Tuesday, July 28, 2009

Genevieve Nnaji Movies

Well by now - everyone who reads this blog will know am a 'stan' for my girl Genevieve Nnaji - she remains the best actress in Nollywood for me, plus others who also are on my favourite list such as Nse Ikpe Etim, Funlola Aoyefebi,Rita Dominic and Mercy Johnson - check 2008 thread to read on my favourites.
.
Lately a lot of her old movies have been resurfacing back in the market - however like i mentioned in my other "alert" thread, the marketers are trying to be smart and come out with some of these very old movies, all repackaged new and retitled.
.
For those audience that just started watching movies less than 5 yrs ago, a lot dont know that many of her best was from when she begun, and thus am glad the marketers are bringing back into the market her old movies.
.
I only hope they dont deceive the audience by retitling the movie different.
.
Click here to view movie jackets
.
New Movies between 2006 and Present

- Silent Scandal (Genevieve Nnaji, Majid Michel, Tontoh Dikeh - 2009
-Emerald (Genevieve Nnaji, Majid Michel, Tontoh Dikeh) - 2009

-Love My Way (Genevieve Nnaji, Jim Iyke, Tontoh Dikeh, Kalu Ikeagwu) - 2009

-End of Sleepwalker (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Kofi Adjorlolo) - 2009

-Sleepwalker (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Kofi Adjorlolo) - 2008

-To Love and To Cherish (Genevieve Nnaji, Yvonne Nelson, Chidi Mokeme) - 2008

-Faithful Betrayal (Genevieve Nnaji, Muna Obiekwe) -2008

-Caught in the Act (Genevieve Nnaji, Nonso Diobi) - 2008

-Beautiful Soul (Genevieve Nnaji, Yul Edochie, Nana Ama McBrown, Livinus Enochire, Tchidi Chikere) - 2008

- Critical Condition (Genevieve Nnaji, Chidi Mokeme, Fathia Bolagun) -

- My Idol (Genevieve Nnaji, Yemi Blaq)

- Blood For Tears (Genevieve Nnaji, Muna Obiekwe, Mercy Johnson & Uche Jumbo)

- Behind the Truth - continuation of Blood for Tears- (Genevieve Nnaji, Muna Obiekwe, Uche Jumbo)

- Warriors Heart (Genevieve Nnaji, Muna Obiekwe, Olu Jacobs) - 2007

- Unfinished Business (Genevieve Nnaji, Desmond Elliot) - 2008

- Broken Tears (Genevieve Nnaji, Van Vicker, Kate Henshaw, Grace Amah) - 2008

- Rivers of Tears (Genevieve Nnaji, Van Vicker, Kate Henshaw, Grace Amah) - 2008

- Wind of Glory (Genevieve Nnaji, Desmond Elliot, Yul Edochie, Livinus Nnochire) - 2007

-Letters to a Stranger (Genevieve Nnaji, Yemi Blaq, Jeta Amata, Elvina Ibru) - 2007

- 30 Days (Genevieve Nnaji, Chet Anekwe)

- Girls Cot - (Genevieve Nnaji, Rita Dominic, Uche Jumbo, Ini Edo) 2006



Old Genevieve Nnaji Movies up until 2006

-30 Days (Genevieve Nnaji, Chet Anekwe, Joke Silva etc)

-Above Death: (Genevieve Nnaji, Pete Edochie, Zack Orji)

-Agbako: (Genevieve Nnaji, Sam Dede, Patience Ozokwor, Steph-nora Okereke)

-Age Of My Agony: (Genevieve Nnaji, Zack Orji, Ngozi Ezeonu)

-Agony: (Genevieve Nnaji, Pete Edochie, Ramsey Nouah, Victoria Inyama)

-Battleline: (Genevieve Nnaji, Pete Edochie, Ramsey Nouah, Pat Attah)

-Blood Sister 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Omotola Jalade, Tony Umez, Patience Ozokwor)

-Break Up 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Pat Attah, Jim Iyke)

-Bumper To Bumper 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Sam Dede, Enebeli Elebuwa, Georgina Onuoha)

-Butterfly: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Clem Ohameze, Maureen Solomon)

-By His Grace: (Genevieve Nnaji, Clem Ohameze, Tony Umez, Patience Ozokwor)

-Called by fire 1&2 starring (Genevieve Nnaji, Uche obi Osotule)


-Camourflage: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ayo Adesanya, Ramsey Nouah, Ibinabo Fiberesima)

-Church Business 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Shan George, Segun Arinze)

-Confidence: (Genevieve Nnaji, Tony Umez, Hilda Dokubo, Patience Ozokwor)

-Could This Be Love: (Genevieve Nnaji, Jeta Amata)

-Critical Decision 1 & 2: (RMD, Genevieve Nnaji, Stephanie Okereke)

-Dangerous Sisters: (Genevieve Nnaji, Dakore Egbuson, Alex Usifo, Tony Umez)

-Darkest Night 1 & 2: (RMD, Genevieve Nnaji, Segun Arinze, Emeka Ani, Jentle Jack)

-Deadly Mistake: (Genevieve Nnaji, Jake Aernan)

-Death Warrant: (Genevieve Nnaji, Eucharia Annunobi, Amaechi Muonagor, Emeka Ike)

-Emergency Wedding: (Genevieve Nnaji, Clarion Chukwura, Jennifer Eliogu, Tony Umez)

-For Better For Worse 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Emeka Ike, Amaechi Muonagor, Clem Ohameze, Bob Manuel Udokwu)

-Formidable Force: (Genevieve Nnaji, Hank Anuku, Laz Ekueme)

-Games Women Play 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Stella Damasus, Omotola Jalade, Desmond Elliot, Zack Orji, Bob Manuel Udokwu)

-Girls Cot: (Genevieve Nnaji, Rita Dominic, Ini Edo, Uche Jumbo, Benita Nzeribe

-God Loves Prostitute 1&2 /also called "Gods Chosen One"- (Genevieve Nnaji, Jake Aernan)

-Goodbye Newyork 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Jim Iyke, Rita Dominic, Chidi Mokeme)

-He Lives In Me 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Emeka Enyiocha, Muna Obiekwe, Emeka Ani)

-Honey 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Pete Edochie, Enebeli Elebuwa, Chidi Mokeme, Pat Attah)

-Into Temptation: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, JT Tom West, Padita Agu)

-Jack Knife: (Genevieve Nnaji, Desmond Elliot, Cossy Orjiakor, Jide Kosoko)

-Jealous Lovers 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Pat Attah, Jim Iyke, Jennifer Eliogu)

-Keeping Faith: (RMD, Genevieve Nnaji, Bimbo Akintola, Joke Silva, Olu Jacobs, Fred Amata)

-Last Weekend 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Nkiru Silvanus, JT Tom West)

-Late Marriage: (Genevieve Nnaji, Steph-nora Okere, Clarion Chukwura Abiola)

-Love: (RMD, Genevieve, Segun Arinze, Theodora Ochonogor, Jennifer Eliogu)

-Love Affair 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Emeka Ike, Ernest Obi, Emeka Enyiocha)

-Love Boat: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Jerry Amilo, Rich Azu)

-Never Die For Love 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Sam Dede, Charles Okafor)

-Not Man Enough: (Emeka Ike, Genevieve Nnaji, Andy Chukwu, Muna Obiekwe)

-Passion And Pain: (Emeka Ike, Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Desmond Elliot)

-Passions: (RMD, Genevieve Nnaji, Emeka Ike, Stella Damasus, Florence Onuma)

-Player: (Hank Anuku, Genevieve Nnaji, Chidi Mokeme, Rita Dominic, Bimbo Akintola)

-Power Of Love 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Steph-nora Okereke, Ashley Nwosu)

-Power Play 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Pete Edochie, Patience Ozokwor, Clem Ohameze)

-Private Sin 1 & 2: (RMD, Genevieve, Olu Jacobs, Stephanie Okereke, Patience Ozokwor)

-Prophecy 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Charles Okafor, Steph-nora Okereke, Patience Ozokwor)
-Rip Off 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Nnamdi Eze, Andy Chuwku)

-Rising Sun: (Gnenvieve Nnaji, Kenneth Okonkwo, Chinwe Owoh, Emma Ayalogu)

-Runs: (Genevieve Nnaji, Oby Edozieh, Georgina Onuoha, Anita Hogan)

-Secret Evil 1 & 2: (Chinwe Owoh, Genevieve Nnaji, Pete Edochie, Patience Ozokwor, Nkiru Sylvanus)

Sharon Stone1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Kunle Coker, Steph-nora Okere, Emeka Enyiocha)

Sharon Stone In Abuja: (Genevieve Nnaji, Enebeli Elebuwa)

-Stand By Me 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Benita Nzeribe, Emeka Okoro, Tuvi James)

-Super Love: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, Pete Edochie, Maureen Solomon, Chinelo Ndigwe)

-Sympathy 1 & 2: (Liz Benson, Genevieve Nnaji, Sola Fosudo, Nkiru Sylvanus)

-The Choosen One 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Jayke Aernan)

-The Day Of Doom 1 & 2: (Pete Edochie, Genevieve Nnaji, Clem Ohameze, Chinwe Owoh)

-The Wind: (Eucharia Annunobi, Uche Osotule, Genevieve Nnaji, Zulu Adigwe)

-Treasure 1 & 2: (Genevieve Nnaji, Kenneth Okonkwo, Chidi Ihesie, Amaechi Mounagor)

-Two Together: (Emeka Ike, Genevieve Nnaji, Chinwe Owoh, Fabian Adibe)

-U Or Never: (Genevieve Nnaji, Pat Attah, Chinelo Ndigwe, Victor Osuagwu)

-Unbreakable: (Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, John Okafor, Emmanuel France)

-Valentino: (Ramsey Nouah, Genevieve Nnaji, Bob Manuel Udokwu, Clarion Chukwura, Jide Kosoko, Franca Brown, Georgina Onuoha)

-Vuga: (Regina Askia, Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah)

-Women Affair: (Genevieve Nnaji, Patience Ozokwor, Rita Nzelu, Maureen Solomon)
Ijele (Genevieve nnaji, sam dede, patience ozokwo, eucharia anunobi

-Side attraction 1&2 starring (Genevieve Nnaji, Franca brown, Emeka Enyiocha

-More than Sister (Genevieve Nnaji, Stella Damascus, Segun Arinze etc)

-Fugitive (Genevieve Nnaji, Stella, Ramsey Nouah, Rita Dominic).

-One Love (Jim iyke, Genny and some others.

-First Love (Genevieve Nnaji, Tony Umez, Emeka Okoro, Patience Ozorkwo and others.

-Cracked: (Genevieve Nnaji, Peter Bunor, Ernest Asuzu)

-Mine Forever: (Genevieve Nnaji, Emeka Ike, Ini Edo, Uche Jumbo)

-Free Giver (Genevieve Nnaji, Zach Orji, Gentle Jack, Ngozi Ezeonu et. al)

(more to come - I may also find front cover photos for some of these movies to make it easier to look out for them - but i am thinking it might take too much space. Let me think about it)

Michael Jackson The Media doesnt Want You to Know

x

Though this blog is primarily about movies and reviews, i have decided every now and then to include articles i find interesting.

Michael Jackson was so dear to my heart ever since i was a child, and I must say i was deeply affected when he passed. I loved Michael deeply not because of his fame or money, but Michael and I share something very in common, our immense and deep love for children and obviously who can deny his talent in music and the beautiful songs he made. Michael also loved classical music just like i do, and most of his favourite artist were mine too. He took his job seriously and did it 100% or none at all.

I dont think i even cried this much when my own father (whom i was very close to died). When Michael died i cried non stop for weeks but with time i got better knowing he is in a better place. He went through too much pain, and now I know he is in a better place. Like brother Randy said, "Now maybe they can leave Michael alone"

Anyway i want to share this youtube clip with those of you who care. I think everyone should listen to it, especially parents, I am not a parent yet - but this speech from Michael in 2001 he gave at Oxford University - About "Healing the Children" and forgiving parents, was so touching. I think parents across the globe should hear this , but ofcourse the media will never talk about this nor many of Michaels good deeds such as his 100 plus charities he had and what a great father he was to his kids.

Though the media bash Joe Jackson, i never judge him at all, because no matter what others say, he made "jackson 5" and though he may not be emotional, you have to understand his upbringing in the 1920s in the deep south, did not give him that. As the media bash him, i always think in my mind, regardless - he is still a father and still mourning in his own way. He may not show emotion (like many of our African fathers never did) but regardless he loved his son. I loved my late dad dearly, but though he may have never hugged me or said i love you, he showed his love in so many ways, and listening to this speech by Michael i will not repeat the cycle, I will be a better parent and show much more love.

I love kids with all my heart, i love them deeply. ALL CHILDREN.

Since Michaels 1983 album "Thriller" became the number one selling album in the WORLD and he purchased the Beatles publishing catalogue, "THEY" made it their ultimate goal to bring this black man down, by ridiculing him, call him gay, pedophile, freak, wierd everything they could possible to break him, He held on strong for many years, but i think he died a long time ago probably after the 2003 accusation and turmoil and twisted interview with Martin Bashir, his heart only stop beating many years later on the fateful 'Morning" of June 25 2009.

Okay - here goes, watch this and please share with all your friends.


Michael Jackson - Oxford Speech 2001

Part 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XzIQlVSH8GU&feature=related

Part 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zZCOR6H1Bk&feature=related

Part 3
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-3zuDB0_JY&feature=related

Part 4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gMCqtNEgZYY&feature=related

x


My Personal Thank You to Michael

Michael i just simply want to say "THANK YOU" for sacrificing your life and happiness to make beautiful music to make us happy for decades. We love you ALWAYS and miss you Immensely. You have done your duty,fulfilled your purpose on this earth and God has called you HOME now. Until we meet again on the other side, Rest in Peace Michael. We lost and heaven gained. MY OWN DICTIONARY MEANING OF MICHAEL JACKSON: "Gods chosen human INSTRUMENT to bring happiness to the world through his music"

x

Sunday, July 26, 2009

Movie Themes That Have Clear signs of being "CRAP"

Well as you all know, i am long pioneer in watching african movies, and as i mentioned before i was duped for many years, in buying and watching crap - money i could have saved. Ok so after 10 years of watching movies, i pride myself of being very good at telling the crap from the best. Mostly I go by ACTORS or ACTRESSES, then secondly i go by the PREVIEW of the movie - instantly i can tell it will be crap.
.
Yes -when it comes to nigerian movies, I TELL THE BOOK BY ITS COVER - almost always I am right.
.
I already made a thread speaking about which actors and actresses are good to look out for so i wont discuss that again. Now when it comes to the story lines , below is the type of these and things to look out for and i suggest you dont spend money to buy it unless someone has reviewed it and said it is worth buying.

.
Story Lines which are almost always bound to be CRAP

- College Campus Stories

With this type of stories, most likely you will see actors/tresses dressed almost like clowns. Afro hair, red lipstick, ridiculous clothings that makes them look like tarts, some dudes dresses all thug like trying to emulate yankee, the preview will tell u a lot of stuff such as some cult initiative or chanting or some bs like that. STAY AWAY FROM SUCH CRAP - ITS BORING.

- Royal Stories

-The King of producing such crap is Frank Arase and Abdul Mumuni (the producer/director duo who produced Beyonce, Princess Tyra etc). On the box or in the preview you will definately see a character with some royal clothing or jewellery, and sometimes with the queen or princess in some ridiculous make up and attire. The story line is ALWAYS the same, poor girl falls in love with rich prince, or poor boy falls in love with rich Princess. The give you the whole crap Shebang of rose petals being thrown on floor, "your honour this your honour that".
.
Whilst we are on the subject of these two producers i cant stand Frank Arase and Abdul Mumuni, please can someone tell them to stop using american singers names; they used BEYONCE, CIARA, SOLANGE, whats next? MICHAEL JACKSON.
.
I guess since these producers realised a lot of their audience are african americans or caribbeans abroad, they want to profit from the "Coming to America" type themes cos they know they are bound to get these new audience to watch regardless.
.
THIS STORY LINE IS GETTING REAL OLD AND TIRED AND NEEDS TO BE RETIRED - Africa has more story to tell than the usual Royal Nonsense, Marriage, Campus stories, Abuja Runs nonsense etc.
.
There are very few exceptions, cos i remember there are some royal movies which i have seen which i enjoyed such as "Royal Palace" starring Saint Obi.
.
Africa has a thousands of stories to tell, for once we ask these producers to be a little creative, just once. We have had enough of Royal stories, give us something new.
.
Uncle Olu Jacobs, you are an OSCAR performer and lawd knows i love you some, but please be selective in your roles, cos its been nothing but disappointment for me lately. Stop playing KING. I am really tired of it.
.
- Prostitution with Politicians

Usually this story line is set in Abuja. The men are always some fat overweight pot bellied man called "Chief" or "Alhaji", then you have their girls usually in afro "blonde" wigs, red lipsticks, their eyebrows penciled in way past the normal allowable, and just some ridiculous dressing. There is a lot of screaming in these type movies cos they women are either fighting with each other cos one women slept with their money source (Chief). They never use their native names but rather some ridiculous Foreign names the characters themselves cant pronounce. JUST STAY AWAY from these story lines. Save your money.

.
- Money Ritual Stories
With this type of story line you most likely will see some actors such as Kanayo Kanayo, Clem Ohameze and/or some other older actors. Usually they will be wearing a cowboy hat (bottom line anymovie with anyone wearing cowboyhat stay away from such CRAP) and wearing suits where the coat is 3/4, and almost likely the suit is either some neon color like green, yellow, red etc and then the actors will either be smoking some cigar, cigarette and have on dark shades, and worse of all will be holding a walking stick, in protrayal of them being some FAKE dons or mafia group. STAY AWAY FROM SUCH CRAP - ITS BORING AND NOT WORTH YOUR MONEY
.

I will add more later. :lol:

.

WARNING TO YOU ALL!!!!!.

SINCE THE BEGINNING OF THIS YEAR, CONSIDERING HOW CRAP MOST OF THE CURRENT MOVIE RELEASES HAVE BEEN, THE NEW STRATEGY BEING USED BY THE NOLLYWOOD MARKETERS IS THEY ARE RERELEASING OLD MOVIES (these were better story lines and didnt have as much crap and mediocre actors and actresses) AND RE-TITLING and RE-PACKAGING THE OLD MOVIES TO MAKE THEM LOOK LIKE ITS BRAND NEW.

For newbies who just started watching movies a few years ago, thats ok, you missed out and this your opportunity to watch it, but for those of you (such as myself) who have seen these movies way before, just becareful of not being deceived thinking its a new movie, cos its not. Some of these movies ar at least 5 years old.

I will compile a list later and post it here to let you all be aware.

First we had to deal with movies being broken into 3 sometimes 4 parts and Part 1 & 2 being titled different from Part 3 & 4, and now we have to deal with this nonsense, once again from GREEDY ASS NOLLYWOOD MARKETERS or whomever is responsible.
.

x

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

MY LOVING HEART - Part 1 & 2 (2009 CRAP POT ALERT!!)



Starring:
Stella Damasus, Yvonne Nelson, Yul Edochie
.

Producers/Director:
tba -
.

My Review:
Stella hasnt impressed me once since the ban was lifted 3 years ago - as great an actress as she is it amazes me why she has continuosly chosen such crap scripts since the ban was lifted and she returned back on screen.
.

- Yvonne - she was just ok in the movie - nothing to ride home about
- As much as i love Yul Edochie and i listed him in my next best thing list, i havent been impressed with any of his performances in 2009
.

My Ratings:
5/10
x

IN COLD BLOOD 1, 2, 3, 4 (2009 CRAP POT ALERT!!)


Starring:
Majid Michel, Chika Ike and Francis Duru
.
Producers/Director:
tba

My Review:

One Word = Rubbish (do the math chika + francis = very predictable - so go figure)

Majid i am dissapointed in you for accepting such a crap script

For God sakes am tired of seeing Chika Ike, she is good but she aint that great at acting with those predictable and annoying facial expressions. Give us Challenge girl please.


Francis Duru you dont belong in films - you belong on stage plays or theatre, please spare us.


My Ratings:
2/10

x

LOST MAIDEN 1 & 2


Starring:
Rita Dominic, Bimbo Akintola, OmoT, Kalu Igweagu (If i did not mention the other actress name thats cos she is clearly not memorable enough to remember)
.
Producers/Director:
.
x

Sypnosis:

After graduating from a prestigious medical school in the United States of America, April Jodi makes a daunting decision: To practice in Calsy hospital in Umuaria - a small town sorrounded by reote and primitive villages in Africa. Little did she know that this decsion was to define the essence of her being. Plots, murders, arson, mayhem love and ofcourse human triumph over illusions and dogmas. this movie will keep you glued to your seat as you journey with April and her quest to achieve an ardous and dangerous task.
.

My short review:
The movie touches on interesting and very important subjects still prevalent in many parts of africa - female circumcision, however i slept half way of the movie, whether it was the script or the acting me i dont know, All i know is i slept. For a movie to put me to sleep, that means personally i didnt feel it was that great. Maybe someday when i am bored with nothing to watch i will try and watch it again - S L O W L Y.
.
Bimbo Akintola is one of my favourite actresses, very underrated, an actress who could EASILY cross over to Hollywood just like Genevieve or Rita coul, but i dont know why she is not utilise as much, either that or she just doesnt choose good scripts.
.
My favourite moview with her is "Keeping Faith" and "All My Life". Excellent diction and eloquence at best. Hard to find such in Nollywood these days, where you have gorgeous girls who cant speak a lick of english to save their lifes, yet they want camera time. Its not byforce to act in english movies.
.
My Ratings
4/10
.
x

FANTASIA FANTASIES - 1 & 2 (2009 CRAP POT ALERT!!)


Starring:
Rita Dominic, Van Vicker, Yvonne Nelson
.

Producers/Director:
tba
.

My Review:
Absolute Rubbish. Rita I am utterly dissapointed in you for accepting such a crap script. You are in my A list" actors, dont make me shuv you to B.
.


For Van to accept such script thats understandable. He is known for accepting whatever. Hopefully one day Van Vicker will say no to some scripts and for once take a movie that challenges him - instead of coasting by in everymovie with with his fine boy looks. I still have hope for Van. Someday.
.


Sypnosis:

I dont even want to bother with writing the sypnosis. Its crap and thats all am saying. Trust me i know what am saying.

.

My country Ghana, enough already of shooting every movie of surburbia in the one and only transacco valley.
.

They are other nicer neighborhoods like my hood Labone or there are also Airport Residential, Cantoments etc. Every damn movie lately shot in transacco valley estate. Abah! kiloday??
.

My Ratings:
3/10

x

SIN OF THE SOUL 1 & 2


Starring: Majid Michel, Nadia Buari, Ekow Smith Asante, Rama Brewe and Kalsum Sinari
.

Producers/Director:
Frank Rajah Arase and Mumuni Yall know how i feel bout these two particular producers Frank Rajah and his side kick. They have not impressed me yet - NEVER HAVE.
.


Sypnosis
tba


(I forwarded my way thru a lot of scenes but with those of you who love the Frank Rajah hooplas you might love it.)
.

It was "good" yet not "great" in my books. I only care for "greats"
.

My Review:
- Majid acting was excellent as always - always convincing in whatever character he plays, If only he can get a good manager to advice him on choosing better scripts.
- Nadia was "good"
- Kalsum Sinari - i am so sick and tired of this woman and her predictable and one way facial expression - gosh woman do you do anything else to your face. I mean damn!
.

My Ratings:
5/10
.
x

QUEEN ON PASSION 1 & 2 (2009 CRAP POT ALERT!!)




Starring:
Jim Iyke, Yemi Blaq, Mercy Johnson, and Chika Ike and others NOT WORTH MENTIONING

Story:
Harrison Isaiah!!!!!! (stay away from his storylined movies - RUN!!!!)

Producers/Director:
Harrison Isaiah !!!!!!! (Stay away from any work of his - RUN!!!!) Sypnosis tba

Review: -
I have never been this dissapointed in a movie where you have such excellent cast such as Jim, Yemi and Mercy all in one movie (i dont care for Chika Ike's acting) and then they dilute this excellent cast with a bunch of crap actors who cant even speak english.

I respect my elders but am sorry, on this hear blog no bars hold, if my favourite Uncle Olu Jacobs is not spared from Critique of recently taking a lot of crap script -then most certainly Nora Roberts is not spared the least.

Please someone advice that woman to stay clear of any filming location. She is a horrible actress at best, cant speak or articulate her self in anything. Simple common english names she cant pronounce it well let alone acting.

And then there was this girl who played Jims sister, almost wanted to pull my hair out watching that girl act.

Jim, Mercy and Yemi musta been paid a lot of money to agree to play this crap. Chika Ike its totally understandable, she is used to these kinda scripts - movies with no head or tail or memorable enough to say "Oh Chika was excellent in this" - one of the actresses who simply coast by and get paid. In her opinion she may be trying hard, but am sorry, she still not grabbing my attention as a great actress. She is good but not great and thats my honest opinion. Adjective to describe her acting "BORING"

With Great actresses you think of them - u remember at least one memorable movie

- You think Genevieve you instantly think "Sharon Stone, Keeping Faith, Blood Sisters, need i say more.
- You think Rita you instantly think "All my Life"
- You think Mercy - you instantly think "The Maid" -
- You think Ini - you instantly think "World Apart"
- You think Chika Ike - you dont remember ish and that goes to many other "coast by actresses"-

After so many years in the industry, give us one memorable and challenging role that we can always remember you by, dont just say yes to every script.

I am beginning to think a lot of actresses in Nollywood are in it for one thing and one thing only - Face Time, Exposure and money. Forget Improving on their skills set. Sit back and watch your own movie some time and ask your self questions. Critique your self and be honest to yourself about your acting.

I am highly disappointed to say the least with Jim, Yemi and Mercy.
And Mercy as much as i love you as an actress, certain characters you overact a tad bit and it doesnt suit you well and this movie was a typical example. When Mercy plays bad girl or spoilt brat type characters - it just doesnt seem real to me. - there is no oomph or whao to it like she does in any other movie, the same critique i give to Jim Iyke for acting in a village boy role - WRONG!!!!

My Ratings:
2/10

Sunday, July 19, 2009

EMERALD (alias AFROs & BOW TIES)


EMERALD
(AFROs & BOWTIEs is my own personal nickname i gave to this movie :lol:)

Starring:
Majid, Tontoh, Geraldine Ekeocha and the REST (dont remember the others names cos they are not that memorable

Director:
Ikechukwu Onyeka (his name is in red for a reason, he has disappointed me in many movies - he was not able to challenge Genny and Majid enough in my opinion, seems like they directed themselves - and they were great cos they are good at what they do regardless of lackluster directors or producers)

Producers:
Chimezie Emelionwu and Kingsley Okereke
Story:
Chisom Okereke

Sypnosis:
Emerald (Genevieve Nnaji) is bland and vapid but very diligent at her work and she is admired by those close to her.

When her cousin Becky (Tontoh Dikeh) came back from Europe to start an antique business, she was glad to help, together the visited an antiquated to make collections of antique products where she found an emerald ring she loved. Much to Emerald's surprise, it was sold to her for a pittance. But little did she know..

My Reviews:
Oh lawd where do i start.? Do i start with the good part or bad part. Well first and foremost let me just say we found our new dynamite on screen actor actress duo - CAN SOMEONE SAY GENEVIEVE NNAJI AND MAJID MICHEL- Onscreen Chemistry was Fire. Gosh, love these two together.

I cant say I am surprised cos i predicted it a long time ago. Everyone knows Genny is ma girl and i love her acting always and so when first discovered Majid in Crime to Christ - i was like - there - Gbam, i look forward for them to be cast together.

Now i love me some Muna Obiekwe and yall know Genny doesnt slop on anyone better on screen like she do Muna - great on screen tonsil tennis mates, but am afraid Muna you gon have to pull ya straps and do someting bout this boy here Majid (:lol), newbie bout to take ya place for sure when it comes to chemistry with Genny!!

Ok am done with the runnin on bout Genny and Majid, Now lets get to business.

Okay - i have very mixed feelings bout this movie. I cant say i am feeling this story line - UNLESS there is a continuation to this story - then i say this is a crap script. But then again if there is a continuation then i say there was no need to stretch the story to that many parts. The story line has a great potential to have been very great - but it was scattered all over the place and left you with so many questions. There were certain characters which was so unnecessary.

- What was the reason for the 1970s flash back
- Who was that lady in the antique shop
- What is the relevance of the Emerald Ring
- What happened to Majid's characters wife in the Wheel Chair and how did she end up in a wheel chair in the first place.

- in the last scene when Majid and Genny were kissing - whose house was that and if it was Majids where was his wife in the wheelchair.
- etc etc

There is a lot of "Pull, Grab, Kiss" going on in this movie - it was almost like expected. I guess thats the new Nollywood thing (:lol:) - makes ya heart skip a beat, like ohhhhh. Ok then. I likes.

My final conclusion of this movie is that, the problem with Nollywood is, you have a few actresses and actors who experience have developed over the years (Genevieve, Rita, Majid, Desmond etc) yet you dont have Producers/Directors who are developing at the same pace to challenge them well enough to make them shine, so when that happens like it did in this movie, you have such excellent chemistry btwn two great actors (Genny and Majid) but the content of the script lacked quality and substance.

- but like i said the jury is still out on this movie - for now i am just assuming there is a continuation and if there is then i say - that was so unnecessary, learn from great scripts such as Ego Boyo's "Keeping Faith" and also Jet Amata "Letters to a Stranger". Simple nice short one part movie with all quality and substance.

No need to break movie into 10 parts to make money, cos if it sucks WE shall put the word out there and stomp our feet and tell everybody we know.

- Tontoh Dikeh - a tad bit over acting - not overly blown away.
- Halima Abubakar - dont have much to say bout her (rolleyes)
- Geraldine Ekeocha - always like Geraldine, she is like my second Patience Ozorkwor - but she was underutilised in this movie.

My Ratings:
7/10
(it was hard for me to give it this rating cos i had such high hopes it will be no less than 9/10 with Genny and Majid in it, but for now like i said - i think its unfinished story line so lets just wait and see if the come out with some type of continuation)

Crap Pot
Actrors/tresses
The Lolo and The Princess Noami - ( i cant stand actresses or actors who cant articulate or express themselves when acting. Why do they employ these ppl to waste our time in movies. Is it by force to act in English movies)

PS: Even though i reviewed this movie on July 17 2009, today is August 4th 2009 and after careful consideration i have decided i cant take away Muna Obiekwe CROWN for onscreen kiss with Genevieve.

.

Yes Majid and Genny have excellent onscreen chemistry (no one can deny that - and i sure love me some Majid too) and their kissing scene at the end of the movie was excellent and very believable, BUT, I have carefully compared this kissing scene to several of Muna's and (i am not being biased cos i like Muna cos honestly i dont like him anymore than i love my Ghanaian bredren Majid) i have to say, his crown still remains.

.

Muna Obiekwe has and will always have the best kissing on screen than anybody else - Not Majid, not RMD, not Ramsey Nouah. Maybe am wrong - but i know am not. I have a keen and great eye when i watch my Genny movies - so unless am blind, for now i'd say am not wrong. I had to go back and watch "He Lives in Me", "Warriors Heart" and "Blood for Tears" "Faithful Betrayal" to come to this conclusion. Muna you got ya crown back dude. Its all yours - (for now)

x

Saturday, July 11, 2009

Before the Light 1 & 2



Before The Light

Starring:
RMD (in part 2), Desmond Elliot, Ini Edo, Mercy Johnson

Directed by:
Okechwukwu Onyeka (never that much impressed with his work - on red alert)

Produced by:
Emem Isong and Desmond Elliot

Storyline
This couple, Harold and Timi had a relationship that every one wants to emulate. Suddenly, Harolds baby mother comes to town and all happiness took a back seat. This woman is terminally ill and wants to spend her last days on earth with her only child. How would this affect this marriage...

My Review:
One word "Dissapointment" - great cast but no head or tail to the story .

Dont let the RMD in the preview fool you, he is only in part 2 and not for long anyway.

Desmond for a first timer you did well with Reloaded, but am sorry dude, this second one didnt cut it, you need to go back to the drawing board and come back correct. No need to rush to come out with a second one like this one - which just wasnt good enough, We want quality not quantity.

Word of advice to Desmond, i like u as an actor but seriously your screaming expressions are utterly gutterly annoying and takes away from your greatness - I am not the only one who feels this way. Also you dont always have to express your emotion with such scream and growling like a dog (ofcourse am not calling u a dog, am just saying that growling sound) - its getting tired already. Leave that for Mr Ezerounye to do that, You are on my B List, dont make me shuv u to F List with the rest of em.

RMD yes u did Desmond a favor to help promote his sophomore movie, but all am saying is as for me am waiting for Behind Close Doors 3 - Emem told me yall will shoot it before the end of the year. As for this After the Light (opps i meant BEFORE) i no dey see top or bottom.

PLUS
I GIVE DESMOND THE BENEFIT OF DOUBT FOR THIS CRAP COS I HAVE NO DOUBT IN MY MIND THE HIGHLY ANTICIPATED "GUILTY PLEASURES" - WITH ITS EXCELLENT CAST, WILL BE WAY BETTER, MAYBE EVEN BETTER THAN "RELOADED". I LOVE NSE.!!

My Ratings
5/10
(so u know that aint gonna be sitting on my precious shelve)

Nice preview though - You coulda fooled me- or should i say i was fooled. Damn! i havent been fooled in years, but they got me, NEVER again though.

one more thing:
In part 2 they kinda tried with singing my all time favourite THE PRAYER, but it couldnt beat my favourite rendition by Anthony Callea, formerly of Australian Idol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6TwBZOttjlM

He is the only one who brought me to tears with his rendition. But anyway they tried sha!!

Thursday, July 9, 2009

PERFECT PICTURE



(Ghanaian Movie)

Starring:

Jackie Appiah, Lydia Forson, Naa Ashorkor Mensah Doku, Chris Attoh, Nana Kwame Osei Sarpong. (NO ONE STOOD OUT FOR ME WITH ANY TYPE OF PHENOMENAL ACTING).

2009 We refuse to just accept OKs - We Want GREATS ONLY. No more mediocre acting. Yes am harder on my ghanaian actors because i know we can do better. You get your last love home.

Writer/Producer/Director:

Shirley Frimpong Manso

Sypnosis:
n/a

My Review:

It was "OK" - way over hyped - and i admit i hyped it too before its release, but now I wont anymore. It was OK - it was not GREAT, i hope you catch my drift.
Shirley i still give you the benefit of doubt and expect better next time - representing for Ghana. Storyline was good but i just was not feeling the acting as much.

My Ratings:

6/10

MY DEFINITION OF "CRAP POT ALERT"!!!

CRAP POT ALERT (Crap Alert for July 2009),

CRAP POT as in CROC POT - aka a huge pot we dump in all movies that are simply crap and not worth wasting your monies on.
.

As from now - I will call all movies not worth a cent "Crap Pot Alert" - I have watched the movie, and my opinion is that dont let the dvd box or supposed good actors on the cover deceive you.

.
You may borrow it to watch but DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY BUYING IT.

Its your own judgement call. I done my part of warning you. PEACE
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...