Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Bursting Out (Miss Tilii Movie Review)



.
Starring
-Genevieve Nnaji as Zara Williams
-Majid Michel as Tyrone
-Nse Ikpe Etim as Tena
-Omoni Oboli as Ini
-Susan Peters as Ibiere
.
Written By (Screenplay)
Uduak Oguamanam and Bola Aduwo
.
Produced By
Emem Isong
.
Directed By
tba
.
Theme
Romance, Comedy, Drama
.
Storyline
A successful business woman Zara (Genevieve Nnaji) found no line of omission in her life but her two close friends did. To them she is not complete without a man. They set several blind dates for her; the outcome was not impressive. Zara decided to give up on love until the right man comes her way. Tena (Nse Ikpe-Etim) asked her to try a last blind date she has planned for her, she was reluctant but gave it a last try. This time the outcome was positive. Love was knocking at her door but with challenges that made her shiver with second thoughts. Does she open the door to embrace new challenges of the real world or just close her door and live her usual self-centered C.E.O life? Comedy and drama at your door steps.
.

My Review
It was good but, but not great in my books - i guess becuase it was a lil predictable for me. Once again Genny and Majid - shine on screen as a couple.

.
Susan Peters ohhhhh my gosh - she had me in tears laughing with her razziness and ghettofabulousness - very good actress - I think ihave to add her to the list of upcoming actress to look out for. In the Episode 1 of the movie - come and see her and her angelic self begging for mercy to be taken back by her ex- boy - Now the boy say he dont want you cos you cheated on him, come and see craziness at its best. She acted her character so damn well and i am so proud of her. (Favourite Quote: Tyrone - Do you know Ibiere, You dont know Ibiere) - razzness at its finest - I must say she reminded of the recent footage i saw of actress Ufuoma Ejenabor with the Lagos police - with that, at first, watching that i thought it was a movie - until it was confirm it damn sure aint no movie.
.
Nse and Omoni's roles as friends were simply Ok. No memorable scenes of them - I just wish sometimes they loose the americanism. The bedroom scene with Gen and Majid was very descent - not gross and sloppy like the many we see in the many crap movies - Descent like "Love & Basketball" Love Scene. Some parts of the movie once again like Silent Scandal - kinda reminded me of Edris and Gabrielle in "Daddys Lil Girls" -oh maybe its just me - Never mind. Omoni is a very good actress but I dont know, anytime she plays "a friend" or just a co-star- I just not feel her that much. Same way i wasnt feeling her in Guilty Pleasures. She just coast along in the movie and nothing great is realised. I guess she does better when she plays lead in a movie specifically made for her. We in the diaspora still waiting for Anchor Baby to get on DVD.
.
Like i mentioned in my previous thread - I think i am kinda tired of this corporate type role with Genny. She done that enough in 2009/10. Now i want to see other challenging type roles like she did in Sharon Stone, Blood Sisters, Wind of Glory etc etc - or something just out of the ordinary. She plays her corporate characters so well - just excellent but now i think its redudant - lets go back to the drawing board and come up with something more creative than those type of roles. She is such an excellent actress who has grown in her acting since i started watching her 12yrs ago - moving forward i want to see more challenging roles.
.
The few scenes I didnt care for was the scenes with office staff - i found that part a bit boring. Funny sometimes but most of the scenes with the staff chatting, i didnt care for.
.
(will continue later as i remember something)
.
My Ratings
8/10 - definately a collectors item and rewatchable
In 2009 I gave Guilty Pleasures 9/10 as you will see here – so goes to show I still like GP better – but Bursting Out was still very good nonetheless http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2009/10/guilty-pleasures-emem-isong-produced.html
.
.

Touch My Heart (Miss Tilii Movie Review)



.
Starring
RMD as
Stella Damasus as x
Bimbo Akintola as x
Joke Silva as x
Kate Henshaw Nuttal as x
.
Written By
Coming soon
.
Produced By
Coming soon
.
Directed By
Coming soon
.
Theme
Romance, Marriage, Infidelity, Friendship, Love
.
Storyline
I have no idea who to believe when it comes to love. To me "men are promiscuous, it takes self-discipline and self-control to remain faithful to their partners". As a personal trainer with a heart break assigned to train a man with his own marital issues, rather puts me in a dilemma. How complicated could this be? A blind side of love recruited.
.
My Review
This I personally think is my ultimate favourite out of the whole bunch I have watched in the past year. Its just a feel good movie – kinda like Ego Boyos “Keeping Faith” (which I will never stop mentioning). For those new to watching movies – these actors/actresses in this movie are the original veterans to what we considered great movies when we started watching movies – 12 odd years ago. They are eloquent, articulate and know how to bring the character to life without forcing. They didn’t need to take their clothes off to make a points or to be recognized as good actors and actresses – cos they just were – They didn’t try too hard- they just acted and they acted well. Almost all the cast of “Keeping Faith” were in this movie except “Genevieve Nnaji and “???”.
.
RMD our own african Denzel, gets better with age - though he has put on a lil bit of weight. Stella did great (and i cant wait to see her again and RMD and Desmond in BCD 3 - Emmmmmeeeeemmmmmmm I am waiting ooohhhhhhh - I dont think there is a bigger advocate for BCD3 as much as me - the wahala i give Emem is too much). Aunty Joke my ultimate favourite african movie on screen mom - as a mum (as she was to Genevieve in Keeping Faith) she gives the best advice. Excellent veteran actress like her husband Uncle Olu Jacobs. Bimbo Akintola - now how can you deny this excelletn actress - i just dont understand why we dont see much of her - she is sooooooooooooooo UNDERRATED like i cant explain. I wish producers will write more scripts for her (good scripts that is) - I see she has acted in several yoruba movies and she is good in that too but i miss my Bimbo for real. IN this movie she was a real bitch and she played it to a T. I Love Bimbo.
.
I enjoyed the script - it was just a feel good movie. Definately a collectors item for keepers. Wrap one as a gift for a friend or family
.
My Ratings
9/10
.
ps: Like i always say the sypnosis or storyline - is not my grammar - i copy from the movie jacket
.

Private Storm (Miss Tilii Movie Review)

.

Starring
-Ramsey Nouah as Alex
-Omotola Jalade Ekeinde as Gina
-Ngozi Ezeonu as
-John Dumelo as
-Ufuoma Ejenabor as
.
Written By
Vivian Ejike
.
Produced By
Vivian Ejike
.
Directed By
Lancelot Imaseun Oduwa.
.

Theme
Domestic Violence, Drama, Romance,
.
Storyline
He was the prince charming of every woman's dream with a beautiful fiancé Gina (Omotola Jalade) they made the perfect couple. As the saying goes "All that glitter is not gold", his jealousy took control of his anger causing him to rampage like a lion, constantly abusing her when any man come close to her. To the public she was a lucky woman with a handsome, successful fiancé and a happy home but silently suffered constant abuse. He knew how to work his ways around her by showering her with expensive gifts and best of surprises after abusing her. The story now gets interesting and complicated when the reason to his behavior was revealed. Is she still going to stay in an abusive relationship, when she have other men who could treat her better crawling at her feet?
.
My Review
This is a great movie and touches on a subject very prevalent to society. Once again like Guilty Pleasures – Ramsey acted excellent in this movie and his role was very believable – I hate him and his violence. Omotola as you all know never disappoints either and played her role very well. Then there is JD whose part I think was more comedic in Part 1.
.
I always judge women who stay in physically abusive relationship is the dumbest on earth but as time as gone by I have learnt not to judge - i mean in this movie for instance - when Ramsey was nice he was extremely nice - but when he was not nice - he turned into a totally new person like a real monster, beating on his woman out of jealousy.

.
At least the movie leaves a great message for abused women to get the courage to up and leave like Gina did, and dont fear of telling friends and family to help you - there is nothing to be shy about.
.
The one person who was getting on my nerves (and yall know am not big on brimerican accents aka british and american accents in our movies -i want my african movies strictly african - the slangings are a huge turn off) was the girl who played Gina's friend Uju - i mean i had to mute every scene of her in this movie - her voice - was utterly annoying. Her acting - not much to rave about - she was just "ok". Now the dude who played Ginas PR company boss (?) was a good actor - i hope to see more of him - he has good potential if he plays the right roles.
.
One thing i like about Vivians movies - is the decor in the homes she uses. Some nollywood movies you will watch you will see the character in this big mansion yet the homeware (bed linen, tableware, kitchenware etc) do not reflect the class - if its a mansion i want to see classy stuff in the mansion to reflect it - a kitchen to reflect it etc - not just the living room.
.
I am a fanatic of comtemporay interior decor (and a student at it now) so when i see that i get really impressed and in this movie i really liked the sheets used inthe bedroom scene, but Vivian - did you really think we will not figure out the same house you use in "Silent Scandal" is the same damn house you use as Ramsey's house in this movie - cmon - this can not be possibly the only house you can shoot in - right?????, dont you have rich friends in high places who could loan you their house to shoot a movie. I truly wish you had not use the same house. And also another thing i saw is the Range Rover in this movie is the same damn Range Rover used in "Silent Scandal" - attention to detail is very important to me - so dont think any thing passes when i watch movies - even if you wearing the same earrings or wig - i can tell. Top of it of Ramsey used the Range in most part of the movie and i coulda sworn i saw JD use it too, am like WTF, what it is - a range rover family or what. So anyway - just to let you know - "WE" noticed it so next time switch it up a notch - cos it aint a good look. (wink wink)
.
My Ratings
8.5/10 - definately a collectors item
(I gave it an extra 0.5 because on the important subject matter it of the movie – other than that it would I would simply have given it an 8.0/10). In 2009 I gave Silent Scandal 9.5/10 as you will see here – http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2009/12/silent-scandal-excellent-movie-starring.html

.
.

MY BABY (Classic comedy)

.



.
This was released bout 3 years ago and they have rereleased it again on dvd - You will love love love love this. Just imagine Nkem married to three wifes: Yoruba, Igbo and Hausa with Gajillion daughters and no son. You can imagine his frustruation. He and Patience exchanging words. I will review soon.
.

Monday, December 20, 2010

FELICIMA (Movie Review)



.
Starring
Genevieve Nnaji as
Yemi Blaq
.
Written By
tba

.
Produced By
.

.
Directed By
.
.
Theme
Drama, Political, Disability, Equality
.
Storyline
A Young and very successful public relations business woman affectionately know as Miss Felicima has it all; Style, confidence, fame, beauty, love and power. Added to this, she is ruthless and precise. These electric combinations make her a star in the business world. An unusual chance encounter with a crippled beggar opens up a whole new world to this woman with intrigue but also seriously devastating consequences. she is the eyes of the rich with opportunity, he, the flag bearer for all those with little or no hope.
.
My Review
The story was a good story with a great message, but I think the director/producer did not utilize Genevieve well in this movie. Genevieve acted excellent as always yet I felt the direction was flat – for one thing I did not like the picture nor sound quality at all – and I think it depends on the camera the director used to shoot this movie. I wish it was a lil more crystal clear (am not a fan of movies with panoramic shots). The disabled man (i forgot his real name - i dashed the movie away so id have to get it back to check the credits) acted well and delivered a great message on how society looks down on disabled people especially in Africa.
.
I hate movies that insult my intelligence – typical example was when Felicima’s house was supposedly burning – I watched that scene thinking “WTF” – you must be kidding me if you think I am going to watch a movie and think that is a burning house - somebody musta told u wrong dude - try again. I would rather you tell me the house burnt than show me a ridiculous scene like that –we are not kids watching these movies – and if you cannot make the scene thats is far from believable - I'd much rather you just leave it alone and don’t insult my intelligence. Other movies that insults the audience intelligence is when one is lying in a hospital from a supposed accident all bandaged up like a ghost – but the one that drives me nuts the most is when names credits are misspelled. It just goes to show the producer or editor of the movie (if any) does not care to check their homework before putting it out there. By now we all know the producers and movie makers who are simply in the for money and dont give a hoot about quality and attention to detail. How can you continuously misspell actors and actresses names?
.
I watched this movie over two days – cos I slept through part 1 and there are several scenes in the movie that just turned me off and I found boring – I had to forward a few scenes. This movie was “good” but I won’t call it a “great” neither would I call it a classic – but it did have a great message.
.
For you to pay a veteran like Genevieve to act in your movie and not have it be a classic – is a big loss to you – not Genevieve. The script, production and direction could have been better – the picture and sound quality could have definitely been better and so could have the acting from the co stars like Lopez and ?? – Nothing spectacular about their acting in this movie. The extra’s made it worse. Though movie extras are simply suppose to be extra’s in the background, I still pay attention to them and sometimes their unrealistic mannerisms and gestures in the background just spoils the movie.

.
more to come
.
My Ratings
6.5/10
.

.

Sunday, December 19, 2010

I SING OF A WELL (Movie Review)



.
Review coming this weekend

.

.

Movie Review Update (Christmas Week)

Guys sorry you havent heard from me in a 2 weeks. I am on bed rest cos i had an accident. I am fine and getting better. Whilst on Bed REst i have caught up with a lot of movies including Bursting Out, Private Storm and all the known releases (I got em all) so bear with me, and I will review it all. (as you all remember i reminded you 2 weeks ago to reserve your copies with your dealer- i gave you way advance notice so if you did not reserve it and its finished thats ya own. Do Not Watch it Online - Go PURCHASE IT). There also Shirley Frimpong Manso's 6 hours to Christmas and Touch My Heart (RMD, Stella D, Joke etc). Mehn, i have alot of reviews to do this christmas break (plus i am moving too to a new place whilst still recouping from my accident- busy busy busy)- I will be busy typing away, whilst yall are enjoying your self eating i will be up typing away to catch up - Plus i have to list all the top anticipated 2011 releases.
.
In summary i gave Bursting Out and Private Storm - its definately not an upgrade from Guilty Pleasures nor Secret Scandal but none the less its better than the most rubbish which were released to us this 2010. Dont take my word for it though cos i told you all before i am a sucker for romance and thats why i like Vivian Ejikes Silent Scandal better however this Private Storm - touches a lot on topic prevalent to society (domestic violence) so am sure many of you will disagree with me. Both Busting Out and Private Storm i consider a collectors item non the less - none has less that 8/10 rating - just wait and will review it soon. Am just tide up a bit with all the stuff going on in my life.
.
Lets just hope 2011 is better and also personally i think the whole playing corporate thing with my Genny is becoming redundant (we've had enough of that 2009/10- I want to see her in something different in 2011. )
.
I want to see her play very diverse roles as she did when she first started acting. I would love her to return to playing roles such as a mother, playing a disabled person, a wife, I want to see her in more challenging roles something way out of the ordinary (Like Chalize Theron played a serial killer on the movie "Monster" so convincing) - especially now that she is world renowned a lot of hollywood scouters may be scouting for her and they dont necessarily know of the old titles she has been in so i know they will be looking out for her new roles. Tango with Me is my next biggest anticipated movie i am waiting to see with her and JB.
.
I will put Bursting Out and Private Storm in my 2nd Annual Miss Tilii Awards which i plan for 2011 since 2010 did not have enough great movies worthy of being nominated apart from BURTING OUT and PRIVATE STORM - so i chose not to do the awards this year.
.
To the anonymous who emailed me to list DOMESTIC VIOLENCE african movies you need for your school project - well you couldnt have asked at a bettter time - PRIVATE STORM is a perfect domestic violence movie and try and get a copy of old classic produced by Emem Isong called EMOTIONAL CRACK starring Stephanie Okereke and once again Ramsey Nouah. There is another one with Bimbo Akintola but i forgot title so bear with me and i will name it later.
.
I have a lot of update to do and I will do it - just bear with me to get back on my feet.
.
ps: Emem Isong and Vivien Ejike thank you for finally releasing these movies just before christmas - you starved us enough.
.
There is another release on the market its pretty old but one of my favourite and most funniest Nollywood comedic movie starring Nkem and Patience - i mentioned it before in the thread titled Funniest Movies - the movie is called "MY BABY and the continuation is called "MY ONLY HOPE" you will laugh to tears - and i think like all the great titles mentioned above this will also be a perfect christmas gift. Nkem was married to 3 women from three tribes (Yoruba, Hausa and Igbo - and ofcourse you knwo who the igbo one was lol) - he wanted a son and all the 3 wifes gave him were daughters. Make sure you dont have food in your mouth when you watch this cos you might choke with laughter.

Saturday, December 11, 2010

TANGO WITH ME (TRAILER NOW AVAILABLE)

I already posted about Tango With Me here http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2010/03/tango-with-me-update.html
(but the trailer was not available then so here is the trailer)
.


.
Now this is the type of movie u save your precious money to buy and not that abundant crap they put out on the market. The trailer and the main star alone should tell you potentially a GREAT MOVIE. Enjoy.
.
ps:
Mr Bolagun - oga we are waiting ohhh. Let me know when to start hyping the premiere and what not. And to all yall ladies enjoying my JB (Joseph Benjamin) - u can look but you cant touch. Finally Nollywood hear our cry and give us an actor with a great body. Thank You Jesus - hallelujah. Now lets see them six pack JB. (wink wink) - LL Cool J lips aint got nothing on JBs.

.

.

A Bunch of Ratings for A Bunch of Movies

November / December 2010 Bunch of Ratings
.
I decided to simply add to the October/November 2010 thread below, cos none of these movies are worth a dime - and so I am not going to give any detail review - it will be a pure waste of time. You can watch it if you want. Please money is money - spend your money wisely on ONLY classic movies you can rewatch, dont flash your money down the drain. We are in a recession.
.

Wise In Laws (continuation to HoneyMooners)
Starring: Majid Michel, Ufuoma Ejenabor
Producer: tba
Director: tba
Ratings:
5/10
.
.
Royal Lust
Starring: Mike Ezerounye, Nuella Nujibibor, Patience Ozorkwor, John Paul Nwadike and Livinus Nnochire
Director/Producer: Chiejina Ephraim
Ratings: 4/10
.
.
Wrong Number (A ghanaian movie)
Starring: Ini Edo, Nadia Buari, Ekow Smith Asante, Khareema Aguar.
Producer: David Owusu
Director: John Izedom??
My Short Review:
this new ghanaian dude (Luis Macus McCathy) thought he could just stand there in the movie and look cute and we will brand him an actor. He didnt act whatsoever he just stood there like blahhhhhhhhhh - am like ok then - Miss Tilii got this - u aint heard the last of me. And Khareema who played the female detective to Luis character - also not much of a great actress either. But u know what - these days i dont always blame these up and comers for their lacklusters - sometimes its the director who doesnt knwo what he is doing to bring out the best in these prospective actors/actresses. Learn a thing or two from Denzel Washington who made Derek Luke shine in Dereks very first movie "Antoine Fisher". Gosh
.
Ratings: 5/10
It wasnt great and it wasnt bad, It coulda been better. borrow it or something - dont buy it.
.
.
World of Sin (continued as The Punisher)
Starring: Jim Iyke, Tontoh Dikeh
Producer: Ugezu J Ugezu
Director: Ugezu J Ugezu
Ratings:4/10
What else do you expect from one of Nollywoods worst script writer and director for 2010 - I think I will give Ugezu an award this 2010 - Worst Director/Producer and Script writer - I see he took the crown off of Nonso Ekene Okonkwo - 2009 Miss Tilii's Worst Director/Producer Award Winner.
.
I think Ugezu and Nonso should form a coalition titled ACMA - "AFRICAN CRAP MOVIES ASSOCIATION" - you will really be wasting your money if you spend to buy movies from any of the mentioned above. I SAID IT ONCE I WILL SAY IT AGAIN - their movies aint worth ish - watch it however you deem fit but DO NOT BUY their movies - its not worth it - all the do is do movies to insult the intelligence of the audience with one crap script after the next. No head no tail.
.
Before you buy the movie is look behind the box to see who is the producer or director. If you feel i am wrong with my statement - and are a movie watcher - name me one movie - that any of these "money miss road so called producers have produced in the past few years you will consider a classic" - name one and let me challenge you why i think its crap.
.
And i feel more sorry for the up and coming actors and actresses who say yes to launching their acting career with people like Ugezu J Ugezu or Nonso Ekene Okonkow. You aint going anyway sweetheart.
.
.
Tears of the Moon
Starring: Mercy Johnson, Mike Ezerounye, Emeka Ike, Eve Esin, Artus Frank etc
Producer: Uzo Nwosu
Director:Ugezu J Ugezu
Ratings:3/10 (Ugezu at his best - i rest my case)
.
.
October/November 2010
As you all know most movies below 8/10 in my ratings i would NOT give a time a day to spend time reviewing it (though i do watch it) - it will be acomplete waste of time - with popular request and many emails i have decided if nothing else though i wont review in depth I will simply rate with a BUNCH of others (yes i now call them the BUNCH!! - "A bunch of C***" ..:lol). And Producers/Directors if you are in my BUNCH category - thats not a good look - Get Ya "Ish" together.:lol: - I advice no one to use their money to purchase movies in the bunch category - might as well flash ya money in the toilet.
.
If i go in depth to review anything below 8/10 then its an exception cos there is one or two things i may have liked (eg great acting yet no so great script).
.
As always I would advice yall, the only movies I will purchase is movies with a 8/10 rating. If its below this rating - honestly its not worth spending money on - watch it - somehow - but save your money for something else.
.
My dealer and I have already agreed on these terms - he gives me 24hrs and I return movies I dont want to purchase - i keep and pay the ones i think is great. He knows i review movies thats why he was kind to give me these terms - so I am doing your homework for you. I watch - I review it - if its worth purchasing i will tell you my opinion and if it is not worth purchase yall know Miss Tilii tells it like it is. No sugarcoating. Its nice to have a great movie library with nothing but great movies that you can rewatch over and over again.
.
Challenge for you: Go thru your video library and calculate the crap movies you have purchased in the last year, which is sitting onyour living room floor or shelf, and have only watched once - and see how much money you have WASTED - i am honestly curious to know.
.
AFTER THE SERVICE
Starring: Mercy Johnson, Van Vicker, Nuella Njubigbo, Queen Nwokoye
Producer: coming soon
Director: coming soon
Ratings: 3/10 (just cos they stole the complete script of Hollywood Movie "Maid in Manhattan")
.
ROOM SERVICE (continuation of "After the Service")
Starring: Mercy Johnson, Van Vicker, Nuella Njubigbo, Queen Nwokeye
Producer: coming soon
Director: coming soon
Ratings: 5/10
.
FEAR NOT
.

Starring: Ini Edo, Oge Okoye, Chigozie Atunaya, Kofi Adjorlolo ete
Producer: Stanley C Ebonne.
Director: Ifeanyi Ogbonna.
Ratings: 2/10
.
PRINCESS MYRA (HOORAYYYYYY!!! Biola Ige got a lead Roll - Yipeee!!! straight to her CV)
Starring: Mike Ezerounye, Desmond Elliot, Nonso Diobi, Patience Ozorkwor, Chukwuma Uchegbo
Producer: Chukwuma Okeke
Director: Kensteve Anuka
Ratings: -1 /10 :lol:(negative 1 over 10 - words cant describe - i got a headache)
.
HIDDEN TREASURE
Starring: Mandy Eze, Van Vicker, Olu Jacobs, Ali Nuhu, Chika Ike
Producer: Nwankwo Nichodamus
Director: Nonso Ekene Okonkwo
Ratings:4/10
.
The usual PREDICTABLE (royal theme, poor girl+poor boy+rich princess - go figure) long winded movie that does nothing but insults ones intelligence with all the many loopholes in so many scenes coupled with Chika Eke predictable one way facial expressions - a Nonso Ekene classic :lol: - WHAT ELSE IS NEW?. Despite that its not a movie you would call "Great", I like the actress Mandy Eze (she resembles Biola Ige a tad bit but thank GOd she is a better actress - also Van was not that bad in the movie - When i watch a movie, regardless of how much the script sucks i pay real good attention to the actors and actresses and how they act - like i said i have hope for Van - someday ego be, and Mandy i wish you the best)
.
MORE RATINGS TO COME....
.
ps: "I sing of a well" i will review IN DEPTH by this weekend. And i have not forgotten about reviewing the crap Nollywood / USA collabo movie.
.

Monday, December 6, 2010

November/December Movie Releases

Oh gosh i am so tired guys and there are too many to list so i will list them tommorow.
.
If you are in the USA - according to my dealer the major distributors are releasing BURSTING OUT (Genny and Majid) and PRIVATE STORM (OmoT, Ramsey and JD) - so i am guessing no premiere here in USA we are getting it straight on dvd.
.
Listen, this is according to my dealer - so i am telling you in advance to contact your own dealer (or whichever shop you buy from) way in advance and order your copies because i guarantee you if the two movies listed above hit the shelve - it wont last a week it will be all gone. You all know how we have suffered this 2010 waiting for these two releases forever. Dont say i didnt warn you.
.
Just in time for christmas. Thank God - at long last - chei - you have made us suffer this year like no other year whiling away our time waiting for you, watching one rubbish after next - The Year of QUANTITY RUBBISH MOVIES. We have chewed crackers all year and our jaws hurt now its time for digestive and shortbread biscuit. lol - Merry Christmas.
.
ps: I am reviewing Genevieve's "FELICIMA" this weekend.
.

Sunday, December 5, 2010

Ghanaian Twi Movie

.
lately i prefer non english movies cos first of all there isnt that much great english language movies to watch and also i have always said that i personally think non english language movies do have better scripts (Ghana Twi Movies, Nigerian Yoruba Movies etc)
.
I am going thru a whole bunch of movies i received in my stash, but when i look at the faces on the boxes i just put it aside and say to myself - let me save my self the headache i will go thru those movies later (cos as you know when it comes to african movies i do judge our book by its cover and i am almost always right) - So there were a couple of my Ghanaian local twi movies and i decided to watch those first.
.
The first i watched was "Joe Criminal" which was a great movie (8/10), I also watched "I know My Right" (another excellent movie i rate 9/10), and then the one i watched to day is called ASEW BEYIFOUR (which means WITCH MOTHER IN LAW) - I confidently rate this movie 10/10.
.
The movie happens to be based on a true story and i swear its the best ghanaian local language movie i have ever watched - ABSOLUTELY EXCELLENT MOVIE - buy one and a couple for your friends a family - Its parts 1 to 3 all on one DVD.
.
The movie is about a newly married couple who start out poor both living under the roof of the husbands mom house, but later God favored them and after much prayer the became rich and go live in a big house. The young wife was not conceiving and became extremely worried and desperate even though her mom in law and husband were not giving her pressure and told her to just have patience with God. Did she have patience with God - you watch and find out what happens - this is a 3 hours long movie but all worth the watch.
.
I dont want to give the movie away by telling you the whole story, but i guarantee u if you are ghanaian and speak Twi or non ghanaian and dont mind watching subtitled movies (like i watch subtitled yoruba movies) - i promise you wont regret it at all.
.
Kumasianos are killing it with their great acting lol (kumasiano is just a nickname given to the a group of people who live in the ghanaian city of kumasi - just like you would say lagosians - people who live in Lagos) - their acting is great and flawless - especially when the script is great too - and so real because they are speaking their own native tongue and acting becomes natural. I know ghanaian movie watchers may wonder is actor Agya Koo (ghanaians version of Nkem Owoh) in any of the movies - no he is not but trust me - these movies i have just listed are great and most importantly like Tyler Perrys movies - there are great morals to the story and lessons to be learnt. A great movie you can watch with your whole family.
.
Go grab your copies and watch and you will enjoy it

Saturday, December 4, 2010

OYIBOS / OBRONI's IN OUR MOVIES

Almost always you will find one oyibo (or as ghana will say "Obroni") in our african movies they will choose the one with the worst of the worst acting skills (i mean take White Hunters for intstance - i loved the movie cos it was funny as hell with Mercy, Ini and Funke) - but the actors acting skills were horrendous.
.
So i came across this white oyibo dude (cute too) on youtube - clearly he was raised or born in naija and speaks with perfect naija accent as well as other languages like hausa and stuff. I would want to see this type of oyibo in african movies. If this dude got into african movies - he will make a lot of money - he can even call the shots. The ladies will definately love him and the producers will be knocking on his door like crazy. I have watched this video many times and I just so impressed cos obviously this is very rare. Here - watch and enjoy the videos
.



.

Also here are some videos of Turkish dude Nicolas who has never set his foot in africa let alone naija yet sings flawless naija songs - some PR people need to get to this guy and invite him to naija and ghana for christmas - the ladies will love him. lol (the first video of Nicolas is quite old)
.



.

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Update for December 2010

Bear with me people, I am having trouble with my internet lately, but rest assured i will keep you posted. I just received my movies today and there is alot i have to go thru. I have a lot of words for the Nollywood/USA collabo movies and i have a lot of words for Tontoh Dikeh. You wait.
.
ps: to the person who emailed me to ask me where to buy movies, I dont buy them on line - never have, i have a dealer who feeds my habit for years and gives me my stash and thats whom and all i know, however i have decided to do in my upcoming website is i will have locations by state (assuming you live in USA) which african store to go get your movies and if you live elsewhere (eg UK, Canada, Australia, Japan etc etc) with the help of you all you send me email of places in your vicinity (african stores) you buy your movies and i will list it in alphabeticall order for everybody - cos this question comes up a lot and i feel bad i havent been able to help much.
.
Also i plan on communicating with these store owners so everytime they have a release i will advertise for them (FOR FREE - NO CHARGE) - so in conclusion i dont have any trusted websites i buy movies from - i cannot lie and testify that go buy it from this or that site cos i have never purchased online before and i do understand you may not have a dealer where u live, like i do, but rest assured, in 2011 we will work something out.
.
I am speaking to some of this movie warehouses about distribution to international countries who are in desperate need - obviously your cost will be a tad bit higher but - it is what it is. If you have any suggestions let me know - i will relay it to them. Help me to help you. I am always willing to help.
.
The website launch is coming slow cos i am doing it by myself (no professional) an there is a lot i have to learn to get it right. I am not a techie person - and i have to make it user friendly so i am taking it one day at a time. Have a lil patience with Ms Tilii (wink wink).

Sunday, November 28, 2010

REBOUND

I am lost for words – this is the epitome of crapppppppppppppppppest Nollywood USA collab movies I have ever seen and bear in mind i only watched it cos in part 1 I thought i was watching a my nigerian movie and then come part two and all hell broke loose.
.
The story line was ok in Part 1 but then in Part 2 i endured the biggest suffering of watching the worst actreses i have ever ever ever ever seen thus far this 2010 – and icing onthe cake your Van Vicker is in the movie too – go figure.
.
Africans in USA i beg you in the name of God leave this movie thing alone and if you are goign to do it dont call it NOLLYWOOD – we want to watch AFRICAN made movies set in AFRICA for a reason.
.
Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrghhhhhhhhhhh – when i get time i will give you more update.
.
DONT BUY THIS MOVIE IN THE NAME OF GOD.

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Website Work in Progress

Ok friends, I have a 4 day weekend (Its Thanksgiving Holiday here in USA) and my agenda is to work on this long awaited websites. Let me know if there is any topics/pages which will be of interest to you - or you would like to see on the site and I will incorporate it if i can. I just had an idea to have a section for suggestive non english speaking african subtitled movies eg Yoruba, Francophone Movies etc. I mean i watch them all if i can and if its good i will let you know.
.
For me I just dont enjoy watching ALL movies, but it but its a chance to learn a different language too and over the course of 10 yrs since i started watching african movies i have picked up a lot of Igbo and Yoruba words (maybe just the swear words for now - but am learning sha!) - if more people spoke other foreign languages and undestood other customs and cultures the world will be a better place. I speak 3 ghanaian languages and willing to learn more african and other languages from other parts of the world even if its thru watching movies.
.
Broaden your horizons on african movies, there are some great ones out there that are not necessary english speaking or from Ghana or Nigeria. If you can watch Bollywood movie and understand it even without subtitles i suggest you give other non english speaking african movies a chance (if it is subtitled). Lets support all africa (crap movies excluded!!).
.
I encourage the Igbos (I can trust my Tchidi and Chinny Ahaneku for this), Ibibio (Hi Emem),Idoma, etc etc to come out with more native language movies (i love both Igbo and Yoruba language and thier music is so utterly beautiful thats why 9ice remains my favourite naija musician) - the native language movies have better scripts (i can testify for Ghana) and the acting is more real, no pretense - also be encourage because in OSCARS there are categories for FOREIGN FILM and a lot of great films get nominated. All we need is a good script, good direction, good subtitler cos honestly most of the subtitles are off.
.
I wish you all a great 2011 for the whole african movie industry. i want them all to succeed.
.
ps: i am using wordpress for my site and honestly am not impressed by the choice themes i have to choose from. I was wanting something with an afican theme. Yo Nolly help ya sista out.
.

Genny's Interview on CNN Connect

Its finally here yall - Genny's Interview in London CNN Headquarters. I think she did great and looking lovely as always. Next Stop a Hollywood interview (so far as they dont STEAL her away from us- i get scared sometimes when i think about it - I like my Genny in my african theme movies). The sky is the limit for my girl. Love her so much.
.

Monday, November 22, 2010

Why I dont care much for Nollywood-USA collab movies yet

Here are the following reason
  • Fake and Bad Lace Fronts - check (if you live in the usa and cant get ya lacefront on point and let it sit on ya forehead, its a huge problem, at least girls back home,they are still learning and havent gotten the beyonce glue yet - but for you who live in USA i say "May Day May Day - we have a state of emergency")
  • Overly done make ups with guarantee 3 inch eyelashes - check
  • Fake eye contacts - check
  • Fake accents - check
  • Poor and unmemorable acting by many force-force actors & actresses - Oh most definately check
  • If an oyibo/obroni guest appears in a scene u best believe its the worst acting you ever going to see - i always wonder? Chei.
  • Some gigantic gorgeous beautiful rented home - (and here in the US most likely owned by Wells Fargo, BOA or GMAC Bank (:lol)
  • Most of these movies are shot in Atlanta, GA, Tristate VA,MD,DC or Houston,TX - same scenery.
  • No head or tale to the scripts that will bore u to sleep
.
You cant fool me by putting in a nollywood known face like Desmond or Ramsey Nouah or Van Vicker (cough cough) and make me think just cos they great (or good) actors and they are part of the cast, the script or acting by the several other bad actors will make it good. Bottom line these famous actors are just in these movies to market and sell the product - period. Thats not that hard to figure out. The splatter their faces on the box and make ppl thinks its worth a dime.
.
I like my african movies african - with african accents, african themes, african scenery etc etc. We in the diaspora watch african movies for a reason, to escape from all of the oyibo stuff here, so if i want to see fake lacefronts, i could go to my nearest blockbuster and borrow a bad black movie like "Trois" or "Soul Plane". Ok maybe these are not considered african (i dont know what to call it) - well then simply - i am not a fan of Nollywood-USA movies (opps i said that already huh?).
.
And yes, i have watched several of these type movies (US/Nollywood collabos) before making this judgement - 4 was enough for me, and now you cant even pay me to watch anotheer, unless its a more SENSIBLE script like Ije or Anchor Baby or something of that sort.
.
I have gotten a few emails ppl asking me why i dont advertise or post info of these movies here. Firstly cos I only post movies I consider a great buy and also because of all the listed blue above, which are a huge pet peeve when i watch african movies. Unless i see some great script and acting - loose all that fake stuff, I will not advocate it on this blog. It is what it is.
.
.

.
Hey dont take my word for it - go grab a copy of the movie if you like and i guarantee u - you will watch it once and then it will be left sitting on your shelf. Invest in great movies and eliminate junk.
.
For those of you who love it so much name ONE classic or one memorable great one you ever watched.? Great script - phenomenal acting.
.
Am just saying though - like Wendy Williams will say "It is, what it is". I cant sugarcoat, i just gotta tell it like it is. I could post many of these trailers, but I will spare you all (Bad publicity is good publicity like they say).
.
This is my personal choice and opinion- to each his own. Everybody else might love it - I dont.
.
SAY SOMETHING NICE CHALLENGE
The sound and picture quality are excellent (wink wink)
.
I look forward to great scripts such as IJE and ANCHOR BABY and I applaud those doing a good job and truly understand what the audience want.
.
In the entertainment industry if you cannot take criticism then maybe you need to really examine and evaluate if you are in the right place.
.
ps:
Oh and i am being hounded with emails bout this is an upcoming one "DECEPTION" (great name :lol:) - i think i will save myself from that headache - i would rather wait and watch later. I was thinking maybe you guys could do me the honors by watching it first (however u find it to watch it), watch it and give me feedback. Lol, let Miss TIlii be spare of the headache of such, and you do me the honors (wink). Watch it review it and rate it.

.

MORE "BUNCH OF ....." RELEASES TO END 2010

And as Nollywood and Ghana continously advance in their movie making to reach an international market (hollywood OSCAR bound) -with their QUANTITY release and not QUALITY - we are once again bombarded by a list of movies not worth a dime - I literally had headache after going thru this and had to go straight to bed after taking tylenol. DO NOT BUY ANY OF THESE MOVIES - SAVE YOUR MONEY.

.
-Rough Ryders (coulda been better)
-5/10
.
-Turn me On (its by Frank Arase & Roger Quartey at their creative best in script - what else is new -tchewww)

-3/10

.

-Before my Wife
3/10
.
-Enemies of Progress (i got this movie cos of Nkem but must say the bombardment of Razness did not do it for me)
3/10
.
-Wise In Laws
2/10
.
-Twisted Fate (coulda been better)
4/10
-
PS: On this blog "Bunch" means "Bunch of Crap" lol - I will be posting more. Simply print this page and take it with you to the african store so you know what to stay away from.
.

Saturday, November 20, 2010

Yvonne Nelson Banned from Movies in Ghana & Nigeria

For those who care (cos i definately dont), Yvonne Nelson has been banned from acting in any Ghanaian or Nigerian-produced movie for a year.
.
(the following info below is not my writing)
Investigations into the matter reveals that Yvonne’s ban is based on accumulation of several alleged incidents of her disrespectful and rude attitude towards fellow actresses, producers and crew members on location and even when off-camera.“She doesn’t respect,” was Alhaji Salam’s reply when asked why that severe action against her He explained that there have been series of complaints about Yvonne’s insulting behavior and lack of respect on set. The latest incident which broke the camel’s back, occurred some few weeks ago during the shooting of the new movie by Venus Films Productions titled; “4play Reloaded” http://showbiz.peacefmonline.com/movies/201011/107458.php
.
Actually I (miss tilii) heard the audio interview they asked him why he banned her and his actualy response was "BECAUSE "OF" SHE DOESNT RESPECT" - :lol: typical example of what i describe as "money miss road" - the man (salam) is not even articulate or eloquent (evidently not educated much- Brofo koraa onti bi. Okurasini biara nya sika osi miyeh movie) and no wonder his movies are such superficial crap and he sees a reason use ridiculous non ghanaian names like Beyonce, Ciara etc etc - not creative one bit). And they have the nerve to bring out another 4play called 4play Reloaded (emom paaaaa, onyami seh yenka).
.
Anyway to cut the long story short you can read further on ghanaian website peacefm and bottom line she is been banned. Personally i think Venus should be banned too FOR NON CREATIVITY IN SCRIPTS) lol. I dont care cos first of all she is not that of a great actress to be missed (its not like she is a Genevieve and second of all ALLLLLLL of VENUS production are superficial non creative and absolutely crap in my books so i definately dont care - Abdul Mumuni and Frank Arase are not creative - I said it once I will say it again - great picture and sound quality does not sell me on movie you have to have the sense to write sensible scripts and give great direction - They must think they are the bosses in Ghana movie industry and untouchable ).
.
I blame the ppl who buy these crap movies by such producers to have the audacity and balls to think if they dont give job someone wont eat. And for you Yvonne this is time to use some of the lil money you have made to take some further acting courses to polish your acting - your ok but definately not good let alone great. You will not be missed. Bye
.
ps: And to the anonymous sending me emails cos they are mad I told it like it is about VENUS Production (Abdul & Salam) to each his own - I am not impressed by their work and as long as i have this blog - if someone produces crap movies i will alert my audience. After listening to Salam "SPEAK" for the first time in that audio interview it all makes sense why he and his crew are NOT creative with their script" - clearly it will be a CHALLENGE FOR SOMEONE LIKE SALAM OR ABDUL TO WRITE A CREATIVE SCRIPT lol. I am ghanaian and Venus DO NOT represent my country Ghana with their superficial hoopla movies (Kwaw Ansah, Shirley Manso save us ooooo). I will keep saying it. I honestly dont need u to read this blog if what i say bothers you - the name is TELL IT LIKE IT IS. And if you dont like this blog - stop always creeping back to read it cos i know you creeping in here - :lol. You So transparent :lol:. Venus Production International Film Festivals and Oscar bound lol HURRAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.

Friday, November 19, 2010

NO "Miss Tilii 2nd Annual Movie Awards"

As we near the end of the year, I am here to announced there will be NO 2nd Annual Miss Tilii Movie Awards" like there was last year http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.com/2009/12/2009-end-of-year-miss-tilii-emg-movie.html .
.
2010 was the most disappointing year in African Movies - we got bombarded with so many crap movies (90% releases were absolutely CRAP - not worth your dime)- none is worthy to be in the BEST CATEGORY, unless i decide to create solely "CRAP MOVIE AWARDS" then there will be plenty to be on this list.
.
And for the producers whose movies we highly anticipated yet they left us hanging (Bursting Out, Ije, Tango With Me ) - Thank you very much. And i also like to thank bootleggers becos of you the best movie makers are taking longer to release their "great movies" because they are trying to come up with strategic ways to combat bootlegging, so instead of straight release to video they are doing the whole premiere thing first (which to me is very good) and then finally when they get to release it on DVD then they do (even if they take 2 yrs to release in DVD :lol). Other than that we just sit and wait. Most of these movies were complete 2 years ago and and we still waiting.
.
.
Right now am waiting for my "OMO GHETTO" :lol:

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Genny Speaks To "Ovation Magazine"

My Genny - always a breath of fresh air - speaks to Ovation Magazine, and modelling clothes from her St Genevieve Line (Genevieve holla back at a sista - ppl asking me bout where to purchase your line as well as website)
.
NOLLYWOOD STAR GENEVIEVE NNAJI OPENS UP ON LOVE, LIFE AND THE PRICE OF BEING A CELEBRITY IN THE NEW UPCOMING DECEMBER ISSUE OF OVATION MAGAZINE (OVATION magazine is a nigerian magazine sold in selected Newsagents in Nigeria, Ghana, London and selected african stores in USA)
.
Multi-talented and multiple award winner, Genevieve Nnaji has continued to wow her fans, breaking new grounds and injecting some freshness to her craft as an artiste.
.
The delectable lady whose latest works Ije and Bursting Out are doing well at the box office has moved from acting, singing to fashion designing and now she has taken up modelling, by becoming the official face of Make Up Designory (MUD) cosmetics. In fact, she just returned from a photo shoot in Los Angeles, California, USA courtesy of MUD.
.
Born to a disciplined Catholic family of eight, Genevieve, who is the fourth started her acting career at the age of eight with Ripples, a popular soap opera on television then she has definitely gone on to greater things. In this extensive and exclusive interview, she spoke about life, love and more.
.
Welcome back from your MUD cosmetics photo shoot
Thank you.
.
How did it feel being covered in real mud for hours
It was tedious; it was cold, because it was real mud. They tried their best to keep me warm, I had fun doing it in general but it was a lot of work.
.
How do you manage to combine all your activities?
Exhales. It's hard, it's demanding, but I try to hold things together.

Two years down the line, how has St. Genevieve fared ?
St Genevieve is doing very well, a lot of my clients are very happy with our work. Unfortunately, I've been extremely busy so I haven't been able to take it as far as I would have wished but then we still carry on with our yearly fashion show which is my own little way of giving back to Charity.
.

(If you want to read the rest - grab ya copy of Ovation Magazine (sold in Nigeria, Ghana, London and selected african stores here in USA)
.
.

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Congratulations to Newlyweds Mike Ezerounye & Nkechi Nnorom

.
Nollywood actor Mike Ezerounye married his pretty gorgeous bride Nkechi this past weekend - November 13 2010, in Lagos. They met when Mike was shooting a film on location at Keke's grandma's house in Abuja - where she was, after returning for vacation from her base in Canada. Mike saw a flower he knew he had to pluck - and he sure did pluck the prettiest flower of them all from that garden.
.
Mike Miss Tilii wishes to Congratulate you and wish you a happy married life - your bride is absolutely gorgeous. Now we wait for those cutie pie babies. May God Bless your married Life and bless u with plenty SONS and daughters. I hear a lot of the nollywoodians were there to support his special day. I just cant wait to see them cute babies.
.
I wonder who in the industry is Next. I like it when young men take such a bold step - its shows responsibility and maturity. Take note - all yall men continously sowing your oates. Keep on sowing - one day it will drop off Fiam! and u will be satisfied.
.
ps:
His boy actor Nonso Diobi was one of his best men.
.

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Miss Tilii's Cast for "African Version of "Colored Girls "

I loved this movie so much not just cos I am a sucker for Literature, Poetry and Drama but I just loved the acting and how Tyler did it - this has to be one of the best novel adapted movies ever done since the classic movie "COLOR PURPLE". Read My Review Here . When i love a movie i like to cast in my mind how it will look with an african adaptation.
.
Anyway as i sit here am wondering IF there was a african adaptation of the movie who would play who? I am thinking no one else but Genevieve to play Kimberly Elise's role and other cast such as :
.
-Yvonne Okoro or Dakore Egbuson to play Anika Noni Rose role
-Rita Dominic for Janets Jackson's role
-Nadia Buari for Kerry Washington's role
-Rama Brew or Joke Silva to play Phylicia Rashads role
-Bimbo Akintola to play Loretta Divines role
-Mercy Johnson to play Thandie Newtons role
-Martha Ankoma to play Tessa Thompson's role
-Bukky Ajayi for Whoopie Goldberg"s role
-? for Macy Grays role (am still thinking who can pull this role off)
.
For the guys am thinking
.
-Majid Michel for Hill Harpers role
-Adjetey Anang for Michael Ealys role
-Jim Iyke for Khalil Kains role (no one can play that role better)
-Chris Attoh, Nana Kwame Osei Sarpong or Muna Obiekwe for Omari Hardwicks role
-Ramsey Nouah for Richard Lawson's role
.
(if you think different of my list above let me know - this is just wishful thinking)
.
Bear in mind these are just actors i am more familiar with in Ghana and Nigeria - I am sure in the whole continent of Africa there may be some great potentials in say South Africa, Kenya etc. I am just thinking out loud. I also think all drama or theatre school should make their students read this book and watch the play and maybe act it out themselves as part of their course.
.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...