its not even realistic like they make it seem. You rode on the "Coming to America" theme for far too long, we get it, move on get back to the drawing board and write something creative - FOR ONCE (and this message is to those producers and directors constantly writing Royal Theme movies.) - You need to up your game on your script writing and stop all this royal royal nonsense.
.
January 2010 is a slow month so i contact my dealer for my stash and all he shows me are royal theme movies. Gosh .....
.
Shirley Frimpong Manso, Vivian Ejike, Emem Isong etc etc- please save us, we are suffering.
.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...