Monday, February 1, 2016

2016 Upcoming Movies and MsTiLii Plans

Heyyyyyyyy Ladies and Gentlemen how are you guys. I miss you die.

Yes I truly miss blogging reviewing movies and have decided to do it more often this 2016.
the only challenge is what movie is good enough to review since most i have seen as I always complain have not been up to par
.
I would have love to review Gennys ROAD TO YESTERDAY (cos yall know thats ma girl and i love me some Genny) but unfortunately the movie has not yet reached here in the diaspora so we have not gotten a chance to see it here. There are many other movies out there that i have already watched , but none is worth my time to review cos none  of them are good enough for me to rate at least 8/10 + and as you know several years ago i decided since blogging is not a full time job but part time, i will only spend time reviewing movies worth reviewing and ones i will rate at leas 8/10 or above - a classic collectors item you can watch again and again and again , not the mediocre bunch that we have been bombarded with in the market
.
Laughter is medicine and so if you really need to watch a movie or tv show that will make you laugh, I suggest JENIFA series. Gosh i love that show, i laugh so hard my ribs hurt. Falz and Jenifa are crazy. Currently for us here in the diaspora, we have only watched it to season 2 and 3 has not yet been released here. 
.
Also my Ghanaian girl Nicole Armateifio has just released Season 2 of The African City. This time around you cannot watch it for free on youtube. You actually have to pay to watch it, but its not that expensive and its all worth the watch - if you loved season 1, season 2 is even better.

I look forward to Shirley Frimpong Manso Movie REBECCA starring Joseph Benjamin and Yvonne Okoro.


.
Oh Another movie to look out for is AudreySilva Company long awaited movie called SURUL'ERE which is going to be released in Nigeria on Feb 12 2016. It is starring Rita Dominic (who is also the producer of the movie and she partners again with Film Maker Mildren Okwo whom she also collaborate with to make the award winning movie THE MEETING )



Oh and one more thing before i end this post. After much encouragement by many of my friends and family , in  2016 I have decided to write my first script which i will also produce myself yes. And you know with my life long passion of being a casting director, I will be doing all the casting myself. I cant reveal plot or any of such just yet, but just know it will be an exciting movie with great casting - all i need now is to shop for the best director to make my vision come to life. I critique others so much - you should know i cannot leave any room for error on mine. The vultures are ready for me :) .
.
.
Nice to be back guys.  I will try better with my blogging this 2016

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

ROAD TO YESTERDAY (A Genevieve Nnaji Movie) - Nov 2015


Phew

Oh Lawd knows how long i have waited for this movie. To say I am excited about this will be an understatement. Yall know more or less, this blog is all about my Genny :) 
.
Sypnosis:
.
In another stunning performance, award-winning actress Genevieve Nnaji, alongside Nigerian-British actor, Oris Erhuerho, Majid Michel, Chioma ‘Chigul’ Omeruah and veteran Ebele Okaro star in the feature film ‘Road to Yesterday.’ From the stables of producers, The Entertainment Network (T.E.N), the highly anticipated film directed by Ishaya Bako is scheduled to be released in all Nigerian cinemas on Friday, the 27th of November 2015.
.
Set in Lagos Nigeria, Road to Yesterday is an epic love story, about a couple desperate to mend their marriage on a road trip to a relative’s funeral. However when memories and secrets from the past are revealed, a lot more is at stake than their relationship. The movie is guaranteed to resonate with movie-goers nationwide. 
.
Genevieve Nnaji gives her usual stunning performance, as ‘Victoria Izu’ the conflicted wife and mother. Written by Genevieve herself, ‘Road to Yesterday’ was directed by Ishaya Bako, Genevieve Nnaji plays ‘Victoria Izu‘, the lead role alongside Nigerian-British actor Oris Erhuerho.  With her past credits in ‘Half of A Yellow Sun’, ‘Tango With Me’ & “Ije”, Genevieve returns to the screen with her first feature film in over two years.
.
The Nigerian Premiere of ‘Road to Yesterday’ will be released on 27th November 2015 in Lagos, Nigeria. We in the diaspora wait patiently to watch it too. For more information, visit www.roadtoyesterday.com.
.
Watch Trailer Here


.


Lets support her yall - you know you missed her :)
Enjoy
(MsTiLii)

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

PACESETTERS NOVELS

This thread below was originally posted in 2010 and i kid you not i get emails almost daily from folks all over, asking me where they can buy these books, but unfortunately, just like you, i dont know either, on how to get them and where, so if you do please let me know. 
.
My sincere apologies for late response to the many emails i have received. I felt instead of responding individually let me just bump this thread up and make this note here so you can all read it. I will continue to do some searches and if i find anything on how to buy them i will let you know. I wish the publishers could realise how much these novels are in great demand now so they can republish them for us. Every one who grew up in the 80s as a lil girl or youth, remembers Pacesetter 

(Ps: By the way i found one on amazon usa - SISI - and guess how much they are selling it for $3,291.47  - yes ohh, - for one tiny lil book  - http://goo.gl/1eEN6q  - maybe the seller smokes crack or something   - i guess pacesetters are now a treasure, maybe i should be serious with my hunt and find all the collection and resell for profit on ebay. Also you can check this site out http://www.pacesetternovels.com/ )


.


.
.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Did you grow up in Ghana or Nigeria (or other african countries) in the 80s- Do you remember Pacesetters Books - Brings a smile to your face just mentioning the name doesnt it - it surely warms my heart just thinking bout those novel books)
.
Reminiscing bout them good ole days back home, the one thing i could escape to when bored was not just playing house with my friends, but most of all reading my Pacesetters Books and Mills & Boons (wonder why i love romantic movies). And lets not forget Famous Five, Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley High, Secret Seven - gosh those were the good ole days, no rent - no bills all food paid for, clothes paid for - had no worries whats soever. Chai. Lord can you please rewind. I miss the good ole days.
.
So today I was telling my sister to stop my nieces and nephews who spend too much time playing video games and facebooking or watching nickolodeon to spend more time reading. And this started a conversation between my sister and reminiscing bout the good ole days and how our parents expected us to read all the time.
.
This got me thinking that those Pacesetters books had excellent story lines - what if some of our movie producers ask permission from the authors who owned these books to turn these novels into movies. I will really love to see that.
.
We are tired of all the boring storylines we are being bombarded with in movies and want something more interesting to the likes of what we read in the Pacesetters Books - they were natural, african and very organic - no pretenses - just very african.
.
For those wondering where to buy these books now its kinda hard to come by by you could try this link below and also below i have pasted the titles and the authors to them.
.
. (guys i gotta run so i will sort the formating later - its looks messy)
.
1 A DREAM CALLLED SEPTEMBER by CHRISTINE BOTCHWAY
2 AGONY IN HER VOICE by PETER KATULIIBA
3 ANGEL OF DEATH by NANDI DLOVU
4 BITTERSWEET by YEMA L. HUNTER
5 BONDS OF LOVE by HOPE DUBE
6 CHERISHED DREAMS by MUGARRA ADYEERI
7 CHILD OF WAR by BEN CHIRASA
8 CHRISTMAS IN THE CITY by AFARI ASSAN
9 CIRCLE OF BETRAYAL by JAMES IRUNGU
10 COUP by KALU OKPI
11 CROSS-FIRE by KALU OKPI
12 DANGEROUS INHERITANCE by CHUMA NWOKOLO
13 DANGEROUS WATERS by MAURICE SOTABINDA
14 DEAD OF NIGHT by PHILIP PHIL EBOSIE
15 DEADLY NEWS
by PRIM NGA'AB16 DEALERS IN DEATH by VICTOR THORPE
17 DEATH IS A WOMAN by DICKSON IGHAVINI
18 DELA BOYA: THE AFRICAN DETECTIVE
by KOJO AKWA19 DESERT STORM by HOPE DUBE
20 DIRECTOR by AGBO AREO
21 DOUBLE DATING by WALIJE GONDWE
22 DOUBLE TROUBLE by OSMAN P CONTEH
23 EQUITORIAL ASSIGNMENT
by DAVID G MAILLU24 EUROPEANS ONLY? by GEORGE MASON
25 EVBU MY LOVE by HELEN OVBIAGELE
26 FELICIA by ROSINA UMELO
27 FOR BETTER FOR WORSE by OSMAN P CONTEH
28 FOR MBATHA AND RABEKA by DAVID G MAILLU
29 FOREVER YOURS by HELEN OVBIAGELE
30 FORGIVE ME
by MARYAM MOHMED T GARBA31 FRANCIE MOLALA & THE MERCEDES AFFAIR (out of stock) by UMBHALI
32 HARVEST OF LOVE by SAM ARYEETEY
33 HAVE MERCY by JOSEPH MANGUT
34 LOVE by KALU OKPI
35 LOVE LETTERS by ROSINA UMELO
36 LOVE ON THE ROCKS by ANDREW SESINYI
37 LOVE'S DILEMMA by WALIJE GONDWE
38 MARK OF THE COBRA by VALENTINE ALILY
39 MEET ME IN CONAKRY by SHERIFF SARR
40 NAIRA POWER by BUCHI EMECHETA
41 NANASI GIRL by DAMIAN ASABUHI
42 ON THE ROAD
by KALU OKPI43 OPERATION RHINO by JAMES IRUNGU & JAMES SHIMANYULA
44 POISONED BAIT by JAMES NGUMY
45 POSSESSED by ATU YALLEY
46 POSTAGE COVER
by47 RACE AGAINTS RATS by NANDI DLOVU
48 RASSIE by ANDREW SESINYI
49 REMEMBER DEATH by GLADSTONE MEENA
50 RICH GIRL, POOR BOY (out of stock) by BODE OSANYIN
51 SECOND-HAND LOVE by WALIJE GONDWE
52 SECRET BLOOD by JOHN CHITAMBO
53 SHADOW OF A DREAM
by HOPE DUBE54 SHAMEFUL SACRIFICE by RICHARD ANIEKE55 SISI (out of stock) by YEMI SIKUADE56 SOMETHING TO HIDE by ROSINA UMELO
57 SPEARS DOWN by CHRISTINE BOTCHWAY
58 STATE SECRET by HOPE DUBE
59 STONE OF VENGEANCE by VICTOR THORPE
60 STOP PRESS: MURDER! by MOHMED T GARBA
61 SWEET REVENGE by VICTOR A. ULOJIOFOR
62 SYMPHONY OF DESTRUCTION by SUNDAY D ADEBOMI
63 TEARDROPS AT SUNSET (out of stock) by RICHAR AKOJI
64 TELL ME NO MORE by SENSENJANI LUKHELE
65 THE BETRAYER by SAM A ADEWOYE
66 THE BLACK TEMPLE by MOHMED T GARBA
67 THE BLACKMAILERS by JOSEPH MANGUT
68 THE BORDER RUNNERS by JAMES IRUNGU & JAMES SHIMANYULA
69 THE CYCLIST by PHILIP PHIL EBOSIE
70 THE DELINQUENT by MOHAMMED SULE
71 THE EXTORTIONIST by CHUMA NWOKOLO
72 THE HOPEFUL LOVES by AGBO AREO
73 THE INFAMOUS ACT by MOHAMMED SULE
74 THE INSTRUMENT by VICTOR THORPE
75 THE KIND OF MARRIAGE by BUCHI EMECHETA
76 THE MATING GAME (out of print) by BARBARA KIMENYE
77 THE MONEY-DOUBLERS by MAURICE SOTABINDA
78 THE NIGHT OF THE FULL MOON by MUHEKI RUSHEDGE
79 THE OTHER SIDE OF TOWN by SAM ARYEETEY
80 THE POLITICIAN by KALU OKPI
81 THE PRESIDENTS SON by KWASI KORANTENG
82 THE RUNAWAY BRIDE by BARBARA KIMENYE
83 THE SCHEMERS by HELEN OVBIAGELE
84 THE SMUGGLERS by KALU OKPI
85 THE TREASURE by PETER KATULIIBA
86 THE UNDESIRABLE ELEMENT by MOHAMMED SULE
87 THE WAGES OF SIN (out of print) by IPE OPARANDU
88 THE WORSHIPPERS by VICTOR THORPE
89 TOBACCO SMOKE by KWASI KORANTENG
90 TOO COLD FOR COMFORT by JIDE OGUNTOYE
91 TOO YOUNG TO DIE by OMONDI MAK'OLOO
92 TRUTH WILL OUT by DEDE KAMKONDO
93 VICIOUS CIRCLE by ALEXANDER KANENGONI
94 WHAT THE FUTURE HOLDS by SARAH MKHONZA
95 WHO KILLED MOHTTA (out of print) by EDISON N YONGAI
96 WHO REALLY CARES by HELEN OVBIAGELE
97 WOMEN FOR SALE (out of stock) by JOSEPH MANGUT
98 YOU NEVER KNOW (out of print) by HELEN OVBIAGELE
99 ZERO HOUR by BEN MTOBWA

.
here is the site u can purchase some from - there are suppose to be 130 titles in all but i dont see it all here- so you will have to do your research.
http://www.africabookcentre.com/acatalog/index.html?http%3A//www.africabookcentre.com/acatalog/Pacesetters.html&CatalogBody
.
buy some for your children, nieces and nephews to read - they are very good books for young boys and girls primary or secondary school ages. These are way better than those useless books bout Vampire and Harry Potter books - which does nothing but control the minds of our children very negatively - part of the new world order scheme - they will use any means to get to your kids even if thru nickolodeon or dark Rihanna (dont get me started on illuminati and conspiring new world order talk - we will be here all day :lol:).
(This is a message to my childhood friend who borrowed my many Pacesetters books and never returned them - "Doreen Berko i need back my Pacesetters you borrowed in 1983-88 - in this recession i could be selling them and making some dough right about now - wait till i catch you :lol:)
.
To those who remember and have read this book, name your favourites. Mine was too many so i will name them later, however Kalu Okpi was my favourite - his stories made me a escape.
.
Sometimes these books were even confiscated by my parents cos i hadnt done my house chores and spent too much time reading them, you would have to call me at least 5 times before i respond "Yes" and my mom will say in our language " Fiii -Mi fre wu nu wanti se mi fre wu? :lol: - meaning "didnt you hear me calling you"?.:lol:
.

The Perfect Guy (New Movie Starring Sanaa Lathan, Michael Ealy & Morris Chestnut)

.
.
Coming this September 11th 2015,  is the much anticipated, romantic thriller 'The Perfect Man'.  
.
Starring Hollywood hearthrobs Michael Ealy, Morris Chestnut & Sanaa Lathan, the movie is a passion-charged drama about love, sex, jealousy and plain mania! ‘The Perfect Guy’ is about a woman (Lathan) in a relationship with a man that refuses to commit (Chestnut). She breaks it up and meets an IT expert (Ealy), who seems to be the perfect guy. But after a sexually-charged courtship, she sees a violent side of him and decides to dissolve the budding relationship. In a jealous rage and fueled by insane revenge, he decides to teach her a lesson. The movie stars Sanaa Lathan, Michael Ealy and Morris Chestnut
.
Everyone who knows me knows my everyday male crush is Michael Ealy and Female crush all day everyday, (whom i am naming future daughter after) is Sanaa Lathan, Been loving her since Love and Basketball, so to say i am excited about this movie will be an understatement. I have been wanting Sanaa and Michael to star in a movie forever, but i wanted more of a romantic movie, but this one will do, Michael you can hide underneath my bed any day any time. (ps: and no i am not excited because of the sex scenes neither, its against my religion, i will even close my eyes when those scenes come on :) :) - its true, am not lieing. ) 
.
It was directed by David M. Rosenthal and screenplay was by Tyger Williams. Story was by Alan McElroy and Tyger Williams. It was produced by Nicole Rocklin, Wendy Rhoads, Darryl Taja, Tommy Oliver while Executive Producers were Michael Eay, Sanaa Lathan, Glenn S. Gaino. It comes complete with a steamy trailer will be in nationwide cinemas in USA on September 11 and also in the africa region including South Africa, Nigeria and Ghana in Silverbird Cinemas on same day September 11 - i am really impressed how quick USA movies are getting to africa these days, I think its even quicker than UK and rest of Europe. In the nineties living in London i remember we use to wait for year or so for black movie released in hollywood to get to us, (eg Boyz N The Hood, Love Jones, Jasons lyric, New Jack City etc) - i use to be so mad at that. But now i live here now so i dont need to worry.
.
MsTilii
.

The Visit - (New Movie starring Blossom Chukwujekwu & Nse Ikpe Etim


.
.

A new Nollywood movie is about to drop titled The Visit. The movie is a 4-cast movie, the very first of it’s kind in Nollywood featuring Nse Ikpe Etim, Bayray Mcnwizu, Femi Jacobs, and Blossom Chukwujekwu
.
The upcoming movie was directed by Funke Fayoyin who achieved a measure of popularity with The Gods Are Still Not To Blame, an adaptation of Ola Rotimi‘s classic play, The Gods are not To Blame for the big screen. 
.
The Visit was produced in 2014 by Koga Studios and will be released in Nigerian cinemas on October 16 2015.
.
I am not exactly sure when those of us in the diaspora (USA) will get a chance to see it. Nse and Blossom are crazy funny, like seriously Chuks you just gone bone her right in the parking lot and she not exactly the quiet kind, when your poor neighbor (man) aint had some and been starving. You are so mean :) .
.
I cant wait to watch this craziness, its different. I love me some Blossom and Nse
.
MsTilii

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Chacha Eke Stars in "Amuche The Business Tycoon" (2015 Most Anticipated Nollywood Comedy)


.
Hi Ladies and Gents, How are you  everybody??? I miss you guys.
.
I know i have not updated the blog in a while due to other engagements and stuff I have been busy doing, but i just wanted to stop by to promo this upcoming funny comedy starring one of my favorite actresses Chacha Eke (one of those i predicted when she started,is here to stay and had great potential). She is definitely NOT just one of the usual pretty face nollywood actresses, we get bombarded with, who are nothing but mediocres wasting peoples time with their useless acting (they know who they are and if they dont check out my drive by list on the left panel of this blog) . Chacha is of great talent. Definitely a force to be reckoned with as i said from day i saw her many years ago.
.
I am so happy for her that finally many are taking notice of her, and hopefully this comedy will be one of her biggest breakthrough yet which opens more doors for her. In the past few years she has defintely shown her range and versatility in different roles,  but hopefully more producers take notice of her and give her more great roles just as much as they will with other great talents like Mercy or Ini. She gorgeous, she articulate in her roles and gives it her 100% and inteprets it well (in my opinion). With what i see in this trailer I am thinking, she could even do some subtitled igbo movies too, cos she is definitely good and I will love to see her in such.
.
Chacha is married to movie producer (Austin Faani) and has a gorgeous baby girl by name of Kamara ChaCha Eke Faani celebrates 2-year wedding anniversary with husband Austin Faani, this year (2015), with her daughter Kamara. One of those few scandal free actresses you just gotta love. 
.


.

.

.
Although the movie may be released online like youtube and stuff I encourage you all toactually purchase the movie (dvd, vcd etc) to support the cause and the industry. You know i never recommend anything rubbish, this is a comedy you could put in and watch and laugh with your friends and family any day.
.
Watch Trailer:

.

.
I dont know exacty when this will be released but I am sure in the next month or so it wll be out so just look out for it.

.
Enjoy :) 

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

The Nollywood Death That Hit me the Hardest - Rest in Peace Muna Obiekwe


.
Well By now you have all heard that My one and only and favourite Nollywood veteran actor Muna Obiekwe has died. I have been so numb to this news since Sunday 18th January 2015 that the news reached me that he had died. I ask why why why Muna, why didnt you speak to your colleagues or reach out to your fans - More people Loved you than you would ever know. I started watching Nigerian movies in 2002 and Muna was the first actor i completely fell in love with his acting. In those days, While everyone was ohhing and ahhing about RMD, Ramsey and Emeka Ike, I was totally hooked on Muna like a high schooler.
.
The first movie i watched with him was "Not Man Enough"  as well as "He Lives in Me" both movies with Genevieve. He had the best on screen chemistry with Genevieve especially when it came to romance and I was totally hooked borderline obsessed with the dude. My all time favourite movie with him i will say is Warriors Heart (which the marketers later changed titled to "Destiny Call / Return to Destiny) again with Genevieve - yall know i love my village set movies. No actor kissed better on screen than Muna. And when it was with Genny, girrrlllll, you better find his movies and watch em. 
.
Everyone (especially on the blog i use to belong to called naija rules) knew how much i adored and loved me some Muna and till this day i still love me some Muna. I adored him from head to toe including his finger tips (yass, it was that deep - crazy me i was always oohing and ahhing of his hands and nails), so you can imagine how utterly distraught i was when i heard it on Sunday Jan 18 around 6pm that he had passed. And then we had one idiotic imposter playing with our emotions saying he was not dead, and me hoping it was true he was not dead. But unfortunately he was truly dead after i confirmed. I didn't sleep a wink Sunday night. Its still surreal and just unbelievable. Shock is an understatement.
.

Below are a few details about his death (source/credit IEntertainment)

Muna discovered his kidney problem a long time ago but like most people, he thought he could manage it. He ignored the pain and continued working without paying much attention. According to a close source, he only took his drugs and medication once in a while as ‘Muna never believed the ailment could lead to his death. He believed he would survive it like he did the gunshot and death of his parents. He was not a man given to worrying about things. He believed it was not a coincidence his parents named him Munachimso, a name which means God is walking with me.’ The kidney problem persisted and Muna was eventually forced to seek the help of a doctor in a Lagos. The doctor gave him a ray of hope. 
.
He assured Muna that his worse fear of Kidney transplant might not happen if only he could do up to 20 dialyses. Vera Kanu, a mother figure to him in Nollywood confirmed our findings, “I was with him to the last hour. He was to do up to 20 dialyses; the doctor said if the dialysis improved his condition, the worse would certainly be over. He will be okay only if he stays away from alcohol but you know our artiste” she concluded. Muna braced himself, kept the doctor’s appointment, spent money he had and some he didn’t have but unlike his many past pains he had survived, this one proved different. This one stretched the limit of his human endurance. This one threatened his life in a way that it had never been threatened before. This hit him with so much pain that he slumped in his home, went unconscious and he eventually gave up the ghost when he was on his tenth dialysis. Our source continued “the dialysis was expensive for Muna. He was doing two in a week sometimes. And he would need blood injection on each occasion. 
.
Each appointment was costing him between N250, 000 to N300, 000; money he did not really have to spend. His health was eating deep into his purse yet Muna refused to go cap in hand begging for alms. He was a private guy who didn’t want the press or his colleagues to feast on his pain, and cast aspersions on Nollywood’s industry of beggars’. Vera, his godmother corroborated the point. “He was managing it on his own. As a matter of fact, he has been managing it for a while until Ejiro Okurame and I came on board to help. We were combining resources to help him but there was very little we could do to save him. We had to enlist the help of Patience Ozokwor and Kanayo O. Kanayo (KOK) at a point. They rendered the help they could until he died.” Contrary to many reports Muna was not ready to beg or raise money because he was too ashamed of what his colleague or press will say. “The guy was private. He kept to himself a lot and most importantly, kept his private life private; for instance, many people did not even know he was married with two children. Such was his life. He didn’t want press or his colleagues to start prying. He was particularly afraid of the press, hence his shutting his colleagues out of his pain. He knew if some Nollywood people got to know about it, the press would also get to know. He refused to beg to save Nollywood’s image, he in-turn, lost himself.” A Nollywood star told us the press needs to take it easy with stars, “we are human too and like every other person, we have our pains. The press needs to be less judgmental. If he wasn’t too scared of the press, perhaps, he would have reached out for help.” 
.
Shortly before his death, Muna summoned enough courage despite his private nature and contacted Nollywood actress and former beauty queen, Ibinabo Fiberesima. He however, promised to get back to her, perhaps to discuss details of his deteriorating health with her but fate struck a fatal blow and he never did. As much as causes of some ailments are mysterious, not a few people in Nollywood believe Muna brought the pain upon himself and he was a victim of a demon he couldn’t deal with. Muna was a chain smoker and heavy drinker. Despite his condition, multiple sources revealed he was still consuming alcohol on a regular basis. “Everybody in the industry knows Muna drinks a lot; even when he’s shooting in the North, he has a way of finding alcohol,” a Nollywood source told us. Muna was said to have taken heavily to alcohol after he lost his parents in a ghastly motor accident. ‘As a matter of fact, he was supposed to be in that car with them but by stroke of luck, he wasn’t and was spared. Afterwards, Muna took solace in liquor but that never affected his job. He was just like Sam Loco; he could drink the whole sea but when he hears the director shout ‘action,’ he gets into character. 

Muna was a method character despite his flaws’ our source reveals. Speaking on the drinking habit despite his ailment, his godmother, Vera Kanu said ‘It’s not like he drinks heavily like you guys said. He drank but not as you are putting it,” she said with an emotion-laden voice. Speaking further, “Muna even called me during the holiday that he is now okay and ready to work so I should start bringing jobs because I was his producer. I told him thank God and that I would start as long as he does not do what the doctor told him not to do, which was drinking. The problem came back and he has been on it since then till he died.” Another thing many people do not know about him again is that he was one of the three busiest actors. The other two are Mike Ezuronye and Yul Edochie. Muna is also the first cousin of Yul Edochie, that makes him a member of Pete Edochie’s family.
.
I don't think any Nollywood death has hit me as hard as this death of Muna, I never even imagined someone i never met death will hit me this much. It hurts and it hurts so bad. What saddens me the most about all this is the fact that he entertained us so damn well, yet on the private side he was going through so much pain and kept it a secret and didnt share with any one to help him, that is what hurts me the most about his death. The loneliness he must have felt. THe what ifs and the woulda coulda shouldas and how all this could have been avoided with just a bit of help.
.
I Wanted to talk more about the Nollywood Actors Guild - but not today. I dont have the temper today. In summary all i willl say is the Guild should take care of actors and develop a mandatory health insurance for all actors where all actors contribute to it monthly or quarterly just like they would monthly for their car insurance This loosing of our best due to health issues is becoming too much. I dont want to hear of any more deaths from nollywood again. All you actors should love care and be your brothers keeper.
.
Rest In Peace Muna. I will forever love you and forever miss you. Thank You for entertaining us all these years and giving us your best.
.
ps: several years ago hanging amongst my friends and family, they all simultaneously asked (while teasingly laughing)  if they could borrow all my Munas movies from my video library (yes Muna had his own special shelve just like Genny), I looked at them with a side eye, mschewwwwwwed, looked in the sky, shook my head and just walked away. Like are they seriously trying to test me or something. 
.
REST IN PERFECT PERFECT PEACE MUNA OBIEKWE
I WILL MISS YOU SO TREMENDOUSLY.
YOUR SURVIVING FAMILY ARE IN MY PRAYERS FOR THE LORD TO GIVE THEM STRENGTH AND COMFORT DURING THIS DIFFICULT TIMES.
.
yall know what i will be doing this weekend, #MunaMoviesMarathon with my box of tissues and wine, starting with Warriors Heart (aka Destiny Call)

Monday, October 6, 2014

THE ART OF METHOD ACTING (Topic For Only Serious Minded Actors)

I was asked by a few people (via email) to bump up this 2011 Topic i posted on Method Acting - so here goes. 
.
By far This topic has the highest number of views on my blog since i posted it. 
.
I First Posted this June 14 2011 (more than 3 yrs ago) 
.
CLICK HERE FOR ORIGINAL POST:
(or copy and paste link in address bar or google search " METHOD ACTING MSTILII")  

http://myafricanmoviereviews.blogspot.co.uk/2011/06/method-acting.html
.
Advice to Actors:
You cant rush through the Larry Moss video, you need to take time to listen.
.
Enjoy

Saturday, October 4, 2014

TILII TALENT: 2014 Nollywood New Rising Actors to Watch


.
First of i will like to apologise to all my readers for such a long hiatus in updating the website. There really is no excuse for my absence except I am  starting a new AFRICAN LIFESTYLE BLOG/WEBSITE (no entertainment related - more of home decor and home living lifestyle in new cosmo africa - my first love is home decor)  and i have been delving into new exciting business ventures . I will inform you all later once i launch the website.
.
And the only other reason for my not updating is truthfully as i have said many times on this blog - i decided 3 yrs ago, unless a movie is a pure classic (in my opinion) - i will not waste my time to review it at all - and Lawd knows even still in 2014,  90% of movies put out are pure junk, not worth a dime. Continuous bad scripts, bad actors and actresses, distributors still splitting the movies into many parts and given each part a different title and whatnot, i mean seriously aint no body got time for that.  I refuse to sugarcoat and praise mediocre nonsense continuously being put out in the market. We re 20 yrs deep in the industry and we the audience want nothing but the best, not half best, but true classics. A movie i can watch and confidently rate 8/10 or 4 stars and above. 
.
So in this piece i just want to highlight on actors (and actress) that i have taken a notice of lately, and I recommend you all pay very good attention to. You know i never lie. I am very picky whom i deem as a good actor and when i  say they are good, i promise you they are good or have the best potential to be great over time with great scripts and great direction. 
.
The first person i will like to shine a light is actor Blossom Chukwujekwu (i hope i spelt his name correctly). 
.
Blossom Chukwujekwu 
(with these lips i could just watch him on mute & smile)
.
Blossom Chukwujekwu in  a scene from "Finding Mercy"
.
Blossom Chukwujekwu
.
.
Blossom started gracing our screens less than 5 yrs ago (2009- his first debut was in the movie "Private Storm") and i must say thus far he is doing very well. He is hella cute definitely (look at em lips so cute lips) and very articulate (you know that is always a plus for Ms Tilii - no fake BriMerican phonet, just be your self and speak well so i understand you).
.
One thing i must say i must commend Blossom on is he is being highly selective with his roles and thus far almost all the movies he has been featured in have been quite good. He is building his CV (resume) quite well for someone who has only been in the industry for less than 5 yrs. 
.
I totally understand its really tough to say no to mediocre scripts when you have bills to pay and mouths to feed, and thus why many of our upcoming actors have explained to me, sometimes they have to say yes to anything that falls on their lap - but i promise yall - sacrificing and being selective with the scripts you say yes to, eventually pays off too. Build your CV well. 
.
The 2 good memorable movies Blossom has starred in, in the past year or two is "Finding Mercy" starring opposite Rita Dominic, and then there is "Knocking on Heavens Door" starring with Adesua Etomi and Majid Michel - he played an abusive husband and i must say he nailed that role well. These are two great classic movies you need to buy and add to your video library. He did great in both movies. (offtopic: I swear dude has got the cleanest neatest finger nails i have EVER seen - its so nice and shiny clean you would think he just walked out a nail salon - Like whao, are those your nails like for real? if i ever interviewed him that will be my first question. I am such a neat freak, call me weird but that is like one of the first things i look at on guys, tells me a lot - tells me hes neat too :) - look at it next time you watch him in a movie. MsTilii you are so weird - hahahahaaha - i know)
.
.
The next person i will mention is no stranger to our screens - it is our cute and talented actor Ken Erics. 
.
Ken Erics
(cute smile)
.
 Ken Erics
.
 Ken and his co - star ChaCha Eke (another good actress)
.
Ken Erics & actress Nazo Ekezie (i will talk about her later)
.
Ken is no newbie but he is doing so well i thought I'd bring him up again. He has earned his keep and been acting for a while and slowly climbed up to be one of the most sorted lately. Ken is very good and interprets his roles very well - and i have no doubt very soon he is going to climb higher (this is definitely his time to shine). If you ask me to mention on of his best movies was "THE ILLITERATE" which i nominated him for on my blog, at end of last year as one of the best acts. 
.
The next brother i want to shine a light on is none other but fast rising actor Frederick Leonard (i nicknamed him "Majestic" because i think he is the tallest nollywood actor we currently have now - and i love his majestic walk - but please Fred dont let them pidgeon hole you with royal movies) - i think he is the tallest actor - but tell me if i am wrong, is JD or Chidi Mokeme taller?). 
.
 Frederick Leonard
                                                      Frederick Leonard
.
I must've missed him, before cos although i have been told  he has been around for a few years , i only took notice of him in the movie "Family Man" starring with Mike Ezerounye, Oge Okoye and Uche Elendu. Once i noticed how the camera loves him on screen, and he interprets his roles well, i went back to watch several other movies he had been featured in, and i was quite impress. He is very confident on screen and he definitely acts well and speaks well. Fred is a good actor with great potential to be very great.
.
As i always say to all good actors with great potential - all he needs is one good script, and a good director to get the best out of him, and everyone will take notice. I am definitely going to look out for this gentleman and hope to see more of him on our screen. :) He is surely a plus for us lady movie watchers. Who can say no to such a tall glass of water on our screens. We need more of his kind in Nollywood. 
.
Fred, like I have said to all rising stars, in the past - i know a brotha gotta eat, but please, i beg you, please be very selective in your roles and i promise you the sky is the limit. I definitely got my eye on you and your acting journey. I hope the "good" producers and movie makers out there are paying attention to you. 
.
The next and final actress i will like to shine a light on is Nazo Ekezie
.
I have only noticed this actress in less than a month and in only 2 movies but i must say she is definitely a force to be reckoned with. Nazo is a newbie in the industry and I first took notice of her in the movie Love & Oil (starring with other good actress Nuella Njubigbo and Yul Edochie), and then recently i just watched her in the new movie "Blind Choir" and i thought she was very good. In 2014 she is about the ONLY "new"  actress, who has kept my attention as i watched her act. 
.
If you are a long time reader of my blog you will notice in the past, there have been several actors (and actresses) i only watched once (or twice) in a movie and predicted they are definitely a force to be reckoned with, and they are going to do well in future, and surely i was right. I said that about Mercy Johnson in her first movie "The Maid"; I said that about Majid Michel, I said that about Yvonne Okoro in "Beyonce" (even though i hated that movie and she had a small role), I said that about Chacha Eke, etc), and now I am saying the same thing about this new actress Nazo Ekezie, and i think movie makers should pay attention to her. 
.
She kinda reminds me of when Ini Edo started - you just knew - she is definitely here to stay. She is no mediocre like the majority bunch of time wasters gracing our screens. She keeps your attention. Watch out for her.
.




.
Nazo (like Fred) also has an excellent screen presence and the cameras surely love her. She is pretty, she speaks well, and thus far from the 2 movies i have watched of her - she definitely knows how to interpret her roles. I just hope some producer/director writes a good script with her in mind, to headline to make her shine, just like Ini Edo did with her old classic movie "World Apart" - which became Ini's breakthrough movie. which opened a lot of doors for her thereafter. Many may argue, that Ini Edo simply got that breakthrough because at that time that the movie World Apart was released, that was the era that our top notch Nollywood actors and actresses were on a 1 year ban from acting (A Foolish useless Ban i called it) - and that, there were no other proper actors to watch but Ini and a few others. But i disagree, I think that regardless, Ini Edo did a phenomenal job in the movie World Apart - she acted so well. That movie is old (2004), and i enjoyed is so much, till this day, i still watch it sometimes (and no its not because i want to watch Kenneth Okonkow's sexy bow leg walk as some of my friends have teased :) -and  all that myth about bow legs :)  ) 
.
So thats all folks, please check out these guys (and girl) in their movies and tell me what you think. Do you like their acting? Are there other new talents i must have missed. Tell me, and i will watch them and make my own judgement. You know i love seeking out for talent in our movies. I pay great attention to all of them and simply tell it like is (as my name suggest) if they got good potential. We need more new talents - great acts, coupled with great looks and great articulation of the English language without faking accents. Ghana and Nigeria is way too big not to have at least 10 new "Great" talents each year. One or Two every other year is just not good enough - it is too slow for my liking. We need more. Not More junk mediocre acts, but good actors and actresses with great potential .
.
.

Friday, April 25, 2014

What Does Hollywood Have in Store for Lupita?




.
Watch this video below which raises some very excellent points to make you think hmmm "Does a good point". 
.
I mean after the dust has now settled and Hollywood has gone crazy over our sexy chocolate talented african sister Lupita, now what? 
.
Is she going get great roles or do you think Hollywood would not know what to do with her as they discuss in the video?. Lets just be realistic. Have they ever known what to do, with any of our Excellent Great Black Actresses?. What do you think.? Lets discuss.
.
Dr. Boyce Watkins and Nomalanga Mhlauli-Moses talk about the warnings, by others, to Lupita Nyong'o to avoid Tyler Perry. Interesting discussion. They talk about Denzel and Halle's degrading Oscar-winning roles.
.
They suggest that Lupita, should not concentrate on Holywood but also to consider projects produced in African countries because Hollywood won't know what to do with her.
.
.
Do you agree with critics who say, she should never appear in a Tyler Perry movies. Personally, I think that is a big insult to Tyler Perry,because in my opinion, Tyler is not that bad and like I said before on this blog, for a man who seems to be the only black film maker doing films and employing black folks and still breaking box office numbers its about time black folks especially cut him some slack. If you are not doing anything to help the many black actors sitting on the side bench for years on end waiting for a job and Tyler is the only one doing something about it then please don't criticise the man., 
.
The question is, would you rather Hollywood pigeon hole Lupita and only cast her in movies where she plays a slave or a maid etc etc or (Being screwed butt naked by some man like Halle in Monsters Ball which earned her her oscar.)  . What would you wish to see Lupita in, in future. Give me an example of names of past movies where you would wish to see Lupita headline. Would you rather she stays and works on the continent of Africa ? 
.
I know she is new in the industry and in Hollywood, one has to earn her keep, but personally from here on, I wish to see Lupita headline in movies such as "Avatar", or a lead girl in a X-Men, Star Wars, A Bond Movie, or my dream would be to see her in a remake of the Michael Douglas & Kathleen Turner 1984 whimsical romantic old comedy movie Romancing The Stone/Jewel of The Nile -  (she is fun and goofy and a role of such will fit her perfectly and will definitely break box office numbers depending on which they pair her up with). I do not want her to be pigeon holed in any kind of role. She is so great and I have not doubt she is versatile and I want to see that Versatility on screen overtime. I love her so much I want all of her on Screen
.
Watch this other video too. 
.
.
.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

An African City (A New Ghanaian Web Series)


.
website - http://www.anafricancity.tv/
.
Below you'll find the first 7 episodes of a new web series we first alerted you to a year ago, titled An African City, written by Nicole Amarteifio, and starring Nana Mensah, MaameYaa Boafo, Esosa Edosomwan, Marie Humbert, and Maame Adjei. Described as a Sex And The City-style dramedy, the series follows the lives of... "Five beautiful, successful African females [who] return to their home continent and confide in one another about love and life in 'An African City'" Dickson Dzakpasu directs.
.
  • Created on January 1, 2013 
  • Release Date on March 2, 2014 
  • Season Season One Schedule New episode every Sunday! (March 2 - May 4, 2014) 
  • Starring Nana Mensah, Maame Yaa Boafo, Esosa E, Marie Humbert, Maame Adjei
  • Directed By Dickson Dzakpasu 
  • Written By Nicole Amarteifio
CONGRATULATIONS NICOLE, I AM SO PROUD OF YOU

Please Like the Facebook Page and subscribe to youtube for weekly updates;

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/anafricancity
Youtube:  https://www.youtube.com/user/AnAfricanCity 
.
Pilot Teaser:
.

.
.
EPISODE 1
.

.
.
EPISODE 2
.

.
EPISODE 3
.

.
.
EPISODE 4
.

.
.
EPISODE 5
.

.
.
EPISODE 6
.

.
.
EPISODE 7
.

.
To make sure you dont miss out subscribe to facebook page as well as their youtube page. 
.
Enjoy.

Love Or Something Like That (A Sparrow Production)


.
Well Its about time
.
I been waiting for my favourite Ghanaian movie maker to come out with a real movie since A Sting In A Tale.  I enjoyed the Adams Apple series but after a while I was like okay, I am tired I need a real movie Shirley, c'mon now, and so here it is. In the past 6 months there has been the release of other movie titles by Sparrow including "Devil In Detail" , "Potomanto" and Big FOr Nothing however i havent gotten hold of them here in the states to buy and watch. It has not been released here.
.
Sypnosis:
A young surgeon's chance meeting with her ex-boyfriend throws her world into absolute chaos when she makes a horrible discovery about her past and what could be the end of a great career, and beautiful marriage. A poignant story about moving on when there's no light at the end of the tunnel. Sparrow Productions presents, a Shirley Frimpong-Manso Film, Love or Something Like That. 
.
Starring Jocelyn Dumas, John Dumelo, Nana Mensah, OC Ukeje etc etc
.
Produced by Ken Attoh, Shirley Frimpong-Manso (My 2 Favourite Are Baaccck, "Ah ! Shirley eni Ken, wa ma girls Abr3 rough" :)  ) 
.
.
Trailer



.


I look forward to this. Trailer looks Good and This new Actress Nana Mensah, who also plays the character "Sade" in the new webseries created by my friend Nicole Armateifio called "AFRICAN CITY" (or should i call her character Samantha since they are emulating Sex in the City and like Samantha Sade is sex craved too). If you have not watched the series, its on youtube, catch on to it, we are on like episode 7 now.

In African City web series all the 5 actresses are great, but Nana Mensah stood out to me and i always thought ,hmmm , what if Shirley used her in one of her movies, so i guess i spoke too soon. She plays friend to Jocelyn's character in this movie.
.

Movie Premieres in Accra on April 17 2014.
.

Sunday, March 2, 2014

Yes! Yes! Yes! Lupita Won, She Won! She Won, Oh my Goodness





.
Thank You Jesus, Thank You Thank You Thank You,  Congratulations Lupita!!!!!!!!!!!!, 
.
You have made Kenya Proud and You have made all of us Africans Proud and given million lil girls in africa hope. You have given millions and millions and millions of kids all over the world from Africa, To Syria, to Ukraine, To Venezuela and all over the globe, you have given them HOPE, and that NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE FROM, like you quoted " YOUR DREAMS ARE ALWAYS VALID. 
.
Thank You. I love you soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Much.
THIS IS MY HAPPIEST DAY IN 2014. #LUPITAFEVER
.
GONE WITH THE WIND FABULOUS
.
GOSH AM SO HAPPY, LORD JESUS PLEASE LET THE NEXT WINNER BE MY LEONARDO DICAPRIO AND AM SO DONE FOR THE REST OF THE YEAR, I WILL DIE OF JOY IF LEO WINS. WAY OVER DUE. 
.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...