Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Kiss of Venom (Starring Jim, Majid & Nuella)

.
Starring: Jim Iyke, Majid Michel and Nuella Njubigbo
.
Producer: Chukwuemeka Chiemerie (Stay away from his work from here on)
.
Director: Nonso Ekene Okonkwo (Stay far far far away from any of his work- his 'production" is by far the worst in my books for 2009. I just wish great actors like Jim, Mercy and Majid wont work with such directors (YOU ARE SPOILING YOUR CV OOHHH - BE SELECTIVE WITH WHICH PRODUCER/DIRECTOR YOU WORK WITH, DONT BE LURED BY MONEY- CHEI)- they can never challenge them enough, their talent & experience surpasses directors skills of directing them - some of nonsos other work include Passion of Destiny with Van Vicker - double trouble combination (if you going to watch this particular movie i advice you to get ear plugs for background music-biggest mistake i made to date watching it). Nonso Okokwor stick to hiring your Van Vickers,Nonso Diobi, Ebube Nwagbo, Gentle Jack, Uche Ogbodo and the likes to act your movies and stop deceiving us by using great actors like Jim, Majid, Mercy and the likes. Where is Adim Williams and Tchidi when you need them) - and if you watch ROYAL MADNESS - once again great cast (Majid Michel, Jim Iyke and Mercy Johnson - whom i wish will ONLY work with the BEST and ONLY BEST - no mediocres) yet this guy cannot direct to save his life - He has to be the worst for the year 2009 in my books - the annoying music background alone drowns the whole movie - He must be paying these great actors a lot for them to agree to work with him, because even with good product he still cant direct or produce and come out with excellent results (NOT EVERY BODY HAS TO DIRECT AND PRODUCE IF IT IS NOT YOUR CALLING - dude JUST LEAVE IT ALONE).
.
I WILL NEVER WATCH ANOTHER MOVIE IN MY LIFE DIRECTED BY THIS DUDE.
.
Theme: Drama (infedility, love, sex, family etc)
.
Storyline: - Written by Nonso Ekene Okonkwo, This movie stars Jim Iyke as "Rahim", a young man described in the movie as very intelligent but emotionally unstable. Rahim spends six years of his life in jail for killing two men in the defense and honor of his girlfriend Kate (who is played by actress Nuella Njubigbo whom from what i remember has great on screen chemistry with Jim Iyke from the past movies with them together - i like her). Kate makes a vow to Rahim that she will remain faithful to him, even if he is away from her for a considerable length of time. Kate eventually marries Fred (Majid Michel) while Rahim is still in prison, and even bears a child during the course of the marriage. Trouble ensues when Rahim is released from prison having spent six years in jail, and Fred and Kate's marriage is simultaneously experiencing issues with intimacy due to a lack of communication between the two, as Fred tends to be greatly and overly consumed with work.
.
My Review: -The movie was going fine in part 1, married bored wife meets ex-boyfriend, they start having an affair blah blah blah.Then it gets to part 2 of the movie and i could neither see the head or tail to the movie - its all flash back of when Rahim and Kate use to date or some nonsense like that - I mean how can you have at least 3/4 of the Part 2 all based on flash back - r u kidding me.
.
After completing part 2 i say I am Highly disspointed - Majid be selective in your roles abeg, i have too much high hopes for you, dont sell out to inexperienced producers and directors who dont know what the hell they are doing. I mean the story line was all over the place. Complete waste of my money - I like Nuella as an actress cos i think she does have great potential. Just wasnt the right movie - hopefully a better producer will make her shine.
.
For this movie i dont put the blame on Majid, Jim Iyke nor Nuella - I put the whole blame for the crapness of the movie on the producer/director and screen writer. Absolute Rubbish in my books. They sure did fool me with part 1, until i got to part 2 and realised it was crap. Thank God this month of october Emem SAVED as from all the CRAP movies by releasing "GUILTY PLEASURES" at least like 'Keeping Faith' we can play it back to back to back and watch it over and over again, whilst we wait for the next best thing.
.
At this stage, Majid after watching Guilty Pleasures (a 10/10 rated movie, my highest rating for the year 2009 - YOU HAVE TO BUY IT and OWN IT) i suggest you stick with the likes of Emem Isong in producing/directing you, cos seems like not too many producers/directors can NOT challenge you enough with the talent you got - they dont know what to do with you, Your talent is way above them.
.
ps: In the credits instead of putting Nuella Njubigbo for Kate, they went and put Ann Amatesero. Am like who the hell is Ann Amatesoro, we all know this actress as Nuella Njubigbo and i doubt this lady completely changed her name like that. Clearly an error was made, I mean gone are the days when there is mispelt here and there now they are completely replacing actors/tresses with new names. Na wah ohhh - I will email Nuella and notify her about this.
.
My Ratings: 3/10 - GREAT CAST + CRAP SCRIPT+ INEXPERIENCED PRODUCER = RUBBISH MOVIE !!!!!!!
.

New Releases for Oct 2009

Here are the new releases and though i really dont care for most of them based on cast, I am really looking forward to BUYING Emem Isong long awaited "Guilty Pleasures". The others i wont just rush out and buy just yet,some of the cast to some of the movies (eg Mr Vicker) is enough to tell me not to waste my precious money yet. With Guilty Pleasures - Emem Isong has never disappointed me yet so i will buy it. I just dont WASTE my money on predictable actors/actresses -or producers/directors who have a bad CV
.
Here are the list (i hope by now - u should know whom i mean when i go by 1st name basis)
.
RIP OFF - Starring Genevieve Nnaji and Ramsey Nouah - ALERT - THIS IS A VERY OLD MOVIE THAT HAS BEEN RE-RELEASED -

.
to those new to watching nollywood movies, i can say its worth the watch. I miss me some good ole days boy - am talking shaky quality VHS days, Genny and Ramsey were doing it, they were always fire on screen. Never lost it neither, I want to see them again in another Romantic movie. Its been awhile.As i mentioned in one of my past threads, there are a lot of great movies from way back in the day that are all being re-released, to accomodate the bombardment of crap movies lately. I am not complaining, cos the old movies though the quality was not that good, the scripts were better and the movies were good. Sanga Entertainment is now re-releasing a lot now, and repackaging themd with a better picture and sound quality than the VHS days.
.
I suggest they released all the good ones (esp all Genevieve Nnaji movies, many new movie watchers are getting to know her now and it will be great they watch her old movies and understand why Genny became Genny and why we still rave about her)
.
GUILTY PLEASURES - Starring Majid, Nse, Ramsey, Desmond and Mercy etc - DYNAMITE CASTING plus EXCELLENT PRODUCER (Emem Isong-bout time u released it - THANK YOU for saving us from all the rubbish we have been watching thus far)
.

.
KISS OF VENOM - starring Majid, Jim Iyke and Nuella (this i "may" buy cos of Majid and jim)
.

.
ROCK MY WORLD (Van in rasta -i just rolled my eye - and you know what that means)
.
.
PASSION OF DESTINY - starring Mercy, Van and Tontoh .
DANGEROUS ADOPTION - starring Chika & Jim- (if it was Jim and somebody else i woulda cared but not with Chika - with her predictable acting)
.
STRENGTH OF A MAN - starring once again Van,and then Oge and Mercy (this is a maybe becos of Mercy and Oge)
.
POWER OF JUDGEMENT - starring Desmond, Tony and Uche Jumbo
i will post pic later
.
PASSIONATE DEFENSE - starring Sam Dede, Chioma and Roaring Mike (as in Mike Ezerounye). Lets just hope this is not a romantic movie - cos lawd knows as good as Chioma is as an actress watching her in a romantic script is like watching paint dry - Booooooring is an understatement. Sam Dede is a great actor, Mike - well just get yall ear plugs - dont say i didnt warn - thats is why i personally nicknamed him Roaring Mike. All he does is scream and he thinks he is acting.
i will post pic later.
.
Now what i am eagerly anticipating next are my GENNY movies and she has at least 3 completed yet to be released.
.
ENJOY THIS MONTH EVERYONE - HOPE THIS HELPED
.

Monday, September 28, 2009

Congratulations to Genevieve Nnaji for Recognition on Oprah Winfrey




On Monday Sept 28 2009 the topic on Oprah Winfrey Show was about "MEET THE MOST FAMOUS PEOPLE IN THE WORLD" - Asia, Africa etc, and they showed Genevieve Nnaji - yes oohh - our one and only. I was meaning to watchin it but missed it.
.
I hear Genny looked gorgeous - I am so disappointed for missing this show today - even if she was on for a few seconds - I am soooooooo damn proud of her and she Knows it - Muah - double kisses Genny. You doing big thangs. A lot are rushing and stepping on each other for fame and fortune in nollywood, but Genny simply rides and take it easy and let God do the rest. God brings you the blessings - and this is why i love and support you so much and will continue to pray for your success. Names were suggested from fans across the globe and for the continent of Africa - without doubt they chose GENNY.
.
This is the link to the Oprah website - but dont get ya hopes up cos the link to see Genevieve is not there, You would have to order to days show to see it. Dont count ya hopes of seeing the show on youtube, Ms Oprah is very strict and right protects all her show from Youtube.
.
http://www.oprah.com/dated/oprahshow/oprahshow-20090826-world-famous
.
on Oprah website they put
Actress Genevieve Nnaji has appeared in the films Beautiful Soul (1 & 2), Blood Sisters (1 & 2) and Caught in the Act. Find out more about these at Franco Films productions
.
Apparently they just showed a gorgeous pic of her and said she is a top actresse and how much she grosses per year.(not that - thats anybodys business - in our society you keep such things under wrap and wish they wouldnt have stated it b4 all the yeye journalist be putting ppls business on blast). God Bless you girl - wishing more blessings.
.
A friend of mine seen how disappointed i am to have missed it just called me and as a consolation price telling me they "might repeat it" - am like yeah right :rollseyes: not oprah

.
ps: Ok so to the hollywood producers - hope you took notice. Specifically to Don Cheadle - i hope now he will remember the conversation we had two years ago when i first met him at a African charity event and he mentioned how much he had fallen in love with Africa and that he was writing a movie based on Africa with all african cast, I suggested Genevieve Nnaji as his lead actress and he wrote her name on a piece of paper. I hope if he watched the show today - he remembers what i told him.
x

STING IN A TALE (Upcoming Movie by GHANAs Shirley Frimpong Manso)

.
here is the Youtube clip for the preview
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfZ9m6c3RkE&feature=player_embedded
.
As yall know Shirley Frimpong Mason as a ghanaian movie producer makes me so proud - not all her movies have been up to par - but none the less i will bet money on her movie being great way better than the other rubbish directors (with no creativity whatsoever) like foreigners Frank Arase and Mumuni. As a ghanaian and a woman Shirley makes me proud just as nigerian Emem Isong makes me proud, they are doing big things than many of their male counterparts.
.
Shirley has a new movie coming out on DVD by christmas, its called "A STING IN A TALE" starring Majid Michel, Lydia Forson and Adjetey Annan (dude is new in the scene but trusting Shirleys casting skills i know i wont be disappointed).
.
I am so glad cos i was wondering when Shirley will work with my favourite ghanaian actor Majid - Shirley is very selective whom she chooses tostar in her movie and i am so proud of her for that. She doesnt just choose anybody any nilly willy. You have to be first and formost, very eloquent, articulate and good looks never hurt. She makes sure you can bring the character to life to make it believable and make audience forget they are actually watching a movie.
.
If i get to speak to her, I will let her know why this disappoiints me that she chose Jackie Appiah to star in "Perfect Picture" - yall know i dont consider Jackie Appiah, Nadia Buari nor Van Vicker "great actors" - they are good with pretty faces, but you cant fool me with pretty looks, either you can deliver or you cant, this movie thing is not a beauty contest. Entertain Us - and make me believe in the character you are playing - all that FAKE nonsense does nothing but piss me of as a movie watcher..
.
Shirley just go Legon University Drama school and recruit some of these nice chicks and guys who can really act and let them represent ghana - eloquent - articulate - no pretense of faking accent to be what their not. Just pure well educated Undiluted Ghanaian Accent plus good acting. Dont be like the other producers who clearly picks their actors from aphrodisiac nightclub, or some way side knee pad expert chicks.:lol:
.
A Sting In A Tale is "a twisted tale of two unemployed graduates who embark on a journey to make it in a world where you need more than what you have to get what you want. Kuuku is overwhelmed with the urgency to succeed and frantically searches for a reward to his severa...l years of school. Frustrated and constantly reminded of his failure by the presence of his girlfriend, (Frema) ; Kuuku will do anything to make the odds work in his favor.
.
Nii Aryee, Kuuku’s abstemious looking friend is more positive about the future until the rejection letters begin to mount and his landlord comes to town. Driven by the fear of poverty, these two friends go in search of a destiny that takes them to the most obscure places. In a tale where the unexpected is always lurking in the shadows, from the natural to the supernatural, among all ploys, grief and struggles, nothing prepares you for the sting, in a rather bizarre ending."
.
I look forward to this movie.
.
The Grand Premiere is on Friday, Nov 6 @ The Conference Center, Accra, Ghana
x

Saturday, September 19, 2009

All I Ever Wanted (Desmond & Mercy)


Title:
ALL I EVER WANTED

.
Produced and Directed:
??
.
Starring:
Desmond Elliot, Mercy Johnson, Sandra Uchemba, Chinelo Ndigwe
.
Storyline
Eddy's three daughters were well taken care of with help of his younger sister after the death, but going on was hard without his wife, When one of his daughter decided to pair him up with a woman with the hope of helping him fall in love again the struggles becomes a who wins his heart, his children or the new woman?
.
My Review
This movie is a keeper, i enjoyed it from beginning to end. Great child actors in this movie including one whom i already predicted after seeing her in Prophecy 6 years ago starring opposite Genevieve Nnaji in the movie "The Prophecy". Her name is Sandra Uchemba. She has grown into a beautiful young lady and i am proud of her. Her acting was excellent in this movie and so were the other ones who played her sisters. We need more great child actors who will grow to be even better, just like Hollywood does it.

.
In Nollywood we all know its extremely hard to find GOOD let alone GREAT child actors. Mercy did not disappoint neither did Desmond. Chinelo Ndigwe i was surprised to see cos i thought she got married and migrated to live in London. Like her former movie costar Maureen Solomon She has put on a bit of weight but after several babies thats understandable. I hear the guy in this movie also called Uche Ndigwe is her brother,They have been featured in so many movies together in the past .
.
This is a movie to purchase and keep on ya shelve - a feel good type movie you can enjoy with your whole family. This movie is worth watching.
.
My Ratings
7/10
.

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

STOP THE FAKE ACCENT CAMPAIGN FROM NOLLYWOOD MOVIE WATCHERS

I hate watching african movies and seeing ppl faking their accent, My hand will be on the forward button instantly.
.
This is the same reason i cant stand watch african movies shot abroad (recent ones shot in Virginia, Maryland, Atlanta etc) with MEDIOCRE actresses who cant act a lick to safe their lifes - nigerian girls who probably came to america aftter university in naija and all of a sudden just cos they have lived inusa for 5 or so years they want to rattle. Synthetic hair, fake eyes,fake nails, clown makeups and fake accent - is too much for one to take.
.
I will never watch movies with such crap almost always its guaranteed to be crap - predictable nonsense.When i watch nigerian movies or ghana movies, i want realness, I want to hear real african accents like - cos if i wanted hollywood movies with hollywood accents i woulda gone to blockbuster and borrowed one.
.

Actors who are warned about their faking of accents in movies

.
I dont want to hear fake accents from these individuals

-Stephanie Okereke (i mean words cant describe her and her accent - i think its a disease for her - STEPHANIE HAS A FAKE ACCENT DISEASE - SHE CANT SHAKE IT OFF ;LOL:)
- Jim Iyke (at least since he returned after the actors ban 3 yrs ago he toned a bit but please dont give him a role where he is playing a yankee boy cos for sure he will start rattling his nonsense again)
-Nadia Buari of Ghana (we know you want to go to hollywood but slow ya role, you are good not great so stop flattering yourself and acting with an accent like you dont come from ghana.
-Eucharia Anuobi (and her fake disgusting british accent – Woman you aint no Joke Silva, at least with Joke it suits her well – go sit down somewhere UK)
- Mike Ezerounye (fake accent and screaming - double trouble)
- Desmond Elliot (dependig on the role - fake accent and screaming - double trouble)

- Emeka Ike (i still dont know why dude is famous)

-Bob Manuel Odukwu
.
.

The actors who are real and stay true and proud of their african accent and thus whom i commend:
.
-Genevieve Nnaji
-Rita Dominic (no need for introduction)
-Bimbo AKintola (all the cast of Keeping Faith kept it real)
-Chioma Chukwuka

-Uru Eke (starred in Widows men)
-Ufuoma Ejeonorbor (starred in Saving Sarah)
-Mercy Johnson (except when she is play city roles or acting a role of a spoilt brat, village roles suit her best
-Ini Edo (except when she is playing city roles where she starts to fake accent and thats why i would rather she remains in village roles for ever cos it suits her best)
- Kate Henshaw (she has to be one of the realest when it comes to showcasing her nigerian accents, no pretense whatsoever and i absolutely love her for being her)

-Zach Orji

-Muna Obiekwe
.
Maybe yall can fool those who live in najia/ghana and never travelled out of the country but let the truth be known, when you fake your accent we know you are faking your accent, you are not fooling anyone and honestly you look nothing bUT "RETARDED" when you force your accent so stop it.

.

Even if the character means you just arrived from a four year college or 2 yr gradschool abroad, that doesnt mean it is necessary to fake your accent.
.
Someone called KK made a comment on another blog and i think he couldnt have said it any bettter, He/she said in reference to much talked about Stephanie Okereke and her fake accent "their accents are proofs of insecurity in themselves.A woman that is not secured in herself is not beautiful. No matter how much cleavage you pop out and how flawless the skin.
.
another person said "one day the girl go bite her self…for instant sometime she says “exaitly” instead of “exactly” and something she says “espect” instead of “expect”…and it is all in trying to speak with a briamerinese(British,American n Vietnamese -just to mention a few) accent"
.
STOP THE FAKE ACCENT NONSENSE AND BE TRUE TO YOURSELVES, SPEAK YOUR NIGERIAN ACCENT OR GHANAIAN ACCENT AND BE PROUD OF IT.

WE ARE SICK AND TIRED OF THE FAKE ACCENT, CHEI, YOU ARE GIVING US MIGRAINES WATCHING YOU SPEAK.
.
considering most movies with good ratings are all village movies, i think nollywood should simply stick to village set movies and forget the rest playing city girls and faking accents can never cut it. too much force force. This is why i love me some Tchidi Chikere movies, cos he does a lot of village movies and you are guaranteed to entertainment with no pretence or faking accent.
.
Give me a nice village movie staring Ini Edo or mercy johnson opposite my one and only Patience Ozorkwor and her side kick evil counterpart(if u r not entertained byt these two in one movie then i dont know what else) Chiwetalu Agu (very excellent underrated actor and i always look forward to his igbo “sayings” ) and that makes me so happy -you will find me relax with my cup of holicks on a sunday afternoon after church – phone switched of and just chilling watching my nice village movie on my 42 inch plasma. Feels like christmas.
.
There aint nothing like a nice village script movie
Leave a Comment

x


Thursday, September 3, 2009

UPCOMING MOVIE "HEART OF MEN" (A Frank Rajah Production)

x
.
If you read my blog you would know i am not a big fan of Frank Rajah Arase (one village champion like that) and Abdul Mumuni production. I know i complained about his constant royal theme nonsense movies and asked for something different but this here is a tad bit much. He has DISGRACED MY COUNTRY GHANA BY PRODUCING SUCH NONSENSE,I WISH ALL HIS MOVIES ARE BANNED - I CANT STAND ANY OF HIS MOVIES.
.
I cant believe this is a Ghanaian movie, THE DEVIL IS A LIAR (this is not my countrymen of Ghana) since when did we get here??????? not less than 10 yrs ago some songs of Daddy Lumba was banned cos it was too explicit and now they are allowing this nonsense - this cannot be true, this movie should not be stamped the lil i saw in a 2mins trailer was too much. I mean first it was Shakira (which is also ghanaian produced) and then after seeing this trailer,my jaw dropped
.
TRAILER TO "HEART OF MEN"
.
<http://heartofmenmovie.com/trailer >
.
Storyline:
In a world of greed and fortune hunting, only fast thinking and desperate moves rules the mind. Love only exist for a reason - a price!
.
Murder, Betrayal, Blackmails, Skims, Scams, Counter plots engulfs the HEART OF MEN
.
x

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Beautiful Bollywood Song Tribute to Michael Jackson

.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y47Hy_QEHZ4
.
Hopefully Hollywood and Nollywood :lol: will follow suit.I am actually ashamed of America to let India beat them to it with a tribute to Michael. I am appalled by how America treated him when he was alive and even after death. I truly wish he had migrated to Africa or someplace in Europe where he was shown and given much more love.
.
Anyway enjoy this first tribute song to Michael by Bollywood Entertainers- personally i like it - i think its beautiful.
.
Now am sitting here imagining who will be in it if Nollywood decides to do their version (hey am just thinking out loud :lol:)
.
x
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...